Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars24
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£12.35

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2013
Essential reading for those becoming aware of man's destruction of our planet. Should be necessary reading for schools to educate the young about the need for the young generations to be different to the older.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
Looks like a really interesting read, only just getting stuck into it. Views history of extraction from the sea in a slightly different way to most (longer time scale)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
History, Geology and Biology combined!
A slow start, but I found it increasingly fascinating. This book ought to be on every school curriculum
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
A great read, not too scientific and very easy, yet thought provoking. It is a huge issue that is covered very well in one book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
A book everyone should read. A well written easy to read factual account of our destruction of the seas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
Professor Callum Roberts explains how past greed and obtuse fishing methods have restructured the entire ocean. This historic build up and the inevitable modern perceptions on ocean ecosystems is the harsh truth resulting in the need for major shifts in the way we use the ocean as a resource. If you are new to the impacts of fishing this book will enrich your understanding and possible your behaviour when considering your next meal.

This book was recommended to me by Callum Roberts himself as he is a lecturer of mine. Even with the belief that he may have been just trying to make a few sales I purchased one from him directly (with a discounted price of course). Despite my scepticism of the act I found the book enlightening and would recommend it to anyone who wishes to question modern intensive fishing and humanities which allow them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
Callum Roberts is an eminent marine biologist. Amongst his areas of interest is the history of human exploitation of the sea's resources, particularly through fishing. If we are to manage fisheries sustainably and restore invaluable biodiversity to our oceans, it is vital that we understand the growth of fishing pressure through history. This book is therefore an important account of how we got into the current catastrophic mess and how we might begin to put things right. It is scholarly and important but it is, at the same time, extremely readable: full of contemporary detail and flavour and beautifully written. A book that I read and then bought several further copies to give to friends.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
It's a must read for anybody - it explains so many different environmental concepts!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
An important book.
Should be part of the school curriculum.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
This is a fabulous book. A real eye-opener about the state of our seas today. The author has delved deep into historic records to build a detailed picture of the sheer scale of over-exploition of the sea and the concept of shifting baselines, where each successive generation perceives population levels in their environment against recent trends, rather than against historic levels. I truly recommend this book to everyone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)