Customer Reviews


493 Reviews
5 star:
 (403)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classics
It's a real pleasure to be able to own the BTTF trilogy on DVD, not just because the films are so good, but also because the extras are tremendous.
By now, no one needs to be told the plot, but Zemeckis tells a brilliant tale throughout as our hero Marty zips forward and back in time righting wrongs and making sure all goes smoothly for his parents and his children...
Published on 25 Dec 2002 by N. D. Maidment

versus
47 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate box set.. until they release another to cash in
Once again UK viewers get a rough deal. There is nothing wrong with this box set - the films are all classic family adventures and this box set will include a wealth of extras - all that was included on the original trilogy box set and a whole disc extra. The problem is that is has arrived so late. For years this has been on sale in America yet all we got was a 3 disc...
Published on 17 Oct 2005 by The Fault


‹ Previous | 1 2 350 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I came here in a time machine that you invented ...., 9 Dec 2002
I've been a fan of the Back to the Future films ever since the first one hit the cinema's way back in 1985. I actually wore out my VHS tape of the first film, and have essentially memorised every line of script. I did my revision for both A-levels and my degree with Back to the Future playing in the background. But enough about just how sad I am ...
The DVD release has been very long awaited - I'm not sure why it took so long to get it together. However, the results are nothing short of breathtaking.
If you've seen these films only on broadcast television on a small TV set on a rainy Saturday afternoon, then you're missing out - buy the DVD's, play them on a big screen, crank up the volume of your DTS receiver amplifier to 1.21 gigawatts per channel, and relive the cinema experience. It will have you glued to your seat.
To summarise, I can't recommend these films highly enough, and the DVD release especially so. There is a little bit of magic in these movies, rarely seen in anything made after 1990. So many other shows have used bits of the film it is staggering - even the character in Family Guy invented a time machine which featured a Flux Capacitor !
But the chances are, if you're reading this, your a fan too, and already have the set on DVD, and you probably bought the Australian region 2/4 version of it on e-bay a month ago....
If you're not yet a fan, buying the DVD's will convert you for sure.
The 'bonus' material is nice to have, but to be perfectly honest, it's just such a pleasure to have high quality picture and sound for the movies, that the bonus stuff really doesn't matter. If the discs had not had the bonus material, they would still be worth every penny of the ... price.
Buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, Frames are CORRECTED, DTS too, 1 Sep 2008
By 
Runil Motwani (Mumbai, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wont say much about the movies, everyone knows what they are about anyway. What I would like to say is -

The framing in this DVD version is CORRECT.
It has a DTS soundtrack.
Picture quality is the best ever seen.

Also, Amazon service is great!!! They shipped it on 26 Aug 2008 from the UK and I received it on the 31st in India. Great going Amazon.

Just wish the US site was this fast. They take a month to deliver!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most entertaining trilogy ever, 23 Feb 2004
Ive grown up watching these films on terrestrial t.v over numerous bank holidays or sunday afternoons and the trilogy is without doubt an absolute classic, My personal favourite thought has to be the second film. The general storyline of is complex and it may take a few viewings to truly understand and appreciate the concepts. Im currently at university and whenever anyone asks , "whats your favourite ever film?" these films instantly come into my head. All i can say is, for some reason if you havent seen these films you dont know what your missing !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely amazing, 17 Nov 2003
i first purchased this box set when it came out, and the price was 30. this was value for money at the time as it is the best trilogy of movies every made. the special features are high class and you even get the chance to find out that steven spielberg played a small part in the first movie, driving a truck! i recommend this to anyone, especially at this very cheap price, your guarenteed hours of fun, this trilogy is so good you will watch it over and over, the very best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest cinematic trilogies, in glorious HD, at a bargain price!, 26 July 2012
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back to the Future Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I won't review the films themselves, who hasn't seen them?!

I believe the RRP for this boxset is about 40, it gradually went down to about the 20 region where I was tempted; but suddenly last week is was on Amazon for a very brief time at 7.50(!), I assumed this must be a mistake but gave it a shot, fully expecting a cancellation email; imagine my astonishment when it was delivered to house earlier this week!

What an absolute bargain!

The quality of the films is remarkable; I recently watched the first film on DVD with my girlfriend and had forgotten just how impresive that transfer was, but theses new Blu Ray transfers are REALLY stunning.

With the exception of some of the effects (which are still pretty impressive) it is hard to believe you are watching films over twenty years old.

The set has some excellent extras, including an extremely thorough behind the scenes documentary featuring so much footage I have never seen.

The packaging is pretty good; quite low key, but of good quality and it won't take up too much room on the shelf.

I am so glad I bought this Blu Ray box set, because it has allowed me to fall in love with these films again as I once did as a child.

The box set appears to have gone back up to about 12.00 (?) so really not sure how I got such a bargain, but even at this price it is a remarkable bargain, and demonstrates to me what can really be done with a proper HD transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much great bonus content, and the films will always be classics, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Pedram Saleh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back to the Future Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
There's so much great bonus content on there. From what I can tell, it's basically the same as what's on the US 25th anniversary edition, but costs less, and works fine on my North American Blu Ray player.

The films will always be classics, and while they don't look as slick as recent productions, you watch them for the content and not the look. The bonus features are where this really shines though, and with recent interviews in 1080p, along with older footage from the DVDs, I got a good amount of viewing just out of the bonus features. Much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the perfect trilogy, 17 May 2007
this is probably one of the greatest sci-fi trilogies you can find all three films seem to blend together in to one big film which is both entertaining and inspirational.

the plot is very consistent with nothing really stopping for more than a couple of minuets.

and even the special effects seem to hold up after nearly 20 years

the stories are very entertaining part 1 of these is great in setting up the characters of Marty doc and biff as well as the large mention of time travel

the second film is probably the best with amazing special effects like the hover boards.

and although part 3 is a little slow on the plot it is still very interesting with some pretty big plot twists.

this box set comes with a 4th disc of special features also full of extra special features: film posters ect,ect,...

this is a great box set

and a great story to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Limited Collector's Edition tin review, 20 Oct 2010
By 
badblokebob (Exeter, England) - See all my reviews
You likely don't need to be told how wonderful the Back to the Future trilogy is (I know some people aren't so keen on the second and/or third, but personally, I love all three to bits), and it'll take more qualified eyes & ears than mine to really tell you about the Blu-ray (though to me it looks and sounds great, and other reviews have been very positive on this aspect). I also haven't had a chance to dig into the special features properly, but (as best I can tell) all the excellent content from the first DVD release is here, plus an extensive new documentary. Super.

So what's the point of me reviewing it? Well, this is why I'm posting this on the Limited Edition Collector's Tin and not the regular BD release. The DVD Description lists some of what's included but not all, so here's my attempt to be more thorough. Should you wish to discover all the goodies for yourself, stop reading now. If you'd like to know what you're getting for your extra cash, read on...

The tin itself is nice enough -- taller than a Blu-ray but not quite DVD size -- with a rather shiny front, though the rest of it is just a plain purple (a card slip has the blurb, etc.) Inside are all the goodies as listed:

A little OUTATIME number plate (complete with packaging that notes "This item is not a toy, for adult collector's only"!) It's both neat and, of course, entirely useless. The lenticular photo of Marty's family is even nicer: tilt it correctly and the characters fade out one by one. Naturally it's still something-and-nothing, but as lenticular cards go it's one of the most effective I've seen. There's also a glossy reproduction of the photo from Part 3 of Marty and Doc Brown by the clock face, which is disappointing low-res -- it looks like it's been captured from the film itself.

Next are four reprints of prop newspaper front pages, two alternate versions of the Hill Valley Telegraph from November 7, 1955, and two alternate versions of USA Today from October 22, 2015. What these allow you to see is how much -- or, in some cases, little -- effort went into creating the actual articles on the page: the headlines and pictures may vary, but the news stories are just copied-and-pasted from goodness-knows-where. I'm sure no one in the props department ever imagined fans would have a chance to read this 25 years later! The Sports Almanac, meanwhile, is labelled "extract" and contains 8 pages of baseball stats, presumably the pages that were actually produced as a prop for the film. Like most of the rest of this stuff, it's nice but you're not exactly going to read it.

There are two double-sided A2 posters. As per the picture, the painting of Marty and the "Back to the" & "Future" numberplate ones are back-to-back, and the original release and 25th anniversary re-release posters are back-to-back. The blueprint of the Delorean is also A2, with hand-scrawled text that is just about legible. There are also two sets of art cards, 11 in total, printed on nice heavy card. One set is of hoverboard designs, the other of Delorean art, including a labelled diagram of what all Doc Brown's additions actually are.

Finally, the Blu-rays themselves are in a digipack that includes a 4-page booklet which simply lists the special features. (Sadly the booklet has a few slight inaccuracies -- for example, it says Part 2 has a music video, which it doesn't, but fails to mention the theatrical trailer it does include. Nothing major, then, just an oddity.)

Whether or not this set is worth the extra money over the regular release is obviously down to the individual buyer. To some this will just be a load of pointless junk, to others it's a treasure-trove of memorabilia. I can't imagine much more that Universal could have come up with to include -- for those of us who like a little bit of extra 'stuff' with our DVD box sets, it's bang on the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This DeLorean Edition includes the collector's tin!!!, 17 Oct 2010
A few may have pre-ordered this DeLorean Edition AND the collector's tin, because they did'nt know that the DeLorean Edition includes the tin box - that's the reason why you have to pay more for the DeLorean Edition in UK than in France or Germany, where the digipak is included only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Trilogy, 26 July 2006
By 
DB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
The films themselves are all excellent and among my favourites by far. The special features too are numerous and more than enough to satisfy. If you've seen one of the films and like it, buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 350 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back to the Future Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Back to the Future Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Robert Zemeckis (Blu-ray - 2010)
13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews