Customer Reviews


1,867 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,222)
4 star:
 (137)
3 star:
 (66)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (407)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


584 of 621 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Picture (almost) Perfect
I'm going to go out on a limb and assume that everyone reading this already knows a good deal about the Lord of the Rings trilogy, so I won't discuss the quality of the movies in detail. Needless to say that there really is no competition between the theatrical and extended editions so far as the experience is concerned. The Extended Editions feel much more whole and...
Published on 28 Jun 2011 by Carl Spencer

versus
1,865 of 2,223 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rampant greed
This is a joke right? People who buy Blu Ray are not yet mainstream. We are movie fans who want to see the movie in its best possible light. By the same token that means we are the same people who will buy extended or collectors editions of movies, and LotR is one movie series where the extended version makes a tremendous difference. Every Blu Ray owener who wants this...
Published on 12 Jun 2009 by Pallas


‹ Previous | 1 2187 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

584 of 621 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Picture (almost) Perfect, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Carl Spencer "Carl" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy (Extended Edition) [Blu-ray] [2011] [2001] (Blu-ray)
I'm going to go out on a limb and assume that everyone reading this already knows a good deal about the Lord of the Rings trilogy, so I won't discuss the quality of the movies in detail. Needless to say that there really is no competition between the theatrical and extended editions so far as the experience is concerned. The Extended Editions feel much more whole and complete and generally far more satisfying than the abridged theatrical version. Equal love and attention is put into the special features, which are immensely detailed and entertaining.

The main topic of debate over this release has been the quality of the video, the use of 2 discs per film, and the use of DVDs for special features as opposed to blu-ray discs.

VIDEO & AUDIO:

Fellowship - The discontent with the theatrical blu-ray for Fellowship is no secret, leading to the new transfer for this boxset. There have been videos showing the high green levels in the transfer, which has led many to write off buying this release. The bad news is that certain scenes do indeed look a little too green - weathertop and subsequent scene when Arwen arrives; Mines of Moria and a few others. There is also a higher level of orange than I remember in other scenes (i.e. Rivendell). The good news is that these are brief little bumps in the road for an otherwise brilliant video. The film finally looks high-definition with beautiful clarity and detail but without looking over digitised. It looks natural and impressive.

Two Towers & Return of the King - There is no major improvement in these films but one thing I did feel when watching the theatrical blu-rays was that the picture, though impressive, was flat somehow... although that may be my imagination. If it wasn't my imagination, then the issue has been addressed as the video seems to have more depth and warmth.

Audio - The unquestionable champion of this set is the audio quality. I had enormous expectations for Howard Shore's soundtrack, which has left me in tears on numerous occasions, and was not left disappointed (or dry eyed). The audio is incredibly detailed and dynamic. You can literally hear the brush of the leaves and trickle of water, along with the perfect soundtrack and crystal clear dialogue. Multi-layered sound effects are used appropriately and never overstated - they will highly reward any good surround system. Every aspect of the audio track is a great success, especially the dialogue, which I had always found difficult to understand in particular scenes but could understand perfectly here. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute spent with each of these terrific soundtracks.

2 DISCS PER FILM:

This issue never really bothered me, although I've always disliked the way in which the split was handled. It's not too bad for Fellowship, with disc 1 ending on the founding of the Fellowship of the Ring - a perfect mid-point. However, both Two Towers and Return of the King cut-offs are sudden and inappropriate, killing the mood and tension slightly. Unfortunately, this hasn't been fixed for this release, which is a shame but not lethal.

SPECIAL FEATURES DVDS:

Again, this is not something which really bothers me. Whilst it would be nice to have a complete set of blu-ray discs and enjoy the special features in high-definition, there is nothing which really suffers from being on a DVD. Considering the time and money that would have to be put into the transfers, I think it is best that they have been left on DVDs.

WHY FOUR STARS??:

Considering I have had nothing but praise for this set, you might wonder why I have only given it four stars. The reason is simple - the US release of this boxset was virtually identical, except that it also included digital copies of the films whereas ours does not. However, both sets are a similar price, or ours is a good £15-20 more expensive if you compare Amazon's prices. While this may have been acceptable before digital copies really came over to the UK, it is now commonplace for the more premium Blu-Ray releases to include digital copies of the film and, for the price tag, we should have been given the same treatment as our American counterparts.

CONCLUSION:

General opinion is that this boxset is still holding back a little and the full deal will be released in the next couple of years to support the release of The Hobbit movies. I obviously cannot predict whether or not that will happen but feel that, for now at least, this boxset is the best we are going to get and it is certainly 100% better than the theatrical blu-ray set. If you loved the extended editions, or haven't had the chance to see them yet, then this set shows them in all their audio-visual glory and should not be dismissed as a half-effort (lack of digital copies aside).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


256 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: check Part 2 of Return of the King on receipt, 22 Aug 2007
By 
Simon Dismore (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As soon as you receive your extended-edition box set from Amazon, I suggest you check that the second disc of Return of the King plays correctly. Mine is labelled "Part 2" but actually contains the German version of the Appendices Part 6 disc. I imagine someone messed up the duplication as others have reported this problem but so far not on Amazon.co.uk.

I hope this advice helps prevent the disbelief and disappointment that I have just experienced.

POSTSCRIPT: Both Amazon and the UK distributors responded quickly and courteously to solve this for me, so no complaints there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


287 of 308 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absoluelty incredible, and stunning value., 8 Jan 2005
By 
Amazon Customer "PEF" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I bought the original two disc version of The Fellowship of the Ring and was both miffed when the extended version came out, and disappointed at the paltry extras. I resolved to wait until this version, the complete extended version, came out before buying any more. So I've been waiting nearly two years but, boy, was it worth the wait.
There's not much I can add about the films; the extended versions are incredible, SO much better than the original versions, and stunning on a good TV/surround system. The films are so moving that I've found myself moved to tears at times by the sheer power and beauty of them, and I'm not usually prone to gushing over DVD's.
However I wanted to add that the two discs of extras with each film are equally stunning. They manage to be different for each film, and I've watched, transfixed as they take you through the incredible scale of the productions and the sheer love and craftsmanship that went into making these films.
Really, forty-five quid for these 12 DVD's represents incredible (yes I know I've used that word about 5 times) value, you really will want to watch all of them. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colour looking fine...., 28 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy (Extended Edition) [Blu-ray] [2011] [2001] (Blu-ray)
Having been alarmed by a few claims that the Fellowship of the Ring was looking a bit green-tinged I watched the whole thing as soon as the pack arrived. Honestly can't see what all the fuss is about - this film looks even more gorgeous than it did on the the extended DVDs (I resisted the temptation to buy the theatrical blu-rays). I was fearing a sickly green hue over everything (including the snow !) but the whole thing looks fantastic to me.

A fitting - and hopefully definitive - release for a true cinematic classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Every Penny, 2 July 2008
This Lord of The Rings Extended Edition Trilogy DVD set is the litmus test for which all other future DVD sets should be compared. As well as the longer versions of each film, there are literally dozens of hours of extras, from historical accounts of Tolkien's life, to production design, to story drafts, actor interviews, special effects, art design, you name it, it's here. This set is as epic as the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only fools would ignore this Blu-ray stunner, 4 July 2011
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy (Extended Edition) [Blu-ray] [2011] [2001] (Blu-ray)
Forget the whining and the moaning. Forget it all.

Yes, we could have done with JUST the films on Blu-ray and not all the same extras, but we have them and that's that.
Yes some of the green-blue colour change/darkening in "Fellowship" seems overdone in in certain scenes or details, but most of the time these changes are in fact a vast improvement in picture quality and general aesthetics.

And quite frankly the most important thing is simply this...do the Blu-rays offer up a stunning looking, major upgrade from DVD, transfer?
And the answer is a huge and mighty OH YES!

All the films look truly stunning in the sheer amount of extra detail they offer up (backgrounds now pop with stunning clarity and pin sharp definition of even the smallest details) and often some of the depth is startling too, especially in many of the Gollum scenes.
Just take a look at the Rivendell scenes in "Fellowship", the rock/mountain/Gollum scenes in "The Two Towers" and the massive battle scenes and epic vistas in "Two Towers" and "King" and be amazed at the gorgeous detail, depth and clarity that is now revealed.

Play these (and many, many, many more) sequences next to their now flat, grey, blurred DVD counterparts and you will see that buying this Blu-ray set is as essential to any fan of the movies as breathing itself.
And all that's not even taking into account the mighty, thundering, crystal clear HD audio.

Utterly essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the greatest love stories ever told, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DVD Boxed Set Jan-2013

The reviews seem to have becomes jumbled between DVD's and Blu_Rays.

This presentation of the standard "seen in the cinema" LOTR is most enjoyable. You can spend twice the price and see a bit more for the "directors cut". If you have the money then I guess that's a good investment.

This "cinema" release is visually excellent, sounds great and remains totally enjoyable. It's not the book. It's not the epic. It's still wonderful :) Hope you buy a copy - any copy - and enjoy it :) CW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest DVD Box Set Ever, 1 April 2010
By 
MLA (Leyton, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Lord of the Rings needs no hype, it is the most incredible set of films so far devised. The story that launched the Epic Fantasy genre tracking the efforts of a small band of mostly really quite small heroes striving to rid their world of a dreadful evil is well enough known to all. It is a tremendous feat of cinema to have been able to put this huge story together over the 3 films and the extended version is the one that everyone needs to see.

For theatrical release LotR was ground breakingly long. For years we have been told that we do not have the patience to watch films that go beyond 120 minutes. Fortunately Peter Jackson ignored that mantra and went for long and epic. The extended versions are simply better than the theatrical release because they add in so many scenes that make the overall arc fit together much more effectively. Of most benefits are all the characters other than Sam and Frodo. What made LotR such a great story originally was that it encompassed a range of different characters and did not just limit itself to the current vogue of one superhero and a supporting cast. The additions for instance make characters like Eowyn and Faramir much more understandable, they provide an ending for Saruman, and the excitement of the battle scenes is significantly deepened.

With any film of this scope there are some quibbles. The overly long multiple endings that featured in the theatrical release are still too much. The exclusion of some parts of the original narrative still occurs - notably the ending being very different to the book. Personally, I very much missed the Barrow Wight and not for any plotline reasons but for the context of setting the environment. Jackson is a New Zealander so how much he knows of pre-Roman Britain is difficult to tell but the loss of that encounter is a loss to the location Tokien designed the myth to be a part of. However, some directing decisions are very good such as cutting Tom Bombadil who is a remarkably boring character in the book. It would have been nice though to have shown more respect to the Dwarfs and less to the Elfs. Dwarf culture is only positively reinforced once at the sheer size of Moria and they are the butt of most of the jokes while the Elfs are a perfection that not even Tolkien's overly virtued creation reached.

The casting is brilliant. In particular Viggo Mortensen as Aragorn imbues the character with the perfect balance of rugged manliness and a stoic acceptance of his role in life. Ian McKellan as Gandalf would be a perfect grandfather. Christoper Lee's Saruman is most impressive for his own personal affection which shines through in the extras. Dominic Monaghan isn't great as Merry unlike the rest of the Hobbits who are all pitch perfect despite Billy Boyd's Scottish accent (a setting problem given the Englishness of the Shire, the Celtic speech of the Elfs, and the overlty Norse-German Rohirrim) which stands him apart from the rest of the cast. Hugo Weaving appears to only have one emotion and having displayed it in The Matrix it was hard to take him seriously as Elrond but that's only a small character anyway. Cate Blanchett as Galadriel is utterly resplendent and is the most impressive visual presence the film offers. Liv Tyler's Arwen was a distraction and nice as she may be I can't believe anyone would have chosen her weak character over the magnificent Eowyn played by Miranda Otto.

For all that this is the most impressive set of films that has been composed, the greatness of this box set is in the extras. There has never been anything like this on dvd - the usual cast, director, and executives talking heads appear but the 6 discs of extras are a gripping story in themselves. Getting to know Viggo Mortensen's relationship with the stunt team is great, hearing Peter Jackson talk about the editing process is amusing but the technical work that went into this film is presented magnificently.

Some of the credit for the greatness of LotR is due to the technical bods who worked for years to make it happen. The Weta Workshop people who made all those weapons, prosthetics, costumes etc did as good a job as any film has achieved so far. Their story is great and the joy that springs from recreating the equipment of a bygone era is evident. That they were able to generate different cultures visually is presumably not lost on most viewers but it is still terrific to see how it happened. The set designs and miniatures should have been preserved and it was a little disheartening to see buildings being demolished and pieces of equipment being destroyed - a LotR museum should have had them. The contribution of artist Alan Lee was impressive. I happened to have some reproduced artwork of his as a child and the scenes created in the film are close to exact replicas.

The Weta Digital story is amusing - their being rushed to create effects that most films would not dream of looks good fun from the outside though I imagine the discussions with Producer Barry Osborne were very difficult. The Digital effects are generally awesome and the Massive programme they devissed is a stroke of genious. Some effects are frankly a little ropey but having seen cinema audiences cheer the clearly digitised Legolas swinging off an elephant the fact that not every effect was melded with the live action probably doesn't matter for a general audience.

Musically this is stunning. Music and sound are crucial to any action film and the composition for LotR is in my opinion the greatest orchestral suite since Gustav Holst's The Planets and possibly beyond that. The characters singing in the films works beautifully and makes a lot of sense in building the right links with an era of heroism. The beautiful tone of Cate Blanchett in narrating the opening sets such a high standard of sound that it will be impressive when next that standard is reached.

Overall it is a big package and takes a long time to get through it all but every bit of it is worth the time taken on the journey. Lord of the Rings is the greatest film set and with the extras this is a dvd box set standard that may represent the pinnacle of what the format ever achieves as distribution transitions on to blueray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A set for those who love LotR, blu-ray and good value, 30 Jun 2011
As probably many of you have seen, there appears to be an entire faction of people who are obsessed with discrediting this item because it is not the extended editions of the films. People have said that a blu-ray version of the theatrical editions is pointless, that the kind of people who buy blu-ray will be the kind of people who will want the extended editions, and all sorts of other comments. While this may be true for some people, or even the majority of people, I am still happy this product exists.

Why?

Because I am the kind of person who loves movies, and who loves blu-ray. The quality upgrade is just beautiful and I happen to be a sucker for it. People who love blu-ray do not always have to be die-hard Lord of the Rings fans. I myself am a Lord of the Rings fan, and I adore the books and the characters and the films; the films I saw when they first came out, the films I saw in the cinema. I recently re-watched all three theatrical editions in a rather epic all-nighter at my university's student cinema, and I can honestly say that the three films, in one go like that, were pretty much as close as it is possible to get to perfection. So why would I want to ruin my experience by adding in deleted scenes and, the worst thing for me, having to get up half-way through to change the disc? I know it only seems like a small thing, but it rather shatters the fourth wall, doesn't it? Perhaps many of the people who are complaining about this item are currently having their dreams shattered by the revelation that the extended edition blu-ray will also suffer from multiple-disc-disorder as, even though the increased capacity of the blu-ray discs should have been enough to hold one film, they've split the films again to accomodate commentaries. I personally don't want my viewing experience ruined by being rather forcibly reminded half-way through a movie that I'm in my living room, rather than Middle Earth, and so it's natural that I prefer the theatrical originals over their extended editions.

I currently own the theatrical trilogy on VHS (kickin' it old school!) and wanted to upgrade, ideally to blu-ray. This set is really good value and above all has each film on one disc only and I for one am very glad that they're releasing both theatrical and extended blu-ray boxsets. So if you're the kind of person who loved the films you saw in the cinema, and love the quality of blu-ray, but don't necessarily feel the need to watch every event in the books, buy this and don't let the rating bother you. If you're the kind of person who loves the extended editions, buy the blu-ray of that and stop complaining. Unless you really do think the theatrical editions are a waste of time, in which case you'll be contacting the Academy to tell them they should take back the 4 Oscars they gave to Fellowship of the Ring and the further 11 they dished out to Return of the King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Trilogy in Blu-ray, what more do you want, 3 Mar 2012
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first thing to note is the huge wave of negative reviews against this product which in my view is COMPLETELY unjustified. In the Product information it Clearly states that this box set is the Theatrical version of the films (so what you saw at the cinema) and not the extended edition... so there should be no reason why people should then complain about this product knowing exactly what it is at point of sale. This is the 6 disk box set with 3 blu-ray disks having the movies on them, The other 3 disks are special features and behind the scenes disks which are in DVD format not blu-ray.

At this point i will say very simply that the quality of the movies are second to none, glorious 1080p and on a big screen you WILL be blown away. Some people have said there is a green shade on the films or it's grainy in parts or the audio isn't consistent, well honestly i don't know what they are talking about as everything I've seen and heard is spot on. ALL Three films are perfect so don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

The thing i do have to say about blu-ray is because it's better than DVD you are constantly trying to find those parts that look stunning compared to their DVD counterpart i.e. the battle scene in helms deep for example. However because everything is stunning and spot on you don't find any parts that are better than others...EVERYTHING LOOKS AND SOUNDS FANTASTIC!!!

The box-set comes as pictured in the cardboard outer sleeve which is pretty standard and nothing special although it does keep the three cases inside from getting damaged.

PROS: VIRTUALLY EVERYTHING, you can't complain about the price or the quality, Audio and Cinematic are as good as they get.

CONS: The movies are in Blu-ray which is the most important part yet the three special features disks are standard DVDs (at least the movies are blu-ray)

VERDICT: For any Lord of the Rings fan this is a must, YES there is an extended version but that is well over three times the price of this box set and the quality of movies are no different only the extra scene here or there, don't forget that the extended box set features two disks per movie so you have to switch disks half way through (which to me is actually a big deal) where as with this box-set each movie is on 1 disk.

So unless you specifically want the extended edition i would HIGHLY RECOMMEND you buy this box-set as you won't regret it, on a side note it came well packaged and delivery was quick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2187 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews