Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good game
Good things;
-Very cheap
-Good storyline
-Loads of options to do in the game
-better graphics than the ps2

bad things;
- runs slowly when there is a lot of acrivity in the game
-Takes ages to install
-requires the cd to play the game

Good game overall
Published on 13 Oct 2011 by Luke Newman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard
Disc came in a bad state. Big thick scratches all the the disc, also get half way in to the game. Ive tried it on windows 7 laptop and my windows 8 computer, which are both gaming computers and the game still crashes.
Published 22 months ago by Darryl mcmanus


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good game, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Luke Newman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC (DVD-ROM)
Good things;
-Very cheap
-Good storyline
-Loads of options to do in the game
-better graphics than the ps2

bad things;
- runs slowly when there is a lot of acrivity in the game
-Takes ages to install
-requires the cd to play the game

Good game overall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time great?, 6 Sep 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC (DVD-ROM)
This game must be one of the all time greats. From a seemingly confusing and humble start, the game just grows and grows as Carl Johnson gets involved acros a huge landscape of amazing locales and imaginative situations. An excellent teaching experience in ghetto culture while, at the end, all the story comes together in the final showdown. A game to play and play again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game that will forever be one of the greatest!, 14 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC (DVD-ROM)
Well where do I begin? A game that was initially released as a Playstation 2 title in 2004 Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is considered, by many, to be the greatest Grand Theft Auto title to date. This game was revolutionary in many ways; it contained a map of such a size that it would embarrass most current generation games, it had a voice acting list that has to be seen to be believed and it had a hugely compelling story-line with in-game mechanics that took all the best aspects from the previous two GTA 3 games and made them better. If this was not enough there are so many extra things that you can do whilst not following the main story, this can be anything from visiting the gym to increase CJ's muscle stats, entering a shooting range to increase your weapon skills or going to a driving school to improve your skills in various modes of transport. As introduced in Vice City you will find yourself flying helicopters, driving a huge variety of vehicles and riding on sea in speed boats, there is literally so much that this game has to offer.

I was one of the many that had this game on the Playstation 2 many years ago. After recently purchasing a high-end multimedia computer I was told that the PS2 version cannot be compared to the PC version as the latter is so vastly superior. Once I installed the game I went into the settings menu to find many settings that were fully adjustable and naturally I maxed them all out to see what would happen, this customization included everything from 1080p video to full render distance (something the PS2 suffered GREATLY with). When I went to start a new game I was blown away by how fast this game loaded. All that owned this on the Playstation 2 will remember just how long this game took to load up (after all it was a huge game for its time) but on the PC it literally took around 2 seconds to load the entire game. When the game began I instantly noticed just how much better this game looked visually. I could see buildings all the way in the distance that I never remembered being there, the character models and cars looked colourful and detailed, the entire image was sharp and clean with none of that infamous 'blurry' effect that the Playstation 2 version had. Playing this on the PC was like playing an entirely different game to what I remember and I found myself completely hooked on this game once more.

One of the biggest differences between the PC and the console version is the control system. When playing this on the computer it quickly became obvious that this game was designed for the sluggish lock-on system that the Playstation 2 version had. I say this because when you have a computer mouse giving you pin-point free aim accuracy whilst you use the keyboard to crouch, roll or strafe you find yourself effortlessly landing head-shots on all your enemies before they even get the chance to get near you. This control system only gets better when driving a car as you can control the car in its entirety with your left hand on the keyboard whilst using the mouse to rotate the camera around the car so you will always know what is coming. The control system on the PC feels complete and well thought out and it rendered the game far easier than I recall (although that could just me being poor on the PS2 due to naivety!). In addition to the controls and graphics being far better the PC also allows you to link your own music library to the game which you access via the radio stations in a vehicle, I felt this was a good addition as you can add a personal touch to your gaming experience during missions that were not there before.

With all this said it is clear that the claim of the PC version being superior to its Playstation 2 counter-part holds credence. In addition to all the benefits mentioned in the review one cannot forget mentioning the huge MOD community that Grand Theft Auto games possess. One trip to the 'gta-downloads' website will present to you hundreds of modifications a player can make to their game to enhance their gaming experience even further.

If you are someone who wishes to relive a fantastic game with a vastly superior gaming experience then the PC version of San Andreas is a must. If you are someone who wishes to play this game for the first time but are unsure of what platform to play it on then the PC must be taken in consideration providing you have the hardware to play it. A fantastic game that will never get old, I highly recommend to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes time to get used to., 3 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC (DVD-ROM)
The game is exactly like the ps2 version apart from, different controls which take time to get used to and better graphics. It's easier to play if you use a joypad or a usb xbox360 controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT!!!, 12 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC (DVD-ROM)
This game is AWESOME!!

Big world
Great gameplay
Brilliant fun

Just 3 reasons to buy it.

WHY ARE YOU STILL READING THIS!!

If you want a fun sand box, gangsta shooting, drive bying, sky diving, plane flying, helicopter shooting, bazooka firing game then this is for you.

Oh and you can go to the gym. HA HA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's easy peasy, even on Windows 7 64bit, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC (DVD-ROM)
I don't know how so many folks had trouble installing this, it's easy peasy, even on Windows 7 64bit, if you go into Properties before you install it and tell it that you want it on Windows 7, what could be easier. You do have to have the disc in when you play the game, and a Windows pop up does tell you that the colour tone gets changed whilst you play the game, but, it changes back again when you're finished, so, no problems really, I don't know what all the fuss was about.
I can't give it anything less than 5 stars, the sound is brilliant, the graphics a bit ropey although it is 10 years old and I'm playing with a 2GB card installed, so, I can't expect everything, but, the game is just how it was all those years ago, absolutely fantastic, now I just have to remember how to ride that bike.......lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars #!"£$% great :), 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC (DVD-ROM)
This is a great game but its a pity it wont run on windows 7 it runs superb on xp (make sure you read the recommended requirements before you buy it thou) it says it runs on vista but I ain't tested it on that
its funny, violent, and has loads of swearing but it a pegi 18 so you should expect that.
lets you play your own songs on the radio as you are driving.
loads to do
probably the best gta game for pc as its not riddled with bugs like gta 4.
gta 5 is a better game but that is not out till next month on pc(i have it on ps3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brill game for the pc, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC (DVD-ROM)
the game was delivered on time and my son loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC (DVD-ROM)
This game is one of the best games I have played it is full of action realistic missions and the graphics aren't too bad either. The game came very quickly and although the first install didn't work too well the game played fine after that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dated but awesome, 15 May 2014
By 
M. E. S. Downing (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC (DVD-ROM)
Yes the graphics are dated, but it's still funny, the characters are great, the storyline engaging, the music enjoyable, the everything!!!! My first entry into the GTA world, and much better on PC, this is definitely one of the highlights of my gaming life - even thinking about it makes me smile and wish for amnesia so I could experience it for the first time all over again!!!! You will get to love San Andreas, and when the final credits roll - beg for more missions so you can stay with CJ, there are very few games where you will get the same feeling.

Opened my eyes to new games, new music - an absolute classic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC
GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS PC by ROCKSTAR GAMES (Windows Vista / XP)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews