Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delicious interlude
I'm a big fan of short stories, they're just the thing when you only have time for a brief escape and I really enjoyed this series of Regency set tales. They have a unifying theme, the action taking place at a lavish Midsummer Eve Ball, with lots of witty dialogue and period atmosphere. My particular favourite was Blue Figured Silk and involved a Rake. Or is he?
Published on 12 Jan 2011 by Kindle addict

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poppycock.
This is poorly researched, full of anachronisms and not worth considering. Set against Georgette Heyer, it really is rubbishy stuff.
Published 16 months ago by Dr. D. Rowland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delicious interlude, 12 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of short stories, they're just the thing when you only have time for a brief escape and I really enjoyed this series of Regency set tales. They have a unifying theme, the action taking place at a lavish Midsummer Eve Ball, with lots of witty dialogue and period atmosphere. My particular favourite was Blue Figured Silk and involved a Rake. Or is he?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious little treats, 1 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsummer Eve at Rookery End (Regency House Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed these lovely stories. Perfect for reading before bed - not too long or too short. Romantic and beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific trio of short stories, 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: Midsummer Eve at Rookery End (Regency House Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm not usually a fan of short stories but, having read other work by Elizabeth Hanbury, I knew I was in for a treat. I was right. Beautifully crafted and cleverly themed, these three stories were like Belgian chocolates - rich and satisfying - and you only needed a taste to be satiated! Recommended.

I know the author personally. I was not given a free copy to review, nor was I obliged to give a positive review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 19 Feb 2011
This review is from: Midsummer Eve at Rookery End (Regency House Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm a big fan of short stories but these are not my usual taste. Not being a lover of historical romances I was pleasantly surprised. The stories are well written and the setting is well captured. I was left wishing that each story had been far longer. Highly entertaining light reading. If you enjoy light romances and historical fiction then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good short stories, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsummer Eve at Rookery End (Regency House Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have just found this author. I enjoyed these little short stories. Just a bit of fun really. The premise is love at first sight and it seems to work reasonably well here. These are well written and complete in themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Regency Romances, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsummer Eve at Rookery End (Regency House Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As ever Elizabeth Hanbury has produced some perfect Regency escapism. I love her detail, loveable characters and humour. She is one of Heyer's worthy successors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful collections of short stories!, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsummer Eve at Rookery End (Regency House Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It must be very difficult to write a novella. I'm more given to a full length story, but given I have already read some of Miss Hanbury's full lenth novels, A Midsummer's Eve at Rookery End has a beautiful title and engrossing collection of stories too.

This edition has five stories and the last was my favourite, although all of them are strong in detail, character development and Miss Hanbury's trademark wit.

I enjoyed the collection thoroughly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of romance tales, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsummer Eve at Rookery End (Regency House Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Was recommended by a friend to me and though new to this style of book, I thought the stories were well done. First and last stories were the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively Witty Entertaining - A lovely short read, 29 Mar 2013
I really enjoyed the short stories about Rookery End. I find this author truly entertaining. I almost let the negative review put me off buying. I am glad I trusted the majority of reviewers.Brilliant read before bed and to see first hand the authors skillful styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsummer Eve at Rookery End (Regency House Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good to have a nice 'tuppence hapeny 'novel as my house master used to call them at almost that price. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews