Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars32
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2010
When the first Wampa set came out into stores I was rather dissapointed, the Wampa didn't look like a Wampa. It was not designed very well and LEGO could have done a better job, then this pack came into stores. It had everything that it needed and more, the Wampa was a lot more accurate. The cave was identical to the set off the actual movie, STAR WARS 5 THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK and it came with a skeleton minifgure ( which I have never seen or owned before ). It included a detailed Snow Speeder with the Rebel pilot Zev Senesca mini figure, a Wampa mini figure ( that was awesome ) a Luke Skywalker mini figure and skeleton mini figure. It was like the actual movie scene only you can build it! Fantastic!
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Pretty small, but overall a really fun way to play out this scene from the film in Lego form. The Wampa figure is brilliant, I love the detail in the cave (including the Lego skeleton, which is a piece I haven't seen since I played with Lego when I was a kid!), and the mechanism for firing Luke's lightsaber out of the snow. The snowspeeder is a nice addition to the Lego, making it a fun sat to play with.

In terms of construction, there was nothing too tricky there, so if you're looking for an interesting build this probably isn't the model for you, but if you like displaying your Lego as scenes then this one should fit into your collection quite nicely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
I won't add much to what has already been written, the set is very well designed and the figures are excellent.

I got mine at about 25% off which seemed a fair price. At full price it would be a bit too expensive.

The kit only takes about 30 mins to make and has only a couple of fiddly bits.

The snowspeeder is approx 18cm long and 14cm wide, with the cave being about the same long and 10cm high

It contains just under 300 pieces and some of them are quite unique, this is how I work out if it was worth it. If the pieces can be reused for other projects then it adds to the value, some of the kits out there have one design in mind and this is where I think lego goes wrong sometimes.

In the end the child should be able to use their imagination to rebuild or redesign the bits of lego they get into something else.

Hope this helps
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
Sometimes, Lego sets come along and you think "Wow - compared to other sets this is a great price". The Hoth Wompa Cave is one of those (LEGO®Star Wars TM 7929 : The Battle of Naboo (TM) is another). It comes with the cave, a great vehicle, three minifigs and the Wampa and as such there is a complete play scene for young imaginations.

The build is a little fiddly with the cave and the speeder, but with a bit of parental help my six year old got on OK. He already has a few Hoth items, so was really happy to add this to his collection. Interestingly, the skeleton is sued frequently in his play to attack Luke and help the Wampa, so his imagination has incorporated what was probably a thing designed to be decorative in an active part of the play.

The modules are generally sturdy, although he finds it a little fiddly to get Luke hanging upside down.

I would recommend this as a great starter set for any child who wants to get into Star Wars Lego as you get a lot of value for your money, both in terms of vehicle and figures, and also in the play and adventures that can be had. Obviously, if Hoth stuff if is owned already this is a must set to have!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
My son was hankering after this set ever since seeing it by chance in a shop window in Portugal while on holiday. He was not disappointed when he got it for his birthday. Loves the monster and skeletons. Great for any Star Wars lego fan or collector.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
Value for money: This is a great set and there seems to be loads of play items in it. You get a 2 seater snow speeder and a cave and wampa for acting out the first scenes from 'Empire strikes back' all for the rrp £35.99 (297 parts).

Mini-figures: These are about to become very collectable as the Hoth sets are being phased out by Lego. The Wampa ice creature (with chicken) is only available in this set, Luke Skywalker in his orange jumpsuit is only available from the x-wing or expensive limited edition Echo base kit. You also get his best bud pilot Zev Zenesca.

The snow speeder is relatively economic with bricks but makes a respectable space craft. It has a flip lid cockpit cover and a hand wound tow cable with grapling hook. We like that it has lots of moving parts - Luke often ends up being towed on the cable (Lego string and attachments dont crop up very often in sets).

With the addition of a load of cheap white bricks to create snow scenes, (and echo base set with Taun Taun creature & Han Solo) we have had loads of play time and value from this set - in fact it all comes out after a screening of 'The Empire strikes back' DVD. Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
i love this set i bought it myself (sarahs son) and i was delighted to recieve it. the snow speder is my favourite part it is a resonable size and the cockpit is great.the only critisism is the towrope is not long enough to mae a complete round of the motorized at at like in the movie. the cave is small and the wampa is too big for its home.the lightsaber shoot is good but it dosent go into lukes hand. in over all I LOVE THIS SET buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
In my opinion, one of the best value lego toys/kits in the Star Wars range. Great fun to do with my 5 year old, took about 2 hours over to sessions with a minimum of parental help. My well practiced 7 year old would have had this made in half an hour without any trouble.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2012
A very good product with unique and exclusive figures, and well suited to any childs toy collection. Contains 2 figures, a skeleton figure, a exclusive Wampa minifigure, a snowspeeder vehicle and a buildable wampa cave playset.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
The only thing missing is Han Solo on a Tauntaun. But I guess LEGO wanted to keep their already ridiculous prices within the realm of the possible so they are forgiven. Well, the two large uniparts at the cave entrance are just plain lay.

Still, great Wampa, excellent snowspeeder and cool play set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)