Customer Reviews


238 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noooooooo tweaking on this Blu-ray!
If ever there was a must have Blu-ray box set this is it. With the exception of Star Wars , this box set is quite possibly the most sort after Blu-rays out there and I wasted absolutely no time at all when this dropped through my letter box and was in my Blu-ray player in under a minute!
Can never decide which is my favourite Spielberg movie , Raiders or Jaws , but...
Published 21 months ago by Julian

versus
53 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drastic image manipulation destroys Douglas Slocombe's original vision
First things first. The Indiana Jones trilogy comprises my three top films of all time, and there are none that I have held in greater anticipation on Blu-Ray. The prospect of seeing veteran cinematographer Douglas Slocombe's beautiful, lush, detailed, atmospheric cinematography in high definition as it was originally MEANT to be seen was irresistible.

It is...
Published 21 months ago by Martin Thomson


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noooooooo tweaking on this Blu-ray!, 11 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If ever there was a must have Blu-ray box set this is it. With the exception of Star Wars , this box set is quite possibly the most sort after Blu-rays out there and I wasted absolutely no time at all when this dropped through my letter box and was in my Blu-ray player in under a minute!
Can never decide which is my favourite Spielberg movie , Raiders or Jaws , but just glad that I now finally own them both on Blu-ray.

Picture transfer is once again just breathtaking. Crisp , clear although the first thing that I noticed on Raiders was that the whole film seemed to have what can only be described as a "gold filter" over the camera lens , which has a noticeable effect with the colour compared to the VHS and DVD releases.
This is by no means a bad thing , but I have read numerous (although somewhat exaggerated) complaints about it , but for me , it just makes the film feel more like the old action serials that it intended to be like , and the colours warm and more pleasing to the eye...For me anyway.
Only have the one minor gripe about the transfer which is , ever since the introduction of Hi-Def images , particularly on older films , they do tend to show up flaws in camera work. Notably in Raiders , the scene where the tarantula runs across Alfred Molina's chest appears to be completely out of focus , and the scene where Indy is hiding behind some wooden crates before he steals the undersized uniform is really quite grainy (or speckling effect) , but these are the only flaws I've noticed with the first three films and if you blinked , you'd miss them , so will quite happily let it go.
Truth be told , my real apprehension of this transfer was with Mr Lucas's itchy fingers attached to the films.
Have to say , I was a little nervous about buying this box set before reading any reviews about it , but his involvement in the restoration is not apparent.
Absolutely "Nooooooo" tweaking here , apart from the deleted reflection on the glass from Indy's encounter with the cobra that was done a few years ago , which I think is universally agreed is a good use of CGI tinkering and can't possibly believe anyone , not even a hardline purist would complain about it.

The sound is presented in 5.1 DTS master audio and sounds fantastic. John Williams , with yet another iconic score just sounds staggering and the gunfight in Marion's bar sounds like Indy's firing a cannon with every gunshot.
The almost cartoon-like "THWACK" with every punch , which was always purposely exaggerated , sounds even more so with the new sound and is definitely more satisfying to hear.
Although I do find a little too much use of the subwoofer with this transfer which seems to be used on everything , which is more unusual rather than a complaint , but hey! Thats the neighbours problem !

The extras are excellent and most die hard fans would have already seen the majority of the 7 hours worth , most of which have been transferred straight from the VHS and DVD releases , which again is not a bad thing as I like to have them all in one place rather than having to keep older formats just for a particular feature.
The only new addition to the features that I've noticed is the "On set with Raiders of the Lost Ark" documentary with some rarely seen gag reels , deleted and alternative scenes which was an absolute joy to watch , and even though I consider myself a die hard fan of these films , I must have missed these over the years as I'd never seen them before.
If , like me , you ever wondered how Indy survived the long journey atop of a submarine without drowning , then one of the deleted scenes gives you the answer... Kind of.

I could waffle on about the other movies but will just say , ALL of them are beautifully transferred , and Temple of Doom is fully uncut for the first time on UK shores with a minute or so of extra gore and violence... And swinging through trees with monkeys aside , I like all the films.

