Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational !!
Fantastic DVD which made me feel so protective over the main character and also so proud. Despite a horrific young life with everything stacked against her, Precious triumphs over adversity. Moving and utterly watchable!!!!! Do not be surprised if you shed a few tears!
Published on 22 Aug. 2012 by elizabeth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a heavy handed film with strong performances
This film is watchable but sloppily edited. It's overly stylised and edited like a music video in places, which detracts from a harrowing story. At times some of the action is unintentionally farcical. The narrative is very loosely cobbled together. There were great performances from the actress playing the mother, precious and Mariah Carey as the social worker, but I...
Published 22 months ago by Mr M.


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational !!, 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Fantastic DVD which made me feel so protective over the main character and also so proud. Despite a horrific young life with everything stacked against her, Precious triumphs over adversity. Moving and utterly watchable!!!!! Do not be surprised if you shed a few tears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot better then it sounds., 25 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Precious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
At first glance, Precious looks like one of those dodgy tv movies that you get on channel 5 or hallmark in the afternoons, but Precious is miles better than that. This is quite simply a stunning film, one of the most well acted films that you'll see this year. It's very bleak, and you'll have every sympathy with the lead character played by the fantastic Gabourey Sidibe, a complete newcomer with apparently no acting experience, in fact, you could say that her tale is as worthy of being turned into a film as Precious herself. Mo'nique thoroughly deserves the best supporting actress oscar, playing a truly vile character and Mariah Carey is a complete revelation as a social worker. This is an excellent film that took me completely by surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cold, brutal reality of life., 30 May 2010
By 
Bobby Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I liked this film, for its honesty, its reflection of a lifestyle that is (thankfully) beyond comprehension for the majority of its watchers. The film, although less brutal than the book, is a glimpse into a world of low self-esteem, where the central character struggles to find her identity - beyond that of her welfare cheque grabbing mother. So yes, there are many flashback scenes - to a world where Precious hopes to live, complete with light skinned boyfriend and flash dresses - but they are integral to the self-denial that people suffering low self-esteem have as a defence mechanism. In that sense Precious is a very real film, a film that does the social duty of showing the majority population the problems of people who are outside the 'norm' - by being fat, black or poor. A final sentence on the performance of Mariah Carey - expertly cast as a social worker type - fantastic and one can only hope she gives up her day job as a singer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LIFE IS A CONSTANT STRUGGLE FOR 'CLAIREECE', 11 Aug. 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Precious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a powerfull drama that tells of a sixteen year old girl who is expecting her second child , both as a result of being raped by her father.
She lives with her mother and suffers constant abuse both verbal and physical.
'Claireece (Precious) Jones' imagines a very different world for herself to blot out the bad things in her life.
She aspires for things to change for her and her child, things start to work out for the better after being expelled from her school, a teacher points her to a more specialised teaching unit which together with a new social worker helping 'Precious' discover a different direction in life.
Perhaps things can start to change for 'Precious' for her, and now two children.
This is an intense film in which 'Gabourney Sidibie' shines in her first film role( as 'Precious' )
With supporting roles from 'Mariah Carey' and 'Lenny Kravitz' the film will allmost certainly hold your attenion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good lesson about REAL life, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I heard alot of good reveiws about this movie but I wanted to get a visula for myself. This movie is not easy on the eye but that is what makes it so great because it depicts REAL life. Monique is just fantastic she becomes her role. Everyone else plays there part but monique stands out the most for me. Thoroughly enjoyed. Glad that I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Precious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Absolutely brilliant movie. I bought this after hearing all the hype about it. Its a little gem of a movie. Get out your tissues very sad film. Mariah carey was outstanding in this. blu ray is exceleent quality 5 star picture and sound much better on blu ray and very cheap buy buy buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So very sad, 25 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I read the book before seeing the film and the book was horrorendous! Not that it was not well written, it was a masterpiece in the retelling of a hellish, hellish life. The story is terrible for me in that, until then, my mind had never encountered these foulest indignitous this girl had to suffer and I felt that one could only write this story if it had actually happended. How else could a mind conjour up these events without experiencing them? And why would anyone want to? The film, whilst shocking, is not as graphic as the book, though it still manages to capture the horror of this girl's life. Why watch something like this? Well, you never know what a book or film is really going to be like until you read or see it. And for me, learning more about the world, whether good or bad, makes me question our role as 'animals' in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Precious in every sense of the word, 14 Jun. 2011
By 
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A film starring a 16 year old who is raped twice by her own father, bears him two children (one of whom has Downs' Syndrome) and must wait on her abusive mother hand and foot was never going to be easy viewing. What this film is, however, is incredibly gripping, realistic and very well acted. Lee Daniels has taken the character of Precious, with all the obstacles she has had to face, and turned her into someone that the viewer can not only sympathise with, but also desperately wants to triumph against the misfortunes of her childhood. I thought it was particularly clever that, in creating a main character who is overweight and not especially attractive, the film challenges the idea of beauty whilst keeping the viewer focussed on personality and character. And by doing this, when the audience fall in love with Precious' gentle nature, you can almost sense a hidden message coming across - that being beautiful on the inside is just as important as pretty packaging.

There is a "twist" towards the end of the film that I won't reveal so as not to spoil it for anyone who has not seen it, suffice to say that at this point it becomes truly gut-wrenching and you start to admire Precious' incredible character.

The ending itself is not fairytale perfect, but definitely a fitting one, as you are left with a feeling of hope and the knowledge that no matter what life throws at you, there is always a chance to better yourself, if you have the strength and the courage to go for what you want.

I would actually go as far as to say that this is one of the best films I've seen this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Be thankful..., 23 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Precious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Having not grown up in Harlem, I can not say how true to life this story is for the folk there, but it is adapted from the book "Push" by Sapphire and all I can say is be thankful you don't have the problems of the lead character Precious.

Precious is a story full of drama and with a strong story line, the acting of the lead actress Gabourey Sidibe is superb, and how they turn her in make up into a such a drab person is beyond me as she is actually very pretty if you google pictures of her. She really is convincing in what at times is a too overwhelming set of problems, that at times is a little too hard to believe.

It's a tale of rape, incest, abuse, violence and hope - yes despite the sheer misery and hell that makes up 98% of this film, Gabourey always manages to make the hope seem real for her, even if you as the outsider just know that it is not.

The colour and transfer to blu-ray is good and vibrant despite there being mostly indoor scenes which on modern films can often be somewhat dark and blue in tone, so certainly recommend buying this film on Blu-ray.

I can't say this film is a classic in the same way as Alice Walker's "The Color Purple" which should be a set text for students, but it is a film that should be in your collection if you like a decent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a heavy handed film with strong performances, 31 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This film is watchable but sloppily edited. It's overly stylised and edited like a music video in places, which detracts from a harrowing story. At times some of the action is unintentionally farcical. The narrative is very loosely cobbled together. There were great performances from the actress playing the mother, precious and Mariah Carey as the social worker, but I felt that they were let down by the script. Lenny Kravitz is wasted as the doctor. Maybe I'm just too caucasian but I found the dialogue to be difficult to follow in places, perhaps this is down to the delivery. This could have been a fantastic film if its cinematography was treated with a little more subtlety and delicacy. I was left wanting more depth from the film. I hope that it empowers women in a similar predicament to seek help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Precious [DVD] [2009]
Precious [DVD] [2009] by Lee Daniels (DVD - 2010)
£2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews