Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plain awesome
This game is by far the best game in a western setting available for PC which I know of. The looks are neat, the gameplay is superb, the story is thrilling and I loved switching from Ray to Billy and back while enjoying every aspect of the game.

This game was a good thing to buy at retail price, the budget version is a must have if you are into western...
Published on 21 Jun 2010 by D. B. Hubert

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A great setting and engaging story make up for a clunky game design
Call of Juarez is an ambitious, albeit flawed game that tells a Wild West story from the perspectives of two men, young Billy Candle, a fugitive on the run and Reverend Ray, his brother, who speaks to the lord and is a mean gunman. The story in this game is pretty decent, there are no surprises there of course, no plot-twists and all follows generic wild west and American...
Published on 19 Oct 2011 by H. Schunk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plain awesome, 21 Jun 2010
By 
D. B. Hubert (Marburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Juarez (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This game is by far the best game in a western setting available for PC which I know of. The looks are neat, the gameplay is superb, the story is thrilling and I loved switching from Ray to Billy and back while enjoying every aspect of the game.

This game was a good thing to buy at retail price, the budget version is a must have if you are into western shootouts.

Personally I loved being able to decide which weapon to hold in which hand, the slowmo shootings and everything else as well. I won't lie if I say that there are not many games that I remember in such a good light as Call of Juarez 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old but worth it, 18 Sep 2010
By 
J. Shaw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Juarez (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The game play is sometimes a tad linear (it isnt exactly Fallout 3 or Farcry)and the graphics are not as good as Call of Juarez:Bound in Blood but the story is good and it can be fun and challenging. Graphics aside this is a good game, and at the price it is now (basically £5) it is really worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game..., 16 Jun 2010
By 
P. Brunton (Thornaby, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Juarez (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Got this after playing a demo, its really good, could do with being a bit more free roaming though.
The game is broken up into chapters and you switch between two characters for different chapters. The storyline is ok but it can get tedious if you get stuck on one part as you can't deviate from the story line.
Online multiplayer is a free for all shoot fest, its very good and keeps me going back for more.

Graphics 8/10
Sound 7/10
Gameplay 8/10

Works perfectly on Windows 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good game, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Juarez (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I am a very casual gamer found this absorbing and enjoyable especially the horse riding.Difficult in places couldn't find the rabbits buy it you'll see what I mean.Great value for money would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Call of Juares, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. W. Prentice (Falkirk Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Juarez (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Bought this for my grandson and he loves it. What a good buy this was and it keeps the grandson busy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old game but good fun, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Juarez (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
seems like a reasonable story line with varying graphics to keep the player interested. Gets rid of frustration without a swear word to another human !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Call of Juarez., 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Juarez (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Really good game for the PC and for a good price. Cannot go wrong with buying this game. A simple game to play and brings out a bit of the wild west!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A great setting and engaging story make up for a clunky game design, 19 Oct 2011
By 
H. Schunk (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Juarez (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Call of Juarez is an ambitious, albeit flawed game that tells a Wild West story from the perspectives of two men, young Billy Candle, a fugitive on the run and Reverend Ray, his brother, who speaks to the lord and is a mean gunman. The story in this game is pretty decent, there are no surprises there of course, no plot-twists and all follows generic wild west and American mainstream formulas but if you are into westerns, you will be in familiar ground. The idea of playing the game both as Billy and the Reverend is intriguing and sometimes you are running away from yourself and sometimes you are chasing yourself. Of course, gameplay-wise, the two characters are not really connected and your performance in one stage of the game does not influence what you face in another, that would have been way too complex to design I suppose.

The game looks very good, mainly due to the gorgeous landscapes, canyons and prairies as well as the game's fanciful physics engine, which blows hats off people's heads, let's dying men fall off canyons and blasts holes in the boxes you are desperately hiding behind. Those small details really make it easy for me to get immersed in a gunfight. For example, you might be hiding behind a rock and hear the bullets ricocheting off the rock while you are hiding behind it, however, when you lean out from behind the rock, the rising dust from the bullets make it hard for you to see where you are shooting, very realistic and very interesting. The game comes with many guns that fall into three categories, one-handed weapons such as pistols and revolvers, rifles & shotguns and last but not least, the bow & arrow for Billy. Just like Max Payne, the game also has bullet time (called concentration mode) and it is a delight to barge through a door, activate Bullet time and take out all the bad guys within second. The same happens whenever Billy uses his Bow, it is almost like a sniper weapon.

In general, that is how the gameplay between the two characters differ. Billy uses stealth and his bow to circumvent trouble, hiding in shadows and behind barrels etc, while Reverend Ray prefers to settle things with lead and his episodes are more FPS and action focused. Billy on the other hand also faces many platformer puzzles (think Prince of Persia) and that is something that not everybody will like, as it is easy to take a false step and fall to your death (the characters in this game are not good when it comes to surviving falls, even if it's just 2 meters). Billy uses a whip to swing himself from platform to platform and the game takes its platforming very serious. There is one episode in the game, where you don't even have to do anything else but climbing up a mountain, so be aware of that when you get this game.

Unfortunately, the controls of this game take a while to get used to, it is a robust system and once you master it, you can take out quite a few bad gringos, but it is still clunky and not very elegant and you will die many times just because the guns are hard to handle, but then again, some players might embrace this added layer of difficulty. Same goes for horse riding (Yes, there are horses) and as exciting as a horse chasing a carriage while shooting sounds, it is quite tough and not as satisfying as you would expect.

All in all, the fact that this games feels somewhat unpolished and rough lower my rating considerably as I had to interrupt my gaming session quite a few times just because I was frustrated, dying because of glitches and the awkward control scheme and it takes some patience and endurance to finish this game, despite many episodes being amazing fun and interesting.

My second complaint would be the very linear nature of the story. There are no decisions to be made and the game follows the plot faithfully. The game never gives you the chance to decide whether to go for stealth and when you play Billy for example, once you are discovered, the game ends, you cannot even try to fight your way out of the predicament, let alone decide to go in guns blazing in the first place. The game world looks gorgeous and the story is neat, in a shallow Wild West-pulp sort of way, but never really drags you in as you play no part in the story (the player).

A solid FPS/platform hybrid with a bold setting and most of the time, you will have a good time playing this, that is, if you can overlook some flaws here and there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, but not playable without CD Key, 18 Aug 2011
By 
RafiIBS (Niedersachsen) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Juarez (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I live in Germany and i've bought the game in UK. I was really happy when it arrived, but the CD-key for installation is missing. My questions concerning that problem have not been answered up to now, so I can give only 1 Star because I can play the game only with a CD Key I've found in the Internet on crack websites! Thank god I payed only about 15 for it, shipping to Germany included!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn...Zzzzz.....Yup - Not too much fun., 30 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Nayan G. Peshkar "npeshkar" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Juarez (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
What a boring game. The gameplay and characters are a bit, shall we say.... as engaging as eating sand. Really... if that did not make sense, i blame the game!!

Hey, one more thing - it has this good samaritan thing which doesnt allow you to randomly eliminate characters; apparently, the key player is only allowed to knock out the baddies. I don't usually go about knocking out the good chaps, but don't like being forced not to do so either.

Overall, a very boring and mind numbing game; save your money and buy some of that sand for dinner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Juarez (PC DVD)
Call of Juarez (PC DVD) by Focus Multimedia Ltd (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£2.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews