Customer Reviews


286 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


216 of 234 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish Entertainment
'The Book of Eli' is a post-apocalyptic action film that released in 2010 to mixed reveiws and deserved box-office success.

The movie is set thirty years after an apocalyptic event and shows the mysterious Eli (Denzel Washington) travelling on foot towards the west coast of the United States to deliver an important book to a place of safety. During the...
Published on 12 Mar. 2010 by Mitun

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Is that in the book?.....
The world has become a lawless civilisation where people must kill or be killed. The barren roads belong to gangs of cutthroats who rob and kill for water, a pair of shoes, a lighter, or just for fun.

Eli is a peaceful man who only acts in self defence, and becomes a warrior with unbelievable killing skills when he is challenged.

After the war and...
Published 6 days ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 121 22 2329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eli - really rather good, 18 Oct. 2010
(Blu-ray version)
The film starts with monotone imagery which is perhaps hard to settle down with, however it is really very well shot, and this continues throughout. Not only that; we are perpetually accompanied by a soundtrack that doesn't intrude but is perhaps the most powerful element of the film. Along the way we enjoy some good performances by a really good cast. The characters have a good degree of believability. There's perhaps a touch too much Spaghetti Western mixed in here, and certainly too much of the stereotyping of the bad guys. Nevertheless, with one issue which I'll come to later on, this is an immersive and stylish film. There's some real directorial flair in evidence here, and when combined with the excellent performance that Washington puts in it works very well.

From the main actors we get good performances, although there are moments of daftness where the script doesn't hang together, and this really does badly affect the ability of the peripheral cast to deliver, although they do very well overall and nearly get there despite the script. Jennifer Beals is a good example here.

The first problem the film has is that it attaches itself to a strongly religious concept. The film-makers could have easily reduced the focus on one religion and that would have only improved the film. Reworking the book as "one of the great books" for example would have relieved the feeling of being preached to. Secondly the principal henchmen as with many films just seem like cannon-fodder, although there is one well-executed, but weakly explained, attempt to recify this.

So to conclude 4/5. Better than 95% of the films that you might stumble across. However if you have strong religious or anti-religious views then you may not like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Man on a mission, 6 Jun. 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
In January this year two movies showing people struggling to survive after the collapse of civilisation were released quite close together. But this and The Road [DVD] [2009] although neither give the reason why civilisation collapsed and both concern themselves primarily with how people survive afterwards, are rather different films entirely.

This is the story of Eli. He walks alone, through a devastated america, ever heading west. In this shattered landscape he hunts to survive. And whichever animal is bigger will usually come out on top in such an instance, as we find an opening scene that may put off a few animal lovers but isn't gratuitous, just an entry into this world.

Eli is on a mission. That he doesnt fully understand. But it's a matter of faith to him. To deliver a very precious book to somewhere out west. In the meantime, Carnegie, the boss of a small town, would like a copy of the book as well. Because the words in it are just what he needs in order to inspire his people.

When he finds what Eli has, two mens obesssions will collide. And their lives, plus that of a young girl who gets caught up in between them, will never be the same.

Featuring two strong performances from Denzel Washington and Gary Oldman, actors who can be relied on to provide strong characters and never let you down, this is an interesting combination of spaghetti western style action and post apocalypse drama. And it's a strong look at faith and belief. The strength it can give you, how you can get a bit too wrapped up it, and how it can show people - such as the aforemtioned young girl - that there's more to life if you try and find it.

Superb cinematography and subtle use of colour does create a very effective landscape. And there's some clever plotting also, part of a tale that unfolds very nicely.

The dvd has the following set up option:

Subtitles: English

Language tracks: English

Extras: A lost tale - billy. A five minute long motion comic, with an introduction from one of the directors, that fills in some of Carnegie's back story. Initially what may seem like a standard tale of unhappy youth does manage, via a neat juxtaposition into a film clip at the end, to give some good insight into the character.

Starting over: a twelve minute long piece about how civilisations fall and what people do after. Quite thought provoking viewing.

Eli's journey: a seventeen minute long piece about other issues raised by the film. Also quite thoughtful viewing.

Deleted/alternate scenes: four short scenes running for two minutes total, and you have to watch them all at once. But a couple do add a little character depth.

The book of eli soundtrack: a five minute long piece with one of the directors and the composer of the film score discussing the latters favourite sections of it. It's a bit short and inconsequential.

But all in all a pretty good package for a pretty good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars quite disappointing, 2 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Eli (DVD)
Would not bother if I knew that it's a film about the bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only just missed 5 stars, 21 Jan. 2011
By 
A. Hawtin (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
I realy enjoyed watching this film. It's well shot. Great casting and generally a good plot with a good twist.

Now even though I thought this film was very good there are just a few problems that niggled at me through it. There was never a proper explanation of why the world is how it is. There is brief talk of a war and a bright flash but you never get much information about it. And I think aswell with films that have twists there should maybe be subtle hints through the film as to what it might be, now looking back on it this film didn't really have many. None that you would have picked up on while watching the film the first time anyway. This might take a second watch.

I feel as if I'm picking holes in this film for no reason. It is a very good film and I would definatly watch it again and suggest it to people. But there are just those tiny little details that are stopping me giving it the full 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting final scenes, 15 Sept. 2010
I feel that this film is underestimated by so many people. With many messages that are very deep and not sure even whether they are intentional or just something that the viewer can read into depending on how they are viewing in the first instance. The last scenes of the film are really quite apt at this time especially when the bible is placed on the shelf at the end and the fact that it is placed at the side of an already shelved Koran. It leaves the viewer if they are really taking notice of the film consider so many different aspects of whether the director is trying to convey any particular message. This is one of those films that when you watch it again and again you see more and hear more withon it - I adore the way that it as been put together and would have loved to have seen a version with any outakes added in. So yes a great movie and even greater if you really watch it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Denzel, what were you thinking?, 8 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. I. S. Fairholm "epilepticgibbon" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
A loner walks a post-apocalyptic landscape with loads of guns and a Bible. It's basically 'The Road' with more violence and a lot less humanity. The Hughes brothers direct with some style but the normally dependable Denzel Washington looks bored, Gary Oldman chews the scenery in his now overly familiar Hollywood villain role, the continuity and plot is all over the place & the twist ending is one that even M Night Shyamalan would have balked at. Ultimately the film starts well enough but continues to go downhill rapidly from there on in. I really couldn't recommend watching it (I'd say watch 'Mad Max 2' again instead if that's the itch you're looking to scratch, and if you haven't seen 'Mad Max 2' yet, what are you doing wasting your time with this?) but obviously your mileage may vary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mila Kunis? Why?, 17 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
A decent movie, with a decent story.....but why is Mila Kunis given soooo much screen time? Why was she chosen for the role in the first place?
Answer: the pervy director was at it again on the "casting couch". You know exactly what I mean. Two-thirds of the way through the movie, this so-called "actress", gets a designer wardrobe and shades (in a post apocalyptic story, I kid you not!). Thereafter, she features prominently. We all know that the director and producers were given their appropriate "hoochie-coochie payment" by M.Kunis, and the film suffers as a result.....
Excelsiour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars And todays message is...., 27 Mar. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
The utter garbage which emanates from the Hollywood tripe machine, brings us yet more of the ever increasing dross. All part of the sickening 'Americanisation', with a capital A, of the planet.

If one takes anything from this nonsense it is that deep within the american (dream) mind-set exists the inherent message of greed and arrogance which has become a persistent theme in all of Hollywoods celluloid pap, simply feeding into the lowest common denominator of the human psyche...violent trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 9 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We normally ignore all the extras on a disc, but we so did not want to leave the "moment" when this film ended that we watched all the extras and were in a bit of daze when we finally ran out of related stuff to watch. Unusually for post apocalyptic movies this is definitely NOT and action movie. It's much more thoughtful and very atmospheric. Denzel as Eli is totally believable, even if the "baddies" are a bit stereo typed for my taste. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Denzel is brilliant, plot farcical, 2 Nov. 2010
By 
J. Porter (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
The plot makes no sense unless you happen to be a fundamentalist Christian not given to thinking things through. Then again, if you treat the film as a thought-piece or simply a message about words being powerful well then, it's ok, I suppose. The cameos rocked, the use of colour was very good, the tension was well played, overall this is enjoyable. Now I think about it, the plot is only as daft as a lot of popular logic is these days, it's just when they base a whole film around a daft premise it gets hard to forgive. I'm glad I saw it but would never have sought it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 2329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Eli [DVD]
The Book of Eli [DVD] by Allen Hughes (DVD - 2010)
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews