Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Hello Friend..." - Sometime World - An MCA Travelogue by WISHBONE ASH (2010 Remasters)
Many Wishbone Ash fans will feel they've had to wait the guts of 30 years for a half-decent CD remaster of their favourite British band's huge back-catalogue. Well at last - it's here - and "...MCA Travelogue" is a humdinger, it really is.

"Sometime World" takes its name from the 2nd track on Side 1 of their most beloved album "Argus" and features newly...
Published on 27 May 2010 by Mark Barry

versus
5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Travelogue or old holiday slides?
The music is excellent, so why only 2 stars? I bought this in a shop (like we often did before Amazon), where of course the package was sealed. The title implied for me that this was a set of tracks recorded in different venues around the (sometime) world. So when I played it and realised it is just a repackaging of released tracks I already had I was not only...
Published on 28 July 2010 by Dr. Keith S. Taber


Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Hello Friend..." - Sometime World - An MCA Travelogue by WISHBONE ASH (2010 Remasters), 27 May 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sometime World: An MCA Travelogue (Audio CD)
Many Wishbone Ash fans will feel they've had to wait the guts of 30 years for a half-decent CD remaster of their favourite British band's huge back-catalogue. Well at last - it's here - and "...MCA Travelogue" is a humdinger, it really is.

"Sometime World" takes its name from the 2nd track on Side 1 of their most beloved album "Argus" and features newly remastered songs from 12 LPs - 26 tracks across two fully-featured CDs. Proceedings open with their rare 1970 debut album "Wishbone Ash" and carry on right through to 1981's "Number The Brave" - the only LP exclusion being any tracks from 1980's "Live Dates Volume 2".

Released Monday 31 May 2010 on Island/Universal 5326131, "Sometime World - An MCA Travelogue" breaks down as follows (full album versions used)...

Disc 1 (79:55 minutes):
1. Blind Eye
2. Error Of My Ways
3. Phoenix
4. Vas Dis
5. The Pilgrim
6. Jail Bait
7. Sometime World
8. Blowin' Free
9. Warrior
10. Throw Down The Sword
11. Everybody Needs A Friend
12. The King Will Come [Live]

1 to 3 from "Wishbone Ash", December 1970 UK LP on MCA Records MKPS 2014
4 to 6 from "Pilgrimage", September 1971 UK LP on MCA Records MDKS 8004
7 to 10 from "Argus", April 1972 UK LP on MCA Records MDKS 8006
11 from "Wishbone Four", December 1973 UK LP on MCA Records MDKS 8011
12 from "Live Dates", December 1973 UK 2LP Live Set on MCA Records ULD 1-2

Disc 2 (79:06 minutes):
1. Persephone
2. F.U.B.B.
3. Moonshine
4. Mother Of Pearl
5. Lorelei
6. Front Page News
7. Goodbye Baby Hello Friend
8. Come In From The Rain
9. You See Red
10. The Way Of The World (Parts 1 & 2)
11. Living Proof
12. Lifeline
13. That's That
14. Open Road

1 and 2 from "There's The Rub", November 1974 UK LP on MCA Records MCF 2585
3 from "Locked In". March 1976 UK LP on MCA Records MCF 2750
4 and 5 from "New England", November 1976 UK LP on MCA Records MCG 3523
6 to 8 from "Front Page News", October 1977 UK LP on MCA Records MCG 3524
9 and 10 from "No Smoke Without Fire", October 1978 UK LP on MCA Records MCG 3528
11 and 12 from "Just Testing", January 1980 UK LP on MCA Records MCF 3052
13 and 14 from "Number The Brave", April 1981 UK LP on MCA Records MCF 3013

The 16-page booklet features an album-by-album appraisal by DAVE LING of "Classic Rock" and "Metal Hammer" magazines, various line-up photos and a pictorial discography of the albums featured. And the release has clearly been made with band involvement (40th anniversary). But the big news is the sound...

Remastered by ANDY PEARCE, the sound is stupendous - at last these tracks are breathing - and to use that old cliché "they're live and in your living room". The instruments are wonderfully clear and full, each track a ballsy revelation. I've waited decades to hear the wicked "Front Page News" album from 1977 with Laurie Wisefield's awesome guitar playing in decent sound (ex CBS act "Home") - and here it is. There is hiss on the earlier albums, but it's neither compressed down nor trebled up - and as you listen to each song - you can't help but feel that real care went into the working of every song. They are as they were - just sounding new - like a visit from an old friend...

Track choices - this may irritate some - "Time Was" is the fabulous opening track on "Argus" and virtually defined their 'sound' for 4 decades to come, but it's missing. And speaking of that fab 3rd album - with the 2005 Erick Labson remaster and 2009 Paschal Byrne 2CD Deluxe Edition remaster (both wonderful), do we really need 4 more versions from that same LP? Those inclusions mean that the massively underrated "Wishbone Four" has only one track featured (albeit a really good one), while I would also loved to have heard the brilliantly funky "Outward Bound" from "New England" too. Having said that, it's quietly satisfying to hear that Disc 2 is just as good as Disc 1 (and in some cases better - "Lorelei", "Come In From The Rain" and "You See Red").

So there you have it - if this is a taster for the individual album remasters to come - then it works. Fans will absolutely love the new and superlative remastered sound quality, while newcomers will dig some classic twin-guitar rock with tunes.

And about bloody time too.

Recommended.

PS: fans should note that 19 May 2010 saw the CD reissue of 13 classic Wishbone Ash albums in Japan - from "Wishbone Ash" to "Number The Brave" (included the 2disc set "Live Dates Volume 2"). All feature new 2010 remastering, 5" Mini LP card repro sleeves (textured covers, gatefolds and inserts where applicable) and are on the superior SHM-CD format (Super High Materials - compatible with all CD players). They're available to order through the excellent cdjapan website
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock, 5 Jun 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sometime World: An MCA Travelogue (Audio CD)
This is an excellent 2 cd set from Wishbone Ash who appear to be one of Britains best kept secrets,destined like Hawkwind/Uriah Heep to play second fiddle to the likes of Zep/Sabbath & Purple,this is a wonderful place to start.

Disc 1 covers the Ted Turner era from the debut thru to live dates(1970-73) and shows the early folkier,progressive leanings,highlights being the epics 'Phoenix ' and 'Pilgrim', how many southern bands did those two influence i wonder,early classics include 'Error of my Ways' and 'jailbait' while their best known album Argus gets 4 tracks including the superb title track of this compilation and the fantastic 'Blowin Free',Live dates is represented with another Argus fav 'The King Will Come'.All in all its as good a selection of early Ash as you'll get,personally i think Wishbone 4 has been under represented,i would have swopped 'vas dis' and 'blind eye' for the likes of R n R Widow/Sorrell/Ballad of the Beacon,still cant have everything,everyone will have their own personal favourites.

Disc 2 covers the Laurie Wisefield era (1974-81) and again each album is represented from 74's There's The Rub thru 81's No The Brave( with the exception inexplicably of Live Dates 2).This era ssaw the band become more aor/fm at times but despite what some people will tell you they still rocked and disc 2 can be arguably described as even better than disc 1.

Highlights are many the simply spine chilling solos on the likes of 'Persephone,Lorelie,Living Proof etc,the hit single that never was'Goodbye Baby...,the jaw dropping musicianship on epics like 'FUBB','Way of the World' and the magnificent 'Lifeline' all showing that the band could rock like the best of them.

So why should you buy,well die hards will know that there have been many compilations,the best certainly the box set 'Distillation' released some years back
so what will entice you to shell out again,well the track listing is superb by and large, the revelation however is the SOUND,i couldnt agree more with the previous reviewer the remastering job done here is magnificent,the guitars of messrs Powell,Turner and Wisfield soar out of the speakers while Martin Turners bass and vocals touch your soul all underpinned by the clear concise drumming of Steve Upton.This is the best sound of any Wishbone cd i've heard and if its a precurser to the catalog being revamped and reissued then great.

The packaging on the other hand leaves a lot to be desired,the band's history is given a cursory run thru by respected journalist Dave Ling , i would have expected better,less pictures and more detail would have been welcomed,the pictorial discography reffered to in the previous review is a TINY pathetic grouping of pictures crammed together in approximately a quarter of one page,hardly worth the effort,pretty shabby,had the disc not been so reasonably priced i may have docked a star,maybe the likes of Skynyrd/Purple and Hawkwind's remasters etc have raised expectations unfairly for all remasters packages.

Buy now and enhance your listening pleasure this music deserves to be cherished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb compilation of a vastly under-rated band, 2 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Philip Baird (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sometime World: An MCA Travelogue (Audio CD)
I've always really liked Wishbone Ash but listening to this years later I'm struck by just how very classy they really were. This was intelligent, melodic, harmonic, thinking person's rock music, with a deep and significant English feel to the songs and lyrics and marvellous musicianship all round. There is some stinging guitar playing, full of invention and ideas and you can really hear Martin Turner's superb bass-work and Steve Upton's great drumming on these remasters. On disc one the writing and playing is nothing less than inspired, and lifts them higher than all but the very best of their era. This is great music in any genre and transcends the boundaries that we think of as rock. If disc two doesn't quite match the compositional originality and quality of disc one then the playing certainly does and not many bands can boast this sort of level of ability. You can also only imagine how many other bands that must have copied their style, and their influence on European rock in its most fertile and interesting years. Therefore it is one of rock history's great injustices that this band have been largely overlooked since their early seventies heyday, while lesser bands who never scaled these heights of creativity are accorded more respect and continued success for a thinner volume of work. I can think of a few huge name bands who never made music quite this good. Hopefully this wonderful compilation may go some way to remind us just what remarkable quality they were - and to some extent still are - and perhaps one day they'll be recognised for their magnificent contribution to English rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ooooh, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sometime World: An MCA Travelogue (Audio CD)
It has hello baby goodbye friend, on it. Classic and other wishbone ash toons. Best heard at speed through modern motor vehicle sound systems.
Treat city.
Twin leads a cracking band and various incarnations still tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wishbone Ash - Sometime World, 31 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Sometime World: An MCA Travelogue (Audio CD)
Sometime World is Universal's 40th anniversary compilation of Wishbone Ash tunes. Disc 1 offers material from Ash Mk I, made up of Martin Turner, Steve Upton, Andy Powell and Ted Turner. Disc 2 includes material from Ash Mk II, with Laurie Wisefield replacing Ted Turner, and two tracks from Ash Mk III, with John Wetton replacing Martin Turner. Disc 1 is probably the strongest material, particularly from a prog point of view, including Phoenix, The Pilgrim and a number of tracks from the classic Argus album. But Disc 2 also includes some good tunes, like Persephone, FUBB, Lorelei and The Way of the World. Fans may quibble with some choices. Ballad of the Beacon and Sorrel, my favourites off Wishbone Four, are not there. Rest In Peace or Say Goodbye would be better choices off Locked In than Moonshine, but some would say skip Locked In altogether. That album is widely considered to be one of the Ash's weakest albums. It should have been good, but producer Tom Dowd, famous for his work with other artists like Eric Clapton and the Allman Brothers Band, dropped the ball, and the Ash themselves provided some rather lackluster material. Many fans also consider the material on the Number The Brave album to be a departure from previous Ash offerings, with Open Road, for example, having the southern-US-style boogie rock sound that came to dominate the two subsequent Ash albums. It's obvious, as well, that the Ash did not make full use on John Wetton on Number The Brave.

A selling point for Sometime World is the excellent remastering job. This is especially noticeable on Everybody Needs A Friend from Wishbone Four, an album which was poorly mastered on its first outing. Universal has promised remasters of all the MCA Ash back catalogue, but so far all we've seen is the Argus deluxe edition. The remastered four-disc Distillation box set is a more complete compilation of Ash material over the years, and includes some rarities, plus a disc of live material from Ash Mk II. But Sometime World serves as a good overview of Wishbone Ash's first decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, poor packaging, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sometime World: An MCA Travelogue (Audio CD)
Fantastic album by a great band but unfortunately one star off because the purchase arrived in a package envelope that seems wasn't fit for the purpose. It was quite thin and so was burst and the jewel case inside was completely smashed - lid, back and spine. So I am now having difficulty in finding double jewel case that will fit.. I would suggest a more substantial envelope is used in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPINAL TAP MOMENTS BUT BRILLIANT COLLECTION, 28 Sep 2010
By 
David P. Weber (North Fremantle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sometime World: An MCA Travelogue (Audio CD)
Lovers of tasty Seventies dual-guitar playing should take note.

This is a diverse collection of the best work of The Ash, in crisp, remastered sound.

Smile at lyrics that draw on concepts surrounding swords and sorcery. Grin at chorus vocals that go BA-DA-DA-DAT BA-DA-DAT DA-DA-DAAAH, for bar after bar...

You know, their 1972 album was rated the best of the year by NME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Travelogue or old holiday slides?, 28 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Sometime World: An MCA Travelogue (Audio CD)
The music is excellent, so why only 2 stars? I bought this in a shop (like we often did before Amazon), where of course the package was sealed. The title implied for me that this was a set of tracks recorded in different venues around the (sometime) world. So when I played it and realised it is just a repackaging of released tracks I already had I was not only disappointed but felt conned. There is nothing wrong with a compilation of course, but I thought the title was misleading and surely the record company knew that. No wonder there is so much illegal file sharing when record companies behave this way. That is theft from the rightful owners of the rights, and is wrong: but I felt this came quite close to being much the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sometime World: An MCA Travelogue
Sometime World: An MCA Travelogue by Wishbone Ash (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews