Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible album
Darwin Deez's recordings are mostly stripped down and kept simple and unadorned but they pulse and throb deliciously with life and a rare wit. Indeed, it is difficult to imagine anyone else with such a fondness for twisted wordplay and lyricism like Mr Deez. For instance, the bouncily infectious "Bad Day" is actually quite possibly the most mischievous missive aimed at a...
Published on 18 May 2010 by Stevieboyo

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not convinced
Bought this as I heard Up in the clouds on the radio. Thought it sounded similar to Dreams which I love.

I like the limited production sound but this album just doesnt hit the spot. Dont know why?
Published on 16 July 2010 by Mark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible album, 18 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Darwin Deez (Audio CD)
Darwin Deez's recordings are mostly stripped down and kept simple and unadorned but they pulse and throb deliciously with life and a rare wit. Indeed, it is difficult to imagine anyone else with such a fondness for twisted wordplay and lyricism like Mr Deez. For instance, the bouncily infectious "Bad Day" is actually quite possibly the most mischievous missive aimed at a romantic rival, with Darwin rattling off an imaginary wish list of misfortunes that he hopes will befall his arch nemesis: "I hope that the last page of your 800 page novel is missing / I hope that it rains if you leave the window down on your red Mustang". The single "Radar Detector" meanwhile, is as lovely and sun-kissed as you can possibly get, as he sings about cruising around Los Angeles with his partner and going shopping and "fall(ing) asleep inside the mattress store".

However, it is also important to note that there is also an emotive undertow of sadness and longing in his oeuvre, rising just above the surface in songs such as the desolate "The Bomb Song", with his plaintive exhortations of "say you love me now / maybe you will say you love me now" in the chorus. And in "Deep Sea Divers" he dissects a crumbling relationship by literally depicting them both sinking down into the ocean, as he poses the heartbreaking question "little yellow fish are happy it's not so tough / would everything you wish you had be good enough?" against a beautiful backdrop of chiming guitars.

This album is by turns joyous and heart tugging, winsome and wistful, glorious and gorgeous, buoyed aloft by Deez's ear for a soaring chorus and a catchy tune, not to mention his knack for a killer couplet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get With The Jiggle !, 12 April 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Darwin Deez (Audio CD)
Darwin Deez is both a band and a man (and what a man he is!!)
If I could still get into the bright red pair of size 30 (30!!)
waist loon pants in the back of my 70's wardrobe I'd be wearing
them right now.

Both the man and the band have made something rather
special here. Darwin Deez is a gentle phenomenon.
More spit than polish; more crafty than crafted;
more fun than putting a ferret down your trousers just to
see how long you can keep it there without being bitten.

The ten songs on this blissfully barmy album are all
rough-cut diamonds. The no-frills production makes them somehow
more immediate, more credible and definately more enjoyable.

The tunes are good; the beats are dance-friendly (in a slinky
move-it-to-the-left-move-it-to-the-right kind of way) and
Mr Deez's voice is a charmingly laconic and friendly instrument
which, despite its evident limitations, has a convincing ability
to communicate the gentle soul of these beguiling compositions.

The terse optimism running through 'The Suicide Song' makes it
one of the jolliest self-destructive songs I have ever heard.

The dreamy melody of 'Bed Space' conceals evidence of lost love
and a broken heart. The simple harmonies are delightful and the
elusive chord sequence at its core adds to the sense of sadness
and emotional dislocation. A strangely affecting little ditty.

'Deep Sea Divers' is another classy composition. The jangly,
four-square arrangement supports one of the album's strongest
melodic and lyrical ideas. Mr Deez coasts through it with
effortlessly agreeable aplomb.

Single 'Radar Detector' has a very high feelgood-factor.
An idosyncratic and addictive slice of pure pop perfection.

Final track 'Bad Day' lopes along in an almost funky way and is
very funny indeed. Someone else's bad day is always more comical
than our own and Mr Deez constructs a particularly bad one.

At the end of the day there's not a thing not to like about
this cracking collection. Music to make you smile and jiggle.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deelightful, 9 April 2010
By 
Gannon (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Darwin Deez (Audio CD)
Ignore the haircut (or lack of). Ignore the hopefully-ironic `tache. Try even to ignore the "wacky" name, bells and whistles. With little other than a minimal keyboard, hand-clap percussion and a head full of fairies, Deez has pulled a masterstroke on his self-titled debut. His saccharine-high, indie ditties are undercut with literate perversion, his summery whimsy laced with hippy gold.

Simple, Darwin Deez is a more-often-than-not great pop-star. He stands out from the crowd, is anti-establishment and has a few poptacular tunes to back it all up. The project is gleefully lent credibility with its bedroom qualities - be warned, there is little shiny over-production here.

On "Constellations" he even gets away with the lyrical opening "Twinkle, twinkle little star / How I wonder what you are" - a true master at work you'll agree. It's three-minute perfection, taken down a touch for the mid-tempo follow-on "Deep Sea Divers", which coasts on lazy melody and hazy soft percussion.

"DNA" skips through fields of tall grass with a favoured partner, basking in its own radiance and talking whimsically of "double strands" and "molecules". The spiralling guitar on "Up In The Clouds" suggests a schooling in The Strokes, the up-and-down guitar progressions of "The Bomb Song" in Interpol, though Deez bathes the both of them in a poppy haze.

His voice is given a little echo for the highly likeable "Bed Space", which drawls and spins like looking at the clouds from a freshly mown lawn. The downright unstoppable single "Radar Detector" is a danceable, loveable alt-pop masterpiece that leads into the darkly comic finisher "Bad Day". Bouncing along it conspires by multifarious hypothetical means to ruin some poor unknown's day. "Everyday ought to be a bad day for you" Deez starts, before continuing "I would like to be your girlfriend so I could dump you".

Sure, it may all age badly and Deez will likely never again get the balance right, but for now, Deez looks set to be the king of summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: Darwin Deez (Audio CD)
Really love this album and anticipating the new one being released this year. Only heard about Darwin Deez towards the end of 2012 but glad I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legend!, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: Darwin Deez (Audio CD)
What can I say about this guy... if you like your music with an NYC flavour, if you like the Strokes but are a bit disillusioned with their recent output, then you could do a lot worse than to pick up this album. And try to catch him live - he's even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You are a Radar Detector, 18 July 2011
This review is from: Darwin Deez (Audio CD)
Darwin Deez is a new upbeat upcoming band from New York who bring to us 10 amazing indie songs all on CD.
At first i wasn't a huge fan of Darwin Deez but ever since he has grown on me, he has been around since early 2010 and i personally don't think the band gets enough credit for their work such as amazing songs from the album 'Constellations', 'DNA', 'Radar Detector', 'Bad Day' (well to be honest i could name all 10 tracks from the album).
The album is quite happy all the through with some fun and quirky guitar lines (which have been compared to 'The Strokes') and the moment you listen to this album you will put it on a loop.
I am now eagerly awaiting which will come next from the Deez and what amazing songs they will bring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE DARWIN DEEZ, 16 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darwin Deez (Audio CD)
EXCELLENT DVD, ARRIVED REALLY QUICKLY.I LOVE EVERY SONG ON THE ALBUM, WHICH DOESNT HAPPEN OFTEN. I REALLY WOULD RECOMMEND BUYING. ITS CHILLED OUT, CHARMING, EMOTIONAL AND HONEST.THE LYRICS ARE FANTASTIC AND FUNNY BUT AT TIMES YOU CAN RELATE TO WHAT HE IS SAYING/ IT IS QUITE DARK. I THINK DNA IS MY FAVOURITE, BUT THE MORE I LISTEN TO THE ALBUM I REALISE THAT EVERY SONG IS FANTASTIC. ALSO A REALLY GOOD PRICE COMPARED TO MUSIC RETAILERS ON THE HIGH STREET.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darwin Deez = The Bee's Knees, 26 May 2011
By 
P. Norman "pn7" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The best album of 2010 in my opinion. Immediately loved it. Short in length (30mins) but packed with ten great tunes and absolutely not a second wasted. If you have liked any of the singles but have not bought the album then dont think twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 3 May 2011
By 
N. Jones (Frodsham, Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darwin Deez (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic and is a must for anyone who likes this type of music, bad day is my personal favourite however they are all good tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars youthfull indie joy, 14 April 2011
This review is from: Darwin Deez (Audio CD)
Lets face it most lyrics these days are nonsense this is no exception however what it lacks in lyrics it makes up in tunage a breezy summer album of easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Darwin Deez
Darwin Deez by Darwin Deez (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews