Customer Reviews


250 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noooooooo tweaking on this Blu-ray!
If ever there was a must have Blu-ray box set this is it. With the exception of Star Wars , this box set is quite possibly the most sort after Blu-rays out there and I wasted absolutely no time at all when this dropped through my letter box and was in my Blu-ray player in under a minute!
Can never decide which is my favourite Spielberg movie , Raiders or Jaws , but...
Published 22 months ago by Julian

versus
56 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drastic image manipulation destroys Douglas Slocombe's original vision
First things first. The Indiana Jones trilogy comprises my three top films of all time, and there are none that I have held in greater anticipation on Blu-Ray. The prospect of seeing veteran cinematographer Douglas Slocombe's beautiful, lush, detailed, atmospheric cinematography in high definition as it was originally MEANT to be seen was irresistible.

It is...
Published 22 months ago by Martin Thomson


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noooooooo tweaking on this Blu-ray!, 11 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If ever there was a must have Blu-ray box set this is it. With the exception of Star Wars , this box set is quite possibly the most sort after Blu-rays out there and I wasted absolutely no time at all when this dropped through my letter box and was in my Blu-ray player in under a minute!
Can never decide which is my favourite Spielberg movie , Raiders or Jaws , but just glad that I now finally own them both on Blu-ray.

Picture transfer is once again just breathtaking. Crisp , clear although the first thing that I noticed on Raiders was that the whole film seemed to have what can only be described as a "gold filter" over the camera lens , which has a noticeable effect with the colour compared to the VHS and DVD releases.
This is by no means a bad thing , but I have read numerous (although somewhat exaggerated) complaints about it , but for me , it just makes the film feel more like the old action serials that it intended to be like , and the colours warm and more pleasing to the eye...For me anyway.
Only have the one minor gripe about the transfer which is , ever since the introduction of Hi-Def images , particularly on older films , they do tend to show up flaws in camera work. Notably in Raiders , the scene where the tarantula runs across Alfred Molina's chest appears to be completely out of focus , and the scene where Indy is hiding behind some wooden crates before he steals the undersized uniform is really quite grainy (or speckling effect) , but these are the only flaws I've noticed with the first three films and if you blinked , you'd miss them , so will quite happily let it go.
Truth be told , my real apprehension of this transfer was with Mr Lucas's itchy fingers attached to the films.
Have to say , I was a little nervous about buying this box set before reading any reviews about it , but his involvement in the restoration is not apparent.
Absolutely "Nooooooo" tweaking here , apart from the deleted reflection on the glass from Indy's encounter with the cobra that was done a few years ago , which I think is universally agreed is a good use of CGI tinkering and can't possibly believe anyone , not even a hardline purist would complain about it.

The sound is presented in 5.1 DTS master audio and sounds fantastic. John Williams , with yet another iconic score just sounds staggering and the gunfight in Marion's bar sounds like Indy's firing a cannon with every gunshot.
The almost cartoon-like "THWACK" with every punch , which was always purposely exaggerated , sounds even more so with the new sound and is definitely more satisfying to hear.
Although I do find a little too much use of the subwoofer with this transfer which seems to be used on everything , which is more unusual rather than a complaint , but hey! Thats the neighbours problem !

The extras are excellent and most die hard fans would have already seen the majority of the 7 hours worth , most of which have been transferred straight from the VHS and DVD releases , which again is not a bad thing as I like to have them all in one place rather than having to keep older formats just for a particular feature.
The only new addition to the features that I've noticed is the "On set with Raiders of the Lost Ark" documentary with some rarely seen gag reels , deleted and alternative scenes which was an absolute joy to watch , and even though I consider myself a die hard fan of these films , I must have missed these over the years as I'd never seen them before.
If , like me , you ever wondered how Indy survived the long journey atop of a submarine without drowning , then one of the deleted scenes gives you the answer... Kind of.

I could waffle on about the other movies but will just say , ALL of them are beautifully transferred , and Temple of Doom is fully uncut for the first time on UK shores with a minute or so of extra gore and violence... And swinging through trees with monkeys aside , I like all the films.

Not quite as good a transfer as Jaws or the Alien Anthology box set , which has set the bar very high indeed for quality in older movies on Blu-ray , but I really am talking about minuscule differences here and its very difficult to select the best quality out of the three.
Its a shame that Paramount hadn't stuck to their guns as they had announced that all their films released on Blu-ray would be in 7.1 sound , and to be fair , every film from them that I've bought has been... this being the only exception so far.
Still , in my humble view its perfectly fine and definitely deserves a very worthy 5 star rating for an outstanding transfer to Blu-ray , and think you'll be very impressed with this box set nonetheless , and for me... DEFINITELY , A MUST BUY !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones & The Superb Blu Ray Box Set, 21 May 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Indiana Jones Movies: Raiders Of The Lost Ark, Indiana Jones & The Temple Of Doom, Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade, Indiana Jones & The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull.
Directed by Steven Spielberg
Starring.
Harrison Ford as Indiana Jones.
Distributed by Paramount Pictures.
(1981-1984-1989-2008).
Language English.
Box office of all four films combined : $1,978,055,564.

Blu Ray Info.
5 disc set.
RegionB/2
Ratio: Raiders/Temple Of Doom/Last Crusade 2.35:1, Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull 2.40:1
Sound:5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio.

Running time.
Raiders Of The Lost Ark: 115 minutes approx.
Indiana Jones & The Temple Of Doom: 118 minutes approx.
Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade: 127 minutes approx.
Indiana Jones & The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull: 123 minutes approx.

Extras.
7 hours of additional content featuring.
On Set With Raiders Of The Lost Ark.
Film Foursome, The making of all four movies".
Cast & crew interviews.
Sneek Peeks:
Stunts, Sound, Special effects & much more.

Raiders Of The Lost Ark:
1936, Archaeologist Professor Indiana Jones is hired by the US Government to find the mystical Ark of the Covenant which is believed to still hold the 10 Commandments & the key to the humanly existence of Mankind.

Indy is aided by ex girlfriend Marion Ravenwood as the duo get involved in plenty of fights, Chases while encountering many deadly traps in their quest to locate the Ark before the Nazis & Indys arch rival Rene Belloq do.

Belloq wishes to obtain & use the Ark as a weapon unleashing it's horrific terrifying power upon the world, Can Indy stop him?

Timelord Thoughts.
This Blu ray release is stunning as Director Steven Spielberg has overseen a frame by frame restoration of this classic adventure movie that looks & sounds clearer & sharper than ever.

This film is a bona fide classic movie featuring a outstanding performance by Harrison Ford as Indiana Jones, The plot moves along at a cracking pace as our adventurer evades countless traps & near death perilous situations.

With great support from Karen Allen, Paul Freeman & Ronald Lacey, Raiders Of The Lost Ark is a timeless film of action & adventure of the highest quality filmmaking & one of Spielbergs best movies.

Timelord Rating.
10/10

Indiana Jones & The Temple Of Doom.
After surviving a near death adventure in Shanghai, Indiana Jones, Short Round & singer Willie Scott escape a plane crash & arrive in a small village in India were Indy is asked to retrieve the mythical three Shankara Stones that have mysteriously disappeared along with the villages young children.

Indy, Short Round & Willie arrive at local Maharaja place that does not reveal the whereabouts of the children as Indy eventually finds a hidden underground passage leading to the temple of the sacrificial Devi Maa Kali run by voodoo priest Mola Ram who has the three Shankara Stones in his possession & uses the villagers kidnapped children for slave labour.

Indy must escape the temple by a mine cart, Free the enslaved children, Retrieve the Shankara Stones & battle against Mola Ram & his vicious Thuggee guards.

Timelord Thoughts.
At last Indiana Jones & The Temple Of Doom is fully restored & uncut for the first time in the UK that has upped the movies rating to a 12a as the movie now features slightly gorier sequences.

This is a excellent prequel as events in this movie take place here before Raiders, Harrison Ford once again gives a excellent performance as Indiana Jones doing the majority of the stunts himself which is a credit to the actor who endured chronic back pain during the movies production which resulted in shutting down production on the movie for 2 months to allow Ford to recover from a back operation.

Kate Capshaw (Mrs Steven Spielberg) as Willie Scott is more a damsel in distress character than Karen Allens feisty Marion Ravenwood yet Capshaw does well adding the film with it's more humourous elements, While Ke Huy Quan as Short Round is an excellent addition to the franchise & it's a pity the character featured in only one movie.

This is a more violent darker toned movie than Raiders & caused the MPAA to issue the infamous PG-13 rating that caused many cuts in the UK print to obtain the PG rating but at last we can see how it was originally intended to be seen.

From the excellent opening sequence to the nerve shredding finale Indiana Jones & The Temple Of Doom delivers great action & excellent adventure & is a worthy follow up to Raiders Of The Lost Ark.

Timelord Rating.
10/10

Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade.
When Professor Henry Jones Sr suddenly goes missing while pursuing his life's obsession of finding the Holy Grail, His son archaeologist Indiana Jones is sent his dad's Grail diary & is asked by private collector Walter Donovan to attempt to retrieve the Grail that gives eternal life to those who drink from the cup of Christ, Indy agrees as he wants to find his father & uncover the truth of why he's suddenly gone missing.

Indy is aided on his quest by museum curator Marcus Brody & Dr Elsa Schneider who is actually working for the Nazis who have captured Indys father as they want him to find the Grail for them so they can seek the Grails power of eternal life giving them the upper hand in the War & gain world domination.

Indy must rescue his father & stop the Nazis who are in cahoots with Donovan from getting there hands on the Grail at all costs.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is a phenomenal movie from the opening showcasing the origins of a young Indy played by the late River Phoenix to the trap ridden tension packed climax Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade delivers on action, Drama & suspense.

Harrison Ford once again dons the fedora & cracks the whip this time aided by his father former James Bond actor Sean Connery who gives one of his best career performances as Henry Jones Sr which is such perfect casting as who better to play Indys father than a former 007.

The father & son chemistry between Ford & Connery as the Jones's is believable & is one of the movies highlights, The action delivers in spades especially the excellently filmed Tank chase sequence while the nerve shredding climax shows Indy having to use his wits at passing several tests in retrieving the Holy Grail that keeps you on the edge of your seat.

Threequels unusually deliver a movie as good as the original but this movie is exception to the rule as it is easily on par with Raiders Of The Lost Ark for spectacle, A enjoyable action adventure movie from begining to end.

Timelord Rating.
10/10

Indiana Jones & The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull.
Famed Archaeologist Indiana Jones is called back into action when he becomes embroiled in a Soviet plot lead by the sinister Irina Spalko to uncover the secrets behind the mysterious artefacts known as the Crystal Skull as the Soviets wish to obtain & use the Skulls mythical power to overpower the West.

Indy is aided by a young man named Mutt & discovers a link to a woman that has a connection with his past as Indy races against the clock to sabotage the Soviets deadly plan to destroy the West & return the Skull to it's rightful place.

Timelord Thoughts.
I was so excited with anticipation about the release of this movie after 19 years I was about to see a new Indiana Jones film at the cinema, Ford, Lucas, Spielberg all returning what could possibly go wrong?

Well the lacklustre script for a start as Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull just doesn't deliver the spectacle of the three previous movies, The opening is a great introduction to the story's set up but from there the film loses it's way & feels very flat, The action sequences haven't the zest of the three previous movies barring a decent chase sequence in the Jungle.

Harrison Ford is excellent as usual & considering his age delivers what action there is superbly while John Hurt gives an excellent understated performance as
Professor Oxley.

Shia Labeouf is passable as Mutt, Ray Winstone is a little OTT as Mac while Karen Allen returning as Marion Ravenwood is vastly underused in this film so thank god that Cate Blanchett delivers decent villainous duties as Soviet agent Irina Spalko.

The climax is boring & very lacklustre, Gone is the nerve shredding climax of the previous three movies instead replaced by a series of below par traps & an ending that baffles the mind.

Alien beings coming from the space between spaces is not only confusing but very silly, Partly to blame for this is George Lucas as it was he that co-wrote this dire script with Jeff Nathanson, Even the usually decent screenplay writer David Koepp couldn't polish this script & it beggars belief why Lucas rejected Frank Darabounts brilliant alternative script as with that script this film could've matched the brilliance of the three previous movies yet as it stands Indiana Jones & The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull is a disappointing entry to an otherwise excellent franchise.

Timelord Rating 5/10

This is well worth upgrading to Blu ray as the movies have never looked or sounded better plus the uncut version of Temple Of Doom is included for the first time & comes with over 7 hours of bonus content.

A superb boxset & a must buy purchase for Indy fan's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Action Films of All Time, 27 Aug 2008
'Raiders of the Lost Ark'

For all the criticisms George Lucas has received in recent times, we must remember that he did manage to come up with this gem of an idea for a perfect action movie, and in doing so he created one of the most iconic action hero's that cinema has ever seen. A role perfectly played by its star, Harrison Ford.

The script, written by Lawrence Kasdan, is expertly directed by Steven Spielberg, who by this stage of his career was firing on all cylinders. He takes Kasdan's script and perfectly balances the dialogue with the action creating a finely tuned fast paced action film.
The opening scene and the `Truck Scene' showcase Spielberg's uncanny ability to create stunning set-pieces within his movies. This is something that really sets him apart from other directors, and makes 'Raiders' not just one of the best action films of the 80s but one of the defining action films of all time. 5/5

'Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom'

Second time round for Indy and in my opinion the third best movie.
At the request of George Lucas, scriptwriters Willard Huyck & Gloria Katz turned in a far darker and more foreboding script than the previous movie. George felt that the second film should be a lot darker, following in a similar vein to the second Star Wars film, `The Empire Strikes Back'.

With a lot of script ideas left over from `Raiders' the film certainly wasn't short on creativity or action set pieces. But, it seems Spielberg wasn't entirely comfortable with the "dark" direction George had decided to take the franchise. Spielberg wisely injects a lot more humour into the script, which is handled very well by Harrison Ford and Ke Huy Quan, creating some highly amusing scenes. Kate Capshaw's performance as Willie Scott is routinely criticised, and admittedly there is a lot of screaming to contend with, but in my opinion I feel it's a well balanced performance that doesn't detract from the other actors, or from the actual film.

My main criticism is that a great deal of the movie is spent within the Temple itself and I felt the film could have benefited had they made more out our hero's escape. I'm every bit as grateful as our intrepid action hero to see daylight after so many hours spent in the doom and gloom.

Although this is one of the weaker films in the cannon, it still remains a thoroughly enjoyable, extremely fast-paced, exciting action epic, knocking spots of any imitators. Thus proving that, even Spielberg on a bad day is better than most directors on a good day. 4/5

'Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade'

A perfectly balanced sequel, with some fine comedic chemistry from Ford and Connery.

This remains my favourite Indy sequel/prequel. Spielberg gets a firm grip on the reins and delivers, arguably, the finest of the Indiana Jones movies.
The real genius lies in the addition of Sean Connery, who plays Indy's Father. It works well and provides some great on screen chemistry between him and Ford, thus creating some laugh out loud comedic moments. Ford routinely pulls faces and shrugs shoulders as his Dad continually undermines him. I have always felt that Ford's comic ability is greatly underappreciated, and it should also be noted that Ford is one of cinema's finest physical actors, reacting to kicks and punches like no other actor, and in doing so, adds tension and excitement to the films most exciting set-piece, the `Tank Scene'. 5/5

'Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull'

Nineteen years in the making, and numerous screenwriters that all had Ford, Spielberg and Lucas banging heads over the films overall direction. The question is, was it worth the wait...?

Well, I found the opening sequence thoroughly exciting, and after Raiders, I consider it the best opening sequence of the franchise. There have been criticisms of the flying fridge scene, and although it is 'over the top', it is by no means anymore unrealistic than Indy leaping out of a plane on a life raft, or a mine cart jumping thirty foot over the breaks in the tracks. I think the problem with this scene is that it shows Indy as an indestructable super-hero, and that is not what Indiana Jones is about.

Harrison Ford, although obviously older, delivers a decent performance as the ageing Indiana, and Shia LaBeouf tries to make the best out of an underwritten written character. But where the film really fails is with the other supporting characters; Ray Winstone's Mac, is badly written and underdeveloped. The film misses out on what could have been a great performance. Karen Allen reprises her role as Marion Ravenwood, she lights up the screen upon her arrival, but sadly doesn't have much else to do for the rest of the movie. The wonderful John Hurt is utterly wasted, and the likeable Cate Blanchett delivers one of the worst and most ineffective villians to ever step in front of the camera.

My biggest criticism is that the `Jungle Chase' lacks any tension whatsoever, and the blame has to lie with Hollywood's current fascination with CGI. It doesn't look real, and makes it impossible for your brain to immerse itself into the action. You have no belief that the characters are in any peril. However, negatives aside, parts of this film are very enjoyable.

This films faliure pretty much lies within the script, and Spielberg's lacklustre direction. David Koepp's script lacks intrigue and character motivation, only an amateur script writer would have a double agent reveal himself in the first five minutes of the film, and having read Frank Darabont's `City of Gods' script, there is no doubt it would have made the better movie, and it is a terrible shame it wasn't the script they decided to go with. 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good on DVD - even better on Blu-Ray, 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A year after the release of the Star Wars movies on Blu-Ray, it was inevitable that the other big creation from Lucasfilm productions would follow sometime soon, and in my opinion it was worth the wait. When it came to producing action blockbusters like these, no-one did them better than the team of George Lucas and Steven Spielberg.

Raiders Of The Lost Ark gets the series off to the perfect start with Harrison Fords' intrepid archaeologist alter-ego Indiana Jones engaged in a race against time to beat the Nazis in tracing the whereabouts of the Ark of the Covenant, and in doing so it's one exciting set piece after another with slam-bang action and more than just a little horror along the way (witness the graphic demise of the films main trio of villains once the Ark is opened at the climax). Then we come to the second film, Temple Of Doom, which may be darker in tone to the first but for me is probably the weakest of the four films - case in point being the mine cart chase sequence, which tends to strain credibility at being a few minutes too long, and the idea of setting the events of the film one year before those of the first is quite frankly a mistake, bearing in mind that this is meant to be a sequel.

Five years later along came film three, The Last Crusade, which brings back not only the Nazis as the protagonists in the quest for the Holy Grail but also rather cleverly Denholm Elliott and John Rhys-Davies from Raiders. Best of all is the casting of Sean Connery as Indys' dad - although Harrison Ford is the star he is upstaged by the antics of the veteran. This third instalment may at times feel like an updated but slightly watered-down version of the first, but the action scenes and locations are as good as ever.

And so to the final film, Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull, and from the start it's clear that the producers left it too long when it came it to making it as Jones is looking more ragged and not as agile as in the earlier films. It's a mostly hit-and-miss affair but despite this it boasts an excellent guest cast in John Hurt, Cate Blanchett, Ray Winstone, Jim Broadbent and Shia LaBouef.

Apart from the films there is a fifth disc which contains a whole host of superb special features, including the making of all four films plus a few behind-the-scenes featurettes that are well worth catching. To sum up this is an excellent boxset, and no matter whether you like all four films or maybe only one or two it's definitely worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Entertainment, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I shall start with the films first. The picture quality is great but not perfect as there is slight graining but nothing to worry about. The sound has been improved and does make for more involved viewing. The only extra's to be found on each film disc are trailer's used to advertise themselves at their release, hardly pushing the boat out. The bonuses have been kept for the 5th disc where you will find alot of documentary footage galleries and not much else. The Collector's set I am actually pleased with unlike other reviewer's. I really like the notebook which is really well put together although the writing is like a truelife doctor's and need's a little time to read. I was rather hoping that they were going to include the South Park episode which would have been fantastic. I had never seen the 4th film untill this release and have to say I am still in two minds, It's not horrifically bad as the other film's are'nt perfect but can't understand why Alien's are involved. Would have been just as happy with the trilogy collectors edition but perhaps in time we will all get used to the 4th film. Would also have been nice to have the box in wood just as Rome season 2 was released in dvd. Instead you get cardboard which unfortunately will not close properly. Again LOTR box has a hidden magnet mechanism to ensure this and so it can be arqued that this release was designed as a money making exercise. 5 Star's because of the origional trilogy and the notebook just don't pay too much for this set, I paid £60 as I pre-ordered and therefore am not at the mercy of cynical seller's. There are rumour's that there will be another film in the future as the 4th is considered abismal by so many so you may want to hold off for a few years, I am more than happy with this set and see no reason on buying (if there is a 5th film) as it will mean nothing to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic set, 14 Oct 2012
Ever since the launch of Blu-ray there has been one set of films I've been waiting to see and now it's here at last. It's easy to understand the delay in releasing it when you see all the effort that has gone into remastering both the picture and the sound. If you want to know more about the picture or sound quality read the review here as it says much more than I could -[...]

Now this is the limited edition set which as of now costs about extra £20 over the regular set. What you get for the money is a larger cardboard book styled box which contains the regular release inside it as well as the art cards, film cell, grail rubbing, matchbook, menu, tickets and diary. All nice little bits but unless you are a die hard fan I'd have to say you're better off saving that money for something else.

Value for money on this set is fine at £40 for the regular set that's £10 per movie with a free bonus disc to keep you happy too. Those saying it's rubbish mostly seem to be people moaning about the 4th film and yeah it's not as good as Raiders or the Last Crusade but it is what it is and I'd rather have it than not and have the individual releases which will come out at about £15 each so it won't be saving you money (if you're expecting a trilogy only release then don't kid your self, it won't be coming)

The only real gripe I have with the set is that despite all the extra features on the bonus disc there is no audio commentary on the films themselves which is a shame but I think that almost everything they would talk about is hidden away in that extra disc, just need to find it all!

So all in all I think this is one of the best sets I've ever bought, yes it could have been in a more luxurious box but you'd be paying more for the privilege, yes Crystal Skull isn't as good as the originals but it's still a good film (nuclear proof fridge aside) but if you're an Indiana Jones fan these films haven't looked any better than this and the set is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of the greatest adventure films ever made., 25 Sep 2012
By 
Lasse Pettersson "Señor Montalban" (Pueblo de Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This box set came out here in Denmark today. I love it. I have also ordered this Limited Edition because of the memorabilia. The movies look amazing. Simply stunning. If you have any doubts, don't. The video and audio everything it should be. I personally don't mind the fourth movie, but the ones I will be seeing are "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and "Last Crusade." The second movie never appealed to me (never liked the Willie Scott character) and I will even go as far as saying that I like the fourth one better. The bonus features will take me about a year to see, I reckon, even though I have seen a lot of it before. I don't think the price is bad for the amount of quality and contents you get, so I see no reason to hold out for individual releases. I guess it's a matter of taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movies, excellent box-set, 4 Mar 2014
By 
J. Richards "The Icon" (Caldicot, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
What can i say that hasn't been said before. Having owned the 2 previous Indiana Jones DVD sets (the first containing the first 3 movies, the 2nd with the addition of "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull") i was more than happy to pick-up the Blu-ray set. Films themselves are excellent, the transition to Blu-ray is stunning. Lucas Arts have done a similar job as they did with the Star Wars set, took each scene and gave it a frame-by-frame remaster. Upping the sound, picture and colours to something that can easily match modern movies. This set contains all 4 movies (Raiders of the Lost Ark, Temple of Doom, Last Cruisade + Kingdom of the Crystal Skull). All of which are re-mastered beautifully. And for the first time, the set contains extras that are worth watching.

Moving onto the packaging, a well designed boxset with individual slots for each disk. Which folds away nicely into the sleeve, none of them separate cases of old (i always dislike that, not exactly a box-set if there are separate boxes for each movie/program.)

Recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Own Blu-ray Collection, 9 Oct 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Quite simply one of the best motion picture series' ever made, the Indiana Jones films are finally on blu-ray. And, boy, was it worth the wait.
The frame-by-frame restoration of Raiders pays of superbly with the picture being stunning and looking like it was made last week. The other three films are equally as impressive.
The sound on all three films is DTS and varies from brilliant to very good. Some of the sound effects seem overly enhanced (gun shots seem overly lound compared to explosions for example) - but, nonetheless, a vast improvement over the DVDS.
I haven't watched the extras yet, but at first glance there are multiple featurettes and trailers for each film. Nothing else in the way of extras though - no galleries, outtakes, deleted scenes etc.
As for the memorabilia in this release (the Limited Edition release); I have to admit to being a little disappointed. In the pictures these things look amazing, and, while they're lovingly produced they seem small and inconsequential when taken out of the box. Also, the lack of a Crystal Skull piece is noticeable. I would have like a small glass skull paperweight or something like that.
Anyway, this set is a must-own for any lover of the series or blu-ray collector. Personally, I like all four films and wouldn't want this set to have any missing.
Lastly - for the first time ever Temple of Doom IS uncut!!! I'd never seen this version before and it is great to finally own it.

A note on the sound - the ONLY language in DTS is English, the other languages (German, French, Spanish) are only in Dolby Digital 5.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful transition to Blu Ray, 6 Sep 2013
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Why is this box set so expensive when trilogies, quadrilogies and antholgies of other film franchises are so much cheaper?
I think the answer to that is that the films are still so popular and watchable time and time again.

Indy Has become such a heroic figure over the years. Whilst the character of an adventurer was nothing new, the idea of a nerdy professor turning into a dashing gun-totting whip-cracking hero was totally different. Harrison Ford played the part perfectly and deserves a lot of credit for bringing the character to life.

I don't think many would argue that the original film was the best, but there are a lot of arguments over the next few films. I didn't particularly rate the Crystal Skull, but at the same time it was a fix that the Indy fans needed, myself included.

I took the plunge and paid out for the Blu-Ray versions and I am so glad I did. I have many films on DVD and I just know that they would be equally good/bad if they were on BR, but this set is so much better because of the higher resolution. There are many films that have had such a wow factor when they came out on BR and this is one of them. If you were to advertise the advantages of BR this film set would be in the top set. It is visually stunning, vibrant, bursting from the screen. Clarity of the characters faces and their expressions add life to the films.

This really is a showcase set. If you are a fan of Indy and are contemplating DVD or BR, go BR you will be so much happier that you did.

I don't comment on audio as I only have TV speakers and whilst the sound was clear and good, I am not in a position to say how much better it is than DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indiana Jones  The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free]
£57.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews