Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doves- Industrial towns and classic anthems
Let me hit you with the value for money argument first. Pay £9 for a basic greatest hits or £12 quid for two CDs and a DVD from this great British band? This is indeed a comprehensive package containing a host of B sides, rarities, and unreleased tracks. The other key factor is 3 new tracks namely the highly commercial guitar driven single "Andalusia", the pounding "Blue...
Published on 5 April 2010 by Red on Black

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New to Doves
Heard a track from this album on a colleague's IPod and found myself foot tapping. He didn't have all of the album but I thought I would give the whole thing a try.
Maybe its great if you are a Doves fan, but only a few of them struck me as worth playing again. I'll go back to it sometime to see whether my opinion has changed.
Published on 14 Jun 2010 by Monkey boy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doves- Industrial towns and classic anthems, 5 April 2010
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Let me hit you with the value for money argument first. Pay £9 for a basic greatest hits or £12 quid for two CDs and a DVD from this great British band? This is indeed a comprehensive package containing a host of B sides, rarities, and unreleased tracks. The other key factor is 3 new tracks namely the highly commercial guitar driven single "Andalusia", the pounding "Blue water" (a not to distance relative of "Here it comes") and the gorgeous "The Drifter" featuring Cherry Ghost's Simon Aldred and what sounds like a set of Christmas bells.

The only problem I have ever had with the Doves is that their début album "Lost Souls" which followed an almost catastrophic studio fire set such a high benchmark that it was almost impossible to follow. Yet follow it they did and throughout their four albums they have produced some of the best music of any British band over the past 10 years. Like their contemporaries Elbow they are not "sexy or hip" and yet their songs pack an emotional punch so hard they would frighten Joe Frazier. Check out the video for the stunning "Kingdom of Rust" (which is one of the few songs that jointly holds the record in this house for being played 5 times in a row) directed by China Moo Young. The visual imagery tells you all you need to know about the Doves. A young bearded man drives in a classic Ford Grenada up the M61 past Preston onto snowy moorland then to Blackpool to spread ashes of a relative on the beach (the album is dedicated to Jim Goodwins father Francis who died in 2008). He passes cooling towers, burger vans, lads playing football and flocks of seagulls. And this is the point; the mental images I have of the Doves are all very British yet their music transcends boundaries and genres. The recent BBC review highlights with pin point accuracy and is worth quoting -

"Opening song "There Goes the Fear", hurtles from music box tinkles to Afrobeat freak-out via one of the most compulsive rock tunes of modern times. Here it Comes - arguably the blueprint for Amy Winehouse's Motown revivalism. Fan of summery stadium pop? "Catch the Sun". Fancy a spot of epic gospel? "Caught by the River". Enjoy feeling like you're having your face melodically blow-torched? "Jetstream".

None of this of course mentions the bands signature song "The Cedar Room" opening with scrawling feedback, pounding drums and Goodwin's epic vocal and the brilliant instrumentation of Andy and Jez Williams. By the end of 7.38 minutes you have heard one of the most epic rock songs produced by a British band which is simply awesome. Aside from the well known songs the B sides here are of interest to fans although Im not certain about the mix of Firesuite. This is nevertheless a small complaint and for those who have never heard the classic Doves songs envy is the only emotion that one can feel for the forthcoming stupendous experience that will will have listening to Disk One of this album. Any self respecting music lover will own most of these songs already but this is an excellent package and there certainly is enough here for diehard fans to get added value. As I write this I'm listening to the best song Motown never recorded "Black and White town" and my teenage son shouted from the other room "Dad burn that for me". That's the Doves for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite The Best, 5 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great introduction to the band and good selection of rarities for those not new to the band. However, as always with these type of things, it doesn't contain everything I would've liked to have been on it (which says something when you can't fit the best of the band even in 2 CDs!) and I can easily think of another 6-8 songs I would've included if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the doves...the places between, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Places Between: The Best Of Doves (Audio CD)
Its been years since ive listened to anything by the doves...then a few singles were played on the radio station i listen to...so i decided to get the best of..what a brilliant compilation..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must purchase even for Doves fans, 14 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have all the Doves Albums and the excellent DVD that was recorded at the Eden Center but I still want this. Apart from it being excellent value for money, to finally have an official release ( as far as I know? ) of the Kingdom Of Rust and Winter Hill videos, makes this limited edition set reason enough for any Doves fan to purchase it. CD two is the 2nd reason for reasons that are probably obvious, and whilst CD 1 is just a collection of their most well known tracks, its sometimes nice to just put a CD on the CD player to listen to these tracks without swapping between all the albums, even in today's ipod world, especially if you still want to utilise your very expensive CD player.

I agree with Red On Blacks comments about the Kingdom Of Rust video, its quite possibly one of the most atmospheric videos ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most under rated UK band of the last 10 years, 10 July 2010
By 
Mr. M. J. Davies "Mark42" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Places Between: The Best Of Doves (Audio CD)
Quite simply amazing. There isnt a bad song on the 1st cd and their b-sides are better than most. This is the band i was expecting Oasis to become but never came close.

Lets hope Doves continue for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice mix of obscure and well known, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great value album with 2 cds and a dvd, I was especially keen to hear some of the less well known songs as I am a huge fan of their music and they do not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 23 May 2010
By 
S. Turner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Has this band ever done a bad song? I don't think so. Fantastic package. Now, go and buy everything else they've released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Manchester's best, 11 April 2010
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Places Between: The Best Of Doves (Audio CD)
In a Jam-like way, Doves' material arguably sounds more enjoyable on a compilation like this than it does on the source studio albums.

"The Places Between" is the CD equivalent of a dream team. Just check the three openers: "There Goes The Fear", "Black and White Town", "Snowden" - it's one hell of a way to kick-start an album, or even kick-start your own life come to that. Was there ever a better description of Greater Manchester than "Satellite towns, no colour and no sound"?

This is music that fits just about anywhere - down the pub, idle Sunday afternoons, long car journeys. This might sound a bit crazy BUT, if you only ever buy one record in your life "The Best of Doves" would not be a bad choice (either this or Snap SE [2CD] by the Jam).

My only minor gripe is a rather flimsy booklet with minimal information (otherwise good artwork though) doesn't really do the music justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i, 11 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love the music & am an adopted mancky wiggle walker, so give 5* but seems ridiculous to say that some tracks are not as tight as should be (backing in Jetstream grates & off note: Heanvenly Recordings have a bit to answer to) all in all I love it & repeat listening value is good. if you're thinkinh of purchasing songs only (silly billy) best tracks: wise, words, black & white & cedar room. iIIIIIIII love it x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for indie music lovers everywhere, 19 May 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Places Between: The Best Of Doves (Audio CD)
The Doves have often dominated my musical playlists over the years, and this skillfully compiled 'Best Of' album contains most of the highlights from the band's first ten years: 2000-2010.

Reminiscent of The Jam's sound and early Oasis, this great British band from Manchester are responsible for some excellent modern indie anthems of recent times. The set opens up with their signature song, and highest UK chart entry for a single: 'Here Comes The Fear', and follows on with the atmospheric 'Black and White Town', another widely known song.

'The Place Between' contains everything the standard listener (and perhaps more avid fan) could want in a Doves compilation. Although there are tracks featured from all four studio albums, as well as a collection of other singles and EP tracks to help gain a 'fuller picture', this compilation focuses heavily on the platinum selling albums 'Lost Souls' and 'The Last Broadcast', which really have been their best releases so far.

I could listen to the Doves' music anywhere, and so often have. This is simply because that they aren't a band that I have to be in the mood for, I can enjoy them anytime. In short, if you don't want to collect their complete discography - you'll find most (if not all) of what you need on here. If your a big fan, be sure to order the superb deluxe edition instead: The Places Between: The Best Of Doves (2CD+DVD), where you'll get this CD, plus a bonus disc of B sides, rarities and alternative versions, as well as a DVD of the band's music videos. If that sounds too hard going, you'll still love the standard edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Places Between: The Best Of Doves
The Places Between: The Best Of Doves by Doves (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews