Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Value for Money
I've been an amateur astronomer for a while now and have a couple of telescopes both of which are pretty bulky. I also had a pair of 10x50 bins which are highly portable of course but with only 10 magnification and not a lot of light gathering ability, they were never going to show much detail. I bought these as a grab and go for when you just want to have a quick look...
Published on 22 Oct 2011 by Son of Sam

versus
40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IDEAL FOR THE STAR GAZING BEGINNER !
A good item for the star gazing beginner.
They certainly look the part, feel a good quality item and are quite powerfull.
Remember they are an impressive 25 x magnification!
However after two years of occasional use, both folding rubber eye pieces has now completly split and perished.
They are a little bulky , so you may find that a suitable heavy duty...
Published on 29 April 2012 by DARRIN from WALES


‹ Previous | 18 9 1014 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars delightfully powerfull., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71008 25x70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
I'm happy,no problems with these beautiful 'nocs. They are so powerful you need a steady hold. For new enthusiasts try something a bit less powerfull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars celestron skymaster binoculars, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: Celestron 71008 25x70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
The item arrived very quickly and I am impressed by the quality, also the 10 year UK guarantee. The price is very good and the binoculars are very good, much better than the ones they are replacing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product for stargazing, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71008 25x70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
When I eventually got to use these on a clear night I was amazed by what I was able to see. So many more stars come into view, it really was breathtaking.

I've been able to pick out plenty of deep sky objects, especially globular clusters like M13 are easy to see, though they appear just as cotton wool blobs. Open clusters like the coma cluster look beautiful through these, a sea of shimmering diamonds. The lagoon and orion nebula are pretty as well. Double stars like albireo can easily be split and the different colours appreciated. Fainter objects like the whirlpool galaxy are just out of reach in average suburban skies.

Solar system objects are where the higher magnification come its' own. Jupiter appears as a bright round disk and the galilean moons are easily visible. Saturn's rings are just visible at a push though not convincingly. The moon reveals plenty of details as well and is quite breathtaking. A sturdy tripod is needed for these objects though to see any detail without the image shaking.

These binoculars can become heavy after a while and take a bit of getting used to in order to get yourself comfortable. Starhopping takes some practice too as the relatively small field of vision means you can't normally see more than one star in a constellation at a time.

Overall I've loved these binoculars and seen more than I could have imagined. I do wonder if the 15x70 version are easier to get along with, I'm not sure whether the extra magnification in this pair is worth the smaller field of vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good for the money, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71008 25x70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
I live over looking the English Channel, and see plenty of shipping going by. The binoculars bring the shipping in very close..Also very good for observing the stars and planets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Binonculars, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71008 25x70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
Good quality binoculars with excellent range. However, you do need a tripod.
They are just too heavy to hold with your hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great binoculars for a beginner, 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71008 25x70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
As I beginner I grew to love these binoculars. While heavy you can still hold them in your hands for a while, in fact they are just on the border of requiring a tripod (always useful in order to get the most of them).

My only (partial) regret is that you won't get to see anything deep-space. To start in that direction, I was told that a minimum of 25x100 is required ... and that was true.

In any case, for the price this is one heck of a bargain to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the less serious user, but not field-glasses for the casual, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Michael Ashton "An OLD fan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celestron 71008 25x70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
Excellent value, really well made and properly aligned (which at this power is essential). Not light, but very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... on top of a large hill these bins offer fantastic viewings over both the heavens and distant, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71008 25x70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
Living on top of a large hill these bins offer fantastic viewings over both the heavens and distant land
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars he is very happy with the purchase, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71008 25x70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
Bought as a present for my husband, he is very happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71008 25x70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
I use it to view the surface of the moon. It is a powerful binoculars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1014 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews