Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, brutal, but essential reading
Icek Kuperberg was a young Polish Jew with a promising future when Hitler invaded Poland, thereby changing the course of his life irrevocably. Cast into a world of concentration camps and slave labour, Icek used his engineering skills to stay as useful as possible in order to avoid being exterminated and also in an attempt to stave off starvation by earning an extra crust...
Published on 2 Jan. 2011 by J. Cooper

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but far-fetched
I am a very keen reader of anything to do with the Holocaust and will read anything I can get my hands on. I work as a librarian so am very fortunate to be able to access other archives. This book was, no doubt, heart-wrenching and we all know the appalling conditions these people lived in while in concentration camps, and also the sadistic way the Nazi's treated the...
Published on 12 Jan. 2013 by Faith2011


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Well written book, 23 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memoirs of a Holocaust Survivor: Icek Kuperberg (Kindle Edition)
A well written book on a subject which obviously the author was well positioned to write about.It details the account of the life and experiences of the author I did feel as though the book was quite short but it still gives you the flavor of the terrible times the author had during that period,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memoirs of a Holocaust Survivor: Icek Kuperberg (Kindle Edition)
This is a very concise memoir. The brutality, deprivation and barbaric cruelty that Icek Kuperberg witnessed and suffered himself hits you like a sledgehammer. How anyone survived the Holocaust is a miracle. May the survivors stories forever be told, because we must never, ever forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holocaust Survivor, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memoirs of a Holocaust Survivor: Icek Kuperberg (Kindle Edition)
My father fought in the 2nd World War while serving in the Royal Navy. I was always fascinated by his accounts of what he went through. I enjoyed this book for the same reason and believe that this must never be forgotten and never be allowed to happen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A man will to live, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memoirs of a Holocaust Survivor: Icek Kuperberg (Kindle Edition)
A sad story of a time when being Jewish was a death sentence. However the way he struggled to survive and the chances he took left you wondering wether he had a guardian angel who would not let him die. Never forget never let it happen again to any race .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 25 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Memoirs of a Holocaust Survivor: Icek Kuperberg (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, couldn't put it down it and read it within a day. I found it to be very well written and the author paints a vivid picture of his experiences. Very raw and thought provoking, I would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memoirs of a Holocaust Survivor: Icek Kuperberg (Kindle Edition)
This is an outstanding memoir. Clear, simply written. Not sentimental. Just a straightforward memoir of what happened to one man, written in a factual manner. Forget many other books and films on the topic, this is the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true tale of survival against all the odds, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memoirs of a Holocaust Survivor: Icek Kuperberg (Kindle Edition)
Icek has written this inspiring true account of his survival against all the odds in the concentration camps. Incredible and fascinating. I hope that he and his wife are both enjoying a long and happy retirement in Florida.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a strong man, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memoirs of a Holocaust Survivor: Icek Kuperberg (Kindle Edition)
I visited Poland and with my wife and friends was amazed at the size of Auschwitz we where moved to tears how you survived those camps is beyond me God bless you what a great book thank you for telling your story.
..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tearjerker, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memoirs of a Holocaust Survivor: Icek Kuperberg (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant read that almost seemed unbelievable, unfortunately it was all true. A great read for anyone who likes true life stories or who is interested in the horrors of genocide. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Dec. 2012
By 
Njcrewe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memoirs of a Holocaust Survivor: Icek Kuperberg (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very interesting and emotional at times it's so hard to imagine what they went through I'm very grateful for the freedom I have once you start reading you won't be able to stop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews