Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WRC FIA World Rally Championship PS3
A very addictive game, I keep going back trying to trim those crucial seconds off my course times. If you're into arcade racers like Blur and Need for Speed then this isn't for you but if racing simulation is more your thing then it's a good fit especially if you have an arcade wheel with all the driving assists turned off. There's definitely a lot on offer here with this...
Published on 11 Oct 2010 by Dexter

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Last gen graphics and gameplay, but still good fun
This game is in a bit of a time warp - the graphics are very last-gen-console level, and the gameplay is lifted from Colin McRae circa 2003. In fact, for comparison I fired up a copy of Colin McRae 04 (released in 2003) on my old original xbox. It's uncannily similar to WRC 2010 - the graphics are of a similar quality, and the whole structure of the game is remarkably...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WRC FIA World Rally Championship PS3, 11 Oct 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WRC - FIA World Rally Championship (PS3) (Video Game)
A very addictive game, I keep going back trying to trim those crucial seconds off my course times. If you're into arcade racers like Blur and Need for Speed then this isn't for you but if racing simulation is more your thing then it's a good fit especially if you have an arcade wheel with all the driving assists turned off. There's definitely a lot on offer here with this game in terms of content, all four of the WRC catergories are included, PWRC,JWRC,SWRC and WRC, the weather effects and damage effects to the cars are pretty realistic even if some of the course designs lack the definition of other racers. Visually the cars are spot on, Ken Blocks Ford Focus is realized in great detail as are most of the cars. The game provides a great sense of speed and the power delivered by the cars is fairly spot on, In terms of course design I'd like to have seen the actual rally courses turn for turn included but the overall attempt at providing unique course designs provides something new if a bit different for an official game like WRC. Some of the narrower courses like Finland where even the smallest mistake in the snow will punish your time severely require a decent level of concentration over and above other courses like Japan and Jordan which are more forgiving. The co-driver Pace notes are certainly an area where the developer can build on to bring the realism even closer but overall this is a very competent racer for the Rally fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Last gen graphics and gameplay, but still good fun, 24 Oct 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WRC - FIA World Rally Championship (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is in a bit of a time warp - the graphics are very last-gen-console level, and the gameplay is lifted from Colin McRae circa 2003. In fact, for comparison I fired up a copy of Colin McRae 04 (released in 2003) on my old original xbox. It's uncannily similar to WRC 2010 - the graphics are of a similar quality, and the whole structure of the game is remarkably similar. WRC 2010 is a little more arcadey than CM04 in terms of the driving skill required to do well.

Now don't get me wrong, I enjoyed CM04 and actually while Codemaster's more recent Dirt titles are in a completely different league in terms of graphics and playability, the straight-laced approach of the old CM games can be quite enjoyable. And so it is with WRC2010 - it's a really simple little game but still good fun and I find myself playing it regularly. You kind of get used to the graphics after a while, even if it feels odd at times to be playing a game that must be using a small fraction of the PS3's power.

It certainly shouldn't be full price though - a 12 download-only version would have been far more appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WRC vs Dirt 2, 10 Nov 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WRC - FIA World Rally Championship (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm using this game with Logitech G27, and there are no issues, the game lacks the detailed smooth fast moving graphics of Dirt 2, however the driving has much more of a "real feel" to it especially as the back and of the car starts to drift out, the feedback through the G27 is in my opinion one of the best, the game follows the well established career, single player and online options. In my opinion the game has more of a real rally sim feel about it, where as I find dirt 2 a little arcade (ish)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curses.....I had high hopes, 5 Nov 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WRC - FIA World Rally Championship (PS3) (Video Game)
I really wanted to like this game. After buying the disaster that was Dirt2, I was excited to hear of a game being developed that got back to the nitty-gritty of rallying.
I'd consider the physics of the game to be excellent. Car handling and dynamics are spot-on on all surfaces, and big thumbs up to Blackbean for that, but it's let down in a big way by the graphics. Normally, I'd be more concerned with gameplay than looks, so they need to be pretty bad for me to pipe-up about the issue.
I'm grateful that someone has made the descision to develop a proper rally simulator after all these years, but couldn't they could have tweaked it to make it slightly more visually appealing? It would certainly add to the experience.
If you're happy to tolerate the bad visuals for a really decent performing rally simulator, spend your 30 on this.
For me though, I feel ever so slightly robbed.
I'm now hoping CM do a better job with Dirt3 than they did with their last effort. I've read it's going back to it's rally roots. (Without Ken Block's posse calling me "Dude" flat-out hopefully)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a TRUE rally game!, 31 May 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WRC - FIA World Rally Championship (PS3) (Video Game)
First off, i live in the United States and apparently this game is game is never being released here in the states so i had no other option but to import it from our brothers in the UK. this game is WAY better than the more recent titles like Dirt 3 since it is all about the exhilirating sport of rally and not about the gimmicky Gymkhana or Offroad truck racing. the graphics and menus may not be up to par but the fun and the physics are there. this is like a healthy mix of Colin McRae rally 04 mixed with Rallisport Challenge 2. everyone should check it out for this price and HOPEFULLY this game comes to America some day so that everyone can enjoy games like these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great fun., 30 Jan 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WRC - FIA World Rally Championship (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a great follow up to the older WRC games. the offline is brilliant, providing a way up to the best WRC cars in the world. Download packages from the PSN store give you more cars including historic classics. However, they have taken shortcuts in the developing of this game. They have used the same parts of tracks joined together and just renamed them. The game is good though, and the online is also brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WRC 2010: Better than you might think, 27 Dec 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WRC - FIA World Rally Championship (PS3) (Video Game)
Ok then WRC 2010 for Play Station 3. Well you download the demo like I did and I was a bit disappointed. However I was gifted this game at Christmas and I would have happily paid for it because it is actually a pretty good game. The driving takes time to get used to but it is a challenge to be able to master. Also there are a lot of different drivers and cars on this game and quite a few stages. It seems better when you have more to chose from unlike in the demo when you could do hardly anything. Hot seat stages are fun and so is the single stage or rally or championship. WRC Academy is a bit of a waste of time to be honest, it's pretty easy but it actually did make me a bit better. Anyway, The Road To The WRC is a good game mode. I have only just started winning the Estadio Algarve stage in the Citroen C4 WRC by a clear margin. It is a good idea that I think has been seen on previous WRC games. I like the way you build your way up the ranks. My only real complaint about WRC 2010 is that the car modelling is fine but on tarmac the wheels don't change and I don't like all the cars that you have never seen before on WRC television. Anyway this is a good buy. My rating would be 8 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get GT5 Instead, 5 Dec 2010
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WRC - FIA World Rally Championship (PS3) (Video Game)
the game is great don't get me wrong but GT5 has the WRC in it and it's much better graphics than this game I like the game but there is no need to waste your money when you can get this in GT5 and many other types of races in the game as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Good The Bad And The Ugly.......!, 14 Nov 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WRC - FIA World Rally Championship (PS3) (Video Game)
Firstly the ugly no mistaking this game is ugly the on screen menus are ps1 standard,the bad the in game graphics are never above ps2 standard.And finally the good to great ! (depends on my driving) the GAMEPLAY.I use a logitech ex wheel and it is tough going but so rewarding at times in my opinion a good recipe for any game.Finally overall a good game recommended to all racing game players providing they give it some time you will be REWARDED !.Nearly forgot have had the game for 3 days and whenever i go online there are plenty of gamers on there ,its great racing with 15 others with ghost mode on.Good price amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wrc 2010, 12 Nov 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WRC - FIA World Rally Championship (PS3) (Video Game)
Much better than the last WRC. The graphics are obviously better being on PS3. It's also much more in depth than the last one. More tracks and more customization of the cars. The 'Road to WRC' mode is really good. You can start from scratch, making your own team with co-driver and work your way up the ranks. There's loads of difficulties to choose from (1-10) and lots of different driving aids you can turn on/off to suit you. (I find it best if you turn them off as the car slides around corners better).
Overall I give this game 8/10!
If you love racing and/or WRC you'll really enjoy this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WRC - FIA World Rally Championship (PS3)
14.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews