Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare for Three Hilarious Adventures in the world of Sooty
Thames Video (now Fremantle Media) has always release episodes from the 1981 to 1992 Series of The Sooty Show to pick for VHS compilations and since 2001, DVD compilations. Likely because of the house setting we have grown to love and the 1981 series was the first to feature Brenda Longman as the voice of Soo.

No idea why the Marjorie Corbett Soo voiced...
Published on 23 Aug. 2008 by Mr. J. Swann

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They just didn't think....
While it's fantastic that The Sooty Show has come to DVD, it seems that Fremantle have not taken their time picking the best episodes. There are so many classic episodes of the Sooty Show - a few to mention are Millionaire, Burglar Box, Superdog, On the Piste etc, so why, when Fremantle had the perfect opportunity to release some of these on DVD, have they chosen some of...
Published on 29 Aug. 2008 by R. SMITH


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare for Three Hilarious Adventures in the world of Sooty, 23 Aug. 2008
By 
Mr. J. Swann "bs10064" (Coleraine, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thames Video (now Fremantle Media) has always release episodes from the 1981 to 1992 Series of The Sooty Show to pick for VHS compilations and since 2001, DVD compilations. Likely because of the house setting we have grown to love and the 1981 series was the first to feature Brenda Longman as the voice of Soo.

No idea why the Marjorie Corbett Soo voiced episodes from the house setting or Matthew Corbett's hosted live audience shows from when he took over in 1976 has never been released before, but I can understand why the 1981 to 1992 era is much easy to release to fans. I would love DVD releases that aren't connected to the `Childern's Favourites' line that Fremantle does with Sooty along with Rainbow and Button Moon and what is the deal with the carry case box for kids DVD releases lately?

Do note the pictures on the packaging don't link to the episodes featured on the DVD. Also worth nothing that the up to date `Sooty Show' logo on the box isn't repeated on the static menu screen, which goes with a classic Sooty font and a red and blue background for `Izzy Wizzy' and `Happy Birthday Sooty' respectfully.

Plus they have a recent Sooty picture and a Photoshop Magic Wand in his paw. Finally the `Thames' logo has been replace by a `Fremantle' logo on the end of each episode. So enough with technical details that isn't going to interest the actual target demographic for this review and the two new Sooty DVD's, let's talk about the episodes on each disk.

`Happy Birthday Sooty'
From the 1992 series and previous released on the VHS `Biggest Party Video', the second last ever episode of `The Sooty Show' is completely enjoyable. Like `Izzy Wizzy' reflects on Sooty's past, tours the `Sooty World' attraction and has old friends Rod, Jane and Freddy come to sing a song. Scampi's appearance in this episode is also the reason why the `Sooty & Co' lyrics are on the box.

`Want A Pet'
From the 1989 series and previous released on the VHS `Sooty Wants A Pet', the gang argue which pet that should have for the house, thinking a dog is too boring until Matthew decides on a dog and visits a police dog training centre before deciding one dog is more than enough. It features one of the classic Sooty Songs Matthew has written and worth watching.

`Honking Nose'
Again from the 1989 series and previous released on two VHS `Sooty's Favourite Stories' and `Sweep Super Dog' which was the first DVD Sooty release. It's worth noticing that this episode is a direct transfer from that `Sweep Super Dog' release. The episode features Sweep nose and ears making noises and finding out it's the magic wand's fault. So `Honking Nose' is an enjoyable episode.

Overall this `Happy Birthday Sooty' DVD is worth buying and you agree it has `3 hilarious adventures' like it claims. You only wish more classic episodes can get the DVD treatment as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They just didn't think...., 29 Aug. 2008
By 
R. SMITH "RS" - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While it's fantastic that The Sooty Show has come to DVD, it seems that Fremantle have not taken their time picking the best episodes. There are so many classic episodes of the Sooty Show - a few to mention are Millionaire, Burglar Box, Superdog, On the Piste etc, so why, when Fremantle had the perfect opportunity to release some of these on DVD, have they chosen some of the blandest episodes and why only 60 minutes? Happy Birthday Sooty is a good episode but to be fair feels more like a tribute episode rather than the usual comic capers, Sooty Wants A Pet is good fun, but why add Honking Nose on the DVD when it's already been released on the Sweep Superdog DVD?! The Izzy Wizzy DVD has odd choices too. It's amost like they have just chosen random episodes quickly and thrown them together to make this DVD. A missed opportunity I feel, let's hope Fremantle decide to release more and do a better job next time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a winner, 13 Feb. 2010
I remember watching sooty as a child and loving it but I was surprised when my daughter asked for a sooty DVD(she had seen an episode on a childrens favorite compilation DVD) my daughter loves this DVD .She also watches the new sooty on ITV with the new guy Richard,the fact new adults are in the programes does not seem to affect her enjoyment of the tricky little bear and his friends.I would say its worth a try you will be surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My little girl and wife loves it, 21 July 2010
This review is from: The Sooty Show: Happy Birthday Sooty [DVD] (DVD)
got this for my litttle girls 3rd birthday and she loves it my wife says it reminds her of her childhood and they love watching it togather
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars jumps a lot on my dvd player, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sooty Show: Happy Birthday Sooty [DVD] (DVD)
The quality of this dvd does not seem very good - i do not know whether it is my dvd player but all my other dvds work fine. My kids do not seem to like this selection of episodes as much as their other vintage sooty shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sooty turns 40 (or is that 5), 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sooty Show: Happy Birthday Sooty [DVD] (DVD)
Hilarious fun for the whole family as sooty performs tricks for his friends celebrates 40 years of his TV series, Thinks about adopting a pet and deals with sweeps honking nose. Fun for die hard fans ad kids of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brings back good memories watching sooty, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sooty Show: Happy Birthday Sooty [DVD] (DVD)
Brings back good memories watching sooty, i prefer the old sooty episodes rather than the new series out today but it could do with more episodes when putting these dvds together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep children entertained, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sooty Show: Happy Birthday Sooty [DVD] (DVD)
Though dated to adults children still love it! Good for entertainment when the weather is bad and they cannot go out and play! Gives variety to the program presently shown on the children TV channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love old school sooty!, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sooty Show: Happy Birthday Sooty [DVD] (DVD)
I used to love sooty when I was a child and now over twenty years later, my daughter loves the show too! Well worth buying this dvd cos she watches it all the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars level of service, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sooty Show: Happy Birthday Sooty [DVD] (DVD)
Sooty popular with all the family keeps everyone occupied. As the DVD was given as a present I do not know if it worked okay but I have not had any complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sooty Show: Happy Birthday Sooty [DVD]
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews