Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jet Li at his very best!
I have just recently seen this film being a great lover of all martial arts films and this is ranked very hightly as one of my all time martial art films. Jet Li plays a shaolin monk and shows the true style and technique of shaolin martial arts. Not many wires used in this film which always comes a bonus!
A young michelle Yeoh (crouching tiger hidden dragon) is...
Published on 25 Aug 2002 by little_forest

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An amazing film, marred by poor audio.
first things first, the film itself is a 5 star because it is truly amazing but the DVD audio transfer itself is appalling.

the original cantonese language is restored by dragon dynasty but they made no effort in correcting the audio levels so that dialogue volume matches the effects volume. when things smash e.g tables, chairs etc. the volume is cranked up and...
Published on 29 April 2010 by Simian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jet Li at his very best!, 25 Aug 2002
This review is from: Twin Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
I have just recently seen this film being a great lover of all martial arts films and this is ranked very hightly as one of my all time martial art films. Jet Li plays a shaolin monk and shows the true style and technique of shaolin martial arts. Not many wires used in this film which always comes a bonus!
A young michelle Yeoh (crouching tiger hidden dragon) is also in the film giving an excellent display of martial arts.
This is must for any collector of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Jet Li Film, 24 April 2005
By 
J. L. Carr "Jim La" (Nr Oswestry, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twin Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
Based in the days before firearms where martial arts skills gave you respect and status. This film is fantastic at demonstrating the physical and mental brilliance of Shaolin Kung Fu pupils. One scene show older martial arts students practising kung fu moves on their heads.
Junbao (jet li) grows up with Chinbao who is in a sense a bully. They becomce best friends due their continuous mischief making they are often punished with their punishment being for example kneeling on their knees for 3 hours or breaking concrete slabs on their heads. These punishments and Chinbao's spying on the grandmaster make Chinbao and Junbao superior to the other Shaolin Lohan Kung Fu students as is demonstrated in one scene where Junbao and Chinbao take on the whole class.
The film is dubbed in english which may be annoying for some martial arts enthusiasts. Also if you look closely enough you can spot the rope supporting the actors as they fly through the air. But put these problems aside and there s a fantastic film with a gripping inspiring story line where the art of Taijiquan (tai chi chuan), where the flow of chi is used as an alternative to force, defeats Shaolin Kung Fu where force is one of the four prime factors of the art.
To Summarise a brilliant film that any martial art enthusiast or otherwise should buy to appreciate skills and be inspired to develope their own skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 18 Jan 2004
This review is from: Twin Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
Twin Warriors is a mix of classic shaolin folklore and modern kung fu action. This movie sees jet growing up in the shaolin temple until he is forced to leave with a childhood friend and find himself in the wide world with nothing but his kung fu skills. The two take different paths. Jet joining a group of rebels and becoming a Tai Chi master, the other rising through the ranks of the army to become a ruthless and vicious general. I wont say no more as i dont want to spoil it for viewers, death, destruction and satisfaction is guranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Must see, 29 July 2002
This review is from: Twin Warriors (VHS Tape)
this is a must see for all jet li fans, one of the first i saw of his films, it is amazing the choerography is super.
Josephine Siao and Michelle Yeoh alongside jet li make the best partnership and dont forget Chin Sui Ho, i thought the two movies he stared in i have see were amazing.
the story is strong, its about chin-bo(chin sui ho) and junbao(jet li) they are long time friends, but when chinbo gets the chance to join the emperor and serve him as a fighter he leaves and junbao joins a group of military rebels.
the film is worth seeing for its amazing fight scenes like the fight between the two ladies in the restaurant. chin sui ho and jet li work perfectly along side each other, and the film has its moments of comedy. this is one of jet's best films alongside Once upon a time in china and fist of legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you want, 29 April 2003
This review is from: Twin Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
A plot you can follow, stunning fights (both on the epic scale man to man and group fighting) good visuals, a virtuos young hero who learns to overcome his rival (sorry for the spoiler, but we all knew it would happen anyway)
... everything the genre always wanted to deliver.
I've seen most of Jet Li's films, and this is the best yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Martial Arts, 3 Mar 2005
This review is from: Twin Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
This film is excellent, I have it on dvd n i must have watch it 100 times.
It's excellent, Kung Fu then at the end Junbao (Jet Li) learns Tai Chi.
I would recommend any Jet Li or Martial Arts fans to buy this.... or anyone who loves a good fight movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Jet Li's best movies, 23 Mar 2003
By 
Mo "f1mo" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Twin Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
I remember when I first watched this film, and it became one of my favourite Jet Li flicks of all time. The original name for this title is "Tai-Chi Master" which Jet Li demonstrates with great precision.
Like most classical good vs. evil plots, Jet Li finds himself in this exact situation, except he is not seeking revenge for the death of his master. Instead he is out to stop the ruthless regime which his childhood, power-fame hungry friend joins.
The martial arts scenes are exquisite, with Jet Li, Michelle Yeoh & Chin Siu Ho combining to bring the audience explosive fight scenes.
After watching this, I looked at Tai Chi from another angle. This film must be watched, it is truly enjoyable and an entertaining flick. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Twin Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
Twin Warriors is everything Crouching Tiger and Hero should and could have been.
Not taking itself too seriously TW mixes breathtaking action with subtle wirework (its not over the top like Crouching Tiger), great characters and even moments of humour.
Quite simply its a must see for any Kung Fu fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tai Chi Master, 30 Jun 2007
By 
A. Gadney "Yuusuru" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twin Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
This is possibly the most enjoyable film in Jet Li's collection, with the exception of perhaps Fearless :) A nice story from kids in shaolin to a quest for power only to be stopped by Jet as he learns Tai Chi from the book of the Tao. A pretty hardcore jet fan, this is 1 of only 2 movies where i have seen him using great Tai Chi Kung Fu. This film is cool, you wont regret buying it (if you like this kinda stuff!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review on The Taichi Master DVD, 30 July 2010
By 
A. Koulis (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just recently seen this film being a great lover of all martial arts films and this is ranked very hightly as one of my all time martial art films. Jet Li plays a shaolin monk and shows the true style and technique of shaolin martial arts. Not many wires used in this film which always comes a bonus.However,I am not impressed with the sound as it has I believe a bit of a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tai Chi Master [DVD] [1993]
Tai Chi Master [DVD] [1993] by Yuen Woo-Ping (DVD - 2010)
£12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews