Customer Reviews


616 Reviews
5 star:
 (408)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (64)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cameron's 3D mark. He Did It Again !!!
Yes, he did it again.With Avatar 3D he setup a 3D benchmark and showed how a 3D experience should be. This time he setup another benchmark for 3D conversion and showed how well can the conversion look, if proper care is taken while converting. The 3D is truly amazing and if you didn't hear already that this is a converted 3D, you won't notice it either while watching,...
Published on 11 Sep 2012 by lokeshbade

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
The film starts with the search for a valuable diamond that is presumed to have been lost when the Titanic sank. An old survivor, Rose (Gloria Stuart) contacts the team who are searching through the Titanic on the ocean-bed. She sits down and recounts her memories of the journey that she had and the love that she found with Jack (Leonardo DiCaprio)........oh...
Published on 7 Sep 2009 by Alex da Silva


‹ Previous | 1 2 362 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Edition of Titanic if You Simply Want The Film, 14 Nov 2005
By 
This two disc special edition consists of the film and a limited number of extra features. Not long after Titanic came out there was a DVD released which was sadly a huge disappointment. Since that time I have patiently waited, no doubt with many other fans of the film, for the release of a DVD which does this great film justice. Now at long last that time has come and this DVD special edition does not disappoint. This DVD film is presented in anamorphic widescreen and the print quality is first class. When shown on a large wide screen it is stunning. The extra features are limited but are still a must for any fan of this film and others interested in the Titanic. The extra features include 'My Heart Will go On' music video from Celine Dion, Alternative ending on disc 2 and features from behind the scenes in the making of this film. I would recommend this edition of the film if you are not interested in lots of extra features because the film alone is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok I admit it, I LOVED this Film, 18 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let's just get a few things straight here. This film came out when I was 14 years old. I was one of the only straight, teenage boys on Earth who actually admitted to liking the film. Yes, I'll be honest, I saw it five times at the cinema (count 'em) and bought it on VHS the day it came out. Being a little older I can see many of the faults in the film but I still love it, if not quite as much as I used to.

The reaction to the film was unparalelled, nearly $2,000,000,000 at the box office and 11 Academy awards. I think the fact that so many people fell for this film made others want to pick holes in it. Yes, some of the script was corny, but there is a lot of emotion, some great acting, excellent drama and stunning cinematography.

The romance is perhaps a tad cliched, but it is NOT mushy. The real strength of the film is in the ship itself which proves to be the star of the show. The real ship at the start is a sight to behold but it is the sinking of the great vessel that makes the film great. From the deep roar as the Titanic slowly dips further below the surface to the death-defying dashes for safety, the adrenlin simple flows off the screen. As the ship falls apart, the tension is truly gripping. The scene where the great, glas, dome ceiling caves in and the water rushes through the ship is one of the most powerful I have ever seen and of course there is the tragedy of the bodies in the water.

Although my love of the film has waned in the last few years there is more than enough left to make for an epic film and one of the best of the 1990s. Look past the hype, pretend no one ever went nuts for the movie and just see it as you first saw it and you might just remember what you first experienced at the cinema - an excellent film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great film - but not just the romance, 9 Oct 2003
This review is from: Titanic [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
A fine film, although in my view the love story between Jack and Rose isn't nearly the best part. (Then again I'm not 16 years old any more !)
As an engineer myself, I identified most closely with the character of Thomas Andrews, master shipwright at Harland & Wolfe. Spoken as a true engineer, no-one argues with him :
"This ship can't sink !"
"This ship is made of iron - it can, and it will. That is a mathematical certainty."
The attention to details from Cameron is astounding - from the costumes, sets and even the actors - it is hard to tell the faces from the contemporary photographs, so good is the match. Nitpickers will always have a field day on movies like this but never mind, it's terrific when a real effort is made, and there is always a nice wide angle shot in every scene to show off the finer details of the set (the gymnasium is my favourite).
The final scene, where Rose enters the Grand Saloon to applause from all the cast sums up the film - it really should be viewed and regarded as an ensemble piece, not just a love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 7 Sep 2009
By 
The film starts with the search for a valuable diamond that is presumed to have been lost when the Titanic sank. An old survivor, Rose (Gloria Stuart) contacts the team who are searching through the Titanic on the ocean-bed. She sits down and recounts her memories of the journey that she had and the love that she found with Jack (Leonardo DiCaprio)........oh yeah...........the ship sinks........

I began watching the film determined not to cry but it all got too much and I started to well up as the credits started and the film began! Although I think it's a good film, I feel I should mention the following points. Its way too long - scenes are drawn out and this had the effect of detaching me from the action and so lessening my emotional involvement. I thought that Kate Winslet as "Rose" and Leonardo DiCaprio were good in the lead roles but Kate was too much of a woman. She is meant to be a 16 year old. She was far too mature. This made Jack seem a bit too boyish for her, although his look is probably right considering that Kate is meant to be 16. Having said that, Winslet's facial expressions are very good and she draws you in to what she is feeling - she conveys the despair of the situation very well. She's also pretty good with an axe! I felt that DiCaprio was likable despite his constant optimism and the rest of the cast were good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly astounding...., 28 Feb 2006
Titanic is without a doubt the most successful film of all time, in terms of box office receipts and Oscar success. Hard to believe that before it was released it was being billed as a failure on the scale of 'Waterworld'. James Cameron's creative vision and obsession with detail may have caused his cast and crew some ire - but the end result is truly astounding. It has flaws: for me these mainly rest with the overdone Cal-with-a-gun plotline which did not need to go so far (wasn't what was going on around them dramatic enough??!) and some of the dialogue is cheesy to say the least. BUT, the strength of the film is undoubtedly in the very human heart of its story, not just as represented by the relationship between Rose & Jack, but in the painstakingly accurate (as far as possible) insertions of real-life characters and events. Some of the effects are not perfect either (I think particularly of the super-imposed faces as 'Jack' and 'Rose' run from the wall of water) but none of these things detract from what is undeniably one of the great spectacles ever seen in cinema. The sinking of the great ship itself is gobsmacking. As you see her rise into the air, the people screaming and falling, the single flare lost in the dark Atlantic - it sends shivers down your spine as you know this is not fiction - this actually happened to real people. Jack and Rose, played by Leo Di Caprio and Kate Winslett seemed an odd choice - but there is real chemistry between them. Leo is great as the free-spirited 'poor guy' who sees the same kind of spark in Rose that is being repressed by the society she lives in (Rose could be said to be a true proto-feminist as 1912 was a time when emancipation was a hot political issue) and Winslett truly shines in her breakout role.
As with Cameron's other works, the ground-breaking SFX are the things that usually get the attention - but something that is not often applauded enough is that all of his films (think Terminator, The Abyss) have involving storylines and well-drawn characters. He obviously has a passion for what he does and thinks about the story he is trying to get over, and makes the elements work together. And this is why Titanic really hit home, why the whole is greater than the sum of its parts.
I have Titanic on a single DVD so for me this Collectors Edition was bought in order to see all the extras. And I was not disappointed. There are so many and they give some great insights into the research done and the creative process. The deleted scenes contain some genuinely interesting omissions. I think particularly of the cut of a segment that explains more fully Rose's attempt to jump off the back of the ship - I think this should have been kept in and Cal cut out a bit more. Saying that the Cal/bodyguard sequence was actually cut considerably so we were let off lightly. The film is played over 2 discs to accommodate the commentaries so if you simply want to watch the film, get the single disc edition - but if like me you like to get some background, this is not a problem, you have to make a sacrifice in order to pack this much quality on to a DVD. I can honestly say this is one of the best DVD packages I have seen and when you have seen all the extras the poignancy of the story can be felt all the more. I'm very glad I have this in my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic sets sail once again, 4 Oct 2006
By 
As a long time fan of the ship Titanic, i have seen many versions of the disaster that happened on April 14th 1912. When i saw this one i thought it was just a love story very well told, but when it came to the sinking i was amazed of the detail that the crew used in showing the sinking of the ship. The actors all played their parts perfectly and it is an absoulute amazing fim to watch.

The extras are also fantasic. There are trailers, featurettes, deleted scenes, 30 seconds with Bunnies and much much more.

If your a fan of James Cameron or the Titanic or any disaster film in general then buy this dvd, its worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Long Last a DVD Which Does Justice To The Film, 12 Nov 2005
By 
Not long after Titanic came out there was a DVD released which was sadly a huge disappointment. Since that time I have patiently waited, no doubt with many other fans of the film, for the release of a DVD which does this great film justice. Now at long last that time has come and this DVD set really does not disappoint. For a start this DVD film is presented in anamorphic widescreen and the print quality is first class. When shown on a large wide screen it is stunning. The extra features are a must for any fan of this film and others interested in the Titanic. I consider this film to be worth every penny and it has been worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh my god my favourite film EVER, 27 Jan 2011
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Titanic [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
i cry every single time i think about this film! i can't believe how sad it is, the true story and the film, this is the best film i have ever and will ever watch! i lovee the romance, the way its old fashioned and how dramatic it was and how it was put together! absoulutly tragic, the actors/actresses did really really really well, in this film and it is so sad! leonardo really suits jack and i cried like hell when he died! i say i love this film and shame on the 29 people who gave it one star! completely inpossible not to cry and absoulutly inpossible not to like! R.I.P. the people who died that tragic nightxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic DVD, 10 Dec 2010
This review is from: Titanic [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film for my 7 year old to watch as they were doing a topic about the titanic at school. Although the film is only one womans story, it has some very interesting features. My child loves it and has watched it over and over again. Its good to see history made into movies. It keeps everyone interested and makes learning easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film grows on you..., 24 May 2007
By 
Anna Tigg "booklover" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first saw this film when it came out in the cinema, and I have to say I was not that impressed (unlike many of my friends - diehard Leonardo DiCaprio fans all). However, later I came to appreciate it more. This DVD is excellent, with plenty of special features (though if you are a real Titanic fan go for the 4-disc edition). I'm not that enamoured of the alternate ending, I prefer the original even though it was less conclusive.

I think this film was almost perfectly cast, kudos to James Cameron and his team, right from Kate and Leo down to the supporting cast of crew members and passengers. Bernard Hill is excellent as the captain going down with the ship he has doomed, and Victor Garber is also fantastic as the ship's designer, also choosing not to head for the boats. Kathy Bates is simply brilliant as the Unsinkable Molly Brown, Billy Zane is suitably slimy as Rose's millionaire fiance, and David Warner is really quite scary as his manservant/bodyguard. Cameron skilfullly draws the viewer into the lives of the thousands of passengers, so that you feel real sympathy as the steerage passengers are trapped, beaten back and shot at. One of my favourite characters has to be Ioan Gruffudd's 5th Officer, the only man willing to go back to search for survivors in the water.

The film has wonderful moments of humour alongside the impending tragedy - the dinner party scene, or Rose expounding on Freud at the tea table, not to mention "I can see the Statue of Liberty already!... Very small, of course.". The period touches are brilliant, especially Rose's collection of paintings ("Something Picasso"). The move from wreck to dazzling flashback is very well executed, as are all the special effects. And who couldn't love the ending, as Rose, once more young and beautiful, rejoins the rest of the crew and passengers on the first-class deck of the Ship of Dreams...

Although the film is long it doesn't seem so, as you are pulled into the spectacle and the story along with Bill Paxton and his crew of diamond-seekers.

All in all, a great movie which I think will stand the test of time as a classic of 20th-century movie-making. This DVD edition is a credit to anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 362 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titanic [Blu-ray] [1997] [Region Free]
Titanic [Blu-ray] [1997] [Region Free] by James Cameron (Blu-ray - 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews