Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational !!
Fantastic DVD which made me feel so protective over the main character and also so proud. Despite a horrific young life with everything stacked against her, Precious triumphs over adversity. Moving and utterly watchable!!!!! Do not be surprised if you shed a few tears!
Published 23 months ago by elizabeth

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Precious....thoughts
Precious is an extraordinary film that unfolds without grace, or ease. There is no sweetness to balance the bitter. There is no relief from the pain, no moment of glory or time between tragedy. This film did not make me laugh. It made me cry. And I cried - not a salty single tear that made me feel connected to our heroin, not the tears that come when pain collides...
Published on 21 Jun 2010 by Karen Cummings-Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational !!, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Fantastic DVD which made me feel so protective over the main character and also so proud. Despite a horrific young life with everything stacked against her, Precious triumphs over adversity. Moving and utterly watchable!!!!! Do not be surprised if you shed a few tears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot better then it sounds., 25 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Precious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
At first glance, Precious looks like one of those dodgy tv movies that you get on channel 5 or hallmark in the afternoons, but Precious is miles better than that. This is quite simply a stunning film, one of the most well acted films that you'll see this year. It's very bleak, and you'll have every sympathy with the lead character played by the fantastic Gabourey Sidibe, a complete newcomer with apparently no acting experience, in fact, you could say that her tale is as worthy of being turned into a film as Precious herself. Mo'nique thoroughly deserves the best supporting actress oscar, playing a truly vile character and Mariah Carey is a complete revelation as a social worker. This is an excellent film that took me completely by surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cold, brutal reality of life., 30 May 2010
By 
Bobby Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I liked this film, for its honesty, its reflection of a lifestyle that is (thankfully) beyond comprehension for the majority of its watchers. The film, although less brutal than the book, is a glimpse into a world of low self-esteem, where the central character struggles to find her identity - beyond that of her welfare cheque grabbing mother. So yes, there are many flashback scenes - to a world where Precious hopes to live, complete with light skinned boyfriend and flash dresses - but they are integral to the self-denial that people suffering low self-esteem have as a defence mechanism. In that sense Precious is a very real film, a film that does the social duty of showing the majority population the problems of people who are outside the 'norm' - by being fat, black or poor. A final sentence on the performance of Mariah Carey - expertly cast as a social worker type - fantastic and one can only hope she gives up her day job as a singer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good lesson about REAL life, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I heard alot of good reveiws about this movie but I wanted to get a visula for myself. This movie is not easy on the eye but that is what makes it so great because it depicts REAL life. Monique is just fantastic she becomes her role. Everyone else plays there part but monique stands out the most for me. Thoroughly enjoyed. Glad that I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Precious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Absolutely brilliant movie. I bought this after hearing all the hype about it. Its a little gem of a movie. Get out your tissues very sad film. Mariah carey was outstanding in this. blu ray is exceleent quality 5 star picture and sound much better on blu ray and very cheap buy buy buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Precious, 4 July 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Precious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
`Precious' is the story of a 16 year old girl who is pregnant for the second time (by her father) and who, despite getting good grades at school up to now, gets sent to remedial classes as she is unable to read and write. She is physically and psychology abused by her mother, she is beaten, treated like a slave and told she is dumb and stupid on a daily basis. Her only escape is to delve into various fantasies inside her head, about becoming a famous movie star or singer, or having loving parents for example and these fantasy sections contrast markedly with her harsh reality. She soon makes friends and finds inspiration in her teacher in her new class and feels a certain sense of belonging amongst the other misfits, whilst her life still remains hard. All in all this is a pretty bleak film, but it also has a certain element of hope running through due to Precious' tenacious attitude and inner strength. There are good performances from the entire cast (which even includes a small part for Lenny Kravitz) and the direction is excellent as well. This has been highly lauded and for good reason, it isn't necessarily an upbeat film, but it is portrayed so well the whole way through and makes you empathise with the main character. It is definitely worth checking out at some point, but be aware of it's gritty and (at times) bleak feel.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So very sad, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I read the book before seeing the film and the book was horrorendous! Not that it was not well written, it was a masterpiece in the retelling of a hellish, hellish life. The story is terrible for me in that, until then, my mind had never encountered these foulest indignitous this girl had to suffer and I felt that one could only write this story if it had actually happended. How else could a mind conjour up these events without experiencing them? And why would anyone want to? The film, whilst shocking, is not as graphic as the book, though it still manages to capture the horror of this girl's life. Why watch something like this? Well, you never know what a book or film is really going to be like until you read or see it. And for me, learning more about the world, whether good or bad, makes me question our role as 'animals' in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, 8 Feb 2011
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
absolutely loved this film it is such an upsetting and cruel story about an abused teenage who has two children to her father which her cruel mother blames and resents her for. its such a great cast well worth the watch get your tissues read x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant, 16 Sep 2010
By 
Mrs. J. Mulcahy "joey" (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Had previously read the book and was looking forward to seeing the film, and wow it did it justice. Gripping and interesting yet a sense of sadness thoughout. A must see, expecially at amazons price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Precious, 11 Sep 2010
By 
C. Bantock "clarehhh" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Precious [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a thought provoking DVD about a deprived and abused girl, and how she turns her life around with the help of a teacher.A must see this year film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Precious [DVD] [2009]
Precious [DVD] [2009] by Lee Daniels (DVD - 2010)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews