Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noooooooo tweaking on this Blu-ray!
If ever there was a must have Blu-ray box set this is it. With the exception of Star Wars , this box set is quite possibly the most sort after Blu-rays out there and I wasted absolutely no time at all when this dropped through my letter box and it was in my Blu-ray player in under a minute!
Can never decide which is my favourite Spielberg movie , Raiders or Jaws ,...
Published 18 months ago by Julian

versus
14 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Quad" erat demonstrandum
Oh, if I could only take a band-saw to the fingers of anyone and everyone who thinks there's such a world as "quadrilogy" so that they'd never type again.

Trilogy, the English word referring to a set of three works of art, is derived from the GREEK, not Latin. A set of four, then, also derives from Greek, tetra, making that word TETRALOGY.

It's...
Published 22 months ago by Avie L. Hern


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noooooooo tweaking on this Blu-ray!, 11 Oct 2012
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If ever there was a must have Blu-ray box set this is it. With the exception of Star Wars , this box set is quite possibly the most sort after Blu-rays out there and I wasted absolutely no time at all when this dropped through my letter box and it was in my Blu-ray player in under a minute!
Can never decide which is my favourite Spielberg movie , Raiders or Jaws , but just glad that I now finally own them both on Blu-ray.

Picture transfer is once again just breathtaking. Crisp , clear although the first thing that I noticed on Raiders was that the whole film seemed to have what can only be described as a "gold filter" over the camera lens , which has a noticeable effect with the colour compared to the VHS and DVD releases.
This is by no means a bad thing , but I have read numerous (although somewhat exaggerated) complaints about it , but for me , it just makes the film feel more like the old action serials that it intended to be like , and the colours warm and more pleasing to the eye...For me anyway.
Only have the one minor gripe about the transfer which is , ever since the introduction of Hi-Def images , particularly on older films , they do tend to show up flaws in camera work. Notably in Raiders , the scene where the tarantula runs across Alfred Molina's chest appears to be completely out of focus , and the scene where Indy is hiding behind some wooden crates before he steals the undersized uniform is really quite grainy (or speckling effect) , but these are the only flaws I've noticed with the first three films and if you blinked , you'd miss them , so will quite happily let it go.
Truth be told , my real apprehension of this transfer was with Mr Lucas's itchy fingers attached to the films.
Have to say , I was a little nervous about buying this box set before reading any reviews about it , but his involvement in the restoration is not apparent.
Absolutely "Nooooooo" tweaking here , apart from the deleted reflection on the glass from Indy's encounter with the cobra that was done a few years ago , which I think is universally agreed is a good use of CGI tinkering and can't possibly believe anyone , not even a hardline purist would complain about it.

The sound is presented in 5.1 DTS master audio and sounds fantastic. John Williams , with yet another iconic score just sounds staggering and the gunfight in Marion's bar sounds like Indy's firing a cannon with every gunshot.
The almost cartoon like "THWACK" with ever punch , which was always purposely exaggerated , sounds even more so with the new sound and is definitely more satisfying to hear.
Although I do find a little too much use of the subwoofer with this transfer which seems to be used on everything , which is more unusual rather than a complaint , but hey! Thats the neighbours problem !

The extras are excellent and most die hard fans would have already seen the majority of the 7 hours worth , most of which have been transferred straight from the VHS and DVD releases , which again is not a bad thing as I like to have them all in one place rather than having to keep older formats just for a particular feature.
The only new addition to the features that I've noticed is the "On set with Raiders of the Lost Ark" documentary with some rarely seen gag reels , deleted and alternative scenes which was an absolute joy to watch , and even though I consider myself a die hard fan of these films , I must have missed these over the years as I'd never seen them before.

I could waffle on about the other movies but will just say , ALL of them are beautifully transferred , and Temple of Doom is fully uncut for the first time on UK shores with a minute or so of extra gore and violence... And swinging through trees with monkeys aside , I like all the films.

Not quite as good a transfer as Jaws or the Alien Anthology box set , which has set the bar very high indeed for quality in older movies on Blu-ray , but I really am talking about minuscule differences here and its very difficult to select the best quality out of the three.
Its a shame that Paramount hadn't stuck to their guns as they had announced that all their films released on Blu-ray would be in 7.1 sound , and to be fair , every film from them that I've bought has been... this being the only exception.
Still , in my humble view its perfectly fine and definitely deserves a very worthy 5 star rating for an outstanding transfer to Blu-ray , and think you'll be very impressed with this box set nonetheless , and for me... DEFINITELY , A MUST BUY !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful transition to Blu Ray, 6 Sep 2013
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Why is this box set so expensive when trilogies, quadrilogies and antholgies of other film franchises are so much cheaper?
I think the answer to that is that the films are still so popular and watchable time and time again.

Indy Has become such a heroic figure over the years. Whilst the character of an adventurer was nothing new, the idea of a nerdy professor turning into a dashing gun-totting whip-cracking hero was totally different. Harrison Ford played the part perfectly and deserves a lot of credit for bringing the character to life.

I don't think many would argue that the original film was the best, but there are a lot of arguments over the next few films. I didn't particularly rate the Crystal Skull, but at the same time it was a fix that the Indy fans needed, myself included.

I took the plunge and paid out for the Blu-Ray versions and I am so glad I did. I have many films on DVD and I just know that they would be equally good/bad if they were on BR, but this set is so much better because of the higher resolution. There are many films that have had such a wow factor when they came out on BR and this is one of them. If you were to advertise the advantages of BR this film set would be in the top set. It is visually stunning, vibrant, bursting from the screen. Clarity of the characters faces and their expressions add life to the films.

This really is a showcase set. If you are a fan of Indy and are contemplating DVD or BR, go BR you will be so much happier that you did.

I don't comment on audio as I only have TV speakers and whilst the sound was clear and good, I am not in a position to say how much better it is than DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 11 Aug 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Always been a great fan of the Indiana Jones franchise. Digitally remastered in visual and sound and in Blu-ray format, these classical films have never looked better, in my opinion anyway. Delivered in a great amount of time and the discs are in good quality when they arrived. Would greatly recommend this Blu-Ray collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth the wait., 16 Oct 2012
By 
R. G. Hancox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'm not going to review the films - we have all seen them and love them. The blu ray transfer - especially on the much older first 3 films - is fantastic. Sharp, crisp, the colours are brilliant. The sound is also excellent, great surround sound, a very well done transfer. If i had one critisism, it would be about the packaging.Another bonus is Temple of Doom has been reclassified with a 12 certificate and is uncut.It now features the complete uncensored sacrificial scene and Shortround getting tortured as well as several other bits that were previously edited. It comes in a fairly sturdy box, but wrapped around this box, seemed to be a poorly glued card, which i have just found out is one of those pointless things that informs what the contents are,and isnt actually part of the box, so can be removed. Also, the cardbox file insert,which contains the discs isn't very sturdy - in fact,after taking it out for the first time,there is now a crease down the spine. Other than this, it is a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Temple of Doom Uncut, 8 Sep 2012
By 
P. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
***Blu Ray Release***

Specs for this product on another website state that, for the first time ever in the UK, the blu ray will feature the UNCUT version of INDIANA JONES AND THE TEMPLE OF DOOM. Having seen the uncut version on Region One DVD from the states, this is great news and will save me having to track down the US version of this release instead. Some of the cuts for gore and violence inflicted upon the film on it's initial release in the UK - at the time in order for it to pass as a PG certificate - were rather jarring and it will be great to have this on Blu Ray as Spielberg and Co. originally intended it to be seen!

The final installment aside, which was a disappointment, this set features some of the greatest and most enjoyable family adventures films in the history of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Temple of Doom is fully uncut!!!, 12 Oct 2012
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I think everybody already needs to know everything there is is about these fantastic films, so I won't bother reviewing the movies themselves.
Firstly, yes, for the first time ever in the UK, Temple of Doom has been reclassified with a 12 certificate and is released fully uncut. The movie now features the complete uncensored sacrificial and Shortround getting tortured scenes as well as several other bits that were previously edited. The uncut version has been available worldwide since the film's initial release except for, you guessed it, in the UK where bits were edited in order for it to secure a PG rating, but thankfully no longer.
Picture and sound are amazing. I have worn these films out on VHS and DVD with the amount of times I have seen them, but the Bluray experience was like watching them for the first time. The colours are vivid, and the picture so clear that there is detail I have never seen before. The only downside is that some of the matt painting and effects shots now look very obvious, but this is how the films were originally made, and thankfully they have not added any out of place CG to hide the fact like Lucas has with the original Star Wars Trilogy. Crystal Skull was obviously going to look the best, but in all honesty the original trilogy looks like it was made yesterday, and can compete with any modern day digital CGI fest.
The set comes on five discs all housed in a nice compact and rigid cardboard slip case, that opens out to display what looks like some new beautifully commissioned artwork and photo stills for each movie. It's a pity the same design choice wasn't applied to the discs, which are oddly just plain white with the film's title on them, but this is a minor detail. As well as the four movies, there is a fifth disc which contains over 7 hours of bonus documentaries and such, so there is plenty to keep you entertained here.
There is a more expensive set also available which contains various collectable prop replicas, but I cannot comment on whether it is worth the extra money as this is the only one I have seen. At the end of the day, if you just want a definitive, no frills collection of the Indy films, then this is it, and definitely worth the upgrade from DVD. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
So, here we go again. Barely four years after the second DVD box set reissue, Indiana Jones gets his umpteenth releases - this time on shiny Blu Ray. And you know what these films are like. So, what don't you know?

The films have never ever looked so good. Even with the cinema releases in 1981,1984, and 1989, the original cinematic presentations have never been this precise, this sharp, and this rich. The colours and images are sharp, remastered, and strong. "Temple of Doom" for example, has never felt quite so brutal. Or, for that matter, the effects have never looked quite so brutally of their time. You can see, every few minutes, the detail of the minature planes, the post composited matte paintings, the back projections, the bizarre shading and colour schemes of multiple layers of effects. But that is part of the charm : if it was left to Lucas, for example, they'd all be CGI'd with the Thugees shooting first.

Now, in the strict chronology of the plot, you should watch "Temple Of Doom" first. The version on the UK BluRay is also the one that hasn't been seen since the theatrical cut in 1984 : complete with beating hearts ripped from the flesh of human sacrifices and (by Indy standards) some fairly graphic rough and tumble. With "Doom" first, this dark film, in which our hero starts out a thinly sketched cad by numbers who gallivants around the world graverobbing for cash. After his minor case of drinking possessed human sacrifice blood, almost setting his whiny, annoying girlfriend on fire, and liberating a cave of child slaves, it's as if Indy had a life changing road to Damascus revelation and found himself a conscience. On the other hand, "Doom" is a dark hearted semi-horror, chock full of human sacrifice ripped out hearts, bugs, child slaves, and brainwashed demonic posession. (Lucas was getting divorced, so this is his divorce movie). If this were the first film, everyone would regard "Raiders" as the same as "Empire".

"Raiders", the first made but second chronologically (making "Doom" one of the first cinematic prequels of all time), is a stone cold, 100% classic, made of nothing but endlessly quotable lines ("Bad Dates", "Now, fraulein, what shall we talk about?", "Blow it back to God"), and one of the greatest films ever made ; bold, brash, utter po-faced, ridiculous, utterly manly and a cross between the long lost adventure serials and a supernatural James Bond movie. It also looks glorious. Fresh and sharp, with detail popping off the screen.

"Last Crusade" is another technical achievement : although, like all the rest of the films, there's no commentary (which is a shame, Lucas loves a good yak, Spielberg can't stand them) : and whilst it revisits the plot of "Raiders" : Nazis chasing after a holy object of terrible power, The usual old rubbish. But then, with what the films lose in common sense, they make up for in brazen charm, unstoppable momentum, and invention. Few other films would see the pensioner James Bond and Han Solo run across a beach using birds to down a murderous prop plane.

And then there's the last "Crystal Skull", which is a severe disappointment. Without Denholm Elliott (dead), Sallah (erm...), Sean Connery (um... presumed retired), and a shoehorned in kid (Shia LeBonk), and not explaining the bad guys, and a plot that doesn't make much sense, it's like getting back with your ex, and seeing who she really is after twenty years away. Still, if you want to own the other films, you have to own this, so "Crystal Skull" is an extra bonus disc you need never play, anyway.

After that, you get to the extra material, it is both tantalising and exhaustive, and a bit boring : most of the extras are presented in Standard Definition, being straight ports of the 2004 DVD Documentary, and the 1981 featurette is obviously both unremastered, and VHS sourced, with appalling picture quality for a major studio release. Even the film footage used on that documentary has the same, blotchy, washed out, blur you get from a third-generation VHS tape. The 'new' material is primarily a 4:3 Standard Def onset compilation from the time which is again, no better than DVD quality, but a fascinating cinema-verite document of the moment. The extras disc is bulked out lots of minifeatures from the 2004 and 2008 sets, and contains about half of the material taken from the "Crystal Skull" standalone release.

Of course, this isn't the complete Indiana Jones : Ford's brief reprise of the role for TV's "Young Indiana Jones" is missing, as are most of the extras that appear on the seperate release of "Kingdom of The Crystal Skull", and the individual introductions from the 2008 releases : but as a catch all set of some of the finest action movies of the century, then this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Mar 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Already knew these films were fantastic but wanted to change to Blue ray to save space as we now have over 300 DVDs. Picture quality is brilliant and we love watching these time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you do not have a blu ray collection.........without this!!!, 7 Mar 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
saw raiders at the cinema when I was but a boy and was of course mesmerized by indys exploits and have been since. ive bought every format of these films since the eighties. this is of course is the best way at home to see it. for the first time I actually saw indys quivering lip when confronted by the snake in the well of souls, not possible on vhs or even dvd. great quality boxset. no collection is complete without this. ok crystal skull is a bit naff but its worth it just to see mr ford donning the fedora for possibly the last time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movies, excellent box-set, 4 Mar 2014
By 
J. Richards "The Icon" (Caldicot, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
What can i say that hasn't been said before. Having owned the 2 previous Indiana Jones DVD sets (the first containing the first 3 movies, the 2nd with the addition of "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull") i was more than happy to pick-up the Blu-ray set. Films themselves are excellent, the transition to Blu-ray is stunning. Lucas Arts have done a similar job as they did with the Star Wars set, took each scene and gave it a frame-by-frame remaster. Upping the sound, picture and colours to something that can easily match modern movies. This set contains all 4 movies (Raiders of the Lost Ark, Temple of Doom, Last Cruisade + Kingdom of the Crystal Skull). All of which are re-mastered beautifully. And for the first time, the set contains extras that are worth watching.

Moving onto the packaging, a well designed boxset with individual slots for each disk. Which folds away nicely into the sleeve, none of them separate cases of old (i always dislike that, not exactly a box-set if there are separate boxes for each movie/program.)

Recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ee58cfc)

This product

Indiana Jones  The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free]
41.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews