Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC SHOW BY TWO GREAT SINGER/SONGWRITERS
Let me start this review by saying I am a huge fan of James Taylor, he has produced some of the finest music over the last forty years or so. His fame here grew when The Beatles label Apple signed him,and the classic songs began to appear on albums that remain on all time albums still as popular now as they were then.He is a superb guitarist,one of the best acoustic...
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by P. Clack

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad producing, good musicianship
The performances are good though not exactly great. But what destroys this disk is the bad producing. This record is the perfect example of pervertly overcompressed music. The producer has been mixing dance music lately? He's just had to hit -10dB signal level in the best of trance music tradition. Yes, it fits dance tracks and sounds good, but this is actually folk music...
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by Nut


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC SHOW BY TWO GREAT SINGER/SONGWRITERS, 2 Jun 2010
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Troubadour (Audio CD)
Let me start this review by saying I am a huge fan of James Taylor, he has produced some of the finest music over the last forty years or so. His fame here grew when The Beatles label Apple signed him,and the classic songs began to appear on albums that remain on all time albums still as popular now as they were then.He is a superb guitarist,one of the best acoustic players ever and an inspiration to so many up and coming artists,and his voice is just perfect for the material he records and performs. Add to that on this set the wonderful Carole King,again a great vocalist and pianist writer of songs like 'It's Too Late','Will You Love Me Tomorrow','So Far Away' and many more,classic albums including 'Tapestry' which was recently re-mastered and re-released in de luxe form,Here we're talking two artists of incredible talent who performed together thirty years ago coming together again at the LA Troubadour venue for this very special gig,along with a band consisting of three musicians who recorded and performed with them way back in the seventies.So well did this gig go they are currently on a major US tour of large arena's.
To this set then , coming as a CD/DVD set, not at an arena but a club type venue that is absolutely perfect for their music, this set is even better than I thought it would be,the songs are well known all fifteen of them, the production by Peter Asher excellent throughout. The DVD is nicely filmed draws you right into the concert with Carole King enjoying every second of it.James Taylor between songs shares stories and has a few funny quips along the way.The band are excellent and add such a dimension to the songs as well although some are just JT and CK,some just James alone.I would say there will not be a better album by anyone this year,the songs maybe a few years old now but they are as beautiful and fresh as they ever were.
If your a fan of either of these artists you'll love it,if not get this set and it will brighten every day with such great songs so well sung and played. Just hope the Tour comes to the UK and Europe as well.
To the songs then
1.Blossom
2. So Far Away
3.Machine Gun Kelly
4.Carolina On My Mind
5.It's Too Late
6. Smackwater Jack
7. Something In The Way She Moves
8. Will You Love Me Tomorrow
9. Country Road
10.Fire And Rain
11.Sweet Baby James
12.I Feel The Earth Move
13.You've Got A Friend
24.Up On The Riif
15.You Can Close Your Eyes
The DVD has an intro by the artists to set the scene otherwise it's just the gig and wonderful it is.
Absolutely recommended throughout by two of the greatest singer/songwriters ever, 5 stars and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory Purchase..., 5 Jun 2010
By 
COLIN C (Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Troubadour (Audio CD)
If you enjoy JT or CK, even just a little, this is not an optional purchase! I can't say I'm an avid fan of either but I just can't get enough of this DVD!

JT is clearly still at the very top of his game, with ever-more-convoluted winds and twists in his delivery and an impossibly deep understanding of what makes a great song truly unforgettable. CK oozes emotion throughout and bathes the stage with what I can only describe as an aura, delivering some truly moving performances.

But this show wasn't about two individuals, though great artists in their own right they undoubtedly are. This was about celebrating a deep friendship spanning over 4 decades and producing some of contemporary music's most hummable melodies. Add to all that the historical importance of the venue and an uncanny feeling of being totally intimate with the performers, this has to be my best ever music DVD.

The melding of JT's guitar, CK's piano and the surprisingly small band produces sounds which, if you close your eyes, you would think were coming from a dozen or more performers - to the verge of being orchestral in places. The arrangements are exquisite, the sound mixing and recording is virtually faultless and, (at least reproduced on my 25 year old Hi-Fi, which is hooked into the DVD player), produces countless high spots and emotional rushes.

If I were to be hyper-critical (excuse me for this - I have been playing live music most of my life), CK's voice reveals the odometer reading in places and, amazingly, JT's pace has a noticeable wanderlust until brought into check by the drummer. But hey! This is live music, right? I can only ponder as to how anyone can create such quality live on stage. The footage would indicate they had difficulty accommodating the cameras in such a small venue, but I feel this adds to the feeling of intimacy. But none of this detracts from what is undoubtedly a truly amazing show.

Being mercenary for a moment, a DVD AND a CD for this money is outstanding value, although I have to say the magic (THAT'S the word I've been looking for...) is not so evident if you can't observe the body language. But it does give me the chance to harmonise with them travelling to and from work.

All in all, I cannot rate this item highly enough and I have no doubt it will rank among some of pop's truly great moments. I am eagerly awaiting the announcement of European dates for the tour - that's gotta be a must too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classy and classic, 1 Jun 2010
By 
Bodhi Heeren (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live At The Troubadour (Audio CD)
On this wonderful set these two illustrious singer/songwrtiters are accompanied by the host of musicians that originally played on their groundbreaking hit albums in the early 70s. The formidable rhythm section of Leland Sklar and Russ Kunkel. And adding the always interesting lead guitarwork of legendary Danny Kootchmar.

Not only relying on their hits this is a great crosssection of their work with lots of emotional and artistic highpoints. Carole King might sound a bit rusty in places where as James Taylor - like Graham Nash or Art Garfunkel - seems to have lost nothing whatsoever.

The DVD - directed by another legendary figure Peter Asher - is absolutely top notch. And of course beautiful to see these mature musicians in such intimate surroundings. Celebrating the club where the likes of Linda Ronstadt and Eagles also started their career.

Not merely nostalgic but absolutely beautiful and timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, 6 Nov 2010
This review is from: Live At The Troubadour (Audio CD)
What a treat! Two absolutely brilliant singer-songwriters, both still singing beautifully, working together and celebrating their friendship. The songs are performed with enormous brio, the sound quality is excellent and the live experience is just right. And the DVD is something I can watch many times. A great package at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 2 Oct 2010
By 
D. Chisholm "Mr Chis" (The Outback; UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Troubadour (Audio CD)
The problem with live recordings is they rarely capture a mood and are often full of self-indulgent performances. This is the exception - it's a return journey to where the West Coast sound began for these two exceptional talents.

Earlier this year, Carole King and James Taylor did the same again and I hesitated over the expense of travelling to LA for one gig and a one night stay. I deeply regret not going after seeing this DVD.

The atmosphere is electric; the music featuring some of the finest songs ever written ... and played by two of the world's greatest singer/songwriters. This is very special; The Troubadour is a surprsingly intimate venue and (having been there) a real piece of West Coast music history. It's where it all began.

Don't just buy this for yourself; buy a copy for someone who truly loves music. It's a very special piece of magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The issue of getting home after, is a disappointment, 12 Oct 2014
This review is from: Live At The Troubadour (Audio CD)
I'm not one that buys live albums much, especially with American audiences, I find the noise of whooping, whistling and yelling too much a distraction from the music. But this audience does seem to have more respect for the artists than most, whom seem to want to be heard, rather than listen.

On to the music within. With music from both Carol King and James Taylor's back catalogue, what else would one expect, beautiful songs sung so professionaly and smooth, but more than this the whole live feeling that must have happened on the night is transparency itself. We must also not forget the additional players on the day, all of which are found on most of quality music from the seventies soft American singer songwriter arena, helping make this a very tight performance. This single release may have changed my views on live albums completely, as the audience is almost an asset to the music. To add to this the production is perfection,over produced? Possibly but it works with this live CD somehow, the evening just hits one out of the speakers, like a tidle wave on a smooth summers day, one expects to open the eyes after listening and find out where the exit is in the theatre, just to find out your coffee has gone cold in your room at home.

My only advice would be, don't just download or buy the single Cd, go for the double set with the DVD as well to save a real disappointment, the audience will also then make some sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A concert to remember for ever, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: Live At The Troubadour (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to catch this concert in Sydney. I only had a cursory knowledge of James Taylor's work, whereas Carole King is, for my money, the world's greatest composer of my lifetime. (I was also supposed to have seen Burt Bacharach in concert the previous month, but he had to postpone and eventually cancel - just as well - my two favourite composers in a month was probably too much for my constitution to bear). James Taylor was magnificent - humorous, empathetic, and simply great. Carole was superlative as she always is. The interplay between the two was constant throughout, and the obvious affection and professional respect they have for each other was evident from the moment they came on stage. The highlight for me was 'Will you love me tomorrow?', which for my money has always been and will always be the best song ever written in my lifetime. The song always elicits an emotional audience response, and this concert your was no different to any other in that respect. The only fault I have with this compilation, which truly does encapsulate an important piece of 20th century culture, is that they didn't include the duet the two performed of 'Crying in the rain', which was absolute perfection. But that's a minor niggle with a collection of work which is close to unparalleled - the only way it could have been bettered would have been to have had Dusty Springfield singing Goffin and King songs, and that obviously couldn't happen. This is a must for any teen of the 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cd, bringing James Taylor and Carole King together again., 28 July 2010
This review is from: Live At The Troubadour (Audio CD)
Fantastic cd and dvd.
Bringing James Taylor and Carole King together!
They certainly haven't lost it.
A great present for anyone who loves this duo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliving old times, 14 Aug 2010
By 
Mrs. Louise J. Leinhardt (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Troubadour (Audio CD)
You forget how good the old tunes were.Wonderfully enjoyable CD both musically and from a nostalgic point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have DVD, 30 July 2010
By 
Mr. Donald S. Clay "donnybaby" (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Troubadour (Audio CD)
I saw this live performance some weeks ago on BBC4 & so when I found-out that it was available on DVD it was a must buy item. I have liked these two artists for many years & so seeing this live perfomance I was really impressed. It's great to see the warmth & respect that they have for each other - it's like watching one of those feel good movies. I would have liked to have been able to got this on Blu-ray but it's not available as yet, but the picture quality is so good that it's very close to HD ! I keep a regular check on what's showing in BBC4 - it was because of this channel that I discovered the "Trans-Antlantic Sessions" which in turn brought to my attention another great performance/CD - The List, by Rosanne Cash (saw her singing Motherless Child on the of the sessions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At The Troubadour
Live At The Troubadour by James Taylor (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews