Customer Reviews


247 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


213 of 231 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish Entertainment
'The Book of Eli' is a post-apocalyptic action film that released in 2010 to mixed reveiws and deserved box-office success.

The movie is set thirty years after an apocalyptic event and shows the mysterious Eli (Denzel Washington) travelling on foot towards the west coast of the United States to deliver an important book to a place of safety. During the...
Published on 12 Mar 2010 by Mitun

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average and disappointing
I had been looking forward to watching this ever since it first came out. Reviews sounded good and the concept appealed to me.

Early in the film, however, I was disappointed to learn that the 'book' being referred to was simply a copy of the bible. There was scope for it to be something more abstract and complex but alas...

There was also only one...
Published 6 months ago by A. Wild


‹ Previous | 122 23 24 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent,, 31 July 2010
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film,
Some bits are a bit desolate, for want of a better word, but there are some excellent action bits too.
It does leave you with questions, and it does tackle a difficult subject of religion.

The film asks the questions of how society would form after an apocalyptic event and how some people would try to grab power. It answers these questions pretty well, but leaves a little to the imagination.

Some people seem to have seen it as pro-Christianity, while I thought the overall feeling was quite ambiguous, with a fair chunk of anti-Christianity to balance it out. I am an atheist, but this isn't a film that will divide opinion based on religious beliefs, as is has things to please or anger both sides depending on your open-mindedness. Near the end I was really hoping that the film wouldn't firmly sit on one side of the fence, and I was not disappointed.

It will more likely divide opinion on the tempo of the film or the darkness/bleakness of the camera work.

There is also a large hint of Zatochi, the classic Japanese films about the blind samurai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 26 July 2010
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
Follows a man who is caught up in a post-apocalyptic world with fate on his side. He travels west in search of a place he can leave his book but comes across a town what want it too. A good watch, good story and good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not one of the greats, 7 May 2011
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see this at the theatre and I have to say it was a disappointment.
The thing that I remember most from it is a background rape scene from one of the large fight sequences.
I remember cringing in the theatre when that bit came on. Not a good experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nasty, 29 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
Good graphics and very moody setting which appealed at first. However, as I went allong I couldn't get the volume right as they were whisspering all the time, and then it was just darn right nasty. After the 2nd rape scene I'd had enough an switched it off. It may have ended ok, I thought it was nasty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great apocalyptic movie, 30 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Eli [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What a great movie , miles better than The Road . Lots more action and a nice twist at the end. Great sound and picture on the Blue Ray. A must for action lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HIGH-DEF DIGEST Verdict, 11 Jun 2010
By 
IMP (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Book of Eli [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Coming from the talents of the Hughes brothers, 'The Book of Eli' follows a lone, determined man through a spiritual journey in a post-apocalyptic wasteland of aimless, desolate souls. Although the narrative doesn't seem too concerned with a deeper theological discussion, the movie still works as an interesting actioner of a world just surviving decades after a nuclear holocaust, thanks mostly to the tension-filled performances of Denzel Washington and Gary Oldman. The Blu-ray edition of 'Eli' comes with an excellent audio/video presentation that nicely reflects the harsh climate conditions presented in the film. The supplements are not very extensive but they provide some good background info on the production. Overall, the movie is an entertaining feature, and fans will be happy with the entire package. (HighDefDigest.com)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this DVD, 12 July 2010
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
If you think that because it has Denzel Washington in, it's a good film, you would be mistaken. All about nowt, is the phrase i would use. A dark and moody film, that we have all seen before, and done a lot better, a big dissapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars films, 6 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
I received updates of order confirmation and dispatch of order within a day of ordering which was very helpful.
The film was very good although being a fan of Denzil Washington did help!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss the parable, 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Book of Eli [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This story is an unbelievable metaphor for the deeper meaning behind the new testament - particularly Pauls work.. Highlighting fact that Gods word is unbreakable.. The way i saw it Eli is a post "revelation" epistle / prophet if you like, restoring Gods written word... (if u thought the apocalyptic part was vague then please make a film based on your interpretation of the book of revelation) Please please read 2 Timothy in your bible - presuming u have one, it's about 4 pages and will take 5 minutes. It will give you a little indent into where the film comes from..

Peoples lack of understanding of the film for me illuminates the sad fact that people are separated from God and are unaware of his word.. Its great to see fils like this been made.. Paul was blinded on the way to demascus, suffered relentless persecution in his mission of starting the early church but in the words of Eli at the end (and more important Pauls) "he fought the good fight and he finished the good race" 2 timothy 4:7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who said the bible was boring?, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. R. Brown "Macsdad" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Eli [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is clever, well acted tale, lacking only in a brief explanation the thirty year old apocalyptic roots of the 'event' which underpins the story line. It is perhaps difficult to accept Washington's swiftly filmed successes in the fight scenes until ultimately his true role in the tale is uncovered. The ending, with it's allegorical links to Christianity and the disciples - in this case a youthful, female and beautiful one - is near impossible to foresee (forgive the pun) and is both moving and thought provoking. A little piece of movie magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 24 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Eli [Blu-ray]
The Book of Eli [Blu-ray] by Allen Hughes (Blu-ray - 2010)
£5.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews