Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you were expecting another Chocolate you may not be impressed.
This second effort from Jeja Yanin takes a new route with a more modern martial arts film. While her character in Chocolate immitates classic martial arts stars in Raging Phoenix she works in a post modern mix of martial arts and hip hop dance. If you like old school martial arts films you may not find this one very interesting. The plot is decent for this kind of film. A...
Published on 31 Mar 2011 by MrMoondoggie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars You'll need suspension of disbelief...but you'll like it
You'll need suspension of disbelief...but you'll be rewarded with the sounds of kneecaps connecting with faces, temples and other anatomical parts. Do not watch this thinking you'll get realistic martial arts, it's a movie you watch with your brain disconnected.
Published 8 months ago by Init


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you were expecting another Chocolate you may not be impressed., 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: Raging Phoenix [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This second effort from Jeja Yanin takes a new route with a more modern martial arts film. While her character in Chocolate immitates classic martial arts stars in Raging Phoenix she works in a post modern mix of martial arts and hip hop dance. If you like old school martial arts films you may not find this one very interesting. The plot is decent for this kind of film. A gang of human trafficers kidnap women special to a group of men who come together to help fight against the gangs and free them. Deu/Neu played by Jeja Yanin (the box and subtitles do it different not sure which is correct) is almost kidnapped by the gang and is rescued by Sanim played by Patrick Tang who introduces her to the group and agrees to train her in their unique art style. She then joins them in their mission to stop the trafficers.

It's simple and has some comedy to mix in with the action and acrobatics which are impressive with a fun mix of martial arts styles.

If you enjoy modern asian action movies go ahead and pick this up while it's cheap it'll provide some fun on a quiet night in with some popcorn.

If you're obsessed with Bruce Lee movies and don't like anything outside of the 70's then avoid this you'll hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 18 Jun 2014
By 
A. K. Shimal - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The only word to describe this film is ''Rubbish'' with a capital R. The alternative would be to use a four letter word with a capital S but that would be a bit rude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and disjointed but immense fun in the fight sequences., 15 April 2014
Not one for the purists - might avoid lovers of technically faithful martial arts films. Not one for fans of flowing direction.

At times the plot jumps inexplicably like they couldn't be bothered to think of a linking scene. Ignore these shortcomings, however, and this is an enjoyable film.

The acrobatics in the fight sequences are phenomenally choreographed and executed. They are completely over the top and infeasible with fighters one moment taking a tap on the head and then in others absorbing more punishment than a battle tank before going down but you just end up marvelling at how they were put together. The stunt work was simply incredible.

The plot-line is serviceable and the romance seems more Bollywood than Hollywood.

It's an OK action romp that is redeemed by superb, larger-than-life action sequences and sparring/training sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You'll need suspension of disbelief...but you'll like it, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You'll need suspension of disbelief...but you'll be rewarded with the sounds of kneecaps connecting with faces, temples and other anatomical parts. Do not watch this thinking you'll get realistic martial arts, it's a movie you watch with your brain disconnected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She did it again!!, 19 April 2010
By 
R. Zhang "Kubrick" (NW) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Raging Phoenix is quite a mixed bag. On the plus side, we have stunning action, a sweet and really hard hitting main actress plus a quite advanced and mature music-video look. The direction and camerawork are much more advanced than in the previous thai-productions and create a entertaining, kind of new age teen movie with uncompromising action scenes. The story supports that structure and tells the story of a group of young people fighting against a gang who kidnapps "special" girls. When Jijan should be kidnapped, she gets rescued by the groups leader. Together with the two other members (who all share a kidnapped wife/sister background)she learns a special fighting technique which combines breakedance, drunkenboxing and muay-thai. Together with her friends she fights the gang to rescue the wife of the leader of her group.
And that's the point that brings us to the minus side: While the first half of the movie is a great flick about friendship and martial-arts, nearly everything goes down with the last third and the ending. When Jija and her friends advace into the lair of that mysterious human trade gang, the movie becomes more and more abstract in the ending. With the idea of women getting kidnapped because of their smell and turning their tears into a perfume, combined with a female thai bodybuilder waiting for them as the head of the gang, the screenplay flushes all the great ideas and self awarness of the first half down the toilet. Only the really great and typically hard fighting scenes safe the ending and a wonderfull charming and innocent Jija makes that movie fun to watch at anytimes. A bit more storywork and a bit more polished action direction (the fighting seems a bit soft sometimes) would made a better movie then Chocolate was, certainly.

Video:
The video of the blu-ray is outstanding. Presented in full frame 16:9, the colour and constrast make Raging Phoenix the best thai-release on blu yet. You have sharp pictures, with vidrant colours and great detail. The ending suffers from the digital processing in the blue-screen scenes and turns blurry at times. Overall the transfers is good, even great at times and does the movie justice.

Audio:
The Blu comes with a Thai DTS-HD Master track with burned in english subtitles. The soundtrack is dynamic and music playback is quite dimensional. You have action spreading into the room and clear, sharp soundeffects. The soundtrack is very good, but nothing special.

Final thoughts:
Raging Phoenix is something new in every way. When you like Thai-Action, you're in for a treat; and a surprise. This movie combines infamous stuntwork, a wonderfull actress, alternative storyelements and comic-relief into a quite entertaining and at times abstract action-movie that relly tries to push the limits. Even when it fails at times, the main actress doesn't. Jija is absolutely stunning. With this flawless Blu-Ray release, fans of asian actionmovies should buy this. Others should better give it a rent because of the abstract ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5* Flim 2* Subs, 29 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Film=5*, Subs=2*, Audio=3*

i also own original thai version of this (import before release) which worked 100% but with this version half the subs are wrong.. there's a couple bits where they missed the subs completely.. basically the film has been changed because subs are incorrect... either get version from thailand or download it & get the subtitles separately, at least they will be right! The audio is slightly out of sync as well.. someone gets hit, then the sound plays.. thats on pc, ps3 or blu ray player.. How can this be a legit blu ray with so much wrong with it???... Honestly it's getting to the stage where 'pirate' copies are actually better quality than the legit versions & you dont have menu's you cant skip on pirates ;)

The film itself is amazing, with awesome action packed fight scenes, a really good story thats original... not a cliché here :) but as a gd part of the film is training Jija you dont see as much of her kickin butt as you'd like.

when film is saying who characters are it missis Sanim's... still comes up saying his name is Sanim but on thailand ver its 'Sanim (Iron Rust)', which it dont say on this ver. Sanim's wife 'Pie' as its spelt in this is actually spelt 'Pai'... Why is amazon red lining 'spelt' according to the dictionary its spelt like that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as sweet as Chocolate, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Robert Potter "mojowire" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raging Phoenix [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Ultimately a slightly disappointing combination of the usual acrobatic high-flying bonecrunching Thai martial arts with a faintly silly then utterly ludicrous plot. The gorgeous Jija Yanin is kidnapped by some bad guys but rescued by some bloke (Patrick Tang) using crazy martial arts. He introduces her to his mates, who use the same box of tricks, based on being drunk to confuse the enemy: unlike Chinese drunken style, which involves random movements to simulate a drunk, this style actually involves being drunk (not sure what that would do for the co-ordination, but I'm not Thai...). Jija learns the style and becomes top-class at it in the space of about a week (hmmmm....), and the group set out to track down the bad kidnapping guys, whose thing to steal girls to turn their tears into perfume (I did say this got ludicrous, didn't I?) and who had stolen Patrick Tang's wife on the day of their wedding.

Eventually, using Jija as bait, they find their way to the bad guys' underground hideout, which turns out to have enormous chasms reminiscent of Mordor, crossed by rope bridges to allow for some interesting fight scenes. But, damn, if someone threw me headfirst into solid rock, I'd be _hurt_, not able to carry on fighting for another 10 minutes. With that caveat, the fighting throughout is acrobatic, extended, and great to watch. Jija herself is pretty damn good and just about believable as a kickass queen.

But the whole thing is let down by the ridiculous plot (almost as bad as elephants being trafficked to Australia...) and, by the same token, the overextended nature of the fights: I know it's convention, but real fights don't go on for 10 minutes or more, across and between bridges, up and down rock steps, bouncing off rock walls, and so on. It's very well done, and I bet a good many bruises were sustained, but it ain't remotely real. Chocolate was just as silly but rather more fun, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ahhh, 7 Mar 2011
bluray quality is good,

I like the movie for its battle scenes, the actress that is cute and cool. But the story is too simple and the style chosen is not my taste. Anyway, worth to be watched, i was expecting more after chocolate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, not great, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: Raging Phoenix [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
An typical action movie; big on fights, and less so on story. One of the few Thai movies I've seen so far, I think a lot of the story --or the emotional aspect if you will-- gets lost in translation. I could not really understand the characters, which creates a kind of distance between the viewer and the movie; something which you'd not have if the movie were excellent.

All in all: an enjoyable movie, but do not buy if expecting an epic story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre..., 2 May 2010
This review is from: Raging Phoenix [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The martial concepts in this film, drunken, break dance style fighting were really intriguing. After seeing Chocolate (which I rated 5 stars) I thought this would be worth a look and bought it on pre-order. I wasn't completely wrong about it being interesting, but the idea is a wasted opportunity. Don't misunderstand me, you will probably find the film reasonably enjoyable; it has a few twists and turns in the plot and some nice fight scenes. Maybe I expected too much from this but I just felt disappointed - it could have been so much better...
The issues for me were largely about the plot and what felt like mediocre fight scenes. I loved Chocolate because it was a novel twist on the classic `revenge' story and I still think this makes the best sort of martial arts movie to make. Revenge makes the fighting more than just a series of disconnected events - it injects injustice and you then fight alongside the hero as they progress through the story. As I've said on other martial arts reviews, the best stories involve the `hero' character fighting several progressively more competent fighters culminating in a final fight against a `boss' enemy fighter. I'm sorry to say but this story did not do that. Further to this the reason for the fighting seemed to be being made up as the movie was being made. Characters were not introduced properly and the main theme about pheromones was just ludicrous and only introduced nearing the end - in what I felt was a desperate attempt to give the plot meaning. The fighting was also not very interesting; having seen Chocolate It just felt lackluster.
What confused me most in this film I suppose was a sense of it being set in a `real' world situation but then going so left field into `desperate' fantasy that it was just painful. Perhaps there is some politics about showing why Thai girls are really being kidnapped as a plot hook; but the end result here was to come up with a bizarre load of nonsense about pheromones being stolen by some mad woman who lives under the city. Don't misunderstand me, I like fantasy in films but in this the fantasy was just disjointed and disappointing rather than mysterious and fantastical.

On the plus side the lead, Jija Janin, was good again, but I wanted more. There was one good twist in the film which made me feel some effort had being made. The last fight sequence was pretty good too, if you ignored the strange cave setting with computer generated tunnels and stuff, but in all it was a very average film compared with Ong Bak, Warrior King and Chocolate.

What was missing?
I would have made the break dance fighting more central to the plot, introduced it as a Thai ghetto gang thing. I would have used a competition style approach for some of the story to showcase the dancing / fighting. Have dance offs against gangs with music would have been cool - it would also have given a chance to introduce a nemesis. The kidnapping - if I had used it at all - I would say it was for carnal purposes or just slavery - but not pheromones being extracted under the city by a mad woman LMAO. I would have introduced the nemesis early on and made the plot make a whole lot more sense by grounding it in a familiar revenge story from the start (rather than bringing it in half way through). Importantly I would have instilled the same desire Chocolate inspired - one that made the watcher want the heroine win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raging Phoenix [DVD] [2009]
Raging Phoenix [DVD] [2009] by Rashan Limtrakul (DVD - 2010)
17.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews