Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Transfers I've Ever Seen To Blu Ray...And With Properly Great Extras Too...
*** A REVIEW OF THE 2010 BLU RAY REISSUE OF THE "BACK TO THE FUTURE" TRILOGY ***

There's little prepares you for the quality of the print on this Blu Ray reissue - it's absolutely gobsmacking. I've seen great restorations before ("Goldfinger", "North By Northwest", "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang", "The African Queen", "The Italian Job". "To Kill A Mockingbird" - see...
Published on 30 Dec. 2010 by Mark Barry

versus
47 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate box set.. until they release another to cash in
Once again UK viewers get a rough deal. There is nothing wrong with this box set - the films are all classic family adventures and this box set will include a wealth of extras - all that was included on the original trilogy box set and a whole disc extra. The problem is that is has arrived so late. For years this has been on sale in America yet all we got was a 3 disc...
Published on 17 Oct. 2005 by The Fault


‹ Previous | 1 2 375 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the perfect trilogy, 17 May 2007
this is probably one of the greatest sci-fi trilogies you can find all three films seem to blend together in to one big film which is both entertaining and inspirational.

the plot is very consistent with nothing really stopping for more than a couple of minuets.

and even the special effects seem to hold up after nearly 20 years

the stories are very entertaining part 1 of these is great in setting up the characters of Marty doc and biff as well as the large mention of time travel

the second film is probably the best with amazing special effects like the hover boards.

and although part 3 is a little slow on the plot it is still very interesting with some pretty big plot twists.

this box set comes with a 4th disc of special features also full of extra special features: film posters ect,ect,...

this is a great box set

and a great story to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely amazing, 17 Nov. 2003
i first purchased this box set when it came out, and the price was £30. this was value for money at the time as it is the best trilogy of movies every made. the special features are high class and you even get the chance to find out that steven spielberg played a small part in the first movie, driving a truck! i recommend this to anyone, especially at this very cheap price, your guarenteed hours of fun, this trilogy is so good you will watch it over and over, the very best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, Frames are CORRECTED, DTS too, 1 Sept. 2008
By 
Runil Motwani (Mumbai, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wont say much about the movies, everyone knows what they are about anyway. What I would like to say is -

The framing in this DVD version is CORRECT.
It has a DTS soundtrack.
Picture quality is the best ever seen.

Also, Amazon service is great!!! They shipped it on 26 Aug 2008 from the UK and I received it on the 31st in India. Great going Amazon.

Just wish the US site was this fast. They take a month to deliver!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest cinematic trilogies, in glorious HD, at a bargain price!, 26 July 2012
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back to the Future Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I won't review the films themselves, who hasn't seen them?!

I believe the RRP for this boxset is about £40, it gradually went down to about the £20 region where I was tempted; but suddenly last week is was on Amazon for a very brief time at £7.50(!), I assumed this must be a mistake but gave it a shot, fully expecting a cancellation email; imagine my astonishment when it was delivered to house earlier this week!

What an absolute bargain!

The quality of the films is remarkable; I recently watched the first film on DVD with my girlfriend and had forgotten just how impresive that transfer was, but theses new Blu Ray transfers are REALLY stunning.

With the exception of some of the effects (which are still pretty impressive) it is hard to believe you are watching films over twenty years old.

The set has some excellent extras, including an extremely thorough behind the scenes documentary featuring so much footage I have never seen.

The packaging is pretty good; quite low key, but of good quality and it won't take up too much room on the shelf.

I am so glad I bought this Blu Ray box set, because it has allowed me to fall in love with these films again as I once did as a child.

The box set appears to have gone back up to about £12.00 (?) so really not sure how I got such a bargain, but even at this price it is a remarkable bargain, and demonstrates to me what can really be done with a proper HD transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to The Future All Over Again, 10 Nov. 2005
By 
I can remember when Back To The Future (1985) first came out. It seems like an eternity ago but really its just 20 years ago. Then after what seemed an age came the other two films which finished the trilogy - Part 2 (1989) and Part 3 (1990). The films were well made, fast paced and great family entertainment. To appreciate these films you have to get into the spirit of them and play along with everything in the plot that seems so perfectly dovetailed together. These DVDs have been produced to a high standard that allows you to view the films in all their glory. If you have seen the many substandard television pan and scan versions over the years, you will love watching these widescreen presentations, with their clarity and vivid colours. You will find the three films on the first three DVDs - along with the extra features for each film on their DVD - and the bonus DVD features more Back To The Future stuff, including the Huey Lewis and The News 'The Power of Love' music video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frames Are Corrected!!, 26 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
This new Back To The Future Set is long overdue for the UK. The Bonus disc is great. Sure it's been out in the US for a while.
The BIGGEST inclusion is the correct widescreen 'film frame' for Back To The Future Part 2. This was corrected in the US when it was first release, after buyers noticed this. Sadly this was not the case in the UK until now!
If you compare the old release (3 disc set) with this new one the picture is cropped inwards whereby part of the picture was missing.
Obviously this was overlooked for some years until this new release.
There are quite a lot of reviews about this on other websites.
Nethertheless this is a fantastic DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in time for Blu-Ray, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
One of the greatest film sagas has never been re-released at a better time, despite the fact its had countless DVD incarnations before. What you're getting here is a brand new restoration of all three films, raw from a frame-by-frame 4K scan and cleaned up to look as wonderful as they could ever be, yet still retaining original features such as natural film grain. Blu-Ray is certainly the way to go, for even an upscaled DVD cannot match the sheer detail that has been revealed here in 1080p HD. This is the perfect example of a film restoration - Universal has done a wonderful job with other titles too, such as Psycho.

On a very brief note (technicalities are often boring), I skimmed through a couple of Forums regarding this release, and have been amazed to find many of the usual so called 'buffs' (ho-ho!) complaining about excessive use of DNR (Digitial Noise Reduction; to reduce grain). My one worded response to this begins with 'B', ends in 'S', and was formerly the family jewels. The films look the opposite of being plastic in any sense - they contain all the original film grain, unlike the Predator release. I also went to see Back To The Future for its theatrical re-release, and again, no DNR was visible.

For the ease of the reader, I won't lecture through each of the three films since they have not only been covered countless times, but I believe them to be that clever that the writer would only lose themselves in explaining many of the recurring motifs throughout. Aside from the sheer genius of continuity and script-writing, the 2010 Blu-Ray release contains a wealth of extras to be admired. You may like to know that these include both brand new featurettes and a selection of those from the first DVD release. As such, each of the three discs is packed with a wealth of goodies to suit any fan, and whats more you have the ability to connect to B.D Live and even play the films with the option of highlighting recommended features. Quality, but also straightforward stuff from Universal here. Loading times on a Playstation 3 were a bit longer than average, but nothing painful. As far as extra features go, I really couldn't have asked for more.

Again, I'll briefly skim through the contents of this wonderful 'Limited Edition Collectors Tin':

- You get the standard Back to the Future Trilogy in here of course. Fits nicely into the tin, but is housed in a card Digi-Pack... A bit of blow as card Digi-Packs notoriously wear very quickly with excessive use, so I've simply placed each disc in a little transparent wallet, taking up no extra room at all.

- 'OUTATIME' license plate. What a pity they couldn't make it bigger! You'd be fooled into thinking it be the real deal, but in reality its only a small product, though nice enough to place of a door in the house. Universal could have made it slightly bigger since, once sat in the tin, their is at least 2cm of extra space! Bahh

- 'Lenticular' card of the Photograph from the first and second film, contain Marty, his sister and his brother. Just like in the film, the characters can disappear from the photo, though in this instance its depending on how you move the card obviously. Excellent little curio!

- Three Newspaper strips from 1955 (two) and 2015 (one). Printed on standard A3 paper, Universal probably could have done a better job making these as they appear to look like a standard photocopy you could do from a library... In this sense, a bit disappointing, but its fun reading all the articles that were actually written just for those brief moments the Newspapers were in frame in the film. Of course, once you're done reading, they'll just be put away again.

- Blueprints of the DeLorean. Well, at least this is made of card, but the problem this time is that the images are almost fuzzy, because it appears they've been blown up with text only just about legible. Shame, but the diagram is only simple anyway.

- Photograph of Marty and Doc at the Hill Valley clock in 1885. This is the most disappointing product since the photograph has clearly just been blown up from, what could have only been, a low resolution shot of the film. Its out of focus and not sharp at all. It may look fine in a picture frame for the sake of another curio to dot around the house (since it look so-so from distance), but Universal have dropped the ball here.

- Sports Almanac. Difficult to judge seeing as the full size almanac could never have fitted in this tin, and whats more, how much information do you need in this booklet? Its role in the film is almost ambiguous since the characters literally flick to any page they like and we don't see the contents, so the product you get is an 8-page extract of, what was apparently, a 915-page booklet (should it exist in reality). Again, nice as another curio, but you're not going to read this. It is what it is, per-se.

- Two posters: One is an original film poster (of the first film), and one is just a painting of Marty with some snazzy shades. Both are large A2 prints and look fabulous when hung up.

- A variety of postcards/artcards from various attributes of the film, including Hover Board designs and the DeLorean. They are made of good quality card and would look rather nice lined up against each other. Too good for posting, mind!

From what I've seen, this Collectors Tin has already been discontinued and so we have an instant collectible on our hands. Granted, the 'collectibles of the collectable' (having a 'Doc' moment here) are so-so, but if you're an inquisitive male at best and find all this geeky stuff thrilling, then I've yet to find a popular product of similar treatment. This is something I will treasure for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Wow They Really Cleaned These Prints Up, Look Brand New", 28 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. Al Price (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back to the Future Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Perhaps one of the most popular movie trilogies ever made come to Bluray in style. There has been some doubts about the quality transfers of the films by some people. However let me eliminate those doubts and just say all 3 movies have never looked so beautiful.

Having grown up with all 3 films from the first time watching them on VHS then the 2002 DVD release, you won't be disappointed and through the whole experience of watching these movies back to back. The sheer beautiful quality of these movies on Bluray make it feel like they were only made yesterday.

Having compared Back To The Future Bluray to the DVD version you noticed quite a difference, the Bluray is definitely sharper, colours more vivid. While the colours are quite vivid with the DVD version. You will notice that there is definitely a more noticeable softness to the picture. Bluray really does make all 3 movies shine in the highest possible quality for these movies which are 20-25 years old.

Anyone who had bought the 2002 DVD Trilogy will be treated to the same extras on the Bluray, plus a whole load of new features designed specially for this version. Actually there is a couple of extra deleted scenes added to the DELETED SCENES SECTION on the first and second film.

There is certainly not a huge leap in special features, but lets face it the most important part is the quality of the picture and the sound. Back To The Future Trilogy on Bluray won't disappoint fans of Bluray or The Back To The Future films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Future Trilogy (Blu-ray) is Fantastic, 7 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Back to the Future Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I have just watched all three films one after the other, and the Blu-rays are just out standing. I already had the DVD versions, so I new how good the films were, but having heard great things about the new release on this new format, I decided to take the plunge, and get this new package.
I had heard that some people had problems playing the second, and third discs, so I decided to play the beginning of each of these discs first. Having found them to work fine in my Panasonic player, I decided to play the first disc to get the feel of the new format, and see just how good a conversion Universal had done. I must say I was hooked right from the very start. The picture is just amazing. Very sharp, and detailed, I was noticing things I had never seen before, right down to the words on the dog food can. As the film went on I was even more amazed at the clarity of every detail. Then came the sound which is just as good, Universal has gone with 5.1 DTS-HD, which gives a very full feeling of surround, you almost feel you are there with them.A lot of work must have gone into the conversion, as the original films were only Dolby Surround.
As the first ended, I just had to put on the next disc, and at the end of that, I had to see the third. Luckily I had the time to do this, as it takes about six hours to see all three in a row. I was not disappointed at all, each film has been given the same treatment. If I could have given the package six stars, I would have done so. For me this is the reason to buy Blu-rays, so if you have a Blu-ray player, get this new version of the Trilogy, put some time aside, sit back, and let the films take you "Back to the Future".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ready for the future, 25 May 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I'm so pleased the timeless trilogy of Marty and Doc' Brown was released on DVD, to keep forever. The sound quality is better than ever, the picture looks sharp too, an its a bonus to watch the great extra features available - including a rare piece of footage that shows the hoverboards from the second film where real, and used magnets to repel against the earth, thus giving lift - just see for yourself.

I'll probably the first reviewer to explain the plot.. as basic as I can (It may not set in the first time you watch it). Doctor Emmett Brown is a local scientist, see as a nut by many people in the neighbourhood, but his freind, the young Micheal J Fox (Marty) is amazed by his latest invention that actually works - a time travelling vehicle. It would be spoiling it to go into detail the highs and lows of their travelling, but across three solid films, its great entertainment.

While the first film takes just one adventure into the 1950's, in trying to get back to present day after many events from the old era, the second film takes another another angle... literally! For me, it was the cleverest film, just to see how the first film was combined with it, in that to the producers must have known their would have been a second film, thus shooting from lots and lots of angles from the first film. Like I said, its a doddle putting the plot into words for new comers, its just something you have to watch and see for yourselves. The third film sees a fresh new look as the two time travellers go back to the wild west times, 1885. Its great to see yet more adventure, and very clever filming again to shoot Micheal J Fox more than once in a scene, as he takes on 2 roles, due to the need for family likeness.

Favourite scene? The final film, and pretty much the final scene - so sad and well acted, but all isn't lost as Marty soon finds out..

I've seen the Delorean in real, and wasn't impressed, its actually a very flat, boring and tinny car with very fat wheels. The film however, makes it look like a wonder machine, and is very impressive when you see the detail in making it looking like a converted time machine. Score? 10/10 always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 375 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back to the Future Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Back to the Future Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Robert Zemeckis (Blu-ray - 2010)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews