Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rookie rocks.
I have never seen a positive review of this film from a film critic or magazine article since it's release. Even from Clint Eastwoods much respected personal biographer, Richard Schickle. Which I have always found to be a mystery to me because The Rookie is rather good. I first saw it at the cinema on it's release and have contiued to enjoy the film ever sinse. I do...
Published 12 months ago by DAN H.

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rookie
Made with all the subtlety of a house brick this film is a full face on assault on the viewer from the very beginnings of the speeding chase between the cops and the hijacked car-transporter to the final shot out at the airport terminal.
The film uses all the most well worn tricks of the "buddy-buddy / old cop - rookie cop / poor down on his luck - rich privileged /...
Published on 3 July 2005 by Rich Milligan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rookie, 3 July 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Made with all the subtlety of a house brick this film is a full face on assault on the viewer from the very beginnings of the speeding chase between the cops and the hijacked car-transporter to the final shot out at the airport terminal.
The film uses all the most well worn tricks of the "buddy-buddy / old cop - rookie cop / poor down on his luck - rich privileged / rule breaking - rule following" action movies ever made and is at least honest enough not to try to pretend to be anything else.
Clint Eastwood is an interesting choice in such a film and his performance is clearly better than the film actually demands. The Schwarzenegger like one-liners are made more amusing when coming from his lips although the crafting of a new catch phrase "You gotta light?" doesn't quite work. Charlie Sheen is mean, moody and handsome and isn't really required to be anything else, the dad-son "You were never there for me!" scenes are an embarrassment to be perfectly frank and could well have been omitted from the film.
Even more painful though is the extraordinary Germanic accent employed by chief baddie Raul Julia, taking every opportunity to put a "z" in every word he snarls and grimaces from scene to scene, "Venn I goez, I goez wiz ze bang!" mind you topping even this is Sonia Braga as Julia's girlfriend Liesl. Never before have I seen such an unattractive supposedly sexy character and whose actual purpose in the film was puzzling to say the least. But going even one stage higher in the bad acting stakes is Pepe Serna as Eastwood's boss, hats off to this guy for managing to do every possible human emotion, from anger to fear to depression to joy without once changing his facial expression!
I'm probably being unfair here, as I say it is a good old fashioned cops and robbers action film and at least with Eastwood on board it is raised to a slightly higher level than most, but don't expect anything more than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "If You Want A Guarantee, Buy A Toaster", 1 Oct. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Rookie (Blu-ray).

Blu-ray Info.
Subtitles: English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Finnish, Greek
Region B/ 2
Aspect Ratio: 16.9/2.35 : 1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 18
Studio: Warner Home Video
Running Time: 116 minutes

Extras.
Theatrical Trailer

Cast.
Clint Eastwood as Nick Pulovski
Charlie Sheen as David Ackerman
Raúl Juliá as Strom
Sônia Braga as Liesl
Tom Skerritt as Eugene Ackerman
Lara Flynn Boyle as Sarah
Pepe Serna as Lieutenant Raymond Garcia
Marco Rodriguez as Loco Martinez
Xander Berkeley as Blackwell
Roberta Vasquez as Heather Torres
Hal Williams as Powel

Trivia.
1)The movie was to be directed by Craig R. Baxley starring Matthew Modine & Gene Hackman in 1988 but the production was stopped by the Screen Actors Guild strike.
2)The picture is considered to be Clint Eastwood's biggest ever action movie.
3)Clint Eastwood agreed to do this movie in exchange for the Warner Brothers studio letting him make his personal film project, White Hunter Black Heart (1990).
4)The movie was controversial for its depiction of a provocative & unconventional woman-on-man rape sequence with it garnering much publicity.

What's The Story.
David Ackerman is a young rookie cop who pairs up with Nick Pulovski a hard-bitten, hard-drinking maverick as the duo work in the auto-theft division & are on the trail of a big stolen car ring led by a South American drug lord named Strom who was responsible for the death of Pulovskis partner.

Ackerman Initially despising his older colleague's methods & is also haunted by a childhood incident, Nick & David do a stake out, their hatred for one another slowly decreases.

But Ackerman realises it's time to get tough when Pulovski is kidnapped by Strom & his crime ring leaving it all left down to Ackerman to rescue him.

Timelord Thoughts.
This movie is a very standard cop buddy action film which details a maverick cop being assigned to work with a rookie cop to catch a crook who killed his old partner, this film was slated by the critics but no matter as what it lacks in plot it delivers in cool action & stunts especially the opening car chase on the freeway.

Clint Eastwood who also directs this film gives a decent performance as a grizzled detective Nick Pulovski & is quite funny at times with his dead pan wisecracking delivery as Clint proves hes still got a handle on action films delivered in his trademark style while his direction is fast paced & skilfully edited.

Charlie Sheen seems miscast however & is just way out of his depth here as tormented rookie cop detective David Ackerman who doesn't share any chemistry with Eastwood & doesn't match up to the Gibson & Glover chemistry that is so believable in the Lethal Weapon franchise.

Raul Julia makes a for a great bad guy as the movie's villian Strom while Sonia Braga caused controversy with her role as Liesl who rapes Pulovski who is tied to a chair in a very uncomfortable sequence that should've made the cutting room floor.

The Blu-ray is a marked improvement than the previous DVD version as it looks more vibrant & sharper in detail but seems a little dark in some parts of the movie while the sound is excellent quality & adds clarity to the audio mix.

Overall, The Rookie is entertaining enough & like any Clint Eastwood film it's watchable & it does contain plenty of solid action throughout & the movies shot at a energetic pace despite the flaws in the script but makes for a enjoyable Friday night action movie with a beer & pizza.

Timelord Rating.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rookie rocks., 20 April 2014
I have never seen a positive review of this film from a film critic or magazine article since it's release. Even from Clint Eastwoods much respected personal biographer, Richard Schickle. Which I have always found to be a mystery to me because The Rookie is rather good. I first saw it at the cinema on it's release and have contiued to enjoy the film ever sinse. I do understand why its not Eastwoods best film, but it's not surpossed to be or pretend to be. It does however present itself as a very good honest A to B action film and remains one of favourite action, and Eastwood pictures. The story is simple about a vetren cop and his new partner, Charlie Sheen going on the rampage in LA for car thieves while in the pursuit of revenge for the murder of Eastwoods partner early on film by the leader of the criminal gang. It has Eastwwod on good form with some good one liners and he is a joy to watch as he shows he is not over the hill and does what he does best in a cop role. Sheen puts on a good show and is convincing as a wet behind the ears rookie but soon breaks free from this when he goes berserk, as taught by his mentor Eastwood. The action scenes are great with some ferocious car chases, and none of the dodgy CGI you get theses days. The action scenes include a out of control car chase down the free way where a car transporter sheds it's load of luxury cars off the trailer into the traffic. The other stand out moment is when Eastwwod and Sheen was escape a building ready to explode by driving out of the top floor window while the building blows up behind them. I have seen reviews of this film describing it as an out of date buddy cop film. It's is not at all and is far better that Lethal Weapon 3 and 4 which strayed from there original format. The only reason The Rookie gets criticised is because people take it too seriously and appear just agree with all the other critics without taking the film for what it is. A good old cop action flick that ticks all the boxes and fits nicely in my collection of films and has it's pride and place in my much Clint Eastwwod collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eastwood falls asleep at the wheel, 17 Nov. 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Rookie comes from the darkest point in Clint Eastwood's career, in more ways than one. Eastwood's policy of one-for-him and one-for-the-studio had usually balanced his more ambitious personal films with solid crowdpleasing hits, which The Rookie was clearly intended to be, but following on from the critically acclaimed but financially disastrous Bird and White Hunter, Black Heart, it turned out to be every bit as critically derided and financially disastrous as Pink Cadillac, leading many to assume that the star was past his sell-by date until Unforgiven rescued both his credibility and his box-office viability.

Rumoured to have began life as a Dirty Harry sequel with Eastwood passing on the reins to a younger star - here Charlie Sheen's troubled rich kid - to keep the franchise alive, it's certainly one of his worst films even on a dumb Saturday night action level, lazily written and shot in almost total darkness at times, as was Eastwood's wont in those days. Blu-ray certainly helps improve the picture quality on TV but the night scenes still require more work than they should to decipher at times. The script is pretty much beyond redemption, though, taking mere seconds to descend into unintentionally laughable and only occasionally aspiring to the heights of vaguely competent.

There's nothing wrong with clichés in an action movie if you can pull them off with some wit or panache or at least have decent action setpieces to punctuate them, but this is just lazy and very shoddily made, with Eastwood literally sitting out much of the second half of the film while Sheen unconvincingly goes on a crimebusting rampage because "It's time for me to stop being afraid and other people to start!" Which means driving his motorbike on the sidewalk even though there's no traffic on the road and burning down a bar to persuade the barman to give him some information, neither of which are half as much fun as they sound. Most of the stunts (and there aren't many of them) are poorly shot, Eastwood's direction is lethargic and mechanical as befits a man who spends much of the movie tied to a chair while the performances veer from adequate-but-bored (Tom Skerritt) to downright terrible (take a bow, Pepe Serna!). The supporting casting is certainly muddled, with Raul Julia's OTT villain bizarrely referred to as a `kraut' a few times despite clearly being from south of the border (with his accent fluctuating wildly throughout the film it almost feels like a clumsy last-minute change in post-production dubbing to avoid alienating the Latino audience) while Sonia Braga is so unflatteringly photographed she looks like a Belgian bodybuilder in drag, which just makes the scene where she rapes Clint (yep, you read that right) even more disturbing than the scene where Grace Jones raped Roger Moore's James Bond in A View to a Kill... Only a brief foul-mouthed TV interview and one spectacular car jumping from exploding building stunt briefly liven things up, but for the most part this is just boring - really boring.

The 2.35:1 widescreen Blu-ray transfer is probably as good as this film will ever look on a small screen, but be warned, while it's an improvement over the video and DVD releases the picture is deliberately very dark for much of the film. The only extra is the film's trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardly a Rookie, 8 Dec. 2009
By 
S. G. Hullyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Of all the Clint Eastwood films this is the one I've been after for ages. Everytime I tried to order it I was told it was Region 1 only. When I saw it was available as an import I jumped at the chance. Despite being an import sound and picture quality is excellent. The story and acting was never going to be Oscar material but who cares. It's fantastic entertainment. Action all the way. For me,one of the best lines was when Charlie Sheen's dad puts money into Clint Eastwood's pocket and says, "I want you to guarantee my son's life." Clint Eastwwod takes the money out of his pocket and with cigar in hand, replies, "If you want a guarantee. Buy a toaster!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rookie (1990) [Region 2 import] Clint Eastwood & Charlie Sheen, 7 Dec. 2009
By 
Mrs. P. E. Gibbons (Herne Bay, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great film, classic.

I am just going to write what's on the back of this dvd:

"Tough and gritty. Fires with a full clip. Eastwood and Sheen are terrific together."

Packing years of experience and a 45 automatic. LAPD Detective Nick Pulovki figures he's got all the help he needs. He's also got all the help he doesn't need. His new partner is The Rookie.

Director/star Clint Eastwood is Pulovski. Charlie Sheen is the by-the book newcomer. Each reluctantly relies on the other to stop killer-elite gang of auto thieves. Raul Julia, Sonia Braga, Laura Flynn Boyle and Tom Skerrit co-star with "the most spectacular action sequences Eastwood has ever filmed" (Dave Kehr, Chicago Tribune). A freeway becomes an 80-mph bumper car game. A barrio bar busts open like a giant pinata. The two drive through a wall to escape an exploding building... five stories up. Fasten your seat belt.

Thank you very much Mr David Frick from DVD Delights who sold this to me The Rookie (1990) [Region 2 import] Clint Eastwoodit has been a pleasure dealing with you and I will be using you again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eastwood on automatic pilot but..., 27 Sept. 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Clint Eastwood on automatic pilot is a lot better than some peoples best films, so make no mistake this may be the worst film ever that he directed himself but its still pretty good. In fact for me it would have been 3.5 stars.

Its really a Dirty Harry film under another name, and with a decent cast including the always watchable Charlie Sheen its an easy way to pass an hour and a half. There are a couple of laugh out loud moments, especially the seat belt gag.

Of course the reason to watch the film is the man himself. Aged 61 when this was made he was still in top shape and is effortlessly cool throughout the film. Some of the dialogue isn't as good as that in the classic Dirty Harry films but there's still enough laconic lines for the Eastwood fan to get by on.

So its no classic by Eastwood standards, but as comedy/cop/thrillers go, which also happens to star a living legend, its a dam sight better than you might expect given it rather poor reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Clint Does Buddy-Cop Mayhem!, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is the usual formula for a buddy cop movie, but with less enforced comedy moments between the two leads. Instead, as is common with Eastwood, he and his partner, this time in the form of a young, enthusiastic and “on the wagon” Charlie Sheen, spend their time bickering, clashing horns but working well together in a partnership worthy of the film.

It’s actually everyone else who doesn’t get much chance to shine from their villainous roles; Raul Julia especially as he could have been used to far greater threat and menace, but is given the usual action villain action, dialogue and moustache to use for his German bad guy. It’s entertaining, but nothing really engaging enough to care too much about. From his final performance as M.Bison in 'Street Fighter' a few years after this, it's proof he can really be an off the rails villain if given the right material. This, sadly, isn't it.

The action is great, with lots of real stunt-work and effects with minimal, if none at all, CGI trickery. Big explosions, bold car chases and well shot shoot-outs deliver a good dose of action for Clint to get stuck into for his final action film, and it’s unlikely he’ll do another one now in his 80s!

It’s very basic stuff, but the cast are likeable and the plot isn’t going to challenge you. It drags a little in places, as these mediocre buddy-cop films can do, but soon picks up for decent pay-off. Good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film more pleasing than having a curry on the beach., 4 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rookie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Now, if your after : excitement, comments, action, and comedy, buy this amazing Video. Clint Eastwood makes a star performance pulling off some of his best comments yet, giving this film some real 'Clint' edge! Charlie Sheen is one tough cop, as he tries proving to everyone that he is not 'Mr Softy', as him and Clint try getting revenge on a drugs Baron. You will want to watch it again and again. (watch out for the greasy Woman Sidekick! ) An all time classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not one of clint eastwoods best but action packed from start to end, 9 Feb. 2011
By 
vera - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i bought this film for one reason only because it starred one of my favourite actors of all time, the amazing mr eastwood, sadly this film isnt one of his best but then they cant all be dirty harry or million dollar baby, this film starts off with action from the start which leads to the death of eastwoods partner, they are both cops in the theft and auto department, eastwood is then landed with a rich boy rookie who is trying to escape his life as the son of a wealthy man, there are car chases, shoot outs, the rookie being called a coward and then the sterotypical thing of the rich boy throws away his nerves and becomes as brash and arogant as eastwoods character
if you like action then this is a film for you, if you like a bit or even a hint of a storyline then i wouldnt pick this film, all though i hadnt seen it before i felt like i had as it is the same story line from numrous other cop/bad guy films and thats why for me its a three star film and not a five
i could watch anything with clint eastwood in but this film i could quite cheerfully not have ever bothered with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews