Customer Reviews


274 Reviews
5 star:
 (143)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This road is no place for you.
The Book of Eli is directed by The Hughes Brothers and written by Gary Whitta. It stars Denzel Washington, Gary Oldman, Mila Kunis, Ray Stevenson and Jennifer Beales. Music is by Atticus Ross and photography by Don Burgess. Story is set thirty years after a nuclear war and finds Washington as Eli, who is travelling on foot across the desolated landscape to the West of the...
Published on 29 Aug. 2011 by Spike Owen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average and disappointing
I had been looking forward to watching this ever since it first came out. Reviews sounded good and the concept appealed to me.

Early in the film, however, I was disappointed to learn that the 'book' being referred to was simply a copy of the bible. There was scope for it to be something more abstract and complex but alas...

There was also only one...
Published 11 months ago by A. Wild


‹ Previous | 121 22 2328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book of Eli, 6 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this based on Denzil Washington and host of other star actors. Struggled to get going and ended up being a cross between Mad Max, I am Legend and some odd religious movie all shot in sepier. Not one of Denzil's best I would stick to Crimson Tide or Man on Fire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only just missed 5 stars, 21 Jan. 2011
By 
A. Hawtin (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
I realy enjoyed watching this film. It's well shot. Great casting and generally a good plot with a good twist.

Now even though I thought this film was very good there are just a few problems that niggled at me through it. There was never a proper explanation of why the world is how it is. There is brief talk of a war and a bright flash but you never get much information about it. And I think aswell with films that have twists there should maybe be subtle hints through the film as to what it might be, now looking back on it this film didn't really have many. None that you would have picked up on while watching the film the first time anyway. This might take a second watch.

I feel as if I'm picking holes in this film for no reason. It is a very good film and I would definatly watch it again and suggest it to people. But there are just those tiny little details that are stopping me giving it the full 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confusing yet brilliant!!, 16 Jan. 2011
By 
J. G. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
Denzel Washington is a man who is walking to protect a very sacred book and alot of stuff happens while he is trying to protect it!

When the film ended,i was so confused,i had to look up stuff to try ad find out what happened but i eventually realized...plus,I couldnt hear a thing when me and my friends were watching this,beause most of the time,we were talking;luckily,i have this so i can watch it again,on my own!

I highly reccommend this movie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Eli, 13 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
An enjoyable film. Not a classic but certainly watchable. I am sure other people have described the film in detail so I wont do that. Good twist at the end though. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Denzel, what were you thinking?, 8 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. I. S. Fairholm "epilepticgibbon" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
A loner walks a post-apocalyptic landscape with loads of guns and a Bible. It's basically 'The Road' with more violence and a lot less humanity. The Hughes brothers direct with some style but the normally dependable Denzel Washington looks bored, Gary Oldman chews the scenery in his now overly familiar Hollywood villain role, the continuity and plot is all over the place & the twist ending is one that even M Night Shyamalan would have balked at. Ultimately the film starts well enough but continues to go downhill rapidly from there on in. I really couldn't recommend watching it (I'd say watch 'Mad Max 2' again instead if that's the itch you're looking to scratch, and if you haven't seen 'Mad Max 2' yet, what are you doing wasting your time with this?) but obviously your mileage may vary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book of Eli, 19 Dec. 2010
By 
G. Edwards "PistonBroke." (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
A very slow movie, and a wee bit over the top with the abilities of a blind man.
But no worse than many others. Enjoyable all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is he God, 26 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
Wasnt sure of what the film was about initialy,but it unfolds that Eli could have been God's messenger,A good film,I enjoyed it as was different. played well by Denzel Washington.Shows you also to stand up for what you beleive in,and not be bullied,He protects the book,being the bible,Sad ending tho.Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Denzel is brilliant, plot farcical, 2 Nov. 2010
By 
J. Porter (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
The plot makes no sense unless you happen to be a fundamentalist Christian not given to thinking things through. Then again, if you treat the film as a thought-piece or simply a message about words being powerful well then, it's ok, I suppose. The cameos rocked, the use of colour was very good, the tension was well played, overall this is enjoyable. Now I think about it, the plot is only as daft as a lot of popular logic is these days, it's just when they base a whole film around a daft premise it gets hard to forgive. I'm glad I saw it but would never have sought it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, not quite executed as well as it could have been, 29 July 2010
By 
S. Hayes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
My first review, but wanted to review this after reading some of the reviews here. The movie is about Denzel Washington transporting the last Bible across a post-apocalyptic US and is based around a great concept. Denzel Washington is under-stated and laid back, keeping things nicely chilled, which contrasts well with the action sequences which are mostly quite brutal. Gary Oldman is excellent, with a character that has some similarities with the character he played in Fifth Element. Mila Kunis is also excellent. Overall, this is a thought-provoking movie with long spaces (possibly overly long at times?) for you to reflect and consider what's going on - with suitable colour grading throughout the movie to reflect the often sombre world the story is set in. As others have pointed out, there are some immense landscapes, matched with suitable soundscapes.

Some reviewers seem very agitated that it's the Bible and accuse the movie of 'religious' overtones (by this they mean Christian). But to me that's unfair (note one of the final scenes as the Bible is placed next to the Torah and the Koran). Yes this does have Denzel Washington quoting Bible verses, but I don't think this has a 'religious' agenda. And so what if it has?! The Bible has brought hope and life-change for billions around the globe through history!

An excellent concept and movie that doesn't quite reach its potential which is a pity. Still, a good action movie, recommended for some thought-provoking self-reflection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 23 July 2010
This review is from: The Book of Eli [DVD] (DVD)
I like most of Denzel Washington's films and this doesn't disappoint. Some great visuals and a strong storyline. It does have a semi religious theme but even if you are an angry closed minded atheist (like some reviewers) it shouldn't stop it from being an enjoyable film. Some excellent action scenes and definitely disagree with the review that said it was slow - I thought the pace was an ideal mix of action and story progression. Well worth ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 2328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Eli [DVD]
The Book of Eli [DVD] by Allen Hughes (DVD - 2010)
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews