Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great help to a new starter in the field - more than basic
I bought this as an Amazon recommendation as I had to learn how to operate a new live (church) PA system (lots of vocals, guitars, keyboard, drums, etc., and a very mixed "audience"). It has both encouraged me and challenged me, and certainly resulted in a better first attempt to use the new system. Well written, easy to understand for the non-technical, and...
Published on 4 Nov 2001 by Mike Eccles

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Live Sound
No great insites in this book but you do get a usefull selection of reference information, i.e. cable wiring, EQ tips and trouble shooting sections. This book also fits in any pocket!
Published on 21 Oct 2000 by rjc22@mooey.co.uk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great help to a new starter in the field - more than basic, 4 Nov 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Live Sound (Paperback)
I bought this as an Amazon recommendation as I had to learn how to operate a new live (church) PA system (lots of vocals, guitars, keyboard, drums, etc., and a very mixed "audience"). It has both encouraged me and challenged me, and certainly resulted in a better first attempt to use the new system. Well written, easy to understand for the non-technical, and probably more in it than my initial needs. Other books in the series have helped as well. A great investment - inexpensive and comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book - as well as a good brush up, 20 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic Live Sound (Paperback)
I lead a sound team at my church (His People) in London. This book has been an excellent reference to brush up my knowledge again. Some very good theory and practical tips on mic setup etc.
It is a very good pocket reference for a whole range of things (cable connections, typical frequencies etc.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Live Sound, 21 Oct 2000
This review is from: Basic Live Sound (Paperback)
No great insites in this book but you do get a usefull selection of reference information, i.e. cable wiring, EQ tips and trouble shooting sections. This book also fits in any pocket!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good beginners book..., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Live Sound (Paperback)
This is an ideal book for someone who knows someone nothing or very little about live sound reinforcement. If however, like myself, you already know a reasonable amount and you want to delve deeper or consolidate on theory you might find this a bit too basic.

Having said that, the book is well laid out in a sensible order and is a handy quick reference - particularly the section on wiring practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Pocket Book, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Live Sound (Paperback)
Excellent summary of the basics and handy to carry around when trying to sort problems in a live sound environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great overview, 25 July 2013
By 
Mr. J. Herbert (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Live Sound (Paperback)
I wanted something that provided the basics of PA systems and this does it very well. Its small size is handy, I even read it on the beach on my hols. The author has other books in a series and I shall be looking at getting another one to complement this one soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 29 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Live Sound (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read with basic understanding. Great series for beginners or people who need a reminder now and then, pocket size is perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good quick reference guide, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Live Sound (Paperback)
Even though it says basic, the book does cover many aspects of working in the live sound environment, even for me who has been working as sound engineer foe many years, this book serves as a quick referencing guide, where other books would be bulky to have with you all the time. Dont expect to be a master of live sound after reading this book, however it will give you a very good start on working in the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Handy Little Book, 8 Nov 2011
This review is from: Basic Live Sound (Paperback)
This is literally a 'pocket' book and as such is very useful to carry about or leave in the car etc and provides a good 'on the hoof' reference source. At the back, there's a glossary of terminology which I found useful when listening to 'experts'. The sections within the book are well organised and go into sufficient depth to provide a basic understanding of the subject accompanied by nice simple diagrams where necessary for clarity (no pun intended!)I read this volume cover to cover in a couple of hours and like to feel that all the information was digested, time will tell! On a practical level I'm more confident in setting up my system and of matching components correctly to avoid potential damage or disharmony. I recommend this book to anyone needing a stable grounding in this subject.

I bought this together with a larger volume, (The Ultimate Sound Operators Handbook), which I will review later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Basic Live Sound, 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: Basic Live Sound (Paperback)
If you're involved in amateur or semi pro. music making, whether on stage, in a pub, or speaking at a conference, this is the book for you. A bit of previous experience might be useful, although it's not over-technical at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Basic Live Sound
Basic Live Sound by Paul White
£2.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews