Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POWERFUL MELODIC ROCK
An absolutely brilliant collection of Nazareth's powerful rock sound, including their biggest hits Love Hurts, Broken Down Angel, Bad Bad Boy, Place In Your Heart and This Flight Tonight. The lead singer's vocal could be piercing and rasping but sensitive too, a bit like Joe Cocker. I love their version of Joni Mitchell's This Flight Tonight, as they really lift the song...
Published on 21 May 2003 by Peter Uys

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good
does what it says on the box.got what i ordered.recommended for old school rockers and noobs also.bad bad boy-brilliant.buy and enjoy
Published on 12 Feb. 2013 by se


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POWERFUL MELODIC ROCK, 21 May 2003
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
An absolutely brilliant collection of Nazareth's powerful rock sound, including their biggest hits Love Hurts, Broken Down Angel, Bad Bad Boy, Place In Your Heart and This Flight Tonight. The lead singer's vocal could be piercing and rasping but sensitive too, a bit like Joe Cocker. I love their version of Joni Mitchell's This Flight Tonight, as they really lift the song and give it an entirely new angle. And they do the same with their cover of The Everley Brothers' hit Love Hurts. My favourite is the brilliant Place In Your Heart, a tuneful and hypnotic classic if ever there was one. If you like the music of Queen or AC/DC, a melodic rock sound with strong vocals and high emotion, you'll love Nazareth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A taste of Naz, 6 May 2010
By 
G. De Ste Croix (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The latest Nazareth compliation based on the original Greatest Hits release circa 1976. This edition is expanded to include some fine examples of Nazareth's many, and varied tracks. For existing fans its another disc for your collection with updated packaging. For the new or casual listener its not a bad intro to the bands sound although i'd say its not completely representative of their music. As a greatest hits package theres very little filler; for the hard rock fan theres a lot of highlights - Expect No Mercy, Telegramm, Hair of The Dog and Razamanaz to name a few. For the more commercial rocker theres Dream On, Everytime it Rains and Love Hurts. In conclusion not a bad starting point for the beginer, and a decent compilation for existing fans to add to their collection. Will appeal to fans of "classic" rock, fans of extreme rock genres would be best advised to give it a miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bought the cd to replace my original vinyl copy. There are "additional" tracks on the cd most of which aren;t too good but the origial tracks (and a couple of the additional tracks) are as good as ever. Well pleased !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nazareth. Basic Heavy metal from the 70 ths, 26 July 2004
By 
Kurt Olav Helle "Kurt Olav Experience" (Lonevåg, Osteroy Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
One of the first record i bought back when i was 12 years old was a Nazareth album called Hair of the Dog (the title song is on this album)and the cover just blew me away. This introduction to heavy metal gave me nightmares for years. Anyway this greatest hits give you a introduction to a band with an old Everly Brothers and Roy Orbison song called Love Hurts(also on this album)on their resyme. Its the biggest hit on the norwegian hit list ever. Belive it or not. It was 60 weeks on the list. It reached number 8 in USA, but it never reached the list in UK. My favorite track on this album is Razamanaz. Nazareth is still touring, and Dan Mc Cafferty still sings. Back in the 70 this was what we called
Heavy Metal, and we can hear the vocal, and the riffs on the guitar has something to say to us teenagers back then This album is worth a try if your curious what kind of a band Nazareth is or
"was". This was before they come up with earfriendly "soft metal".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geat CD, 19 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I have this recording on Vinyl in a cupboard with a few scratches, so it is great to hear the "boys" again on CD. This a great collection of the hits that all Nazareth fans will know and love. I am no Audio expert but this CD sounds great to me, at home or in the car, so "Expect no Mercy" from Dan and the Boys!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best rock voice to come out off scotland?, 3 Oct. 2001
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Dunfermline ?? an unlikely spawning ground for rock legends but what about Big Country and WHAT ABOUT DAN MCCAFFERTY,S RAW VOCALS AS GREAT A ROCK SINGER AS YOU WILL HEAR.This flight Tonight is amazing with the Naz rock treatment then the surprise of the soft but tuff Love Hurts,you realise that these are master musicians at work.Check out the unusual track Carry-Out Feelings-----Take Away love superb stuff and then Broken Down Angel lyrically and musically a masterpiece.This selection is precisely what sold out the bigger stadium venues in the U.S.A. long after the U.K. had forgotten about Nazareth,so listen and learn where AC/dc may have got some of their influence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Full of Classics, 30 April 2014
By 
C. Parcell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Some real classics here. Had forgotten how many really good tracks this group made. I had originally liked their early sets but found them to get too poppy but then really liking Broken Down Angel but in retrospect enjoy lots of this. Some is a bit fill in rather than classic but overall very listenable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nazareth, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
My mum likes this band and thought this was her favourite album, so she was pleased to get this album at such a cheap price and the delivery came very fast, thansk very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
does what it says on the box.got what i ordered.recommended for old school rockers and noobs also.bad bad boy-brilliant.buy and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Take me back many years listening to their old LP .Brilliant sound quality excellent production wish I bought it sooner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Nazareth (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews