Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars1,336
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£27.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2012
Please be aware that several product pages lead to this strain of reviews. I have seen reviews claiming that there set did not contain the original unaltered versions as they had read in reviews and as such were dissapointed. Multiple versions of the original trilogy lead to this string of reviews, the Blu Ray set released in 2011 does not contain the unaltered versions. The DVD trilogy release from 2004 does not contain them either it is only the remastered copies. If you are looking for a trilogy that contains the untampered originals then insure that the product you are buying was released in 2008, and that the picture on the front cover is one of Luke and Darth Vader with lightsabres clashed with a blue light coming from behind them. All other versions do not include the originals, that for any die hard fan are must owns! However there are plenty of reviews here on the content, I just wanted to clear up that issue.

TL;DR: If you want original films that are unaltered buy this product .http://www.amazon.co.uk/Star-Wars-Trilogy-Episodes-DVD/dp/B001FVKUA8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453324447&sr=8-1&keywords=star+wars+2008
4040 comments|1,075 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Another post to say that this is NOT the original film trilogy, they are the remastered versions (han shots after greedo etc). Currently there is no all-in-one version (not in the uk or europe) that includes all the original pre-remastered versions. To get those original films you need the seperate 'Limited Edition' versions that each contain 2 DVD's, 1 the remastered version and the other the actual original film release. I'll put the details below to aid those looking for the original films.

For Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition):

ASIN number: B000FMH8UI
manufacturer code(on base of spine): 3391901001

For Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back (Limited Edition):

ASIN number: B000FMH8US
manufacturer code(on base of spine): 3392001001

For Star Wars VI: Return of the Jedi (Limited Edition):

ASIN number: B000FMRYNE
manufacturer code(on base of spine): 3392101001

All three of these 2 disk set versions (that you can find on Amazon also) include the original pre-remastered (han shoots first etc) films as well as the remastered versions.

I hope that clears things up for fans like myself that were having a hard time working out where the actual original film versions were!
11 comment|98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
I've recently rewatched the original trilogy and picture and sound are as good as you're going to get. What wonderful films these are, they still deserve their legendary status in the Western hemisphere.

I've always been okay with the special editions of these movies but the BD versions have even more tinkering, trying to blend these films with the prequels. Nowhere is this more obvious than in Return of the Jedi, a great film but spoiled by these changes - Darth Vader yells no as he tosses the Emperor into space, presumably to hark back to the "nooooo" in Revenge of the Sith. Even more annoying is the ending of that film which has an incredibly poorly judged song which seems completely out of place and unnecessary scenes of planets seen in the prequels also celebrating the demise of the empire. The music doesn't even sync with the dancing of the little bears - moreover, Darth Vader's ghost is that of young Anakin seen in the second two prequels, whereas I much prefer the older Vader. After this scene I really started hating George Lucas and I think the anger he has caused editing these films even more is entirely justified.

If these changes are to get us to fork out for the prequel trilogy then extra reason to not give these changes any credit.

Still this is Star Wars and is an essential purchase to all nerds like me.

Four stars (minus one for the BD edits)
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
First and foremost, let me clear up the fact that this indeed isn't the original original. It's the CGI improved version. I had my doubts when I was buying it due to many negative reviews and statements about it but you can rest assured, it's a OK. You will notice the CGI "improvements" but I highly doubt it will ruin the experience for you.

As for the content itself, there were absolutely no problems with any of the DVDs whatsoever and me and my friend had a blast watching this cinematic gem that formed they way we perceived sci-fi as kids and today alike. Video and audio quality is top-notch and I highly recommend this to any of the Star Wars fans, whether you're doing a SW marathon before VII hits the cinemas or you're just completing your movie collection.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2004
I pretty much agree with Amazon's editorial review except for the uncritical praise lavished on The Empire Strikes Back. It's a good sequel but it's not without flaws. That said, it's worth pointing out that these three movies will feature even more enhancements and newly shot footage designed to ensure both trilogies fit together as one story (which was after all Lucas's original intention).
Lucasfilm won't say anything until the official press launch but to judge by some of the more informed comments being made around the net it does look as though the Obi-wan/Vader fight onboard the Death Star (from A New Hope) has been redone to bring it more into line with the pace and zip of the lightsabre battles of the prequels. The CGI Jabba The Hut from ANH has almost certainly been redone and many of the effects from all three films have either been replaced or cleaned up. Additionally, in The Empire Strikes Back, Ian McDiarmid as the Emperor may have been digitally added into the scene where Darth Vader communicates with the Emperor. But most controversially of all (at least for the fans) actor Hayden Christenson - who plays Anakin Skywalker (Luke's father and Darth Vader to-be) in the prequels - may also feature as the aged and horribly scarred Vader in the scene from Return of the Jedi where he is finally unmasked by Luke.
Now whether this and numerous other rumours (such as the one about the Han/Greedo scene having been properly restored) turn out to be true or false, well, we'll just have to wait and see. One thing I do know, this DVD release is NOT the 1997 Special Edition. No way. I know that 100%. I'm not saying the above changes are definitely going to be in there either but that's increasingly what it looks like. So if you're a fan brace yourself for some major surprises because George hasn't quite finished tinkering with his story just yet.
0Comment|167 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For people over 30 this boxset is as important as breathing and unlike some of the real hardcore fans I think most of the changes improve the films (bar the new Greedo, Jabba and Hayden bits). Its a pity that Lucas seems to be holding back on deleted scenes and behind the scenes footage - but I guess that'll turn up with the Blueray 3D versions. Anyone younger than twenty will probably wonder what all the fuss was about, my son certainly does. For some bizarre reason he prefers to watch Phantom Menace, just goes to show...what I don't know.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2004
I've been reading, with growing amusement, the furious reviews of others who are getting very hot on under the collar because various bits have been changed and added and the classic trilogy has been tinkered with. I first saw Star Wars in 1977 when I was five and then spent the rest of my childhood pretending to be Luke Skywalker. Now I watch the films with my son (who want to be Darth Vader)and though they have changed, the magic is still there, It really doesn't matter how many stormtroopers where there in the original and how many were pasted in at a later date. These are timeless pieces of swashbuckling adventure, like the Adventures of Robin Hood or the Crimson Pirate before them. I think the problem with Star wars is that the phenomonal success has pushed the films to a level of importance which they were never intended to reach. To truly enjoy these films and to realise there wonder, I look at my sons face as Darth Vader questions the rebel by squeezing his neck or when the century ships sweep onto the falcon and the music gives you gooosebumps.
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2007
Well it's taken long enough but for all of those waiting to see the version of the Star Wars trilogy that they remember from the cinema, before Mr. Lucas decided to make an extra buck or two by 'improving' them, the wait is over. Contrary to the statement made by another reviewer these are the original theatrical releases (two of the three scenes he says are now 'missing' were cut before Star Wars was ever released and although stills do exist of those scenes they were never part of the film as seen at cinemas. The third he mentions is still there, though he is remembering it incorrectly.) Don't expect 5.1 Dolby, cleaned negatives or anything other than the films as they were thirty years ago (and yes, it looks like 30 year old film stock), and that's exactly as it should be. If you want the cleaned, enhanced, 'special' editions they are here as well but for me they just serve as a reminder of why George should have left the originals alone.
33 comments|135 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2009
I picked this up because I thought that Lucas was finally allowing people to choose whether they wanted to watch the original versions of these movies or the so-called enhanced versions. From the outer box it would seem so. However, this box contains a nasty and mean spirited surprise.
Yes- the new versions of the film are in Dolby Digital sound, anamorphically enhanced picture and THX mastering. However,the original versions are in a matted 4:3 format (ie not enhanced for a widescreen tv)and are in basic (and I do mean basic) stereo soundtrack. It looks like somebody filmed it in the cinema on a camcorder.
This is a bit like a photography book which has one half printed on high quality colour paper stock and the other half printed on yellowing newsprint.
There is absolutely no reason that the original versions cannot be displyed with the same level of picture and sound as the new versions and even if Lucas cannot be bothered bringing the sound up to 5.1 there is absolutely no excuse for not making the dvds anamorphic for widescreen tvs.
The only conclusion is that Lucas does not trust the public to make their own mind up. He wants to ensure that people think 'Gee they have really improved these clunky old movies' rather than 'Why did they ruin the simplicity of these films by jamming them up with lots of unnecessary CGI effects'. The way he is doing this is by making the discs of the old stuff as bad as possible.
Lucas deserves a rasperry for this. I am sure I will enjoy watching the new versions despite myself but this is a bad way to treat your fans and customers.
2525 comments|208 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2004
Possibly the most eagerly awaiting DVDs, The Star Wars Saga's original trilogy is a ride well worth buying. Much has been said of the way George Lucas has tinkered with the films during the last few years, the work done in the late 90's to bring out the Special Editions has been taken further with this set of DVDs. Slight modifications include a rework of the Han Solo/Jabba the Hutt scene in A New Hope, Hayden Christiensen replacing Sebastian Shaw in the ghost scene at the end of Return Of The Jedi and dialogue changes in the conversation between Luke and Leia when Leia talks about remembering her mother, just to help continuity with events of Episode III - Revenge Of The Sith. Naboo also now gets seen in the end of film celebrations.
There's always going to be an argue
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse