Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rei Momo by David Byrne, 5 Oct 2000
This review is from: Rei Momo (Audio CD)
Former Talking Heads Frontman David Byrne takes the experimentation of music from around the world started in his album 'Uh-Oh' into the realm of Latin and South American/Mexican Music. Byrne's unique songwriting is put to a large number of Latin styles including Salsa, Merengue, Samba, and Cha Cha Cha among others, to create a smooth sounding mixing of Western and South American Music. Byrne's unique story telling lyrics are in evidence throughout, 'Dont Want to be Part of Your World' tells the story of children rebelling against their parents, and 'Carnival Girl' tells of an attraction to a beautiful girl by a man with little chance of getting her, but with hope as emphaasised by the lyrics 'I've seen grasses grow through rocks and stones'. The experimentation extends to the lyrics with many songs combining English with Spanish and/or Portugese and switching between them. Fans of more traditional latin music will appreciate this alot more than the fans of the latin/pop sound of Lou Bega and Ricky Martin (among others), although some may enjoy this. This album is also a good starting point for people to get into latin music, or as an alternative for people who want a latin side to their music but dont like messrs Martin, Bega and company. A very good album Indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired slice of musical craft, 21 Feb 2001
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rei Momo (Audio CD)
I love David Byrne. Never before has there been a musician with as much innovation or vision. Rei Momo is a truly wonderful album-possibly the most polished example of Byrne's solo work. On the surface an upbeat samba-inspired work but, as usual, there's a lot more to the former Talking Heads frontman's songs than meet the eye. Political messages and sociological acumen are cleverly woven into a fresh, alternative sound that borrows from other styles but has a flavour all of its own. Never one for the conventional, David Byrne is clearly different yet manages to avoid the pretentiousness that so many artists are resplendent of. Outstanding tracks are Make Believe Mambo, The Call of the Wild, Lie To Me and Marching Through the Wilderness- enough to suggest there's plenty of fuel in the Byrne tank yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time for a remaster?, 11 Jun 2011
This review is from: Rei Momo (Audio CD)
One of D Byrne's happiest, most accessible albums. Packed with great melodies, gorgeous instrumentation and arrangements, and subtly affecting lyrics, it's a unique hybrid. My favourite of his solo releases and worthy of a new, remastered release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ELEGANT AND ENJOYABLE, 23 July 2001
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rei Momo (Audio CD)
From the quirky and experimental music of Talking Heads to the joyful rhythms of Latin America, in a graceful leap. This is quite an accessible and versatile album (unlike some of Talking Heads' stuff) with elegant melodies and witty lyrics, easy to digest and enjoy. My favourites include Make Believe Mambo, Independence Day and The Rose Tattoo. If an album is judged by the quality of the songs, this one is way up there. I'm not sure, though, whether it will appeal to all Talking Heads fans. Better listen first, before you buy. But I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Positive Uplifting Humorous Album - It's David Byrne!!!, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. R. V. Ennis "bumblebert" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rei Momo (Audio CD)
Rei Momo (or translated "Carnival King") - Funny well observed lyrics and surely one of the best backing bands ever. Plus the fantastic Kirsty Maccoll on backing vocals! Always loved this. You can tap your foot to it and it makes you think. Nicex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 May 2007
By 
FRS (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rei Momo (Audio CD)
Don't be put off by the awful art-school mistake cover.

This is an accessible, enjoyable album, probably still his best solo effort.

Music that makes you think, or dance or smile, or often all three.

Buy this if what you want is another Talking Heads album, or would settle for Byrne's best solo work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 July 2009
By 
Mr. Harvey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rei Momo (Audio CD)
This is simply fantastic, unusual and innovative music for its time. Talking Heads meets latin America. The way the melodys are weaved around the latin American rythmes is superb. Buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rei Momo (Audio CD)
inventive as ever dig the rhythyms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another road on DB's musical map, 22 July 2010
By 
Mr. G. S. Walker "Geoff" (Bridgend, Wales.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rei Momo (Audio CD)
First let's deal with the "art school" cover
1. DB did indeed go to art school, and
2. If you look at all the T Heads albums covers - at least the first few - you will see a theme....he had almost an OCD about reproducing images of himeslf in different guises (connected with his borderline Aspergers possibly?)

The music.
It is wonderful, happy, well-crafted and - well - musical.
What stands out most of all is that he "gets" Latin music. Latin is a bit like Reggae - you have to get it to play it, and he does here in spadefuls.
No point in listing favourite tracks - we all have diferent favourites. Safe to say there are no duds here.
I met DB backstage after a gig in Barcelona last year on the "Everything that Happens" tour. The most marvellous thing about all this is that here is a man who is, frankly, awkward and uncommunicative when face to face (at least with strangers - which I was to him) yet place him in front of 1500 strangers with his white Fender strat and a polished and talented band and WOW!! - unimaginably, heart stoppingly good. And this album does the same thing for me.
Thankyou Mr Byrne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rei Momo
Rei Momo by David Byrne
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews