Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous - both as Lego and as a train set
It takes some time to assemble this intricate set but it is worth it.

As with all modern Lego sets, this large box contains several numbered plastic bags and a detailed instructions. Opening the 8-9 bags and following the instructions took me about two hours with another adult and a five year and seven year old helper and required quite a degree of...
Published on 21 Jun 2012 by Peter A. J. Bennett

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money
Santa brought this for my 6yr old godson. He was desperate to build it, so spent most of boxing day helping him. Simple instructions, he built most of it himself, had to help with the eletrics in the engine.

When built he has had hours of fun and is saving up to buy more track and wants the passenger train. This set seems pricey, but is really good value for...
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by happy g


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous - both as Lego and as a train set, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Peter A. J. Bennett (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO City 7939: Cargo Train (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It takes some time to assemble this intricate set but it is worth it.

As with all modern Lego sets, this large box contains several numbered plastic bags and a detailed instructions. Opening the 8-9 bags and following the instructions took me about two hours with another adult and a five year and seven year old helper and required quite a degree of concentration but the results were well worth it.

You end up with a train and several carriages, including a petrol tanker, a flat bed with a container on it and a car transporter. Most of these are assembled from what I would refer to as "traditional Lego", i.e. small blocks which build up to a complex whole. Only the petrol tanker is a bit disappointing on this front as it is based around two premodeled halves of a cylinder which clip together.

In addition to this you get an articulated lorry and a gantry and crane which is great fun as you can use then role play loading the container from the lorry onto the flat bed carriage using the crane.

It's very satisfying as ever to see the fruits of your hard work.

The track is reasonably basic, it forms a rectangular loop with two sets of points connecting a further piece of track which cuts one of the curved corners off and is very easy to put together but does not offer any options or flexibility in the shape of track you can make.

You need to provide your own batteries both for the train and for the controller but once you have done so you end up with a great remote control train.

I held off until my son was three years old to share this track with him and he *loves* it. Obviously he is below the recommended age but he is generally a very thoughtful careful lad and he really likes the remote control aspect of the train. It uses infrared but is very well designed so you do not feel that you are going out of your way to point it in the right direction and it has seven speed settings. Speeds 1-6 work fine but speed seven causes the train to leave the track (much to George's delight) and for the inevitable process of the small Lego blocks breaking off.

Probably more suited to the 6-12 year old range recommended by the maufacturer - this is a great set of Lego which I would whole heartedly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 5 Sep 2010
By 
Sunglasses - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO City 7939: Cargo Train (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It took me, my wife & daughter about 3 hours to put together one Friday evening. We were all engrossed and really enjoyed the challenge. Infuriating at times and the main train can be a bit flimsy if not handled delicately - instructions are fairly easy to follow for young and old alike. My 10 year old daughter mastered the driving of the train far better than me and she loves playing with it (has now asked for more Lego stuff as well. Good old fashioned fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Set for Big Kids too, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Darren Cox (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO City 7939: Cargo Train (Toy)
OK, a confession... I'm 31 and managed to convince my wife I bought the Lego Passenger Train (7938) for my 2 Daughters and myself for Christmas... 2 days later and I want a second train strictly for myself!

This is in my view a great value set - the switch tracks alone make it worth it as they are IMPOSSIBLE to get elsewhere until Feb 2012 according to Lego!

The Red Cargo Train that is replacing this one isn't nearly as good value, so buy while you can!

Lego lasts forever, and has endless play possibilities, and having 2 trains only needs one remote but with this and another set you can create a great layout with sidings etc.

It may be sad, and geeky but I think LEGO is something you can enjoy at any age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lego city 7939 cargo train - a robust and absorbing train set, 16 Jan 2012
By 
Gana Santhiran (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO City 7939: Cargo Train (Toy)
This toy kept my grandson enthralled. He was amazed at its versatility and ease of assembly and dextrous operation.
It was an excellent buy for an 8 year old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't beleieve how much this has been played with!, 14 Feb 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO City 7939: Cargo Train (Toy)
Bought this for my 9 year old son for Christmas and can't believe how much he has enjoyed it. I (probably like a lot of other parents) was quite concerned when he initially requested it for Christmas as I felt it was a lot of money for a bit of Lego that probably wouldn't be played with more than a day. How wrong was I - he has played with it nonstop since Christmas day (hardly came out of his room Christmas day/Boxing day!!) and absoloutely loves it. We also asked relatives to buy the Station and I did buy extra track which as others say is a must.
So although the initial outlay seemed a lot it has been well worth it and would probably be voted one of my son's best ever presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David, 8 Jan 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO City 7939: Cargo Train (Toy)
The Lego Cargo train set along with the Flexible track set was the major Christmas gift to my Grandchildren. The assembly of the set involved the whole family and was a great success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One very happy little boy, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO City 7939: Cargo Train (Toy)
My son bought this with his birthday money. It is a great addition to the intercity train he already has. He enjoys manoeuvring both trains and it is good that he can use the same remote control. Great quality product as with all Lego products
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lego city cargo train, 11 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO City 7939: Cargo Train (Toy)
Brought this for my 8 year old son who loves it, spent hours putting it together on christmas day. A bit pricey but well worth it. The delivery was quick even though I didn't order it until a week before christmas. It was the first time I had used Amazon but was very impressed and would definitely use them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego City Train, 6 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO City 7939: Cargo Train (Toy)
Bought for my 9 year old son who is a Lego fanatic, has not stopped playing with it since. Plenty of content in this item that makes it very good value compared with other Lego sets. Overall very pleased with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive, 2 Jan 2011
By 
M. Marikar (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO City 7939: Cargo Train (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this for my 2 nephews (start of secondary school + end of primary school), for whom I usually get Nintendo Wii videogames.

It may be a bit on the pricey side but it's very good value for money - there's quite a lot of stuff involved (as the product description says) and quite impressive electronics for driving the train around.

Lego stuff is always quite high quality, but the attention to detail in this product is particularly impressive - for example, under-carriage lights to simulate the sparks you sometimes see when trains turn or switch tracks.

Overall a fantastic choice as the train set is more than capable of competing with videogames - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO City 7939: Cargo Train
139.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews