Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blu ray
A great blu ray of a classics film ,story is evident to all with half an interest in films so will not review the film. Packed with extras Vertigo boasts an impressive 1080p/VC-1 encoded video .The results are terrific -- for the most part -- and there are only a few troubling shots that detract from the overall presentation, Colors are quite striking, fleshtones are...
Published 13 months ago by DJ

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly "restored".
It has been restored so badly that it actually looks photoshopped (badly) in some places.
I love this movie, but will not watch it again until I can get an unrestored copy.
Published 3 months ago by MorganScorpion


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blu ray, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: Vertigo [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A great blu ray of a classics film ,story is evident to all with half an interest in films so will not review the film. Packed with extras Vertigo boasts an impressive 1080p/VC-1 encoded video .The results are terrific -- for the most part -- and there are only a few troubling shots that detract from the overall presentation, Colors are quite striking, fleshtones are lifelike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock at his absolute best, 29 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
Vertigo is an amazing, incredibly absorbing motion picture. This is vintage Hitchcock--complex, disturbing, and brilliantly shot. San Francisco has never looked more beautiful than it does in this movie, which features backdrops of the Golden Gate Bridge, a forest of giant sequoias, and other local landmarks. Jimmy Stewart, one of my personal favorites, delivers a dead-on performance, and Kim Novak is wonderful in her dual role (even though I kept wishing Grace Kelly were playing the role). Even some of the bit actors are stars in their own right--"Grandma Walton" plays a hotel manager and "Milburn Drysdale" from The Beverly Hillbillies plays a doctor. In a more important (and somewhat confusing) role, Barbara Bel Geddes (Miss Ellie from TV's Dallas) plays Scottie Ferguson's (Stewart's) long-time friend. The music is a perfect fit with the cascading emotions of the story, as Hitchcock understood just how important the musical score is to the overall presentation. The sense of vertigo is conveyed rather well by the camera action, and the psychedelic dream-like sequence was original and intriguingly uncanny. I cannot imagine why this film was not a ringing success with critics and fans alike when it was initially released because it is a model of incredible filmmaking.
I hesitate to even mention the plot because it is incredibly complex and should be experienced by the first-time viewer with no preconceptions and no prior knowledge of the twists and turns involved. It is a pleasure to watch a movie in which the viewer simply must participate on an intellectual level to grasp the evolution of the plot. I believe the plot is hard to figure out, which is a wonderful thing. My own initial suspicions were quite wrong, I am pleased to say, although I was a little disappointed that the character who earned my suspicions was sort of forgotten in the final stages of the action.
This movie is a masterpiece. It works on all levels, and while some may feel the first half of the film develops a little slowly, there is plenty of action and revelation to be found in the last half. It is a little over two hours long, so you should be sure to set aside enough time to watch the movie without any interruptions or breaks. And for goodness' sake, do not let anyone tell you what happens before you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning DVD, 22 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
The film is awesome, one of Hitchcock's best, mesmerisingly watchable and with great performances. However I was amazed by the quality of the DVD, the sound and print are spectacularly good (restored), and the extras almost unparallelled for a film of this age. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 16 Oct 2002
By 
M. Goulden (Gtr, Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vertigo [VHS] [1958] (VHS Tape)
In the documentary, 'Obsessed With Vertigo', the restorers of the film say that they are envious of those who are able to watch the restored version of Vertigo without ever having watched the film at all before. Well, I am one of those people and I was awestruck by it.
Every aspect of the film is stunning: the directing, the acting, the sets, the music etc, but in my mind it is the cinematography which stands out. The clarity of colour and the lack of fog to create this dream-like vision of '50s San Franciso added a quality to this film that I can't really put into words. Some credit must go to those who have painstakingly restored this cinematic classic, because if it hadn't been for them I might not have been so struck and impressed with what I was watching.
But, having said that, I can't even comtemplate not being mesmerised by this film. As I said, everything about Vertigo is stunning. It is one of those rare things where everthing flows together seamlessly. Each separate bit of the movie has its own time to shine, its own time to stand up to be noticed. It is the kind of movie that knows where it is going, and is going to hook anyone and everyone into watching it as it slowly weaves and winds its way through towards the end. I love to watch these kind of movies, the kind that rope you in slowly, movies that at times move along at a snail's pace - not having to be concerned with the introduction of action sequences and things blowing up, movies that increase the tension little by little until the climactic crescendo at the end is finally reached. Sadly this is all too rare in modern cinema (The Shawshank Redemption is a fantastic exception), but from watching Vertigo and subsequently Rear Window, it is obvious that HItchcock was the supreme exponent of these kind of movies.

I love every minute of Vertigo, and I've never tired of watching it simce. The term 'a piece of art' has become over-used in recent years, but in order to find the words to descibe Vertigo I can find no better phrase. It is breathtaking and I urge you, as a person who is now 'obsessed with Vertigo', to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional thriller, untouched by the passage of time...., 11 April 2010
By 
Blackmale (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
Pray they never re-make this!
The trick to making a quality thriller is first suspend reality then envelope the auidence with a story so tight as to leave no plot holes.
Vertigo is old, no doubting that, but the direction sufficently rich to allow you to depart your reality for a gentler world when "doin 'er in..." didn't involve a nail gun to the back of the head in close-up!American Psycho [DVD] [2000]
On the first count you have to faithfully leave 21C for the world the way Doris Day knew it.
I deliberately leave synopsis for the uninitiated, because VERTIGO is well worth watching candidly if you didn't know or long since forgotten. Hitchcock weaves an delicate series of sub-plots that cunningly divert you away from the tale you thought you'd come to watch. SIXTH SENSE's M.NIGHT SHYMALAN learned from the best.
There is an emotional connect with all the principal players. Leading from the front, James Stewart dominates but Barbara Belle Geddes (DALLAS's Miss Ellie) is an engaging though under-used second. Novak is introduced and darkly takes over as the romantic interest. There is perfect balance, throughout the pace is patient with no waste material in the beautifully colourful footage. Hitchcock himself is in there...somehere... performing his signature cameo (clumsily copied latterly by M. Night) and the supporting cast is refreshingly trim and strictly relevant.
Tradditionalists will revel in the social values of the time - manners, zero language/sex/violence which are relegated to implication or description.
Easily stretching beyond two hours, the film is neither tiring or wandering. Very entertaining and genuine departure from the hype-merchandise and celebrity obsessed mis-direction of today.

IMDB regularly lists in the top quarter of their 250 all time greatest and with very good reason.
Exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acting at its best, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Vertigo (DVD)
A classic from the past. No need to force act, or shout or swear or be crude. A life style of the past but acting as it should be. A twist at the end, restrained acting, good storyline, well directed.

Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film ever - really..., 5 Aug 2005
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film that can regularly be seen in the list of critic's favourite films of all time and rightly so. I saw this film around fifteen years ago and to date it is the best film I have ever seen (and trust me I've seen a fair few). This film is at it's heart about obsession and anyone who has every felt obsessive love in their life will likely make a connection to this film. It has meant different things to me at different stages of my life, and trust me, I've watched this a fair few times.
First of all, if you like action films, comedy's or any of the mind-numbingly bad "blockbuster" films that have been released in recent years, you will likely not like this film. However, if you prefer character an plot driven movies and also enjoy classic movies, then I would recommend that you definitely watch this.
The film itself is split into two very distinct parts. The first half of the film is a mystery / romance that is really just a setup for the second half of the movie where the real meat of the story lies. It is in the second half of the movie where the real drama is and it is handled superbly by Hitchcock, James Stewart and Kim Novak. You will notice that I'm not giving any details of the actually story itself, this is for good reason, you really need to see it yourself.
There are several things which makes this film really special for me, mainly the emotional turmoil between both James Stewarts and Kim Novak I the last half of the movie. However, there is one aspect of the film which I have always though was quite ingenious. The twist in the story is not revealed at the end of the story, but actually about 2/3rds into the film. Now rather than spoiling the movie early, this just heightens the emotional anguish when you know the secret that Kim Novak is hiding and makes the tension and drama more powerful.
I could list a hundred different reasons why this is film so great, but this would turn into a 20 page essay if I tried. I will simply say that this film should be watched by anyone who truly loves films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Frank Messely (Kortrijk, BELGIUM) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vertigo [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Finally received VERTIGO on Blu Ray from Amazon. I'm not going to review the movie, we all know it's Hitchcock's timeless masterpiece. Just wanted to say the BD looks magnificent. Image and sound are perfect. I can finally enjoy one of my all-time favorites of cinema like a good wine, be carried away by it, be mesmerized by its entrancing atmosphere. The only letdown is the BD cover, I would have loved the original movie poster art. But if you are a VERTIGO fan, never hesitate to buy this. A cinematic treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychic and scenic wonders, 3 Aug 2004
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
Vertigo is indisputably Hitchcock's most engrossing suspense film. It's also the most scenic. Apart from giving Kim Novak two roles to play, a double treat at any time, we are given extended tours of San Francisco and the Coast. For Hitchcock, all this outdoor scenery is something of a departure. Yet it's not simply advertising for what once was a beautiful city enhanced by a beautiful woman. The story needs all this touring about in revealing who this woman really is. And the travelling takes place in time as well as space.
All this intrigue and travel results from Detective John Ferguson [Stewart] falling from a roof during a chase. He suffers from acrophobia - fear of heights - which retires him from the police force. He's hired to follow Madeleine, a businessman's wife, on her roamings around the city. She's clocked up a lot of odometer, although claiming merely shopping. None of this requires Ferguson to ascend any heights. In fact, he drops from street level in rescuing Madeleine from an attempted terminal swim in San Francisco Bay.
Do they fall in love? Need you ask? Madeleine, in love or not, is still driven - apparently by the ghost of a 19th Century Spanish grandee's wife, Carlotta. Carlotta resided in the lovely museum town of San Juan Bautista, one of California's mission chain communities. Ferguson and Madeleine make the drive [although going the wrong way on the road]. Madeleine, seemingly possessed, jumps from the Mission campanile [which doesn't exist]. Ferguson, his vertigo restraining him, cannot follow her up the stairs to stop her. End of story?
Not quite. Novak has two roles in this film. Hitchcock, ever the master of intrigue, introduces Judy Barton into Ferguson's life. It is here that Hitchcock makes full use of Stewart's acting abilities. Stewart was always more than just a "middle American" and he shifts from puzzled love to ardent quest with fluid ease. Novak, too, transforms under Hitchcock's deft touch from a cool, aloof beauty to a frightened, subdued and wary girl caught up in bizarre circumstances. The resolution of all these changes can only be tragic.
Hitchcock's work was always superior. In this film, he outdid himself and gave his cast matchless opportunity to fill their roles. He used Stewart more than once, but the other films appear to be training sessions compared with this masterpiece. Hitchcock fills the story with subtle touches that make this film worthy of repeated viewing. Try it. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film in the fifties, when I was twelve. I was deeply impressed and I have never found any reason to change my mind. It was my first insight into the facts that adults have fears and vulnerabilities and they suffer. Kim Novak was subtly sexy and I could see why James Stewart's character fell for her. The film made me, for the first time, identify with adults and begin to understand their world. Stewart plays Scottie, a detective who has to resign from the police force because of his intense fear of heights, and he is asked to investigate the activities of the wife of an acquaintance. He becomes involved with her, but then she falls to her death in an apparent suicide. But is she really dead?
Stewart and Novak both turn in sensitive, accomplished performances. Like so many of Hitchcock's films, the theme is obsession. Although not everyone thought so at the time, this is a very good film and I regard it as one of the best films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vertigo [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free]
Vertigo [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] by Alfred Hitchcock (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews