Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection...shame about the track listing !!!!!
Easily the best of any Toots & The Maytals releases. However Disk 1 is Disk 2 and vice versa ( not Amazons fault ). Highly recommended!!!
Published on 12 Nov. 2011 by D. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
As previous reviews, my product had two cd's the same. I sent mine back and am getting a refund. I would have preferred the cd's but that did not seem an option. Perhaps I should have kept it, even though it was half there. The music is great by the way. Shame about the manufacture.
Published on 21 Nov. 2012 by A. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection...shame about the track listing !!!!!, 12 Nov. 2011
By 
D. Smith "davidsmith151" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easily the best of any Toots & The Maytals releases. However Disk 1 is Disk 2 and vice versa ( not Amazons fault ). Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toots, 17 Feb. 2011
This album is great, great music etc. The only problem is that the track listings are wrong - the listings for disc 1 are actually for disc 2 & vise versa. Oh well, at least all of the tracks are there! Otherwise, lovely album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great overall album, 24 Aug. 2011
By 
Carol Maloney (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album has all the good vibes of traditional old time reggae. It is a mellow vibe to relax to or use as a party background soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Studded With Forgotten Gems, 16 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's all the usual hits here but also some superb songs I've never discovered before. Immediate stand out was 'It Must be True Love', excellent melody triumphs over the silly organ parts and just fills you with joy. The first dozen or so Ska songs struggle to differentiate themselves and there's that 'closed in' lo-fi production typical of 50s/early 60s Jamiaca. But as you head towards 'Sweet and Dandy' each song becomes distinct in itself and each is better than the last. Toots Hibbert really can write a song and the reggae versions are fresh interpretations that benefit from the more open recording sound of the late 60s/early 70s. Looking forward to listening again and letting each gem of a tune catch my ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 21 Nov. 2012
By 
A. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As previous reviews, my product had two cd's the same. I sent mine back and am getting a refund. I would have preferred the cd's but that did not seem an option. Perhaps I should have kept it, even though it was half there. The music is great by the way. Shame about the manufacture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Would like to listen to disc 1!!!, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like most people, there is a problem with the CD's. Ive got two CD2's even though they are labeled differently. I am in the process of getting a refund or a replacement. Really wanna hear CD1, so I am going to try to get it. Songs on CD2 are brilliant anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, a perfect slice of Reggae., 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure Drop: The Definitive Collection (MP3 Download)
This really is the definitive collection of Toots and the Maytals, comprising of over 40 songs, for the price this is a steal, considering it's about £14 on iTunes (and at a worse bitrate). An absolute must buy for any reggae fans or just reggae beginners!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent intro to Ska, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My first look at these guys and very impressed. The gospel roots are there and plenty of really good beat, which combine to make it a compelling double CD. I'm a staunch Bob Marley fan, but normally struggle with Ska music, but Toots really rock for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars toots brilliant but beware, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You usually get what it says on the tin with Toots and I did ! The only trouble with this two cd set was that both cds were exactly the same. Its too much trouble to send a cd back. Please try to get your product right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now thats what I call music, 28 Jun. 2012
This is a classic, comprehensive collection of great songs and one that will be played often. Those guys can sing for sure and the passion and emotion shines through. A lot of music for not a lot of money. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews