Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tidy piece of kit
This piece of kit allows the two rear speakers of a Samsung home cinema system to operate without any wires running directly from the speakers to the blu-ray player.
The signal for the rear speakers is transmitted from a tidy little 'plug-in' fitted in the back of the player to a receiver box that is slightly bigger than a standard DVD box, but about 4X as thick. The...
Published on 23 Nov 2010 by Mick17

versus
40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CAUTION
The surround sound system I have is a 2009 model. I was researching the remote receiver for a 1252 system and I kept getting links to the 5000 model. As the previous reviewer is the only one to note it is not backwards compatible with Blu-ray surround sound systems with wireless capability pre 2010. So to save some grief check before purchase. There is almost no...
Published on 1 July 2010 by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tidy piece of kit, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Rear Speaker Adaptor kit (Electronics)
This piece of kit allows the two rear speakers of a Samsung home cinema system to operate without any wires running directly from the speakers to the blu-ray player.
The signal for the rear speakers is transmitted from a tidy little 'plug-in' fitted in the back of the player to a receiver box that is slightly bigger than a standard DVD box, but about 4X as thick. The 'plug-in' sticks out from the back of the player by no more than 2.5cm and is totally unobtrusive.
The receiver box sits on its end on a little, flat stand. It has to be no more than
5ft from a plug socket, as it's a powered component. Each of the rear speakers is connected by wire to the receiver box, so it's not strictly 'wireLESS'. However, it meant that I only had to find a neat place to hide the receiver box (behind a sofa)and then run wires the short distance to each rear speaker. It saved having to run wires all the way round the room from the blu-ray player to the rear speakers. I didn't use the cables that came with the kit as they were just too short for my layout, so I replaced them with the much longer cables that came with the home cinema system itself.
One slight irritation is that the rear and centre speakers on my Samsung 5:1 home cinema system don't work when watching cable TV, so (like a good boy) I turn off the receiver box to save a bit of energy. When I do this a message appears on the front of the blu ray player every 30 seconds saying "Rear Speaker Check" and this can be a little distracting after a while. The easy solution I suppose is to notch up my electricity bill by 0.0001% and leave the box switched on.
The sound from the speakers appears to be clear and free of any distortion and the installation is quick, easy and very tidy.
I agree that it's quite a lot of money to pay just to avoid having to move a bit of furniture and lift/refit some carpet, so you need to consider this before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says it will!, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. John Adams (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Rear Speaker Adaptor kit (Electronics)
I bought this along with the HT - C5500 and it worked straight out of the box.... No fiddling about or lost signal.
It does indeed still require speaker cables between the two rear speakers to be connected to it, as the Unit itself is the "Wireless Receiver"
But you DONT need to have cables coming from your surround sound system, to the rear speakers anymore.... thats the whole point of this eh?

If you are the sort that has a bit of common sence, then you would place that "Thin" Rear Cables underneath the skirking board or under the carpet, to hide the cables... and you would place the Wireless unit where it wont be seen.... Seemples eh?

This unit saves you having to Route the very long rear cables from your Surround System at the front of your room, all the way back to the other end of your room, which can be a bit tricky and hard work depending on your layout.... so this unit will save you that hassle where you can place your speakers where you want at the rear of the room, and not having to worry about where that cables will go from the surround system to them....

This is a 'No-Brainer' tip to the reviewers here that had negative comments about this unit... they should have read its description a little bit more eh?

It works perfect, and I have no cables showing and the unit is placed over 4M from the Sussound system, so I am very, very happy with it.
Buy with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CAUTION, 1 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Rear Speaker Adaptor kit (Electronics)
The surround sound system I have is a 2009 model. I was researching the remote receiver for a 1252 system and I kept getting links to the 5000 model. As the previous reviewer is the only one to note it is not backwards compatible with Blu-ray surround sound systems with wireless capability pre 2010. So to save some grief check before purchase. There is almost no notification anywhere about this. Even Amazon list it as a newer model but forget to mention compatability issues with 2008/9 surround sound systems that are still readily available. Samsung site kept crashing.I hope this saves you some grief due to lack of clear information provided generally by almost everone. Last bit, if you have an earlier model(2009) cinema system it will require the SWA-4000 wireless receiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A happy wife!, 5 Oct 2011
By 
N. S. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Rear Speaker Adaptor kit (Electronics)
I purchased this wireless adapter with a HT-D6500 home cinema from Samsung. Having had a new wooden floor recently installed, trailing wires were a no-no. The unit comes with a card for the rear of the HT-D6500 and once this is inserted, it sends the rear signal to the adapter. It worked flawlessly first time. The unit is discreet and does not have to be on show. Nicely styled however. Red light on the unit when the main unit is off and turns blue when the HT-D6500 unit is on. Sound of crickets and surf behind you during the latest Pirates of the Caribbean film was bliss. The whole package gives a good clear sound field with the centre speech speaker giving good clear dialogue. Overall, very impressed with the sound quality. My wife likes the lack of clutter too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wireless? kit, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Rear Speaker Adaptor kit (Electronics)
As others have said, this does have wires from the unit to the speakers but it does save having to run wires from the main player. The build and sound quality is superb as you would expect from a Sammy product. Instructions were simple enough and it was up and running in no time. Come on Samsung, lets have some "wireless", wireless speakers please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Rear Speaker Adaptor kit (Electronics)
There are a few people complaining that it isn't totally wireless, please note that these are the people that DIDN'T read about and research this product. When it arrived, it took 5 minutes tops to set up, it is the perfect solution for me as running cables around the wall would be a non starter.

Highly recommended for a simple and clean look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Rear Speaker Adaptor kit (Electronics)
The SWA-5000 does exactly what it should, it is very easy to set up and I have had no problems so far. The only thing I would mark it down for is, it should have an On/Off switch. I have it plugged into a multi-socket hidden at the back of my sofa, so basically it is switched on 24/7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars works great, 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Rear Speaker Adaptor kit (Electronics)
It works perfectly! It's like a plug and play device, just connect the two shorter cables to the surround back columns and put the wireless card into the dvd slot and it's done! so simple as that. It's a little expensive just to connect two back columns but it's the price to avoid any cables around the living room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No more running wires all around the room, 22 May 2010
By 
Paul Townsend (Bristol, South Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Rear Speaker Adaptor kit (Electronics)
The Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Speaker Module is an add-on unit that eliminates the need for wires running to your rear speakers. Compatible with Samsung's 2010 range of home cinema systems with a wireless transmitter slot, the SWA5000 receives the rear audio signal, sent from the main system via the included wireless add-on card. Just plug your original rear speakers into the wireless module and there you have it; instant wireless rear speakers!

The SWA5000 is a convenient shape and size, and can be placed in a corner at the back of your living room, or between the rear speakers. No more running wires all around the room, the SWA-5000 is an elegant and effective solution for a clear and tidy living room.

Key features:

*Easy plug and play connections for rear speakers.
*Adds wireless functionality to the rear speakers.
*Convenient shape and size.
*Elegant and effective wireless solution for a clear and tidy living room.
Compatibility.
*Samsung home cinema systems.

Box Contents:

*Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Speaker Kit, Wireless add-on transmitter card, TX Card / RX Module.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Addition To Give Cable-free Surround Sound, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SWA-5000 Wireless Rear Speaker Adaptor kit (Electronics)
I was a bit cautious about buying the Samsung SWA-5000 to go with my Samsung HT-E4500 Surround Sound Blu-Ray Player on the basis that other reviews around the internet seemed to be very mixed with a lot of people having problems setting up or with distorted sound coming from them.

However I am really pleased that I ignored those reviews and went with the fact that Samsung would not be selling this item if it was that bad.

The product is quick and simple to install, insert the TX Card into the slot on the Blu-Ray, plug the rear speakers into the correct port and then turn the wireless system & Blu-ray on - everything links together without pushing any buttons and a quick test of the speakers from the Settings menu on the HT-E4500 showed the rear speakers to be working loud and clear.

Watching movies really shows how great everything works with the audio coming out perfectly on all sources, no delay or sync issues, just pure 5.1 surround that blows you away like the wired rear speakers would if connected directly to the Blu-Ray player.

Would definately recommend these to anyone that wants to remove those couple of wires that are the hardest to hide around most rooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews