Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HP Laserjet Professional P1606dn
This product was delivered within 24 hours and performs really well. The price was astonishingly reasonable for a fast 1200dpi network laser printer with a duplex printing capability. Setting up was a breeze on Mac OS X Tiger or Leopard. But to achieve the price there have been some compromises: the display is extremely basic (though adequate for normal use), and the...
Published on 19 Nov 2011 by Mr. C. W. V. Mccleery

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mac OS X compatibility is imperfect
Mac OS X Snow Leopard (10.6.8) compatibility is not good. Duplex sometimes fails with an error reported in the Mac printer app. Complex PDF pages with graphics sometimes fail. I downloaded the latest drivers and clean-installed them, to little avail. See the HP forums [...] for more detail. I have returned mine. Ordered it after years of totally reliable printing from an...
Published on 16 Feb 2012 by George Coulouris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HP Laserjet Professional P1606dn, 19 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE749A LaserJet Pro P1606dn Mono Laser Printer (Personal Computers)
This product was delivered within 24 hours and performs really well. The price was astonishingly reasonable for a fast 1200dpi network laser printer with a duplex printing capability. Setting up was a breeze on Mac OS X Tiger or Leopard. But to achieve the price there have been some compromises: the display is extremely basic (though adequate for normal use), and the toner cartridge provided has a very limited capacity of around 1000 pages compared with 4000 or so for the recommended HP part number. The surprise was that, though the toner cartridge is supplied with the machine by HP, when setting up the machine using the web browser interface, it was not recognised as an authorised HP component in the printer configuration pages. Duplex printing works well and is easily set up from the Layout option in the Mac OS X print dialog box. Again, no doubt in order to build the device to the price, the machine feels flimsier than one might expect of an HP product, but is plenty robust enough for home/home office use. Postscript, or a Postscript emulator would be an unrealistic expectation at this price point, but I have experienced no difficulty in printing InDesign and other graphic documents from the Mac. Duplex printing is a real bonus when printing long documents. I would have no hesitation in recommending this printer to anyone who finds inkjet printing too expensive, or needs to produce professional-looking black and white documents on a wide range of paper or card stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HP 1606n, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: HP CE749A LaserJet Pro P1606dn Mono Laser Printer (Personal Computers)
We find this an excellent Printer.
It is fast and convenient.
It is easy to set up as a Network Printer, as the Driver is downloaded from the Printer itself. Simply 'point' the Browser to the given IP address, and installation takes place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good printer, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: HP CE749A LaserJet Pro P1606dn Mono Laser Printer (Personal Computers)
So far so good, the printer has performed all tasks asked of it including 50 sheet printing back to back. If black and white volume printing is what your after it suits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent workhorse, 29 Oct 2011
By 
Andreas Louca (Nicosia, Strovolos Cyprus) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HP CE749A LaserJet Pro P1606dn Mono Laser Printer (Personal Computers)
I bough this printer primarily because of its duplex and network function, and it hasn't let me down since.

The printer has a great value itself, and the toner replacements are cheap enough, making this a value for money package. If you include duplex printing and network support, its a thumps up for almost every situation.

One downside is, perhaps, that on duplex printing the speed is much much lower.

Excellent little printer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great affordable duplex printer, 8 July 2011
This review is from: HP CE749A LaserJet Pro P1606dn Mono Laser Printer (Personal Computers)
This is a great printer at this affordable price. The printing speed is relatively fast and print quality is good. The best feature is the automatic duplex printing. It also comes with auto sleep to save power, as well as network printing. So far I'm very satisfied with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little networked B&W laser printer, 15 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE749A LaserJet Pro P1606dn Mono Laser Printer (Personal Computers)
We have 3 people in an office here and our old beast of an HP4100 Laserjet, which we printed envelopes on, finally gave up the ghost after many years. We needed a networked Mono Laser printer to print around 1000-2000 envelopes per month. This printer was dead easy to set up on the network, prints beautifully clearly and handles envelopes with no problem at all.
Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good little printer, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: HP CE749A LaserJet Pro P1606dn Mono Laser Printer (Personal Computers)
I bought this printer back in June - still going on the toner which came with the printer - some 800 pages on and still going strong. Printer was easy to set up. Note you don't get a cable to connect from printer to computer - so remember when ordering. I happened to have a cable so was ok and ready to plug printer in and get started. Very easy to connect - I was worried but very straight forward. Prints pages quickly, and does back to back which is what I wanted from a laser printer, to save on paper. Size is what I would expect for a laser and the sound is quiet. The price is excellent. I am very pleased with this buy and would recomment it. You won't be disappointed. Very good value for money. And you're getting a laser printer. Delivery was also very fast and it took about 4-5 days - I was expecting a much longer time. Good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ubuntu 10.04 works fine after you manually select Generic PCL 6 driver, 9 July 2011
This review is from: HP CE749A LaserJet Pro P1606dn Mono Laser Printer (Personal Computers)
Connected this to the network as I didn't have a USB cable and it doesn't come with one (it doesn't come with a network cable either, but I had one spare). Prefer printers connected to the network anyway as its easy to share them between machines.

Setup a new network printer under Ubuntu (10.04), it didn't find the printer driver and the HP 1606DN wasn't on the list and there where no PPD drivers on the CD supplied. First attempt at selecting a similar model failed with a load of characters on the first line of printout, so selected "Generic PCL 6/PCL XL Printer - CUPS+Gutenprint v5.2.5 Simplified" and got a Ubuntu test page printout working fine, went into printer options and enabled long edge 2-sided printing and was able to printout a 2 page document from OpenOffice which used both sides of the printout.

Happy so far, but have only been using this for a few hours so can't comment on long term printer usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best workhorse printer I have owned, 2 Aug 2013
By 
F. W. Gedling "ribbit-of-woking" (Woking, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE749A LaserJet Pro P1606dn Mono Laser Printer (Personal Computers)
I had being baulking for a long time at the cost of inkjet cartridges and thought that supplementing my HP Inkjet with a LaserJet for heavy duty B&W printing tasks was long overdue. After hours on Amazon I plumped for this model and do not regret it for a moment. Outstanding features are:
- SPEED - it is SO fast, hit print and lean across and lift a duplex page off the printer.
- PRINT QUALITY - text quality is perfect down to 4pt.
- ECONOMY - on track to get over 1,200 pages with the supplied toner cartridge

I'm sold on home office laser printers now and this combines all the best attributes in a small footprint and at a great price. For the rare time I need to print in colour there is still my Photosmart 6520 but for B&W I've halved my print costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Printer for Everyday Use., 10 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE749A LaserJet Pro P1606dn Mono Laser Printer (Personal Computers)
Arrived well within the stated delivery bracket. Took almost as long to get out of the box as to set up! Set-up as a network printer was simplicity itself and worked like a dream. One thing that is not clear on the minimalist instructions included with printer is that the set-up has to be run on every pc on the network accessing the printer.

Print speed and quality excellent in a SOHO environment - did get a bit hot towards the end of printing a 152 page document double sided.

Doesn't fell very robust after the HP LJ 2200D it replaced but, then again, that was s substantial beast. I wonder if this will last as long? (Some 8 years sterling service and only abandoned as too expensive to fix the duplex unit).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews