Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic 80's album., 5 Aug 2003
By 
M. G. Cuthbert (Redhill, Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duran Duran (Audio CD)
It's not often that bands produce consistently great material, but Duran Duran managed it with three consecutively great albums in a row. So it is fitting that Duran Duran's debut along with Seven & The Ragged Tiger should finally join Rio in their remastered forms. Excellent songs, great sound and happy memories. I'm still puzzled as to why "Sound Of Thunder" was never released as a single - but there you go. This disc has been a long wait but well worth it - not one duff track.
This album was fantastic when it first came out, and it is every bit as good today. If you own an old copy, do yourself a favour and get this new version and remember the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good debut - and they got even better, 5 Oct 2011
By 
J. M. Kelly (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duran Duran (Audio CD)
Everyone knows the 2 hits, but the quality of the album tracks are also pretty high, "Tel Aviv" is really the only filler.
The re-mastering sounds great: very bouncy, very '80s. So Simon never had a particularly great voice, the memories are still worth re-living.
But shame on EMI for putting out an album which only clocks in at 41 minutes - no 12" versions, no videos (unlike the re-release of their 2nd - and more consistent - album "Rio").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTICALLY STRUCTURED ALBUM, 29 Sep 2007
By 
Michaela Smith "MSmith" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duran Duran (Audio CD)
This album is one which is absolutely brilliant to listen to. Not only does it have the great singles Girls on Film and Planet Earth, it has a selection of other songs that keep you hooked.(Friends of mine is my favourite as the bass work is ace!) I am only 20 years old so I wasn't around when the lads were first out, but I must say I have thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to others. In response to one review, I think Tel aviv is great, the drumming and the keyboard work is so well structured! but i guess everyone has there own opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back where it all started..., 6 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duran Duran (Audio CD)
Back in 81, (before I was even born, I might add) Duran Duran were just 3 years away from world domination.
This, there first album, spawned hits such as "Planet Earth" and "Girls On Film" (Careless Memories was also released as a single, but stalled somewhat at a disappointing no 37)
It was however "Girls On Film" that shot the band to stardom, the now notorious video (Topless women etc) still receives airplay on music channels today.
Le Bon & co were every youung girls dream, young, fit & handsome. Duran Duran were everywhere.
Musically, Andy's guitar work was evident, Nick sync's played through strong and Le Bon's vocals were, well, average. (Lets be honest, he's never been the world's greatest singer)
The formula worked superbly though, making this, alongside Rio, one of the most essential albums on the early 1980's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duran Duran (Audio CD)
Duran Duran were my fave band in the 80's and i could listen to this over and over. It's like i'm 17 again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great debut album, 29 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duran Duran (Audio CD)
Duran Duran's debut album is one the best albums of the eighties. Most people will be aware of the hits Girls On Film and Planet Earth but also included is the band's second single Careless Memories, which charted at a disappointing number 37 in the UK charts, which is an exciting pop-punk track. There aren't any filler tracks on the album but the standouts are Anyone Out There, Night Boat and Friends Of Mine. The latter still a concert/fan favourite over twenty five years later. Apart from the hits the album has dark and brooding feel to it and was a surprise success in the pop market. To anyone unfamiliar with Duran Duran other than their great pop singles this album will be a surprise but a pleasant surprise. The album has aged very well and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Own, 27 Feb 2004
This review is from: Duran Duran (Audio CD)
This album was originally released before I was born but even now I can appreciate it's blend of catchy musical hooks and interesting lyrics. "Girls on Film" and "Planet Earth" are tracks which define 80's pop. "Careless Memories" is an underated gem and "Night Boat" demonstrates a more dark and hypnotic side of the band. Perhaps the only dissapointment on the album is the largely dull "Tel Aviv" which is a confused way to end such an exciting album. But overall this album is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still sweet, 4 April 2009
By 
bruce (east london) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duran Duran (Audio CD)
ive still got the LP from when it came out.
i was 13, and this was /still is/great music to get into.
at the time i was into numan, but disliked durans chart pals spandau ballet.
the synth tones/textures on 'to the shore' and 'tel aviv' are just so creamy smooth.
'georgie davis is coming out'.......what a total catchy vocal on 'friends of mine'
all in all i still put this LP on every now and then and its very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obscure and Moody, 17 Nov 2007
By 
Giancarlo Rapetti "janquito" (Turin, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duran Duran (Audio CD)
One of the best album of early 80's... A little dark, a little white funky-disco, it is pop music highlight. Planet Earth and Girls On Film, are duran duran everlasting hits, but what about the perfection of songs like Anyone Out There and Friends Of Mine? With Rio, this is the proof duran duran is a great pop band, maybe the greatest in Eighties.

Giancarlo - Turin, Italy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cd, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duran Duran (Audio CD)
I've got this album on tape and wanted to update as it takes me back to the early 1980's feel good factor. Would recommend to anyone who likes Duran s early stuff as it's great:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duran Duran
Duran Duran by Duran Duran
Buy MP3 Album£9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews