Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, hilarious album. Lots of cymbals!
I can't recommend this album enough. Clever, hilarious lyrics. Brilliant performances. This is just a steamy, punky bundle of fun from start to finish.

Highlights include 'Steph(v)enson' with it's terrifyingly catchy chorus and cunningly educational lyrics and 'Goggles', which deserves to go down as one of the greatest and shoutiest songs ever...
Published on 28 Jun. 2010 by Darren

versus
2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor album
I am getting quite into Steampunk literature. So I bought this. It's really all very silly. It has no musical value although I am not sure what I expected. Lyrically it is not half as clever as the two lads think it is. Maybe I am just too old, but stick with proper punk, that's my advice.
Published on 26 Aug. 2011 by James Lessels


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, hilarious album. Lots of cymbals!, 28 Jun. 2010
By 
Darren "ddvmor" (Wotton Under Edge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I can't recommend this album enough. Clever, hilarious lyrics. Brilliant performances. This is just a steamy, punky bundle of fun from start to finish.

Highlights include 'Steph(v)enson' with it's terrifyingly catchy chorus and cunningly educational lyrics and 'Goggles', which deserves to go down as one of the greatest and shoutiest songs ever.

Looking forward to the follow up, guys! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accidental Gem-Find, 26 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons (Audio CD)
Never heard of the band, bought it because of the cover and crossed fingers hoping it didn't disappoint. It hasn't , mostly. There are a couple of really good tracks on here, (stand out: 'boilerplate Daniel', a 'Victorian Gentleman's boasting song'), some tolerably amusing ones, ('they're Moving Father's Grave', 'Moon') and some you can skip over. Already played it half a dozen times and makes an excellent accompaniment to assembling flat-pack bedroom furniture while drinking mead. In short while there probably are better bands and certainly better Cd's it's definitely £4.99 well spent.

good on yer, look forward to volume 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 29 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons (Audio CD)
If you like your music tinted with a smirk then this is for you. A riveting romp :) cant wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, intelligent and raucous, 29 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons (Audio CD)
I accidentally heard 'Goggles' while browsing on youtube, and followed up by buying the album. I love the stupid sense of humour and the very clever wit. Great fun, catchy tunes and a wee smidge of political comment in there too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the Punk into Steampunk., 29 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons (Audio CD)
The Men That Will Not Be Blamed For Nothing are a punk band that sit in the Steampunk genre. They are a unique band in a parallel universe where Victorian values never really ended. Steampunk means different things to different people, for some it means dressing up in Victorian clothing and acting out the mannerisms of whatever class they want to be, others will make modern items look a century old by modding them and so on. There is plenty of literature and many films that slot in to the Steampunk genre.

TMTWNBBFN do exactly what punk bands should do and rebel against society. It's subtle, but I think the band is rebelling against the crazier aspects of Steampunk whilst at the same time being part of it.

On to this debut album, the band tackles subjects such as Charles Darwin (Charlie), Victorian attitudes to mental health (Bedlam), engineers, war, literature and general Victorian attitudes (Etiquette and Victorian Grindcore).

The first single off this album was Sewer; trouble was you needed a phonograph to listen to it as it was released only on wax cylinder.
Highlights for me include Bedlam and Blood Red (a song about the British Empire).

I find the lyrics funny, with some songs having catchy sing-a-long sections (Charlie), and others crossing the boundaries of good taste (although still funny). Exactly how punk should be.

I guess if you are an evangelical Steampunk fan or someone who doesn't like loud, raucous music, you might not enjoy this, but this album really shouldn't be taken too seriously. The album is fun, the band live are fun, and I hope the next album continues in a similar vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons The Men That will Not be.............., 23 May 2013
By 
P. V. Hedley "spook" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons (Audio CD)
The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons The Men That Will Not Be Blamed For Nothing..
If you like punk and Victorian History "The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons The Men That Will Not Be Blamed For Nothing", is the album for you. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My new favourite album, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I boulght this after seeing TMTWNBBFN close at the Nie Lessons & Carols for godless people show at the Bloossbury last year.

Blown away by just how good it is, although Andrew O'Neill is a stand up comic as a day job, he is also an awesome metal\Punk guitarist.

Goggles and Boilerplate Dan rank up there with anyone as rock masterpieces, but Steph(v)enson and a victorian gentlemens boasting song blow everything else away.

Awsome. Buy it. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More punk than steam, but a fine effort from TMTWNBBFN. It is worth searching out a few of their videos to see if it is your sort of stuff.

Standout tracks for me are Steph(v)enson and Boilerplate Daniel.

I prefer the more recent album "This May Be The Reason Why The Men That Will Not Be Blamed For Nothing Cannot Be Killed By Conventional Weapons" and would suggest only getting this one after you have given that a good listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Punk that steam, 29 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons (Audio CD)
Steampunk isn't a genre of music, it's a way of looking at music. These boys literally give you the 'goggles' to do it. Expect clever, well constructed lyrics blended into music that can't really be found anywhere else. Do yourself a favour and buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great steamPUNK album, 29 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons (Audio CD)
First off, if you don't like punk this album may not be for you.

If you DO like punk (even if you don't like it steam) you'll love this album.

Like chaos? There's a song for that. (Bedlam)

Are you a strong, confident woman? There's a song for that. (Goggles)

Confused about engineers with the surname Steph(v)enson? Give "Steph(v)enson" a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons
The Steampunk Album! That Cannot Be Named For Legal Reasons by The Men That Will Not Be Blamed For Nothing (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews