Customer Reviews


295 Reviews
5 star:
 (241)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good Disney film, a little disappointed with bonus features
I bought Aladdin being a big fan of the Disney films and I was very pleased with the movie itself; Robin Williams is hilarious as the Genie, the story is good if not a bit too eccentric, the songs are wonderful and picture and sound quality are perfect.

However calling the DVD a 'Musical Masterpiece' edition is a bit of a marketing con. The only features are a...
Published on 24 Nov. 2008 by Mutian

versus
50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film...but why released like this?
Based on the classic tale from the Arabian Nights, "Aladdin" is one of the best Disney films; it is a tour-de-force of lovely animation and magical music. There's plenty of heart, as well, and whilst the story has its fair share of clichés, the film overall deserves a good five stars.

Having said that, this DVD edition (the Musical Masterpiece Edition)...
Published on 26 Dec. 2008 by JOE IN DA JUNGLE


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good Disney film, a little disappointed with bonus features, 24 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Aladdin [DVD] (DVD)
I bought Aladdin being a big fan of the Disney films and I was very pleased with the movie itself; Robin Williams is hilarious as the Genie, the story is good if not a bit too eccentric, the songs are wonderful and picture and sound quality are perfect.

However calling the DVD a 'Musical Masterpiece' edition is a bit of a marketing con. The only features are a pamphlet like booklet with song lyrics and then there's an option to put the film on with song subtitles appearing.

I did buy the DVD just for the film so I really didn't mind the lack of decent extras too much, it's a good price for a very good movie but if you're an extras fan it may be worth trying to find the DVD that was released in 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film; beautifully restored, 12 Oct. 2004
Aladdin is, in my opinion, the best of the traditional (as in cartoon musicals) Disney films from the 90s. The story is full of black humour and the genie is perfectly voiced by Robin Williams.
This DVD takes the original film and brings the image and sound quality bang up to date, compared to the original VHS I have I cannot believe they are the same film. The extras on disc 2 are more suited to children however for us grown ups there are plenty of interesting bits such as the commentary and the trivia subtitles which point you towards such features as Disney in-jokes and which characters are based on members of the team.
An excellent buy for both the young and young at heart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful upgrading from Disney, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aladdin [Blu-ray] [1992] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Although I don't think this is one of the absolute best of Disney's catalogue, I do have a huge soft spot for this film, so snatched it up as soon as I could for the collection.

The picture transfer is perfect; the colours really pop out, and it has never looked better on vhs or dvd. The audio too is crisp beyond belief - the only minor complaint I could muster is one I've noticed on a small number of blu ray releases recently - the scoring track being louder than audio levels, but this only happened a couple of times throughout the film, and only had to be dropped one or two levels (live in a flat so more aware of it is all)
The extras are pretty fun, featuring the previous dvd editions and a couple of new ones to keep you occupied. Overall, this is of such high quality I can't recommend the film enough; even if you aren't getting it for the collection (thanks to the numbered sides on these releases)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content and quality - shame about the adverts, 7 Dec. 2004
By 
A. L. Walker (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I need not repeat what the other reviews have said - the picture and sound quality is excellent, the film has to be one of the best original Disney films, etc.
The one thing I would complain about is that Disney seem to have found a way to make this DVD like many of their old VHS tapes, i.e. forcing you to watch trailers for other films before you get to the root menu on the DVD, like the copyright notices. And once you start the film, they show about 5 "so-and-so productions" trailers, which aren't in the chapter system of the actual film, i.e. you can't skip them either! It takes something in the order of 5 minutes to actually get to the film, whereas most DVDs are up and running inside of 30 seconds. A real pain when all you want to do is let a friend sing along to one of the songs.
Considering that one reason people prefer DVDs is the lack of adverts, this is a big disappointment, as this means no doubt that this trend will continue with all future Disney DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney at it's best!, 17 Aug. 2008
By 
ShadowFox (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aladdin [DVD] (DVD)
This film has to be one of if not THE best Disney film there is. The story is great, the voices perfect, the songs brilliant! My favourite song from Aladdin is probably Friend Like Me but that's because I love Genie. However, all the songs are great in this film, there's none that you roll your eyes to because Disney have that great way of including a lovely slowie into a film but still having the humour there (like with A Whole New World).

Loved this film when I was little and chuffed now that my littl'un loves it too. Great fun for family viewing and still funny for adults!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney in its finest hour, 18 Aug. 2009
By 
J. Dale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aladdin [DVD] (DVD)
Released in 1992, Aladdin is just the perfect disney film, there's not much you can say that is bad about the film or nothing at all since the graphics still retain its appeal, love and charm it has given children throughout the years.

The film is perfect for any disney fan to have as it has good characters, good voice actors including Robin Williams voice as the Genie and many marvellous dance songs available. This includes some extras like a lyric book and music modes so that children themselves can sing along with in the film and a downloadable song feature as well. Recommended to all Disney fans and children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Movie, 29 Jan. 2005
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Aladdin is an orphan stealing what he needs to eat. Jasmine is the princess, but is unhappy to be forced to marry. One day, they meet in the market, and its love at first sight. But Jasmine can only marry a prince. Meanwhile, Jafar's schemes to go from advisor to Sultan bring him across Aladdin's path. But when Aladdin finds the Genie of the lamp, things really get interesting.
And fun. As anyone who has seen this movie will tell you, Robin Williams as the Genie absolutely makes this movie. I still haven't caught all his characters and impersonations, but they still make me laugh. The plot itself is better then their usual fairy tale romance with Jafar making a truly evil villain. The songs are some of their best and most memorable, especially the romantic song "Whole New World." And the climax is one of my favorites because of how cleaver it is. The animation is beautiful with vibrant colors bringing the story to life.
I've been looking forward to this DVD release since it was announced. And let me tell you, it looks and sounds great. Perfect widescreen, and the immersive audio mix is truly breathtaking. Extras include two commentary tracks and a fun pop-up trivia option. The story got quite an overhaul from the original version they were thinking of, and some of the original material is presented here, including a song recorded by Clay Aiken. Disc two features a reunion of the producers, animators, and voice cast interspersed with behind the scenes material. Honestly, this felt like it was leaving stuff out and could have been more in depth. There's also a tribute to composure Alan Menken, games for kids, and the usual art galleries. Most noticeably missing from the extras is Robin Williams. With all the other principle voice cast returning for the extras, I was really disappointed not to hear from him.
This is a great movie in every sense of the word that everyone will enjoy watching many times. While the extras don't seem quite as impressive as previous Platinum Edition titles, there's still plenty here for fans. A disc well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jonathan Freeman as Jafar; Yeah!, 7 Oct. 2004
This film is great! The story (the director's is responsible for the classics The Little Mermaid, Hercules and Treasure Planet), the animation (animators Andreas Deja, Will Finn, Eric Goldberg, Mark Henn, Glen Keane), the musical score (Alan Menken), the songs (Howard Ashman & Alan Menken and Alan Menken & Tim Rice), the cast (Jonathan Freeman, Gilbert Gottfried, Robin Williams) - everything is just magical!

Aladdin is perhaps the best of all the great Disney films, counting such classics as Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Pocahontas, Hercules, The Hunchback of Notre Dame, Alice in Wonderland, Bambi, Pinocchio, Peter Pan, The Lion King etc.

Aladdin is a better film than The Lion King, and this DVD release is as good as the collector's edition 2-Disc release of Beauty and the Beast. The bonus on the DVD release of The Lion King was very bad - if not missing. I really hope that Disney's DVD release's continue to be this good.

And the best thing about the whole movie; The performance of the fantastic actor/Broadway singer Jonathan Freeman! Williams is great too, but did get more attention/credits than he deserved. Freeman is very, very good as the evil, malevolent Grand Vizier and sorcerer - to bad he did not get a long song in the film (such as "Why Me", "Humiliate the Boy" or "Master of the Lamp" - all Menken/Ashman/Rice songs). But his musical reprise of Prince Ali is performed great. Freeman has the most awesome, evil laughter in the world, I think! (Freeman is returning in The Return of Jafar, with a catchy song - "(You're) Only Second Rate".)

Enjoy this Walt Disney Picture Masterpiece! And if you want The Disney Company to make more classical (2-D), hand-drawn animated features in the future, visit w[...] and support Roy Disney in his battle against the forces of evil; Disney boss Michael Eisner (a person that does only think about money, not art or entertainment). SAVEDISNEY for the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film...but why released like this?, 26 Dec. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aladdin [DVD] (DVD)
Based on the classic tale from the Arabian Nights, "Aladdin" is one of the best Disney films; it is a tour-de-force of lovely animation and magical music. There's plenty of heart, as well, and whilst the story has its fair share of clichés, the film overall deserves a good five stars.

Having said that, this DVD edition (the Musical Masterpiece Edition) comes across as a bit pointless. I hate to nitpick and sound all geeky, but I shall be. A few years ago, "Aladdin" was released for the first time on DVD in a splendid two-disc edition featuring a whole two-hour documentary on the film's production, as well as audio-commentaries, trailers, production galleries and a tribute to Alan Menken (who wrote the songs for not just "Aladdin", but "The Little Mermaid", "Beauty and the Beast", "Enchanted", "Pocahontas" etc). However, quicker than you could say Scrooge McDuck is your uncle, it went back into the infamous Disney vault. And now the film has "returned from the Disney vault" with only a "sing along" feature and not much else.

I understand that some people will just want the movie, but as someone seriously considering going into the film/TV industry, I find it a bit depressing that studios should just be mediocre when it comes to releasing films, especially when they've done better in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 16 Mar. 2005
For me, this is the best of all Disney's - and they do have quite an impressive CV to choose from! Robin Williams is as good as everyone says and Jonathon Freeman equally good (it would have been nice to see him a little more). The story is pretty typical Disney, that is, romance against the odds but done better than usual, with great animation and fantastic songs (although why 'Whole New World' was nominated for the Oscar when there are at least two better songs in the film, both sung by the genie I will never know.
One of the best things about this film is the realism. Yes, I know, it's a story about a genie in a lamp, but bear with me. When you watch the Lion King, during 'I just can't wait to be King', all the animals start dancing in weird ways, the colours go crazy, the whole thing seems to go out of control and to an extent it starts to resemble one of the old cartoons - you know the ones where someone runs off the edge of a cliff, doesn't realise, and keeps running. With Aladdin, you're required to make a leap of faith at the start, by accepting the existence of the genie, but once you have done that, everything makes sense, and all the wild activities and colours created by the genie just seem logical. You don't find yourself questioning what is happening as is so easy to do in many films.
If you love cartoons, this is one of the best. If you don't own any - this is where you should start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aladdin [Blu-ray] [1992] [Region Free]
Aladdin [Blu-ray] [1992] [Region Free] by John Musker (Blu-ray - 2013)
£15.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews