Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.83

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2010
Theo Fleury is a legend in his own right.

He has the career, the medals, the titles and the stats to back that up.

This book takes you behind the career, the stories, the scandal, and shows you the man.

There are no holds barred, and Theo tells you everything, it's heartbreaking, hilarious, and above all else a true insight in to what made him the player, and man that he is.

He recalls so many stats and stories about the players he played with and against that it probably wouldn't hold the attention of those without a real hockey interest, but for anyone that does, however remotely, I couldn't recommend it enough.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
Fleury was (and maybe still is) a superstar of the NHL. A player with fire in his play that comes from demons inside his soul.

This book gives an account of what it was like for him as a child growing up in Russel with parents who were dysfunctional to say the least, and how a coach, whom he trusted abused the trust mentally and physically. From childhood to adulthood and the consequence of his inner demons driving him to alcohol and drug abuse, Fleury gives a fairly detailed account, without pulling any punches about the impact on him, the people around him and the teams he played for.

Fleury now appears to be at peace with himself, and repairing the damage he has done to all around him, so hats off to him!

I really enjoyed the book, and could relate to the hockey part of this as a former player myself, maybe there was a little too much arrogance in the book, but hey, thats what makes professional superstars different.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
For non-hockey fans Theo Fleury's book thankfully sets the scene about the various leagues in the sport in Canada and America, the players on the ice and the management off it. This co-incides with the Olympics that finished at the end of February 2010 and a few of the players on that team, are mentioned here before hitting the Olympic heights.

Fleury's own story is honestly told, not coming across as a perfect person in fact he looks bitter in places. Because it's told very much in the way that the player talks, expletives and all, you don't know if his co-writer was transcribing recorded interviews. I've read the book three times now and that style is what holds the attention. Half the book is overshadowed by his abuse as a teenager as it would overshadow a chunk of his junior playing career.

This situation was resolved by his peer Sheldon Kennedy as told in his own book Why I Didn't Say Anything. However, lack of legal pressure didn't give Fleury any peace as this went on to affect his marriage and send him to rehab among other major consequences and fallout. The Rock Bottom moment is the preface after Wayne Gretzky's dedication, but actually happens a couple of chapters before the end.

The hardware version is well packaged with colour pictures and bound in Canadian Red White and spined in black. Now that there's no postal strike delaying delivery of it, it's well worth a read from either a sporting or a child abuse perspective.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
If you haven't read this and you are a ice hockey fan, then it is a must read.
Theo tells his story in a warts and all way.
I was left with nothing but admiration for Theo for the way he has faced his demons and turned his life around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
A must for any hockey player or enthusiast.

Theo's story is gritty and filled with some great memories. A nice insight into the life of someone desperate to make it to the 'show'.

Dark at times and thoroughly interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
A great read, tells all his darkest secrets no stone left unturned. If you love ice hockey then read this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Not suitable for young readers, very disturbing and upsetting but good eye opener!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
For any hockey fan, this is well worth the read and I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
I'm a big hockey fan from the UK.
I read this book whilst in hospital, I couldn't put it down, a real rollercoaster of emotions, good times & bad.
It's great to see Theo has come out the other side & his demons & addictions are hopefully behind him for good.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough, rags to riches story or one of the greatest NHLers of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
If you are a hockey fan then read this, it gives you an insight into a side of the game we don't see as a fan; you feel Theo is being truthful, though at times, and understandably, probably not unbiased
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.