Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, dry humour that feels totally realistic!
Finally the 2nd series of People Like Us is available in the UK! As all fans of series 1 will know, this 2nd installment keeps the exact same format of a mock documentary show that profiles different professions and follows the people involved.

Such is the completely authentic approach and style of the episodes that some people have mistaken this show as being...
Published on 5 Aug 2010 by Dave

versus
0 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit boring
Unfortunately did not find this dvd particularly interesting. Only bought because David Tennant was featured. Tried to watch item The Vicar and found it boring. Shut dvd off.
Published on 31 July 2010 by P. A. Pendrey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, dry humour that feels totally realistic!, 5 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Finally the 2nd series of People Like Us is available in the UK! As all fans of series 1 will know, this 2nd installment keeps the exact same format of a mock documentary show that profiles different professions and follows the people involved.

Such is the completely authentic approach and style of the episodes that some people have mistaken this show as being for real. Because of this the humour is easily miss-able as the programme does not deliver punch-line type humour. Instead the laughs come from the conversation between the interviewer Roy Mallard and the interviewee - you have to pay attention to the questions and answers to get the giggles - and they do come thick and fast!
I often think of People Like Us as being one of the forgotten and most underrated of recent comedy series but its sheer subtlety and authentic feel/set-up makes it one of the most enjoyable shows of the past 10 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pathos shines through in this now sullied comedy gem!, 10 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It would be easy to say that without People Like Us then the beeb wouldn't have commissioned the office, it's easy so like any hack review I'm going to say it and get it out of the way now. This little remembered comedy classic has finally been released apologetically by the BBC, given that the main star of the programme fell from grace a few years ago amid a sordid conviction for peadophilic related offences. This revelation in a way gives this second series of People Like Us a new extra layer of pathos as disgraced Chris Langham's character Roy Mallard interviews and narrates a usually tragic day in the life of ordinary people. Like most ordinary real people the characters are all tinged with some degree of personal tragedy, the struggling actor who can't get over his lost love, the local newspaper editor who didn't follow his dream, the vicar who no longer believes in god. It's also fun with these characters seeing just how many of the actors have gone on to find fame and fortune of their own, in the second series the two biggest hitters playing second fiddle to the disgraced Langham are ex-doctor who and now aspiring Hollywood A-lister David Tennant, and comedy stalwart Robert Webb. So with seemingly depressing material like the show has where does the comedy come from, well mostly it comes from Roy Mallards inept interviewing, this is a journalist who wants to be Louis Theroux however he comes across more like Larry David, as he is incapable of getting even the simplest of questions right and invariably somehow ends up ruining the lives of the people he is just meant to be observing. As Mallard get's himself in one awkward situation after another it leaves him ooh and aah-ing ineptly and the viewer howling with laughter and biting their knuckles in equal measure. The voice overs are a wonder to behold, full as they are of uber-management speak, you think you've just heard Mallard say something eminently sensible or profound but listen again and its really just a random selection of words stuck together in some form of bare coherence. There is also a rather fun running joke about the never seen Mallard being married, despite some unseen deformity of the ever bungling Mallard.

At the end of an average episode of People Like Us you might not be laughing uproariously, you'll probably leave an episode thinking about the tragedy of human life you've just seen, however like all great comedies this pathos helps us to identify with the characters who are, when all is said and done, people like us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even funnier than series one, 16 April 2011
By 
Dan (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Roy Mallard is back on form as the bungling reporter in the second series of the not-so-well known People Like Us. I had been looking for the second series for a while, only for it to be released 'on the quiet' some months ago. Now I've finally got my hands on it, all I can say is how impressed I am that, with the same formula, each episode never fails to raise a smile, along with a couple of genuine laugh out loud moments. It's refreshing to find a comedy these days that doesn't rely on crude sexual humour or swearing to get the laughs (not that I'm against that, mind); this is something you could quite easily watch with your kids or your parents. For the bargain price, this deserves a place on any comedy fans shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime - but surely too late, 26 Jan 2011
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
"People Like Us" is an underrated gem - one of the best comedy shows the BBC ever made. Series 1 has been available for many years, but a UK release of series 2 has been notably absent until now. I'd already bought the pack of both series that has been available in Portugal for years, and I then bought the Australian release of S2 to get it in the correct widescreen ratio. I'd hazard a guess that anyone who knows PLU has already sought out an international release just to get S2, so I doubt many copies of this will be sold.

That said, anyone who hasn't already seen it is in for a treat. Roy Mallard, the hapless interviewer, shadows a range of subjects to understand the lives of "People Like Us". Each episode is played perfectly straight - in parts, if you weren't watching carefully, you could mistake it for a serious BBC2 documentary. The humour is all in the detail - but when you spot it, it's hilarious. It's a series that repays repeated watching, as more and more detail is revealed on successive viewings. There are ongoing gags throughout the series - the fact that you never catch more than a glimpse of Roy himself, the fact that no-one can believe he's married - but each episode stands on its own. It's also great to play "spot the star of the future" - when PLU was made, people like David Tennant and Bill Nighy weren't the household names they are today.

Series 1 and 2 are both equally good - the comments above apply to both - but if you were just going to buy one disc, it has to be series 2 to get "The Pilot" - one of the funniest half-hours of television ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People Like Us - Yes We Do, 11 May 2012
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I came across the first series by chance one night, thought it was a serious documentary at first. However, after about 10 minutes realised it was a comedy. Roy Mallard's questions, comments and actions make this a very funny, in a dry sort of a way, series. He seems to frustrate and even irritate some people with the things he says and does, but you realise they are actors and this is a parody of television journalism. Having enjoyed the first series so much, I bought series two as soon as I saw it. It is more of the same, only different subjects and "victims". I was surprised to read that people were complaining to the BBC about this programme, even into the second series, as they thought it was serious and just didn't understand the humour. I wish there had been a series 3 and so on, there is so much more that could be poked fun of by Mr Mallard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 1 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I dont know why the the BBC should have chosen to release Series 2 DVD in UK format so long after the series finished, but it is much to be welcomed. This humour does not date, and the episodes can be watched again and again!

Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Subtle Humor, 21 Sep 2010
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This show is fantastic!! You really have to pay attention sometimes to get all the jokes in it, but overall - a GREAT show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb observational humour, 17 Dec 2009
By 
Prospero77 "Prosp77" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The David Tennant 'actor' episode is one of the funniest, most incisive and best observed pieces of comedy I have ever seen (check clips on Youtube) and I'm not one given to hyperbole. The scene where he meets his former love in the pub is an immaculate piece of acting, no words are spoken but that look, the eyes...tragic and poignant at the same time-pure genius! Criminal that this has not been released when things like 'Don't Wait Up' have been released in their entirety (Sorry Nigel-loved you in Manchild though). Could be related to Langham's fall from grace of course (no I'm not going there) but if the noughties are to be remembered for 'reality TV' and the 'real-time' docu-style comedy genre then 'People Like Us' really did blaze the trail. Incidentally series 3 of this was cut in favour of some new fangled programme by Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant...whatever that was called?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why no UK release?, 17 Aug 2009
By 
Simon Hollis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just as good as series one, I don't understand why this hasn't been released on DVD in the UK - it's a BBC series after all. Does anybody know the answer?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you cringe, 25 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. P. Chimes "Gravette" (Gers, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The comparisons have already been made by others, and I think this holds up well against all of them.

They sometimes overdo the mangling of the English language, but it's not much worse than the mutterings of many real journalists, and at least it's intentional in People Like Us. Roy Mallard is wonderfully inept.

Scripts and acting are both excellent. We have only watched them once so far, but I look forward to another viewing. Maintains the high standards set by series one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

People Like Us - Series 2 [DVD]
People Like Us - Series 2 [DVD] by Chris Langham (DVD - 2010)
7.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews