Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining little indie films
It's great to see somebody with a vision, determined to execute it well. The vision in HARD REVENGE MILLY is simple - make a cool, short action film with some hardcore gore effects. The budget is minimal, but the execution is spot on.

The first film is short, shot on location with a minimal cast and crew... virtually no storyline, just some cool characters,...
Published on 27 Nov 2010 by The 14 Amazons

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars different, definitely different
reading the other reviews I had high hopes for this. i wasnt totally disappointed but i dont agree that it was as good as the previous reviews made out. the fight scenes were ok, the gore rediculaous and the acting was passable. if you like asian future horror flicks then this might be for you, if you are just looking for some sci-fi gore I would keep looking. not a...
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by Mr. Martin Bull


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining little indie films, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Hard Revenge Milly Vol.1 And 2 - Bloody Battle [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
It's great to see somebody with a vision, determined to execute it well. The vision in HARD REVENGE MILLY is simple - make a cool, short action film with some hardcore gore effects. The budget is minimal, but the execution is spot on.

The first film is short, shot on location with a minimal cast and crew... virtually no storyline, just some cool characters, surprisingly well choreographed and filmed action scenes and some absurd, OTT gore. The second film clearly has more of a budget, and therefore runs much longer - more or less feature length. This does dilute the action & gore a little bit, but arguably makes for a better overall film - it has an actual plot, of sorts, for instance, and a bit more humour. Most importantly though, it does not disappoint on the violence & gore front.

A solid pair of films at a budget price, well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars but it's not for everyone, 10 April 2010
By 
I Am Tyler Durden (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hard Revenge Milly Vol.1 And 2 - Bloody Battle [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is only a 4 star rating for fans of unrealistic stylised comic book splatter. For everyone else it will prbably be a 1 or 2 star because of the laughable effects, bad acting, overuse of shaky cam and lack of plot etc. But and it's a big BUT, for fans like me it's a real hoot. Part one is 45 mins long where we get to meet Milly in a post apocalyptic urban future not wasting any time in getting revenge on those who killed her family. That's the whole plot, there's plenty of karate fighting action and sword chopping with deliciously over the top FOUNTAINS of blood. Plus there's a neat line in cybernetic implant weapons. Part 2 at 70+ mins takes place a little further into the future where Milly agrees to train and help a young girl to take revenge on the killer of her lover while also dispatching more villains on Milly's trail. Both parts together make a really decent movie, thoroughly entertaining, over the top hilarious effects, inventive deaths and weapons. If you like things such as Kill Bill, Tokyo Gore Police, Lone Wolf & Cub, I'm sure you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Koroshiya Ichi's Robo-Chan, 26 May 2010
This review is from: Hard Revenge Milly Vol.1 And 2 - Bloody Battle [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Miike's Ichi The Killer is one of my all-time favourite flicks, so i wouldn't dream of comparing any other feature to it without feeling justified. I loved every minute of Milly's two-part revenge fable packed full of blood geysers and demented biomechanical weaponry set in a dystopian future where choas reigns supreme and wierd, unscrupulous scientists operate in seedy, barren wastelands. In this alternative future gun laws have been deregulated paving the way for an epicentre of violence controlled by a gang of four members calling themselves "The Jack Brothers". The population has decreased to such an extent that The Jacks randomly slaughter victims for sheer fun and pleasure to relieve the boredom. Milly and her family get butchered by The Jacks but Milly is saved by a scientist experimenting with mechanized parts, thus transforming her into a cold blooded hybrid of humanoid/cyborg hell bent on revenge.

The story has nothing that will blow-away any audience with originality, it mainly consists of: you killed my family and i want revenge; you killed our friends and we will avenge them. Despite this typical flaw, which runs through the vast majority of features released, the viewer still ends up being thoroughly entertained by subtle atmospherics, top-notch fight sequences and some hilariously inventive death scenes from Yoshihiro Nishimura - director of Vampire Girl V Frankenstein Girl and Tokyo Gore Police. The limited resources available for the first Volume didn't hamper the enjoyment factor as the pacing of the flick and camera techniques selected prove wise decision making by the director, Nakanori Tsujimoto. The second volume does outshine when comparing cinematography and running time and is by far the best of the two-parts: both stories do run on the same disc.

If you like a bit of the old ultra-violence loaded with outrageous ideas, and the over-the-top style of Nishimura's gore then this is an absolute must-see. I thought both Milly's were the most enjoyable flicks, of this type, i've seen so far; and, arguably the most masterfully crafted extreme Jap splatter features since Miike's Ichi The Killer, due to the high level of humour combined with gore achieved on such a low budget. The only thing missing when comparing with Miike's masterclass was after Milly massacres her enemies, she doesn't blub a bucket of tears then indulge in a pleasure session of bean-flicking - BOO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good movie, 11 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Revenge Milly Vol.1 And 2 - Bloody Battle [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Its a good movie of its type not everybodies cup of tea but i think when you buy this type of dvd you know roughly what you are going to get,I'm quite knew to these types of film i quite like them not all some are abit over the top but i am glad i got into asian cinema .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 29 Sep 2012
By 
Kevin Sorensen (LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Revenge Milly Vol.1 And 2 - Bloody Battle [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Now this is a bloody movie :-)

Typical Japanese gore and I like that kind of movies. If you like blood and gore, this is the movie for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bloody Expectations., 13 Nov 2013
By 
Soth Komarith (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Revenge Milly Vol.1 And 2 - Bloody Battle [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Hi, the movie HARD REVENGE MILLY 1+2 has met my satisfaison. They are the chambara films that i have expected to see. Thak you so much Nao Nagasawa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Spray, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Robert Allen (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Revenge Milly Vol.1 And 2 - Bloody Battle [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
If you love bloody battles with spraying blood you'll love this. The storyline and choice of cast is excellent. The extras show how it was done, so watch the extras later if at all, On the other hand if you like a wet red comedy, you could watch the extras first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars different, definitely different, 14 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Revenge Milly Vol.1 And 2 - Bloody Battle [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
reading the other reviews I had high hopes for this. i wasnt totally disappointed but i dont agree that it was as good as the previous reviews made out. the fight scenes were ok, the gore rediculaous and the acting was passable. if you like asian future horror flicks then this might be for you, if you are just looking for some sci-fi gore I would keep looking. not a bad effort but could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Brutal..., 23 Aug 2010
By 
A. FURNISS "DRAGONANDY" (WEST SUSSEX. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Revenge Milly Vol.1 And 2 - Bloody Battle [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Yet another cracking Japanese indie film.
Once again if you're happy with the Hollywood by-the-numbers/box-ticking school of film making this film, and Japanese films in general, is probably not for you.
The acting seemed just a wee bit dodgy in places but the action and special effects more than made up for that perceived lack.
Wonderfully gory too but not too ott unlike Tokyo Gore Police which I didn't enjoy as much as this film as this one felt like it had more `heart'.
Loved it!
More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor - Not For Martial Arts Fans!, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: Hard Revenge Milly Vol.1 And 2 - Bloody Battle [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Hard Revenge Milly may appeal to those who like Japanese ultra gore, with plenty of unrealistic gushing blood and a hot young girl killing everybody on sight in an outlandish fashion with no skills. If you're one of these people you can discount my review. However if you like seeing talented martial artists perform well choreographed fight sequences where you can see all the action and get a thrill being blown away by the amazing agility of its martial arts stars, this movie is not for you. I did not watch this whole movie only the first 20 min or so. This was enough for me to see what kind of action I was expecting and with no discernible acting ability by the cast and barely a storyline. I just decided to skip ahead to the action and even then this movie was extremely disappointing. I don't mind low-budget movies as long as they deliver whether in the action front or story and acting, or if it's horror suspense and scares but this was just an amateur production, relying on style over substance. Don't get me wrong I can enjoy a good movie without real substance but this really wasn't overly stylish either, not in a good way. Anyway I hope my few thoughts have helped out anybody who's not quite sure. Your best bet is looking elsewhere and buying something else from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard Revenge Milly Vol.1 And 2 - Bloody Battle [DVD] [2008]
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews