Customer Reviews


431 Reviews
5 star:
 (315)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection of short stories
Once you have read just one of the Sherlock Holmes stories you will want to read them all.
"The original illustrated Strand Sherlock Holmes" has the 4 novels and all 56 short stories complete with the original Strand Magazine illustrations by Sidney Paget and others. Sidney Paget created the famous deerstalker hat. The hat and pipe are instantly...
Published on 9 Sep 2000

versus
414 of 435 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!
There are no illustrations but that is not the main problem. The main problem is the Americanisation. These books are classics but they have been mangled for the American market. Wherever there should be a reference to brandy it has been changed to whiskey and soda, bacon and eggs has become ham and eggs plus all the appalling American spellings. Can't they leave anything...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by Amanda Nottingham


‹ Previous | 131 32 3344 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes, 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having had all the books for some years I find the Kindle a very easy way to re-read some of my favourite stories of 'Holmes & Watson'

I just feel it's a shame that American spelling has been used in the conversion along with some [a few] words which don't have a meaning at all

Overall it's a great way to dip into some of the master's [Arthur Connan Doyle's] stories without getting sore arms holding up large volumes

Long live Kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Sherlock Holmes Collection (Kindle Edition)
Always intended to read more of Sherlock Holmes and at this price was able to take on holiday and fill in those quiet momments.Enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection, 14 Aug 2012
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book in short is excellent, containing all of Sir Arthur Conan-Doyles stories featuring Sherlock Holmes together in one hefty volume.

Essential for anyone with an interest in crime stories or somebody who wants to go beyond the recent BBC series or Hollywood adaptations of these classic stories.

Great value for money with hours upon hours of enjoyable reading. I highly recommend this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sherlock Holmes is such a famous character/story that I had of course already heard so much praise concerning the books that I was expecting nothing short of brilliance. However nothing could prepare me for the sheer genius possessed by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. The complex cases, the peculiar characters and scenarios, the loveable character of Dr Watson and of course that of the alluring Sherlock Holmes is truly mesmerising. Anyone who shares an interest in crime will adore this book, even those who aren't so interested couldn't possibly resist the impeccable story telling of these impelling tales.

Sherlock Holmes is quite simply one of the greatest characters to have ever been created. I will not share his characteristics here as I wish not to spoil it for anyone, but his intellect and knowledge is truly astounding, and his personality fascinating. He has an aura about him that cannot be described. How Sir Arthur Conan Doyle could possibly create such a person is incomprehensible to me.

This book has been one of the greatest buys of my life, I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Sherlock Holmes, 11 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Complete Sherlock Holmes Collection (Kindle Edition)
Always wanted to read these, glad to be able to have them in this easy, portable format. Having read a sampler, eager to read more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal classics., 9 Aug 2012
By 
A. J. Hawkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Sherlock Holmes Collection (Kindle Edition)
What I've found interesting about these stories is how the character of Sherlock is written: very self-assured and frustrated, yet rarely arrogant, aware that he makes mistakes. He frequently chastises Watson for "romancing" his adventures, and creating the illusion that he is infallible.
Written in a very old style and somewhat formulaic, the shorter stories make for a nice read every now and then as punctuation between reading heavier, more serious tomes.
And at this price, you really can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elementary my dear Watson!!, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant. Have now been converted to a Holmes fan!

Before i had read this, i only had a very small knowledge of Sherlock Holmes and only knew about main stories that may have briefly seen on television. After reading i now have a much greater appreciation for the character and what he did for future detective novels.

All the stories are great and i love how it all gets explaned to the reader/watson at the end. I, like Watson, was never tired of this, and Holmes makes it seem so easy.

Now i have got the complete DVD boxset on its way so that i can enjoy on the big screen, played by Jeremy Brett (who did a fine job as Holmes).

A big book yes, but once you get into it it is very hard to put down and just want to keep reading. the short stories are just that, and enough to give you a story or two a night.

Well worth grabbing a copy, and at 5 for nearly 1500 pages of book - i bargain if ever there was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 50 shades of, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Sherlock Holmes Collection (Kindle Edition)
Excelent Found It Hard To Put The Book Down When Started, Saving The Last One For When I Am on my Cruise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars let down by confused edition, 26 July 2012
This review is from: The Complete Sherlock Holmes Collection (Kindle Edition)
I was simply let down. I purchased this book for a great read, but the formatting let me down. The actual book was fantastic, except all those yucky American words and spellings. This all confused me, and turned my read into a lot of working out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its all been said before, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Sherlock Holmes Collection (Kindle Edition)
Like him or loathe him? I found the Sherlock Holmes stories a pleasure to read and if one is old enough to remember Basil Rathbone playing the part in the early films you can recapture some of the scenes here. I found them a delightful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 131 32 3344 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Sherlock Holmes Collection
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews