Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's Back! & this time its definitely the Cher we all love!
I was always going to buy this album, but I am presently surprised.
I was expecting a CD full of tracks attempting to re-create the Believe phenomenon, and yet still sounding all the same.
But oh, how one can be so wrong.
'Believe' gave us 9 new tracks and 1 remix. Here we have 12 all new numbers, each one of them a unique marvel.
Thankfully, not all...
Published on 22 Nov. 2001 by Lee Thompson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cher Bargain
I saw this CD in a 'poundshop' and thought it was worth a try so you can imagine my surprise when I saw it being sold on Amazon for just over £11.00, it is really quite good, although it is not classic cher it does have a good sound to it and I have been enjoying listening to it my car
Published on 5 Jan. 2008 by Mark Woodbine


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's Back! & this time its definitely the Cher we all love!, 22 Nov. 2001
By 
Lee Thompson (Bournemouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Living Proof (Audio CD)
I was always going to buy this album, but I am presently surprised.
I was expecting a CD full of tracks attempting to re-create the Believe phenomenon, and yet still sounding all the same.
But oh, how one can be so wrong.
'Believe' gave us 9 new tracks and 1 remix. Here we have 12 all new numbers, each one of them a unique marvel.
Thankfully, not all the tracks have the extensive vocal treatments like 'The Music's no good...', and for the first time since the likes of her 'Heart of Stone' album, many of tracks show the power in Cher's magnificent voice.
Like 'All or Nothing' from her last release, the tracks that do use sythesized vocals executes them to great effect. They are excellently placed for maximum effect, and they compliment, rather than the overload the tracks.
Its like 'Heart of Stone' Cher, with a touch of the originiality of 'Believe' (single), and rhythm for clubs, parties and bedrooms alike.
Will the tracks get in to the charts? Yes.
Will Cher fans like the album? Definitely.
'Song for the Lonely' & 'When the Money's Gone' are two tracks to watch out for.
Utterly Compelling.
We love you Cher x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Different Kind of Cher, 25 Nov. 2001
By 
A. Bennett "Will 'vouge' For Food" (New Hampsha) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Living Proof (Audio CD)
Cher is back...and how. Years after "Believe", she who is, returns with the best album of her career. Why? Well just listen to "Living Proof" and find out why. Although not a catchy as "Believe", "The Music's No Good Without You" is an instant Cher classic, moody and sexy. A sultry sex kitten track. The album's strongest song "Different Kind of Love Song" is mega hot. Taking the vocoder effect to the max(it always sounds best on Cher's vocals!), this is an dance classic. It is simply heaven sent, after the first listen you to will be sing "I am part of you..."-fabulous!!! I have never in my life heard a dance track like "(This Is A)Song For The Lonely". It's a revelation! So good. "Real Love" is very Daft Punk, and "When The Money's Gone" is very Cher. Her cover of Amber's "Love One Another" is my new battle cry...let's all try and be more like Cher! The album has a mega dance flavor, it finishes what "Believe" started-it does it well. Cher is so suited to dance music. Her vocal have never sounded better, they soar on every track. This album will become a classic Cher album, and no doubt will be a huge smash. It if isn't...then hell has froze over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A living icon of genius!, 14 Jan. 2002
By 
Gary Clark "Dance music fan!" (Irvine, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Living Proof (Audio CD)
After hearing "The Music's No Good Without You", which let's face it, isn't a patch on "Believe", I was a bit concerned that Cher had got stuck in a world where electronica would constantly distort her amazing vocals. Thankfully, after finally deciding to purchase this new album, my fears were unfounded.
Opening with "The Music's No Good Without You" probably wasn't the best move in the world, because it is in my opinion the weakest track (although I must admit it is starting to grow on me!). However, the rest of the album is a non-stop dance spectacular...
2. Alive Again - produced by Chicane, this tune has a great feel-good factor, with a hook in the chorus that'll never leave your head!! 10/10
3. (This Is) A Song For The Lonely - hi-NRG dance groove with another anthemic chorus 9/10
4. A Different Kind Of Love Song - I love the bass line in this one; compliments Cher's vocals beautifully! 10/10
5. Rain, Rain - a slower pace for this one, produced by the geniuses at Stargate in Scandanavia; not their best song, but fits in perfectly on this album, and allows Cher to show off her great vocals! 8/10
6. Love So High - back to hi-NRG dance brilliance, this one has a great beat; just one question though...the line "I tie the sun around a cup" - how exactly do you do that?!?!?!?! 10/10
7. Body to Body, Heart to Heart - a latin flavour from one of the bestsongwriters of modern times, Diane Warren. Very sexy, imagine dancing the salsa to this, up close and personal with the one you love, nice! 9/10
8. Love Is A Lonely Place Without You - nice tune, although it does sound a bit half-hearted, not the best production either 7/10
9. Real Love - I love this! very up-to-date house groove...the verse builds up to the chorus beautifully, and Cher loves every minute of it!
10. Love One Another - another good dance tune 8/10
11. You Take It All - a change of style, Cher tries a bit of drum n bass...and pulls it off in spectacular fashion! Chicane provides great production to a simple yet intriguing song 9/10
12. When The Money's Gone - CHOOOON!!!! what more can i say? sound like the whole album builds up to this great anthem - one of the catchiest melodies on the album, and a future no.1 I'm sure!!! 10/10
If you liked Kylie's "Fever", but thought that it possibly could have been slightly better produced in places, then you need "Living Proof" by Cher. Here's hoping she continues to produce such high quality recordings for some years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than Believe, 23 Nov. 2001
By 
cohech2@usfca.edu (San Francisco, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Living Proof (Audio CD)
When I first heard the first single off this album, The Music's No Good Without You, I was initially dissappointed by it. It did grow on me later, but the big surprise was when I listened to the entire album. Living Proof may be a follow-up album, which makes it sound like it will just be a lesser version of the album that came before it, but it's actually better than Believe. Maybe there won't be one hit to make the amount of money Believe did, but several of the songs on this album are, I think, at least as good as the three best songs on Believe (the three best songs being Believe, Strong Enough, and All or Nothing). (This Is) A Song for the Lonely, Real Love, Love One Another, Body To Body, When the Money's Gone, and Different Kind of Love Song are all great dance songs. I could easily see any of those songs getting played so much that even people who love them would get tired of hearing them. Body To Body is essentially what Dove l'Amore could have been but wasn't. Song for the Lonely and Love One Another are effective for the same reason Believe was: they don't just make you want to dance, they also make you feel like you're an emotionally strong person and that life is actually really great. This is a great album, and it is significantly better than even most of the hype makes it sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cher's Best Album To Date!, 19 April 2006
This review is from: Living Proof (Audio CD)
Ok, I like Madonna, but why oh why doesn't cher get the attention she gets? Madonna throws out a bag of rubbish and the entire nation go crazy, and Cher releases an amazing album which puts Madonna's "Music" to shame and nobody cares!

The album starts with "The Music's No Good Without you" which is good, but is far from the best on the album, and it ends with the fabulous "When The Money's Gone" which is a great way to round off the album. The only remotely bad song is "Rain Rain" and it is by no means bad at all! It's just a little slow for the album I feel...

By far the best track on the album (and MY personal favourite song of all time) is (This is a) Song For The Lonely! Why it wasn't released in the UK is a mystery but it is certainly the stand-out track here, and I feel it should swap places with "The Music's No Good..." and be first on the album.

Other amazing songs include: "Alive Again", "Love So High", "A Different Kind Of Love Song", "Love Is A Lonely Place Without You" and her cover of Amber's (A very good artist who only seems to release albums in the US - Check her out too!) "Love One Another" which earned her a Grammy Nomination for 'Best Dance Recording'.

What are you waiting for? BUY THIS ALBUM!

1,000,000/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Living Proof" that Cher just gets better and better, 3 Dec. 2001
By 
A. Barrett "Adey" (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Living Proof (Audio CD)
I nearly didn't buy this album after hearing that the only modern Cher song was the lead track "Music's no good without you". After reading the credits I discover that the Metro Boys from Rive Driote Music (who brought us "Believe") have a huge input on the album and have produced her vocals on many tracks if not the entire track itself. List of producers/writers include: Mark Taylor/Brian Rawlings (Rive Droite), Chicane, and Rick Nowles!! The album is recorded and mixed in the UK and Norway as well as the US so has a fantastic European feal without being eurotrash. If you like "Believe" the album you will love this. It is a far more complete collection of songs, beautifully produced and mixed. Cher will undoubtadly never recreate the single success of "Believe" but that is hardly the point here, she has recorded and album that IS better than "Believe" and you should buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!! Cher tops herself with this great new album!!, 16 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Living Proof (Audio CD)
"Living Proof" could not be a less accurate title for this album. Despite having decades of albums under her belt and recently scoring a top 10 hit single in the U.K. entitled "The Music's No Good Without You," giving her a top 10 U.K. single for each of the past 5, yes 5, decades, Cher manages to create her best album yet. Not only is her voice crystal clear and the best it has ever sounded, but she combines great dance beats, inspiring lyrics, cool electronic effects, and an upbeat sound to make an unbelievable album. Whereas some critics bashed her previous album "Believe" for being impersonal, that cannot be said here. Cher combines the soul-searching lyrics of "It's A Man's World" with the awesome dance beats of "Believe" to create "Living Proof." Not only is it really fun to listen to and dance to, but you can get a lot out of the CD. High Points:
"The Music's No Good Without You" - Europe's 1st single - amazing beat with a catchy chorus and great lyrics. In Cher's own words, "haunting." Definately a dance-floor smash.
"Different Kind of Love Song" - one of the most uplifting and positive songs I've ever heard. This song forces you to smile whether you'd like to or not and has an awesome beat and lyrics to go with.
"Alive Again" - A bit slower and more mellow, but definately not 'sad.' "Alive Again" is a great song that deals with renewal and rebirth, and carries a great message. This song is pure Cher :)
"Rain Rain" - Cher has never done a song like this. It is amazing!! It's catchy but very introspective and approaches almost a R&B feel. Very, very cool :)
"Song for the Lonely" - prospective 1st U.S. single. The first time I heard this song I was totally taken. This song, Cher's favorite on the album, is a testament to personal strength and getting through the hard times. Cher's voice shines, the lyrics are amazing, awesome beat, melody, everything.
Other points: Remakes of "Love One Another" by Amber and "When the Money's Gone" by Bruce Roberts. Every song is amazing!!
This album is definately worth buying, regardless of whether you have liked any of Cher's previous works. Key points: amazing beats and upbeat, techno feel - groovy and inspring lyrics - Cher's best vocals yet - it's Cher!! Definate 5 stars :) Way to go Cher!! Congratulations on all of your hard work paying off in this excellent album :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Believe!!!, 18 Mar. 2002
By 
This review is from: Living Proof (Audio CD)
I didn't think it was possible, but Cher topped even "Believe"! I love this c.d.-the best track by far is "Different Kind of Love Song," definitely, with "Song for the Lonely," "Time After Time," "The Music's No Good Without You," and "When the Money's Gone" close behind. I feel that this is Cher's polished and better planned-out version of "Believe." The album has several more stronger tracks than its' predecessor, and she seems more suited to dance music than last time. Plus the c.d. art is gorgeous, giving us eye candy to look at at the same time! All in all, I definitely recommend this c.d.-with the exception of "Rain, Rain," I felt this whole c.d. was outstanding, and a must-have for every Cher fan! ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cher Rocks again! 10 stars and more, 26 Dec. 2001
By 
"bradt66@yahoo.com" (Manassas Park, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Living Proof (Audio CD)
I just received the import CD from the UK. OH MY GOD!! This has to be one of the best Cher albums in years. The tracks are ALL good. I am happy that the track "(This is a)Song for the Lonely" will be the first single released in the USA. After I read the credit notes, and the dedication Cher made to the NYC firefighters, police officers and survivors of Sept 11, this track just brought me to tears. She has raw emotion in this track, and with little use of the electronic voice enhancements, she scores a home run. The rest of the CD is awesome for dancing to, and should (if not already) be played in all the hot dance clubs. Don't miss this CD!! The woman ROCKS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't believe it? Cher's the Living Proof!, 19 Nov. 2001
By 
jenus@netvision.net.il (Rishon Lezion, Israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Living Proof (Audio CD)
The 3 years of wait since the release of Believe in 1998 was definitley worth it! Cher returns with a mesmerising album, Living Proof, probably the best one in her entire career! The first single, The Music's No Good Without You, is a great dance track, lots of vocoder effects, raising Cher's voice to a maximum level. Different kind of love song is another genius track, the vocoder being inserted exactly where it's needed. Song For The Lonley, her future US single, is another track that took my breath away. Body to Body, Heart to Heart is truly an amazing latin tune that kicks Dove Lamore's bu*t! Rain Rain is a magnificent R&B ballad. Living Proof - BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Living Proof
Living Proof by Cher
Buy MP3 Album£7.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews