Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffett Revealed
"Buffett" is a biography of one of the most important and successful people in the business world. Buffett's life is a story of success of the most impressive kind, not a single lucky hit but a career going in stages mostly (but not always!) from one victory to another. One would be quite irrational to miss an opportunity to take a closer look at what made him the person...
Published on 2 Aug. 2009 by Ford Ka

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Riddled with spelling issues
While I have enjoyed reading this book I cannot ignore the many spelling and grammatical mistakes in this kindle version. Frankly speaking, the book is riddled with them. There is even a rogue sentence that pops up randomly and far too frequently from about halfway through the book. At one stage, the same sentence appeared erroneously in 4 or 5 consecutive paragraphs, and...
Published 7 months ago by SCOTT MITCHELL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffett Revealed, 2 Aug. 2009
By 
Ford Ka (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
"Buffett" is a biography of one of the most important and successful people in the business world. Buffett's life is a story of success of the most impressive kind, not a single lucky hit but a career going in stages mostly (but not always!) from one victory to another. One would be quite irrational to miss an opportunity to take a closer look at what made him the person he is and what made his success so huge.
This book offers a very decent and detailed overview of Buffett's biography. Over 500 pages of nicely presented data from the life of the great investor, some of which you will certainly find rather surprising. I have heard of people paying thousands of dollars to lunch with Buffett (which, apart from being rather funny reveals a less known face of Mr B - the money from the auction went to charity as did most of his private money) so investing a few quid (and a few evenings, it takes time to get through this bulky volume) sounds like a fairly reasonable investment in times when reasonable investmens seem few and far between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of many on Buffett, 6 Sept. 2012
By 
reader 451 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Buffett: The Biography (Duckworth) (Kindle Edition)
That Warren Buffett's extraordinary career should have attracted a flood of written prose, including biographies, collections, and how-to books is not surprising. Lowenstein's biography, endorsed by friends of Buffett if not in so many words by the investment genius himself, is the best combination of the three genres and the one to read. Though it was published in 1995, the new edition has succinctly been updated to 2008, and nor have Buffett or his career changed in any fundamental way in the meantime.

Written in the conventional style of a biography, this combines in about equal measure personal observations and a description of Buffett's investments and technique. Indeed, both are complementary, and the author makes the point well that one needs to know Buffett the man to understand his business success. This is moreover accessible to the complete layman, and though the more financially literate might have liked more detail on the exact structure of the Buffett partnership, for example, or on some of Buffett's investments and their individual performance, the book should appeal to anyone interested in the guru's investing principles. There are numerous Buffett quotes, moreover, themselves easily complemented by a look at the Berkshire Hathaway annual reports, all available online. And while Lowenstein's style is not particularly literary, this has its good moments, for example Buffett's 1991 rescue of Salomon Brothers. Buffett has been, or is, an extraordinary character, and his life is well worth reading about. For anyone with an interest in investing, it is also of essential relevance.

One note on the Kindle edition. I am generally appalled at the poorness of online publishing, but this really beats anything I have seen so far. The book's electronic version has typos everywhere. Paragraph tabs are constantly missing. The quotes are all over the place. For one full chapter, the same phrase 'she had a broken wrist' is repeat in front of every footnote after the one where it belonged, etc.. This looks as though it was put together, in Word, by a not particularly attentive first-year college kid. What does it take to re-read Kindle books before they are published? Five stars to Lowenstein, one star to Amazon for its Kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trip into the genius, 20 Mar. 2010
By 
L. McAdam (home,scot) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Warren Buffet is the oracle of omaha, the hero of wallstreet and man who made many of his fellow friends and family millionaires as well as making himself bilions upon billions of dollars in the process.

This book gives a very in depth look at the man himself and the works of his mind, for anyone interested in wallstreet or anyone in general this book is a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent historical book, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gives a decent insight into the man and his life, although much of the insight is based on conjecture and assumption. You certainly walk away thinking you know a lot about his marriage and character as a parent and husband, although I am not sure that Warren would necessarily agree with the portrayal.

He is a talented man and highly motivated and intelligent. His success is clearly founded on a long history of good (although often close) calls. The book covers the early days in far greater detail than more recent developments and I am left wondering why that is. Overall if you want to delve into Buffett psychology like I did, then it is a helpful book. However; it is not from the horse's mouth and that means that much of what is written may be nothing more than guesswork by the author...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential business reading, 8 Aug. 2013
I cannot recommend this book highly enough as a means of learning more about one of the world's most successful business figures and recent US economic history.

Roger Lowenstein is a justifiably successful US business chronicler. Here he is diligent in tracking Buffett's modest origins, through his college days, on to his ascending business career with the Buffett investment partnership, his acquisition of the Berkshire Hathaway cotton mill company and his expanding investments in American Express, GEICO, The Washington Post, and Coca-Cola, to name only a few.

He does not neglect Buffet the person either, looking in some depth at important relationships in Buffett's life and his motivations. The author's narration is enhanced greatly by his ability to personalise dialogue convincingly.

I found there was much to learn. For example, I was surprised that Buffett is on the whole a libertarian (or liberal for UK readers) in his political leanings, albeit one who is financially exacting and disciplinarian. All the more surprising considering Buffett Sr. was a US Republican Representative. Also interesting to learn that Buffett was not as enthusiastic about tobacco investments as made out to be in Barbarians At The Gate.

The book also serves well as a source of educational investment case studies. Lowenstein's description of Buffett's interest in (even fascincation with) newspapers from his youthful newspaper delivery round, to his investment in The Buffalo Post, was excellent background context when Berkshire Hathaway made the news last weekend with its sale of a stake in The Washington Post for a $46 million profit.

Lowenstein is good at explaining financial concepts, although these are underpinned by an implicit support of Buffett's interpretation, such as his perspective on the Efficient Market Theory. It left me still believing in the advantages of index-based investments, but I am more considered before I dismiss active investment management. There may be another Buffett out there who is worth their management fee.

I admit I should be more objective in my assessment of the book. It could be accused of bordering on hagiography since the author has strong respect and affection for his subject, but considering the positive reviews it garnered elsewhere, I am in good company.

So enthused was I by the book about its subject that I temporarily started drinking much more caffeine-based soft drinks. My only regret after finishing is that I did not read the book sooner after receiving it as a gift three years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic common sense., 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not finished reading yet, so far I find it excellent.
Whilst i thought I understood the thinking behind how Buffett operated, this books opens up exactly how he thinks & leaves nothing to your imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brief comment., 28 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. Dm Beesley "WormBook" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
On reading this book my attitude to investing totally changed and my situation improved.

Start by investing in this book and see if it does the same for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. But Kindle version a let down., 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffett: The Biography (Duckworth) (Kindle Edition)
The book is great (5 star) - the Kindle version is terrible (1 star).

On the book - it appears to be a very well researched life story and brings together a lot of Buffett lore.

However, the reason for writing this review is that the Kindle edition is (still) full of mistakes (another reviewer makes the same point). It sometimes felt like there was hardly a page without a sentence with incorrect, or missing, letters and words. In one chapter, part of a sentence is appended again and again to paragraphs where there is also a footnote - a word search for "wrist" will show 11 times). Whatever the software used to create the digital version of the book, you might reasonably expect some sort of quality control! The correct text can be guessed for most of the errors and omissions, but it is still irritating and detracts from what would otherwise be a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 21 Nov. 2010
I think what makes this book so interesting is the man himself Warren Buffet. The writing style of the author is so engaging I couldn't put the book down, this is indeed a wonderful book would recommend to anyone considering purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Riddled with spelling issues, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffett: The Biography (Duckworth) (Kindle Edition)
While I have enjoyed reading this book I cannot ignore the many spelling and grammatical mistakes in this kindle version. Frankly speaking, the book is riddled with them. There is even a rogue sentence that pops up randomly and far too frequently from about halfway through the book. At one stage, the same sentence appeared erroneously in 4 or 5 consecutive paragraphs, and thereafter several times per chapter - very distracting! If Amazon wants to charge these prices for e-books, it needs to fix these recurring issues. I can only assume that these issues didn't appear in the original printed version, and it really was a poor effort in converting the script to e-format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buffett: The Biography (Duckworth)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews