Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.98+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2010
Placebo have covered a wide range of songs here here, my favourites being covers of the Smiths "Bigmouth Strikes Again" and Kate Bush's "Running Up that Hill". I love the originals, and placebo have successfully recorded reimaginings which are sufficiently different (and placeboesque) to be interesting, but without sounding different for the sake of it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Placebo as a band never merely cover songs. They make them their own. Where fans of the original versions of these songs may have their gripes and Placebo fan will be in love with this album. Personal favourite has got to be Daddy Cool, I know its unlikely but I hope they play it in concert in March.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Placebo manage to put their own personal touch to the various songs they cover, the most successfully with "Bigmouth Strikes Again" "Running Up that Hill", which are superb. Other covers are surprise choices and wouldn't have necessarily been my cup of tea. But overall, this is a consistently good album which shows how versatile Placebo can be. Well worth buying!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
I had heard Running up that hill on the radio, my husband alerted me to this album which I think is great. Brian's voice is so verstile it was like some tracks were made for him to sing, even loved Daddy Cool. If you are Placebo fan of a certain age,you'll know the words and be singing along in no time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
This album is amazing! Am a loyal Placebo fan anyway but their covers are way better than the originals, Brian's voice just adds everything. Love the way they cover songs that you just didn't think they ever would. My faves have to be Running Up That Hill, 20th Century Boy and Daddy Cool. The only song I'm not really keen on is Jackie as it doesn't really seem to suit them but apart from that the album is great - buy it!!!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
A great album with some well known tunes done as cover versions by Placebo, done in their own style. very quick delivery - very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Great album,just shows their versatility. Can anyone tell me who did the original version of 'Jackie' please as it's bugging me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
It's Placebo so if you are a fan it's one to add to your collection. Some tracks I really enjoyed but others were just OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
This album was a bit of a laugh for me as an avid Placebo fan but I am glad it is in my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
Totally love this. Interesting take on some classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)