Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same...
No More Heroes was a breath of fresh air, its a throwback to retro gaming in a modern punk style. Featuring a series of mini games, linear fighting and the element where the game comes into its own is the boss fights. These are where this game excels. The characters are inventive, creative and extremely fun to pit your wits against. This second installment is pretty much...
Published on 15 Jun 2010 by DRGD

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay.
As a big fan of the first No More Heroes, I was pretty excited to play the sequel. Inserting the disc in to my Wii, I automatically expected more of the same: tongue on cheek dialogue, memorable characters and varied gameplay.

In reality: not quite. No More Heroes 2 plays more like a prettier, stripped down version of the original: no more free roaming, no more...
Published on 20 Sep 2010 by angst_critic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same..., 15 Jun 2010
By 
DRGD (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii) (Video Game)
No More Heroes was a breath of fresh air, its a throwback to retro gaming in a modern punk style. Featuring a series of mini games, linear fighting and the element where the game comes into its own is the boss fights. These are where this game excels. The characters are inventive, creative and extremely fun to pit your wits against. This second installment is pretty much more of the same. The world of Travis Touchdown is vibrant and exciting with Santa Destroy being an ideal location for a mini vacation. The controls are fun and intuitive with plenty of slicing and dicing carried out by the player to really help immerse you in the game. Overall I highly recommend this game, although it might be more for the long running hardcore gamer who will appreciate the throwback and retro style and mini games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing sequil to the first!, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii) (Video Game)
Even if you haven't played the first this game is definitely worth picking up.
It's bloody and has overwhelmingly fun combat in. The new beam katanas are pretty awesome and lets you choose a sort of fighting style unlike the first one.

If you have a Wii or Wii U this is worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A decent sequel, missing a little of the original's flair., 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii) (Video Game)
The first No More Heroes is quite easily the best game on the wii for my money, and a bit of a cult classic. Anything Suda 51 and Grasshopper put their names to tends to be an otherworldly hyper-stylized blast of sugar coated oddness unlike anything else out there, and this holds up that tradition well.

The open world from the first game is gone though, which I found made the game slightly less absorbing, and the boss fights could sometimes feel a little less refined, leading to occasionally frustrating slug fests.

Still way more interesting than almost anything else out there, and a must-play for anyone who loves that Grasshopper flavour (and everyone should, seriously they're the most interesting studio working in games today).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game for some people...., 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii) (Video Game)
Like most things from Suda51, this game is one that you will either really like and appreciate or you will dislike and wonder why you wasted time with it.
I personally loved the game...took everything great from the first game and removed the annoying open areas...thus streamlining the gameplay and making it feel less like a grind-fest.
If you don't know anything about this game or Suda51, I'd recommend looking up trailers/videos of this game and the first game and maybe even other games from Suda51 to judge whether you would find this game to your liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic system improvement over the original, 6 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is pretty damn flawless compared to the original in the fact that a faster, more efficient system is placed in order to reach shops, missions and mini-games. The script is strong and hilarious like the original.
The biggest improvement is the plethora of mini games that drag you into the arcade classic era with the 8 bit appearance; these mini games can be a collection of time consuming games in their own right.
This game gets 4/5 because the new camera system is a little delayed and not as forthright like the first game, and the story/character boss fights are a little lacklustre if only ever in the slightest. Playing as *SPOILER* shinobu was frustrating like hell because of the poorly made jump system.

TL;DR
Much better mini-games, efficient menu, strong combat improvement. Lacks strong charismatic bosses compared to the first game, shinobu is annoying, and slightly delayed camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game and my son loves it, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii) (Video Game)
Came here quick, works perfectly. My Son plays on it most nights. Not a lot else I can say as I don't play it. Hopwever I've had no complaints from the man hidden in his room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes!, 7 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii) (Video Game)
i brought no more heroes and loved the boss battles, but a lot of the other features let it down. in NMH2 most of these issues are fixed, making this game simply amazing!
the boss battles are fun and unique, the minigames are interesting an enjoyable, and the plot is decent. the only small problems are it does get a little repetitive at some points. also this game has some of the WORST jump and platforming mechanics i have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A-MA-ZING!, 6 Dec 2011
By 
Lara Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii) (Video Game)
Words cannot explain how much I love this game!! I tend to stick to RPGs but wanted something a little more senseless and violent. I'd never heard of this game but I wanted what was basically Devil May Cry but for the Wii. This game is a million times better! Great characters, funny dialogue and fantastic gameplay. For a tenner - BUY THIS GAME! Seriously. If you like blood and gore and comedy this is amazing. Love, love, LOVE it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No More Heroes 2, 9 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii) (Video Game)
The game is very funny and cool just like the first one. You can't drive at will in the town with the bike which is a good thing, you just pick your destination. The jobs are very funny and will help you earn some money. But in the end, I find the first NMH more entertaining, especially the story. Some of the bosses in NMH 2 seemed to be there just to fill a gap, there is a lack of originalit.Finally, the end is not as better as in NMH 1, but the game has still the spirit of NMH, so if you have liked the first one, you should definitely buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent but cut back too much, 3 Oct 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii) (Video Game)
I enjoyed No More Heroes 1 immensely so was looking forward to NMH2. The boss fights are still great and the story is brilliant and hilarious. However, in an attempt to cut out some of the repetitive nature of NMH1 I think it has gone a bit too far. The 'old school' mini games are fun for a bit, but when you realise there is no real point in collecting money in the game they become redundant. This means the game boils down to essentially a bunch of boss fights with storyline as filler. The few side bits and pieces: collecting outfits, training at gym, mini games are unnecessary. Ultimately the game is a lot of fun but far too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii)
No More Heroes 2 - Desperate Struggle (Wii) by Rising Star Games (Nintendo Wii)
£17.07
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews