Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 125 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun - But Probably Not Aimed at My Age Group!
I eagerly unwrapped the smart Lego box and was delighted to find it was suitable for those aged 8+ - it sounded right up my street!

Following the plans, I quickly assembled the castle/game and was pleased with how rapidly I was able to follow the instructions. When a friend pointed out that I am in fact fifty years old, I confess it took the sheen off my...
Published on 18 Aug 2010 by G. J. Oxley

versus
37 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great idea but way too hard
I tried this game with a 9 and an 11 year old. They started off really interested. We followed the instructions to build it but some of the pieces were tricky to identify from the descriptions. You have to make your own board as it doesn't come with a solid base and our 9 year old had trouble building this as it kept falling apart initially, once you'd got far enough into...
Published on 20 July 2010 by Clare


‹ Previous | 111 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good price!, 24 Sep 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Games 3862: Harry Potter Hogwarts (Toy)
I love harry potter, so I maybe abit swayed!! I brought this for my 10 year old nephew & he loved it. He is a fan of both Harry Potter & lego - so bonus!
The bits are abit small & easy to loose. I do think this is abit hard & requires help from an adult but a great excuse to spend some quality time with the kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great to play once you understand how, 3 July 2011
By 
M. Trotman "me old fruit" (staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Games 3862: Harry Potter Hogwarts (Toy)
Takes a while to set up and also to try and understand how to play it. Only because the instructions are not well written. My little niece loved to play it, but got bored after 40 mins , it can take a while if you start to play cruel and smart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality lego game, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. S. Smith (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Games 3862: Harry Potter Hogwarts (Toy)
A fun game with a twist. You have to build the game board first before you can play but its relatively easy to do(my son is 8). Then a good game to play unfortunately you have to dismantle to put it back in the box. But good for a harry potter fan and can also be used together with the other lego harry potter collection. Lego Games 3862: Harry Potter Hogwarts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice product, 24 Jan 2011
By 
M. Marikar (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Games 3862: Harry Potter Hogwarts (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a good product for fans of Harry Potter and Lego. I would say its more lego based than a board game as you have to build everything and make your own rules but it is fun and lots of potential for making the game different as you go along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good game, not as quick to play as other lego games, 17 Jan 2011
By 
David Clegg (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Games 3862: Harry Potter Hogwarts (Toy)
This is another good game from Lego, where half the fun is building the pieces and board before you start playing the game!

It has a bigger board than some of the other lego games, and isn't quite as quick or straight forward to play, so younger children may get bored. Older children who are more into Harry Potter probably won't have that problem and will enjoy it. As with all the lego games it is easy to customise the rules and play to your own way to shorten (or lengthen!) the game.

Amazon price (at the time we ordered it) was very good compared to high street (saved us 7 - unusual to get such good discounts on these lego games).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confused Muggle, 6 Jan 2011
By 
M. B. Lingaya - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Games 3862: Harry Potter Hogwarts (Toy)
Bought as a present and my 10 year old nephew was very pleased with it.
The product is very good and well thought out however once it has been built you are supposed to be able to play this as a game but no-one (adults included) could figure out the game rules so this toy has not been used to its full potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lego + HP, 1 Jan 2011
By 
C. Clinch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Games 3862: Harry Potter Hogwarts (Toy)
On the face of the description this was an ideal toy, built from Lego with a board game to play when complete, plus no screen to watch. The building was interesting and took a cople of hours, but as with many board games it needs more than one player and that creates problems especially when the other players are not that willing, it becomes a 'bored game'. OK as an idea not so good in practice unless there are several kids of similar age to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun to build, less so to play..., 16 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. M. E. Merritt "MattMerritt" (Portsmouth UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Games 3862: Harry Potter Hogwarts (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A fun little set to build, but I have to say it didn't make alot of sense when it came to trying to play it with my young cousins (though this may be because, as I'm a bloke I neglected to read the instructions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wizarding fun for all the family, 20 July 2010
By 
Paolo Sammut - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Games 3862: Harry Potter Hogwarts (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Harry Potter "Hogwarts" is I believe a new venture for Lego, combining the fun of building with lego with the family fun of a board game. The idea is that first of all players spend time with their children building the castle. This takes about an hour and as ever Lego provide some easy to follow instructions to build the Hogwarts castle. Thankfully the box is cleverly designed so that one can easily fit the entire built castle in the box, only removing the corner towers and central tower (Divination classroom). This way one doesnt have to go through the whole build process every time when ready to play - not that that is bad.

As it is important to the gameplay, i'll describe the board first. this builds into a classic fortress with four corner towers; each of which is a Hogwarts House common-room (and a home base for the player)
. The centre of the board consists of four classrooms each of which contains a homework object. The classrooms are all surrounded but a number of "staircase" pieces which shift. The photographs dont really do this justice; underneath each of these staircases and classrooms is a smooth surface, the idea being that the rooms and staircases can be shuffled on to represent their movement in the magical castle.

The "board" game when in play is fabulously good fun and gets to be quite addictive and strategic. The idea is you have a "lego" die which has a 1, 2 and 3 side like any ordinary dice, 2 rotational sides and a Maurauders map side. Rolling a 1,2,3 means that the player can shift the classroom and staircase stairs by that number; rolling a rotational square means you can rotate one of these squares (shifting the entrance) and rolling the map means you can move to an unconnected adjacent square. after using the die to manipulate the board, the players character gets to move a single square. In this way they move across the board, visiting each classroom to win the homework piece before finally moving back to the common room.

These rules are very simple but like all games the fun is then built up with the human element, the strategy and the foxing of your human opponents. The basic game is very simple to learn but we found ourselves playing it several nights in a row (and there are no signs that this is letting up)

Part of the beauty of this game however is the philosophy of expansion. Lego have provided a number of extra pieces such as some of the heros and villans from the stories, a Dumbledore and a Mrs Norris character. They then offer some suggstions as to how to play with some of these expanded pieces and then encourage players to use their imagination to expand the game any way they want. This is really brilliant and a part of lego's philosophy of unleashing ones imagination. We all know that learning to use ones imagination is very important; especially for children and being given a game where there are encouraged and expected to expand it as they imagine is so important and will really help their development. Lego always come up trumps in this way.

As a family we all love this game and are playing it continually and it is especally nice to see our children and their friends find new variants as they introduce the extra characters into their version of the game. My ownly gripe is that players get to choose who they play as from the youngest first, so as the eldest I always ended up as hufflepuff. I am also a bit disconcerted that Slytherin is more popular that Griffindor in our house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lego, 30 Dec 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Games 3862: Harry Potter Hogwarts (Toy)
I bought this for my 8 year old nephew for Christmas. He was very excited about it when he unwrapped the wrapping paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews