Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing progressive hard rock. One of my all time top ten.
This album rekindled my interest in rock music. At last a new band with a sound of their own. If you like all of Rush, Pink Floyd, Deep Purple, Hendrix, I'd be amazed if you couldn't get heavily into this album. Unbelievably powerful yet melodic vocals and a stunningly inventive set. Each of the three band members contributes to their superb vocal harmonies. Genuinely...
Published on 10 Jun 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as i remembered
I loved this album when it first came out. It's showing it's age now though - definitely of it's time..
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Stuart Holloway


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing progressive hard rock. One of my all time top ten., 10 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This album rekindled my interest in rock music. At last a new band with a sound of their own. If you like all of Rush, Pink Floyd, Deep Purple, Hendrix, I'd be amazed if you couldn't get heavily into this album. Unbelievably powerful yet melodic vocals and a stunningly inventive set. Each of the three band members contributes to their superb vocal harmonies. Genuinely talented musicians who manage to produce as full a sound live as they do in the studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique and stunning debut., 29 Dec 2010
A Kerrang! review of this album started simply: King's X are going to be huge. Commercially this has never come to pass, to their ultimate misfortune but in terms of the impact that this Texan trio have had upon the music landscape, that review was spot on. As sonically unique now and chock full of jaw dropping moments of power, harmony, pathos and originality this is as amazing now as it was when I first heard it in 1988.

From Ty Tabor's vocals and chiming guitar phrasing to start In The New Age to Jerry Gaskill's thunderous drum triplet to end Visions this is an amazing piece of work. In short no other band sounds anything like them at the time or since. If you are thinking of getting any of their back catalogue then the 3 albums from their time with Megaforce records are essential purchases. It's all there, you just have to look. If you like your music to be guitar heavy with great, tone laden riffs then check out Visions or In The New Age. You like stunning 3 part harmonies, check out Goldilox or What Is This? Soul laden vocals; Far, Far Away. Gigantic harmonious choruses; Power Of Love or Shot Of Love.

There really are no fillers here. Each song is a testament to their 10+ years of club gigs that lead to Sam Taylor (ZZ Top)plucking them from relative obscurity and deliver them to a disbelieving world. They have since gone on to influence a whole genre of bands from Alice in Chains to Dream Theatre to the detuned guitar bands of the late 90's and 00's.

They should have been huge. Every time I watch Britain or America's definitely-not-got-any-talent-factor-on-ice...I wonder where all the justice in the world went. A definite MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock classic from the past, 21 April 2010
By 
Mark Haynes (Telford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Back in 1988 when this was released I remember there being as much 'buzz' about King's X as Gun's and Roses. In fact 'Kerrang' had this album as their critics choice for album of the year 1988 (and the follow up 'Gretchen goes to Nebraska' was No 2 the next year). It still is amazing that King's X didn't become at least as big as Guns and Roses. Although not remastered (can we have it remastered please?) these tracks are still full of punch, energy and soul. Mixing elements of Gospel, Soul and heavy rock in such tracks as Power of Love, Wonder, Sometimes and Shot of Love - there really isn't anyone around sounding like this these days. Goldilox is a sweet ballad that manages to avoid the 80s trap of sounding 'obligatory' while King is a great rock song supported by a 'chugging' riff from Ty Tabor. In fact tracks 2-9 (8 Songs) are ALL classics good enough to grace any 'best of' in my opinion. For me, only the first track (In this new age) and the last (Visions) are a little below par by comparison. Still the other 8 tracks are so good that this deserves the full 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost unheard of roundbreaking rock album - Kerrang called it correctly at the time, pity no-one took notice!!, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved when I bought it first time around and it sounds even better now. A genuine groundbreaking album in the rock genre. How this band did not become huge is beyond me. If you like hard rock veering to metal with great vocals and harmonies then you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One the most solid and strong 80's rock debuts still has aged well decades on..., 18 April 2014
It took me years to finally get a couple of albums from this very unique and special band after hear one or two songs that were so different and heavy yet melodic at the smae time.
This band were rightly seen in the mid/late 80's as a very different, almost new kind of heavy rock, while most bands were simple dumb big hair, glam rock/metal; this band brought back the heavy style of early Black Sabbath alongside a melodic poprock writing.
Of many of the debut albums from that period this one can be listened to today-over twenty years later-and almost sounds like it was hardly made back then.
This band often seem almost timeless in their style, and have influenced very many over almost 30 years. There are strong classic tunes here, and more came on the following albums.
For fans of Zeppelin, Sabbath, Aerosmith, Def Leppard, My Chemical Romance, Beatles, Metallica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as i remembered, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this album when it first came out. It's showing it's age now though - definitely of it's time..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kings X rock!, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got his on vinyl when it came out in 1988 and loved it. Wanted it to listen to while driving. Good rock cd. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kings X, 23 Oct 2011
Great Power Rock album from one of the best bands to date, turn it up LOUD! with the classic track Goldilocks as number 2, will have you singing along
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock at it's best, 21 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
King's X are the best three piece rock band in the world!!! After listening to this album you just want to restart again and pummel yours ears to submission with, What is this, Far, Far Away, King, Visions and on and on. Each track is very metallic, grungey, pyschadelic and always coated with the very best vocal harmonies this side of the Beatles. You like Black Sabbath, Hendrix, The Beatles, Cream? These guys deliver all of this and the 'X' factor which makes them unique and not mere copy-cats. After this album they continued to grow as musicians and they're song writing just got better and better but for sheer punch, this album delivers. It's not very often you have a rock band making you feel up-lifted but King's X always do; the lyrics to all of these songs are very spiritual and intriguing, not your typical Motley Crue or Whitesnake stuff here!

All in all, Out of the silent planet will be recognised as one of the greatest rock albums made ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Start of a great epic original heavy rock journey!, 27 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first album by this legendary, original influential funk rock group who have inspired many bands since with their catchy riffs, progressive style and fresh funk grooves and honest deep soul-searching lyrics. Very modern even now. great begining.
This album is surprisingly heavy in places like old Black Sabbath but then can be very soft, melodic and beautiful on other tunes which is almost how they have stayed over their lengthy career. Stunning inspiring music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews