Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars118
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 1998
Practicing the Presence of God presents the way Brother Lawrence recommends that we stay in touch with God on a daily basis. It is practical, simple, and, above all, it works. It is not too dissimilar to the concept behind In His Steps (I think that's the title) where one asks at every step, "What would Christ do?" In this case one, in all of one's daily activities (washing the dishes, studying, anything), puts oneself into God's presence (as St. John of the Christ says, it CAN be by imagination, or in reality, or whatever works for you), one dedicates every action to God, and one lets the awareness of God's presence guide every decision and movement throughout the day. Thus life itself becomes prayer, and every move one makes is a sacrament. I know, from experience, that this works, and that this is a very powerful method of bringing God's presence into one's daily activities. What starts by imagination quickly evolves into reality, and this provides both guidance and protection throughout the day. It can also be VERY demanding - God is not just a presence on Sunday morning, or at our meditation sessions - he is actively carried with us throughout the day, so demands are exacted from us concerning our conduct and behavior that are on a very high level. This is NOT thoughtless living! It can be heroism of the highest level. But it can also be one of the most effective methods of making fast progress in the spiritual life. One should commune with God whenever possible - in prayer or meditation - and than take this practice with one in one's daily activities, so one draws upon those inner resources that are awakened through prayer.
0Comment|87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
Brother Lawrence was born 400 years ago. I get the impression that he would have been considered fanatical and radical (for his time), but I found his message of God to be passionate and inspirational. You may wonder how the words of someone who lived so long ago could possibly have any relevance to your life today. The Bible is as relevant today as when it was written 2000 years ago. God's Word never changes. Read this book and let the truths of God touch your heart. Brother Lawrence was certainly led by the Holy Spirit and his writtings reflect the truths contained within the Bible. It is definitely recommended reading to anyone who wants to know the real power of God.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
This is an excellent little book that I would recommened to anyone. The theme of the book is how someone can know and feel the presence of God with them in an going way every day. Brother Lawrence discovered the joy of knowing God's presence and feeling the love and pleasure of God towards him. This became his daily experience for 40 years. Brother Lwarence became known to the monastic community where he lived and worked as one who knew God. His fame trickled out into other religious communities nearby and the world around them. The book is short and is made up of several very short chapters (many of them were originally written as letters to friends and acquaintances by Brother Lawrence) which makes it very easy to read - you can read it for 5 minutes a day in a couple of weeks. So if you are somone who prays daily, you can make reading this book part of your daily devotions. This book will help you experience God's love and feel his presence.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2009
A tiny gem - 100 pages or so. The words and advice of a humble seventeenth century monk who literally followed St. Paul's advice to "pray constantly". A charming book about a simple - very holy man.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
I ordered this for a friend, who said the book is a real inspiration, so I will probably get another copy, for myself.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
This timeless classic shows that some of the simplest truths are the most relevant and profound.

Brother Lawrence reminds us that to be a Christian is primarily to have a personal relationship with God through Christ; it's more than a matter of signing up to a particular religion or moral code.

In a few brief letters and accounts of conversations he gives simple practical guidelines for living as a Christian and knowing what it is to be free from guilt and fear - in fact the title says it all, but don't let that prevent you from acquiring this book! I found it managed to be both challenging and encouraging.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Excellent that this is now on Kindle but we need the one that includes the Principles and The Ways which is the better version as these additional works teach simply how to Practice His Presence which is vital. Can we have it on Kindle please.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
brother lawrence simple life, he shows how when doing the most uninteresting chores that this time can be used in prayer. great book
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
Read this book if you want to get a closer walk with God
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
Love this book. Such a quick and easy read yet it challenges you on so many levels. It certainly challenged me to live more in the presence of God!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)