Not quite as good a transfer as Jaws or the Alien Anthology box set , which has set the bar very high indeed for quality in older movies on Blu-ray , but I really am talking about minuscule differences here and its very difficult to select the best quality out of the three.
Its a shame that Paramount hadn't stuck to their guns as they had announced that all their films released on Blu-ray would be in 7.1 sound , and to be fair , every film from them that I've bought has been... this being the only exception so far.
Still , in my humble view its perfectly fine and definitely deserves a very worthy 5 star rating for an outstanding transfer to Blu-ray , and think you'll be very impressed with this box set nonetheless , and for me... DEFINITELY , A MUST BUY !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Action Films of All Time, 27 Aug 2008
'Raiders of the Lost Ark'

For all the criticisms George Lucas has received in recent times, we must remember that he did manage to come up with this gem of an idea for a perfect action movie, and in doing so he created one of the most iconic action hero's that cinema has ever seen. A role perfectly played by its star, Harrison Ford.

The script, written by Lawrence Kasdan, is expertly directed by Steven Spielberg, who by this stage of his career was firing on all cylinders. He takes Kasdan's script and perfectly balances the dialogue with the action creating a finely tuned fast paced action film.
The opening scene and the `Truck Scene' showcase Spielberg's uncanny ability to create stunning set-pieces within his movies. This is something that really sets him apart from other directors, and makes 'Raiders' not just one of the best action films of the 80s but one of the defining action films of all time. 5/5

'Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom'

Second time round for Indy and in my opinion the third best movie.
At the request of George Lucas, scriptwriters Willard Huyck & Gloria Katz turned in a far darker and more foreboding script than the previous movie. George felt that the second film should be a lot darker, following in a similar vein to the second Star Wars film, `The Empire Strikes Back'.

With a lot of script ideas left over from `Raiders' the film certainly wasn't short on creativity or action set pieces. But, it seems Spielberg wasn't entirely comfortable with the "dark" direction George had decided to take the franchise. Spielberg wisely injects a lot more humour into the script, which is handled very well by Harrison Ford and Ke Huy Quan, creating some highly amusing scenes. Kate Capshaw's performance as Willie Scott is routinely criticised, and admittedly there is a lot of screaming to contend with, but in my opinion I feel it's a well balanced performance that doesn't detract from the other actors, or from the actual film.

My main criticism is that a great deal of the movie is spent within the Temple itself and I felt the film could have benefited had they made more out our hero's escape. I'm every bit as grateful as our intrepid action hero to see daylight after so many hours spent in the doom and gloom.

Although this is one of the weaker films in the cannon, it still remains a thoroughly enjoyable, extremely fast-paced, exciting action epic, knocking spots of any imitators. Thus proving that, even Spielberg on a bad day is better than most directors on a good day. 4/5

'Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade'

A perfectly balanced sequel, with some fine comedic chemistry from Ford and Connery.

This remains my favourite Indy sequel/prequel. Spielberg gets a firm grip on the reins and delivers, arguably, the finest of the Indiana Jones movies.
The real genius lies in the addition of Sean Connery, who plays Indy's Father. It works well and provides some great on screen chemistry between him and Ford, thus creating some laugh out loud comedic moments. Ford routinely pulls faces and shrugs shoulders as his Dad continually undermines him. I have always felt that Ford's comic ability is greatly underappreciated, and it should also be noted that Ford is one of cinema's finest physical actors, reacting to kicks and punches like no other actor, and in doing so, adds tension and excitement to the films most exciting set-piece, the `Tank Scene'. 5/5

'Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull'

Nineteen years in the making, and numerous screenwriters that all had Ford, Spielberg and Lucas banging heads over the films overall direction. The question is, was it worth the wait...?

Well, I found the opening sequence thoroughly exciting, and after Raiders, I consider it the best opening sequence of the franchise. There have been criticisms of the flying fridge scene, and although it is 'over the top', it is by no means anymore unrealistic than Indy leaping out of a plane on a life raft, or a mine cart jumping thirty foot over the breaks in the tracks. I think the problem with this scene is that it shows Indy as an indestructable super-hero, and that is not what Indiana Jones is about.

Harrison Ford, although obviously older, delivers a decent performance as the ageing Indiana, and Shia LaBeouf tries to make the best out of an underwritten written character. But where the film really fails is with the other supporting characters; Ray Winstone's Mac, is badly written and underdeveloped. The film misses out on what could have been a great performance. Karen Allen reprises her role as Marion Ravenwood, she lights up the screen upon her arrival, but sadly doesn't have much else to do for the rest of the movie. The wonderful John Hurt is utterly wasted, and the likeable Cate Blanchett delivers one of the worst and most ineffective villians to ever step in front of the camera.

My biggest criticism is that the `Jungle Chase' lacks any tension whatsoever, and the blame has to lie with Hollywood's current fascination with CGI. It doesn't look real, and makes it impossible for your brain to immerse itself into the action. You have no belief that the characters are in any peril. However, negatives aside, parts of this film are very enjoyable.

This films faliure pretty much lies within the script, and Spielberg's lacklustre direction. David Koepp's script lacks intrigue and character motivation, only an amateur script writer would have a double agent reveal himself in the first five minutes of the film, and having read Frank Darabont's `City of Gods' script, there is no doubt it would have made the better movie, and it is a terrible shame it wasn't the script they decided to go with. 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones & The Superb Blu Ray Box Set, 21 May 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Indiana Jones Movies: Raiders Of The Lost Ark, Indiana Jones & The Temple Of Doom, Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade, Indiana Jones & The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull.
Directed by Steven Spielberg
Starring.
Harrison Ford as Indiana Jones.
Distributed by Paramount Pictures.
(1981-1984-1989-2008).
Language English.
Box office of all four films combined : $1,978,055,564.

Blu Ray Info.
5 disc set.
RegionB/2
Ratio: Raiders/Temple Of Doom/Last Crusade 2.35:1, Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull 2.40:1
Sound:5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio.

Running time.
Raiders Of The Lost Ark: 115 minutes approx.
Indiana Jones & The Temple Of Doom: 118 minutes approx.
Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade: 127 minutes approx.
Indiana Jones & The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull: 123 minutes approx.

Extras.
7 hours of additional content featuring.
On Set With Raiders Of The Lost Ark.
Film Foursome, The making of all four movies".
Cast & crew interviews.
Sneek Peeks:
Stunts, Sound, Special effects & much more.

Raiders Of The Lost Ark:
1936, Archaeologist Professor Indiana Jones is hired by the US Government to find the mystical Ark of the Covenant which is believed to still hold the 10 Commandments & the key to the humanly existence of Mankind.

Indy is aided by ex girlfriend Marion Ravenwood as the duo get involved in plenty of fights, Chases while encountering many deadly traps in their quest to locate the Ark before the Nazis & Indys arch rival Rene Belloq do.

Belloq wishes to obtain & use the Ark as a weapon unleashing it's horrific terrifying power upon the world, Can Indy stop him?

Timelord Thoughts.
This Blu ray release is stunning as Director Steven Spielberg has overseen a frame by frame restoration of this classic adventure movie that looks & sounds clearer & sharper than ever.

This film is a bona fide classic movie featuring a outstanding performance by Harrison Ford as Indiana Jones, The plot moves along at a cracking pace as our adventurer evades countless traps & near death perilous situations.

With great support from Karen Allen, Paul Freeman & Ronald Lacey, Raiders Of The Lost Ark is a timeless film of action & adventure of the highest quality filmmaking & one of Spielbergs best movies.

Timelord Rating.
10/10

Indiana Jones & The Temple Of Doom.
After surviving a near death adventure in Shanghai, Indiana Jones, Short Round & singer Willie Scott escape a plane crash & arrive in a small village in India were Indy is asked to retrieve the mythical three Shankara Stones that have mysteriously disappeared along with the villages young children.

Indy, Short Round & Willie arrive at local Maharaja place that does not reveal the whereabouts of the children as Indy eventually finds a hidden underground passage leading to the temple of the sacrificial Devi Maa Kali run by voodoo priest Mola Ram who has the three Shankara Stones in his possession & uses the villagers kidnapped children for slave labour.

Indy must escape the temple by a mine cart, Free the enslaved children, Retrieve the Shankara Stones & battle against Mola Ram & his vicious Thuggee guards.

Timelord Thoughts.
At last Indiana Jones & The Temple Of Doom is fully restored & uncut for the first time in the UK that has upped the movies rating to a 12a as the movie now features slightly gorier sequences.

This is a excellent prequel as events in this movie take place here before Raiders, Harrison Ford once again gives a excellent performance as Indiana Jones doing the majority of the stunts himself which is a credit to the actor who endured chronic back pain during the movies production which resulted in shutting down production on the movie for 2 months to allow Ford to recover from a back operation.

Kate Capshaw (Mrs Steven Spielberg) as Willie Scott is more a damsel in distress character than Karen Allens feisty Marion Ravenwood yet Capshaw does well adding the film with it's more humourous elements, While Ke Huy Quan as Short Round is an excellent addition to the franchise & it's a pity the character featured in only one movie.

This is a more violent darker toned movie than Raiders & caused the MPAA to issue the infamous PG-13 rating that caused many cuts in the UK print to obtain the PG rating but at last we can see how it was originally intended to be seen.

From the excellent opening sequence to the nerve shredding finale Indiana Jones & The Temple Of Doom delivers great action & excellent adventure & is a worthy follow up to Raiders Of The Lost Ark.

Timelord Rating.
10/10

Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade.
When Professor Henry Jones Sr suddenly goes missing while pursuing his life's obsession of finding the Holy Grail, His son archaeologist Indiana Jones is sent his dad's Grail diary & is asked by private collector Walter Donovan to attempt to retrieve the Grail that gives eternal life to those who drink from the cup of Christ, Indy agrees as he wants to find his father & uncover the truth of why he's suddenly gone missing.

Indy is aided on his quest by museum curator Marcus Brody & Dr Elsa Schneider who is actually working for the Nazis who have captured Indys father as they want him to find the Grail for them so they can seek the Grails power of eternal life giving them the upper hand in the War & gain world domination.

Indy must rescue his father & stop the Nazis who are in cahoots with Donovan from getting there hands on the Grail at all costs.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is a phenomenal movie from the opening showcasing the origins of a young Indy played by the late River Phoenix to the trap ridden tension packed climax Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade delivers on action, Drama & suspense.

Harrison Ford once again dons the fedora & cracks the whip this time aided by his father former James Bond actor Sean Connery who gives one of his best career performances as Henry Jones Sr which is such perfect casting as who better to play Indys father than a former 007.

The father & son chemistry between Ford & Connery as the Jones's is believable & is one of the movies highlights, The action delivers in spades especially the excellently filmed Tank chase sequence while the nerve shredding climax shows Indy having to use his wits at passing several tests in retrieving the Holy Grail that keeps you on the edge of your seat.

Threequels unusually deliver a movie as good as the original but this movie is exception to the rule as it is easily on par with Raiders Of The Lost Ark for spectacle, A enjoyable action adventure movie from begining to end.

Timelord Rating.
10/10

Indiana Jones & The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull.
Famed Archaeologist Indiana Jones is called back into action when he becomes embroiled in a Soviet plot lead by the sinister Irina Spalko to uncover the secrets behind the mysterious artefacts known as the Crystal Skull as the Soviets wish to obtain & use the Skulls mythical power to overpower the West.

Indy is aided by a young man named Mutt & discovers a link to a woman that has a connection with his past as Indy races against the clock to sabotage the Soviets deadly plan to destroy the West & return the Skull to it's rightful place.

Timelord Thoughts.
I was so excited with anticipation about the release of this movie after 19 years I was about to see a new Indiana Jones film at the cinema, Ford, Lucas, Spielberg all returning what could possibly go wrong?

Well the lacklustre script for a start as Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull just doesn't deliver the spectacle of the three previous movies, The opening is a great introduction to the story's set up but from there the film loses it's way & feels very flat, The action sequences haven't the zest of the three previous movies barring a decent chase sequence in the Jungle.

Harrison Ford is excellent as usual & considering his age delivers what action there is superbly while John Hurt gives an excellent understated performance as
Professor Oxley.

Shia Labeouf is passable as Mutt, Ray Winstone is a little OTT as Mac while Karen Allen returning as Marion Ravenwood is vastly underused in this film so thank god that Cate Blanchett delivers decent villainous duties as Soviet agent Irina Spalko.

The climax is boring & very lacklustre, Gone is the nerve shredding climax of the previous three movies instead replaced by a series of below par traps & an ending that baffles the mind.

Alien beings coming from the space between spaces is not only confusing but very silly, Partly to blame for this is George Lucas as it was he that co-wrote this dire script with Jeff Nathanson, Even the usually decent screenplay writer David Koepp couldn't polish this script & it beggars belief why Lucas rejected Frank Darabounts brilliant alternative script as with that script this film could've matched the brilliance of the three previous movies yet as it stands Indiana Jones & The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull is a disappointing entry to an otherwise excellent franchise.

Timelord Rating 5/10

This is well worth upgrading to Blu ray as the movies have never looked or sounded better plus the uncut version of Temple Of Doom is included for the first time & comes with over 7 hours of bonus content.

A superb boxset & a must buy purchase for Indy fan's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of the greatest adventure films ever made., 25 Sep 2012
By 
Lasse Pettersson "Señor Montalban" (Pueblo de Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This box set came out here in Denmark today. I love it. I have also ordered this Limited Edition because of the memorabilia. The movies look amazing. Simply stunning. If you have any doubts, don't. The video and audio everything it should be. I personally don't mind the fourth movie, but the ones I will be seeing are "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and "Last Crusade." The second movie never appealed to me (never liked the Willie Scott character) and I will even go as far as saying that I like the fourth one better. The bonus features will take me about a year to see, I reckon, even though I have seen a lot of it before. I don't think the price is bad for the amount of quality and contents you get, so I see no reason to hold out for individual releases. I guess it's a matter of taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Own Blu-ray Collection, 9 Oct 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Quite simply one of the best motion picture series' ever made, the Indiana Jones films are finally on blu-ray. And, boy, was it worth the wait.
The frame-by-frame restoration of Raiders pays of superbly with the picture being stunning and looking like it was made last week. The other three films are equally as impressive.
The sound on all three films is DTS and varies from brilliant to very good. Some of the sound effects seem overly enhanced (gun shots seem overly lound compared to explosions for example) - but, nonetheless, a vast improvement over the DVDS.
I haven't watched the extras yet, but at first glance there are multiple featurettes and trailers for each film. Nothing else in the way of extras though - no galleries, outtakes, deleted scenes etc.
As for the memorabilia in this release (the Limited Edition release); I have to admit to being a little disappointed. In the pictures these things look amazing, and, while they're lovingly produced they seem small and inconsequential when taken out of the box. Also, the lack of a Crystal Skull piece is noticeable. I would have like a small glass skull paperweight or something like that.
Anyway, this set is a must-own for any lover of the series or blu-ray collector. Personally, I like all four films and wouldn't want this set to have any missing.
Lastly - for the first time ever Temple of Doom IS uncut!!! I'd never seen this version before and it is great to finally own it.

A note on the sound - the ONLY language in DTS is English, the other languages (German, French, Spanish) are only in Dolby Digital 5.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drastic image manipulation destroys Douglas Slocombe's original vision, 9 Oct 2012
By 
Martin Thomson (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First things first. The Indiana Jones trilogy comprises my three top films of all time, and there are none that I have held in greater anticipation on Blu-Ray. The prospect of seeing veteran cinematographer Douglas Slocombe's beautiful, lush, detailed, atmospheric cinematography in high definition as it was originally MEANT to be seen was irresistible.

It is therefore with great sadness that I write this (apparently very much a lone voice as I have tried, unsuccessfully, to find any negative comments on this release, so shoot me down if you will), but I find that the drastic alterations made to the original trilogy (particularly Raiders) to make the cinematographic style conform to Janusz Kaminski's jaundiced-looking, washed out lighting from `Crystal Skull' purely heartbreaking. In short, Raiders has been completely re-graded with drastically boosted brightness levels and a sickeningly orange colour palette that completely destroys Slocombe's original vision. The other two films also suffer, but to a progressively lesser extent.

I'll be returning my set to amazon and sticking with the 2003 DVD trilogy that I've had for years, which presents the films in a (to my eye) much more pleasing, accurate way.

Like I said, the general consensus on this new release is that it is wonderful, and you may well be completely satisfied with it, but I just thought I'd add the perspective of someone who was hoping to see the films as they were originally meant to be seen, rather than a version done presumably to appease modern audiences who are used to a much higher contrast photographic style.

But if I were Steven Spielberg, I think I'd owe Douglas Slocombe an apology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandson was always borrowing my copies of these great films.
I bought him this set for Christmas and he is chuffed to own his own
in this well presented collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful transition to Blu Ray, 6 Sep 2013
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Why is this box set so expensive when trilogies, quadrilogies and antholgies of other film franchises are so much cheaper?
I think the answer to that is that the films are still so popular and watchable time and time again.

Indy Has become such a heroic figure over the years. Whilst the character of an adventurer was nothing new, the idea of a nerdy professor turning into a dashing gun-totting whip-cracking hero was totally different. Harrison Ford played the part perfectly and deserves a lot of credit for bringing the character to life.

I don't think many would argue that the original film was the best, but there are a lot of arguments over the next few films. I didn't particularly rate the Crystal Skull, but at the same time it was a fix that the Indy fans needed, myself included.

I took the plunge and paid out for the Blu-Ray versions and I am so glad I did. I have many films on DVD and I just know that they would be equally good/bad if they were on BR, but this set is so much better because of the higher resolution. There are many films that have had such a wow factor when they came out on BR and this is one of them. If you were to advertise the advantages of BR this film set would be in the top set. It is visually stunning, vibrant, bursting from the screen. Clarity of the characters faces and their expressions add life to the films.

This really is a showcase set. If you are a fan of Indy and are contemplating DVD or BR, go BR you will be so much happier that you did.

I don't comment on audio as I only have TV speakers and whilst the sound was clear and good, I am not in a position to say how much better it is than DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Temple of Doom Uncut, 8 Sep 2012
By 
P. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
***Blu Ray Release***

Specs for this product on another website state that, for the first time ever in the UK, the blu ray will feature the UNCUT version of INDIANA JONES AND THE TEMPLE OF DOOM. Having seen the uncut version on Region One DVD from the states, this is great news and will save me having to track down the US version of this release instead. Some of the cuts for gore and violence inflicted upon the film on it's initial release in the UK - at the time in order for it to pass as a PG certificate - were rather jarring and it will be great to have this on Blu Ray as Spielberg and Co. originally intended it to be seen!

The final installment aside, which was a disappointment, this set features some of the greatest and most enjoyable family adventures films in the history of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Temple of Doom is fully uncut!!!, 12 Oct 2012
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I think everybody already needs to know everything there is is about these fantastic films, so I won't bother reviewing the movies themselves.
Firstly, yes, for the first time ever in the UK, Temple of Doom has been reclassified with a 12 certificate and is released fully uncut. The movie now features the complete uncensored sacrificial and Shortround getting tortured scenes as well as several other bits that were previously edited. The uncut version has been available worldwide since the film's initial release except for, you guessed it, in the UK where bits were edited in order for it to secure a PG rating, but thankfully no longer.
Picture and sound are amazing. I have worn these films out on VHS and DVD with the amount of times I have seen them, but the Bluray experience was like watching them for the first time. The colours are vivid, and the picture so clear that there is detail I have never seen before. The only downside is that some of the matt painting and effects shots now look very obvious, but this is how the films were originally made, and thankfully they have not added any out of place CG to hide the fact like Lucas has with the original Star Wars Trilogy. Crystal Skull was obviously going to look the best, but in all honesty the original trilogy looks like it was made yesterday, and can compete with any modern day digital CGI fest.
The set comes on five discs all housed in a nice compact and rigid cardboard slip case, that opens out to display what looks like some new beautifully commissioned artwork and photo stills for each movie. It's a pity the same design choice wasn't applied to the discs, which are oddly just plain white with the film's title on them, but this is a minor detail. As well as the four movies, there is a fifth disc which contains over 7 hours of bonus documentaries and such, so there is plenty to keep you entertained here.
There is a more expensive set also available which contains various collectable prop replicas, but I cannot comment on whether it is worth the extra money as this is the only one I have seen. At the end of the day, if you just want a definitive, no frills collection of the Indy films, then this is it, and definitely worth the upgrade from DVD. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indiana Jones  The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free]
£34.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews