Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game but beware of Platinum Editions!!
This is a great game but beware when ordering from here!!

I ordered this game from a third party seller via Amazon but when it arrived it was the Platinum Edition and not the proper GOTY edition as advertised here. The difference is that the Platinum one only has 4 extra maps instead of 6 and doesn't come with 3D glasses. Also the cover design is different...
Published 21 months ago by Jamster

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars essential received
not the edition i expected, what i received is an essential version and which is different from the image. won't come again
Published 2 months ago by Chengkai Qian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game but beware of Platinum Editions!!, 8 Oct 2012
By 
Jamster (Down the back of the sofa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman : Arkham Asylum - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a great game but beware when ordering from here!!

I ordered this game from a third party seller via Amazon but when it arrived it was the Platinum Edition and not the proper GOTY edition as advertised here. The difference is that the Platinum one only has 4 extra maps instead of 6 and doesn't come with 3D glasses. Also the cover design is different and looks really cheap with the yellow & silver. The Joker DLC for PS3 is also no longer available in the UK.

I returned the game to Amazon for a refund and got the proper GOTY edition elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOTY Edition: Make sure you ask the Amazon seller it's NOT the Platium release, 25 April 2014
By 
M Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman : Arkham Asylum - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
Despite the picture showing the original black label release, many seller's are sending out Platinum editions to customers, so please be careful if you're wanting to purchase this edition, and not the platinum release.

Onto the review:
Arkham Asylum isn't just any Batman game, it is THE Batman game.

While it doesn't specifically tie into any movie, comic book, or television series, it takes elements from all 3 and combines them into an amazing game featuring an equally amazing story. Featuring the writer and voice actors from Batman: The Animated Series, art design courtesy of WildStorm Comics, and the mature and gritty subject matter of the Christopher Nolan movies (Batman Begins, The Dark Knight) and more adult graphic novels, Arkham Asylum definitely lives up to the hype as the ‘ultimate Batman experience'.

First off, let me say that the 15 rating on this game is very deserved, if not generous. The fighting is brutal, the storyline is dark, and Batman is pissed off. He may not kill people, but he sure can beat them to within an inch of their life. The game starts with Batman hauling in the Joker to Arkham Asylum, however Batman feels uneasy about this, as Joker surrenders almost without a fight. We quickly find out that after a mysterious fire at Blackgate Prison, Jokers henchmen have been transferred to Arkham. I'm sure you know what that means, time for a breakout! With the inmates running the asylum, it's up to The Dark Knight to restore order and stop Joker from whatever it is he is planning. Of course, with an army of henchmen and all those super-criminals and deeply disturbed individuals residing in Arkham at his disposal, the Joker will make this anything but easy. The villains consist of such classics like Bane, Victor Zsasz, Poison Ivy, Scarecrow, Killer Croc, and of course the Joker and Harley Quinn.

Don't get your hopes up though, you won't actually go toe-to-toe with many of these villains, and if you do, the fight will be very underwhelming and over in a in just a few short minutes. They're really there for cameos and to give a little back story to Gotham City. Plus, it'd just be cruel to subject Batman to fighting all of them in a single night.

The greatest part of the story is the character development. For those who only know the basics of Batman, the game will provide more than adequate background to catch you up through the use of very graphic and mature patient interview audio tapes you can find scattered around and mini biographies provided for each character, and of course the story itself. As I said, this game is dark. The interviews describe in graphic detail the crimes committed by the inmates, and make various references to other heinous acts, from murder to dead baby jokes. There is very little that's off limits, which makes this game geared towards the older audience.

As for the guy who dresses like a giant Bat, his story is a little more disturbing although much less graphic. You'll see from the start he isn't the Batman who has a gadget for absolutely everything stored away in his utility belt. From the rare moment of self doubt when Batman admits he's not sure he can stop the Joker, to the downright creepy nightmares of Scarecrow, you'll learn a little bit more about what drives Batman and what his worst nightmares are. I personally love the Scarecrow parts of the game. While the Scarecrow isn't a real boss (he's more of a nuisance who'll pop up now and again to infect you with his hallucinogens), his side missions take you off of Arkham Asylum and drop you into the Batmans worst nightmares. It's a great mix of sad storytelling and hellish nightmare that I'll let you experience for yourself.

One of the reasons Batman has so many fans is that he is not an overpowered superhero, he's just an intelligent man with high tech toys, well trained in most forms of combat, and who wears a bat suit. The game incorporates this into the game perfectly. Being a master of many different forms of martial arts, Batman can easily dispatch a dozen enemies at a time. The game features something called free flow combat, which basically means you're not locked onto a single target in a fight, you can bounce back and forth as you see fit dealing with whoever you want first without slowing down, and earning huge combo bonuses as you beat thugs senseless. The first impression of the fighting system is that because you only have one main attack button, that it's weak and boring. This is incredibly wrong. Yes, your main attacks are limited to one button at first, but as you proceed throughout the game you'll be able to unlock vicious special moves that you can use in combos as well as gadgets like upgraded batarangs, explosive gels and grappling hooks. Like the real Batman, you'll also be able to dodge and counter any close quarters combat moves using what is basically a Spidey-sense, as enemies who are about to hit you will suddenly flash leaving you a split second to respond. Combined with a dozen enemies all rushing you, the combat is frantic and brutal, if you want to button mash you probably can, but it's more satisfying if you learn to chain your moves and discover new bone crunching animations and takedowns. Not to mention you'll earn points based on your combat skills that will let you purchase upgrades like additional health to sonic batarangs.

Like I said, one of the great things about Batman is that he is still just a man. So you can only take a very limited amount of damage before you go down (which by the way, features excellent cut scenes where opponents like Joker, Killer Croc and Poison Ivy will taunt you before ending your life). So going hand to hand doesn't always seem like the best idea, especially when the enemies have knives, stun rods, or guns, where you'll be down in just a few hits. Luckily you're almost always provided the opportunity to avoid a full on confrontation and go the stealth approach such as setting traps, creeping around air ducts to get into advantageous positions, hanging from gargoyles to drop in on your unsuspecting enemies and other various tricks using your limited supply of gadgets. I can usually spot a few other ways I could have completed an objective after finishing it, leaving the game open to repeated playing. The AI isn't the smartest, I mean, if I'm coming at you from a 90 degree angle, you should be able to see me. However there is one touch given to the henchmen that I love, their heart rate. It can go from anywhere from Calm (they haven't even noticed you're there yet) to Terrified (they just found the broken body you left hanging from the ceiling). While terrified, their AI changes behaviour. Instead of solitary patrols they now stick together in teams, making your life a little bit more difficult. All in all, the game does a great job of giving us the options that we'd expect the Batman to take advantage of.

Along with the main storyline, you'll also be on the lookout for various trophies, maps, the previously mentioned patient interviews, and solutions to riddles left behind by the Riddler. The riddles were a nice distraction during the story and even something fun to do once you've finished the game. They usually revolve around your ability to effectively use your Detective mode. Detective mode is basically where your “Batman-sense” kicks in, letting you easily spot objects of interest, follow evidence trails, and recon your enemies. You'll be relying on this heavily to guide you throughout the games many open courtyards, caves, sewers and buildings. At first this crutch seems to make the game way too linear, leaving you little freedom to go do what you want, but even when you're playing as the World's Greatest Detective, it's still nice to have some help now and then.

The graphics in the game are top notch. Styled after their comic book counterparts, Batman and the rest of the DC characters are incredible. From the Jokers twisted smile to the tattoos on the inmates, the attention to detail are outstanding. The little things make all the difference, from the gradually appearing rips in Batmans suit, to his increasing 5 o'clock shadow and bloody face. The game features many different buildings from the lush botanical gardens and dirty hospitals to the high tech prisons, each providing a unique environment with a nice change of atmosphere. It pretty much feels like you're playing through one long animated movie, rather than most superhero games that feature incredible cut scenes but subpar in-game graphics.

The in-game music is great, and really adds to the suspense as you sneak around and stalk your enemies and the bone crunching sound effects as you make your move is awesome. I especially love the way the Joker will taunt you randomly over the intercom, and mock his henchmen as you take them out one by one. Even the Riddler takes cheap shots as you try to solve his riddles. Plus, maybe it's just because I grew up watching Batman: The Animated Series, but to me the voices of Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill are the ones I associate with the Batman and Joker respectively. The voice acting simply matches perfectly with the characters, so I'll say it again, it really just feels like you're playing through one long animated movie.

Well, long in terms of a movie that is. In terms of a video game, it's fairly short. Maybe 9-12 hours if you take your time. I wouldn't let that deter you though. As I said, there are so many ways to complete your missions that it's a blast to do a second playthrough. Combined with the challenge maps that test your Batman prowess, such as speedily dispatching an entire room full of armed enemies or taking on 20 inmates in a single fight, the game has a fairly high replay value.

I'd definitely recommend purchasing this game if you're a big Batman fan. Even if you're not a big Batman fan, it's still a fun game that deserves a playthrough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Misleading, 5 Sep 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman : Arkham Asylum - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
Overall the game is brilliant, loved every minute however the game of the year edition says there is a play as the joker dlc, which isn't available in the UK, due to the game company wanting it taken down, which is kind of bad as it was one of the reasons I bought the game. However, still a brilliant game and excellent services from amazon and the seller but still a bit disappointed about the dlc.

Jack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games ever, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman : Arkham Asylum - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
Wicked game and cheap for a game of the year version..cant wait for the ps4 version to finish the trilogy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the regular edition - but still great game, 9 Aug 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman : Arkham Asylum - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is great, i loved it and it is a fantastic game but the game of the year edition sorta sucks.

The 3d is rubbish and theres already loads of challenge maps so an extra 6 or so dont make much of an add on.

The only reason i would get this edition is because of the cover, which is sooooo cool.

but apart from that, theres no point so dont waste your money and go for the regular version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars essential received, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman : Arkham Asylum - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
not the edition i expected, what i received is an essential version and which is different from the image. won't come again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great controls, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman : Arkham Asylum - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
I am always sceptical of comic or movie based games but this one was brilliant, as a fan of Batman I was hoping Arkham Asylum would not let me down and it did not, great game play with a the perfect balance of difficulty (for me).

The fast paced scenes in this game are made enjoyable by the simple controls, which for someone like me who can only remember a limited number of combinations this was worth its weight in gold too me.

Other reviews are more detailed so I will sum this up by saying: if you want a game you can get into quite easily then this is the one, not to difficult not too easy with brilliant gameplay and controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Batman videogame that broke the mould..., 23 Jan 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman : Arkham Asylum - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
Loosely based on the graphic novel by Grant Morrison (Arkham Asylum: A Serious House On A Serious Earth), Batman: Arkham Asylum pits the Dark Knight against a whole host of super-villains when The Joker takes over the asylum and puts the entire place on lock-down with Batman still inside. The chaos that follows is purely some of the best Batman stuff you're likely to see in a videogame. The game map itself (the Asylum) is massive - about seven or eight separate buildings and 3 or four outdoor areas to explore as well. The whole game looks dark, gritty and well and truly, Batman-ish. The guys who developed this are geniuses - because I doubt anyone else could've made it look and feel this good. There's also a host of side-stuff to be getting on with, too - the Riddler sets you the task of finding trophies and solving riddles throughout the main game and the Challenge mode is also very cool (you can now download free DLC to play as the Joker in this mode).

The voice acting and cast in this game is second to none - most of the voice actors from Batman: The Animated Series returned to voice their respective characters, featuring Kevin Conroy as Batman and the legendary Mark Hamill returns to voice the Joker. All in all, this game is a must-own whether you're a hardcore batman fan or whether you just dabble occasionally. It's a really great action/adventure game. Easily 10 out of 10 and definitely worth the money you'll pay for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman : Arkham Asylum - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
It's a great game that all gamers will enjoy. It has all the elements of what is to be expected of a Batman universe and has a lot of gameplay hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading image, 10 Jan 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman : Arkham Asylum - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
The image shown doesn't match the product I've received.
The hard-case is red and the game comes only with four extra maps and not the advertised 6, not to mention the cover is full of text since it's written in both english and french.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman : Arkham Asylum - Game of the Year (PS3)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews