Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2000
This album rekindled my interest in rock music. At last a new band with a sound of their own. If you like all of Rush, Pink Floyd, Deep Purple, Hendrix, I'd be amazed if you couldn't get heavily into this album. Unbelievably powerful yet melodic vocals and a stunningly inventive set. Each of the three band members contributes to their superb vocal harmonies. Genuinely talented musicians who manage to produce as full a sound live as they do in the studio.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
A Kerrang! review of this album started simply: King's X are going to be huge. Commercially this has never come to pass, to their ultimate misfortune but in terms of the impact that this Texan trio have had upon the music landscape, that review was spot on. As sonically unique now and chock full of jaw dropping moments of power, harmony, pathos and originality this is as amazing now as it was when I first heard it in 1988.

From Ty Tabor's vocals and chiming guitar phrasing to start In The New Age to Jerry Gaskill's thunderous drum triplet to end Visions this is an amazing piece of work. In short no other band sounds anything like them at the time or since. If you are thinking of getting any of their back catalogue then the 3 albums from their time with Megaforce records are essential purchases. It's all there, you just have to look. If you like your music to be guitar heavy with great, tone laden riffs then check out Visions or In The New Age. You like stunning 3 part harmonies, check out Goldilox or What Is This? Soul laden vocals; Far, Far Away. Gigantic harmonious choruses; Power Of Love or Shot Of Love.

There really are no fillers here. Each song is a testament to their 10+ years of club gigs that lead to Sam Taylor (ZZ Top)plucking them from relative obscurity and deliver them to a disbelieving world. They have since gone on to influence a whole genre of bands from Alice in Chains to Dream Theatre to the detuned guitar bands of the late 90's and 00's.

They should have been huge. Every time I watch Britain or America's definitely-not-got-any-talent-factor-on-ice...I wonder where all the justice in the world went. A definite MUST BUY!
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
Back in 1988 when this was released I remember there being as much 'buzz' about King's X as Gun's and Roses. In fact 'Kerrang' had this album as their critics choice for album of the year 1988 (and the follow up 'Gretchen goes to Nebraska' was No 2 the next year). It still is amazing that King's X didn't become at least as big as Guns and Roses. Although not remastered (can we have it remastered please?) these tracks are still full of punch, energy and soul. Mixing elements of Gospel, Soul and heavy rock in such tracks as Power of Love, Wonder, Sometimes and Shot of Love - there really isn't anyone around sounding like this these days. Goldilox is a sweet ballad that manages to avoid the 80s trap of sounding 'obligatory' while King is a great rock song supported by a 'chugging' riff from Ty Tabor. In fact tracks 2-9 (8 Songs) are ALL classics good enough to grace any 'best of' in my opinion. For me, only the first track (In this new age) and the last (Visions) are a little below par by comparison. Still the other 8 tracks are so good that this deserves the full 5 stars.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
It took me years to finally get a couple of albums from this very unique and special band after hear one or two songs that were so different and heavy yet melodic at the smae time.
This band were rightly seen in the mid/late 80's as a very different, almost new kind of heavy rock, while most bands were simple dumb big hair, glam rock/metal; this band brought back the heavy style of early Black Sabbath alongside a melodic poprock writing.
Of many of the debut albums from that period this one can be listened to today-over twenty years later-and almost sounds like it was hardly made back then.
This band often seem almost timeless in their style, and have influenced very many over almost 30 years. There are strong classic tunes here, and more came on the following albums.
For fans of Zeppelin, Sabbath, Aerosmith, Def Leppard, My Chemical Romance, Beatles, Metallica.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
For some strange reason I missed getting this album and it was only a conversation in the pub about music that made me realise that I didn't own it. Kings X are a strange band in that you can always tell their music because of the distinct vocals but they have gone through some major changes in their music style. This is certainly in the progressive rock phase of their Megaforce era and I think it holds up to their other albums from this period. In fact if they had stopped after the Megaforce era then I may have given this album five stars but for me it is not as good as their Atlantic albums - Kings X, Dogman and Ear Candy. However, I have friends who think that the earlier albums are the best (hence the conversation in the pub!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2009
This was the first album by this legendary, original influential funk rock group who have inspired many bands since with their catchy riffs, progressive style and fresh funk grooves and honest deep soul-searching lyrics. Very modern even now. great begining.
This album is surprisingly heavy in places like old Black Sabbath but then can be very soft, melodic and beautiful on other tunes which is almost how they have stayed over their lengthy career. Stunning inspiring music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
Loved when I bought it first time around and it sounds even better now. A genuine groundbreaking album in the rock genre. How this band did not become huge is beyond me. If you like hard rock veering to metal with great vocals and harmonies then you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
This was disappointing. The tunes are ok, the musicianship ok, the production ok ..... it's all a bit ok. I probably won't be listening to it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2011
Great Power Rock album from one of the best bands to date, turn it up LOUD! with the classic track Goldilocks as number 2, will have you singing along
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Got his on vinyl when it came out in 1988 and loved it. Wanted it to listen to while driving. Good rock cd. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)