Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

An absolutely brilliant collection of Nazareth's powerful rock sound, including their biggest hits Love Hurts, Broken Down Angel, Bad Bad Boy, Place In Your Heart and This Flight Tonight. The lead singer's vocal could be piercing and rasping but sensitive too, a bit like Joe Cocker. I love their version of Joni Mitchell's This Flight Tonight, as they really lift the song and give it an entirely new angle. And they do the same with their cover of The Everley Brothers' hit Love Hurts. My favourite is the brilliant Place In Your Heart, a tuneful and hypnotic classic if ever there was one. If you like the music of Queen or AC/DC, a melodic rock sound with strong vocals and high emotion, you'll love Nazareth.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2010
The latest Nazareth compliation based on the original Greatest Hits release circa 1976. This edition is expanded to include some fine examples of Nazareth's many, and varied tracks. For existing fans its another disc for your collection with updated packaging. For the new or casual listener its not a bad intro to the bands sound although i'd say its not completely representative of their music. As a greatest hits package theres very little filler; for the hard rock fan theres a lot of highlights - Expect No Mercy, Telegramm, Hair of The Dog and Razamanaz to name a few. For the more commercial rocker theres Dream On, Everytime it Rains and Love Hurts. In conclusion not a bad starting point for the beginer, and a decent compilation for existing fans to add to their collection. Will appeal to fans of "classic" rock, fans of extreme rock genres would be best advised to give it a miss!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2001
Dunfermline ?? an unlikely spawning ground for rock legends but what about Big Country and WHAT ABOUT DAN MCCAFFERTY,S RAW VOCALS AS GREAT A ROCK SINGER AS YOU WILL HEAR.This flight Tonight is amazing with the Naz rock treatment then the surprise of the soft but tuff Love Hurts,you realise that these are master musicians at work.Check out the unusual track Carry-Out Feelings-----Take Away love superb stuff and then Broken Down Angel lyrically and musically a masterpiece.This selection is precisely what sold out the bigger stadium venues in the U.S.A. long after the U.K. had forgotten about Nazareth,so listen and learn where AC/dc may have got some of their influence.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
My mum likes this band and thought this was her favourite album, so she was pleased to get this album at such a cheap price and the delivery came very fast, thansk very much!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
Bought the cd to replace my original vinyl copy. There are "additional" tracks on the cd most of which aren;t too good but the origial tracks (and a couple of the additional tracks) are as good as ever. Well pleased !!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Admitted, I am not a fan. I bought this album for Love Hurts, therefor the one star.
I do not know why it is called "greatest hits", as there are further more only fillers on the album, 19 in total.
I have a rather big cd collection and I have listened to them at least once but this one is by far the most difficult to go through.
If you are a fan, you probably wil. Want to shoot le.
If you are, like me, in search of Love hurts, by some 70s compilation with this one hit on it. I am sure it exists
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Some real classics here. Had forgotten how many really good tracks this group made. I had originally liked their early sets but found them to get too poppy but then really liking Broken Down Angel but in retrospect enjoy lots of this. Some is a bit fill in rather than classic but overall very listenable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2004
One of the first record i bought back when i was 12 years old was a Nazareth album called Hair of the Dog (the title song is on this album)and the cover just blew me away. This introduction to heavy metal gave me nightmares for years. Anyway this greatest hits give you a introduction to a band with an old Everly Brothers and Roy Orbison song called Love Hurts(also on this album)on their resyme. Its the biggest hit on the norwegian hit list ever. Belive it or not. It was 60 weeks on the list. It reached number 8 in USA, but it never reached the list in UK. My favorite track on this album is Razamanaz. Nazareth is still touring, and Dan Mc Cafferty still sings. Back in the 70 this was what we called
Heavy Metal, and we can hear the vocal, and the riffs on the guitar has something to say to us teenagers back then This album is worth a try if your curious what kind of a band Nazareth is or
"was". This was before they come up with earfriendly "soft metal".
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
I have this recording on Vinyl in a cupboard with a few scratches, so it is great to hear the "boys" again on CD. This a great collection of the hits that all Nazareth fans will know and love. I am no Audio expert but this CD sounds great to me, at home or in the car, so "Expect no Mercy" from Dan and the Boys!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
Hubby rates it....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)