Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars34
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2014
If you like Cliff, you will like this. A few of the songs I am not keen on, but I love most of them. I bought most of these EPs when they were first released but it is nice to have them all on a cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This cd is overall very good and i'd recommend it to anyone who even remotely likes Cliff Richard. I'm not a fan by any means but there is good quality music to be found here, albeit an eclectic mix. This cd was oringinally part of the 50th year in music box set in 2008. The music ranges from the bizarre (the so called disney tracks) to the sublime with tracks like 'For you, for me', 'Your eyes tell on you', 'I wonder' and my favourite the Burt Bacharach written 'It's wonderful to be young' - all early to mid sixtites tracks. Cliff Richard takes alot of knocks but i'd say in a time we seem to be searching for artists with the 'X' factor - cliffs very unique voice and style has it in abundance. This cd is good stuff, you won't like it all but there are many gems waiting to be found.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2010
As the title suggest this is a mix of Cliff's eps. It is a good showcase of his Ballad singing. I think it would appeal to his many fans who are not too familiar with his early work. My particular favourites are the first two tracks from 'Dream', Cliff in a particularly melodic voice with hints of jazz guitar in the background they're well, dreamy!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
I like this CD very much as it covers Cliff Richard at his peak.
The curious thing is, however, that this collection is really the companion set to 'The EP collection, Ballads & Love Songs', issued by the long gone 'See for Miles' label years ago. To get hold of a copy of 'Ballads & Love Songs' in this day and age, alas, has become a costly and troublesome venture. And there are still quite a few EP tracks awaiting CD release.
So - EMI - when are you going to release 'the complete EP collection' by Cliff Richard ? It is long overdue.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2010
I bought this for my wife who considers Cliff to be slightly better than sliced bread. She loved the album, lots of new (!!) material that she had not heard before. In my opinion, its better than a bunch of flowers.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
Apart from having Christmas songs playing in May this is a good chance to sample some older Cliff stuff that is a little out of the ordinary. Worth the money.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2010
Cliff Richard changes his singing style a few times in his long long career: 50+ years. There are two periods I like the most: (1) the late 50's and the entire 60's, when he sang with a more straight-forward voice with crystal-clear diction on both rock and ballad; and (2) the early 70's, when he sang all the gospel-tinted pop songs with a more Americanized-accent.

As the title of this CD suggests, it collects a whole bunch of really rare EP tracks. I also think the digital remastering on most of the tracks is decent. Therefore, I highly recommend this album to fans or non-fans of Cliff Richard.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For those who don't remember the EP format, the booklet provides a potted history. Suffice to say here that they only retained their popularity for a few years, and that while a lot of EP's were made up of tracks available on singles or albums, Cliff recorded tracks that appeared on EP's but not on LP's or singles. Some of those EP-only tracks may have been released previously on CD, but everything here is appearing on CD for the first time.

The first 20 tracks appeared on EP's that were released in the sixties. Those EP's sometimes included tracks that were released as singles or have otherwise appeared on CD, so are excluded from this collection. Overall, they are typical of Cliff's style back then, exactly as expected.

The notes appear to contradict themselves by first saying that there are 6 previously unreleased tracks, but later seem to say that one of them (It`s wonderful to be young) was released - or is it a different version? I'm confused, although I`m not that bothered. It`s a great song that I haven`t heard before. The remaining five previously unreleased tracks include a Christmas track recorded at the same session as the two other Christmas tracks featured here, and which eventually appeared on EP in 1991. The other four previously unreleased tracks are the Disney songs. The writer of the notes thinks they may have been intended for an EP that was never released. Could the writer not have checked with the man himself? No matter, it's difficult to believe that they were recorded with any other format in mind.

There are plenty of great songs here that I hadn't heard before. They more than compensate for the occasional weaker song, Nobody should buy this as a starting point for Cliff`s music, but for those who have Cliff's famous sixties hits and want to explore his music from that era further, this is definitely worth investigating..
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Present for a old Cliff Richard fan and she loved it. It is great that there are still some tracks around that haven't been over exposed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I loved this album. Most of the songs I hadn't heard Cliff sing before and thought they were better than some of his more recent stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.92
£11.98
£6.62

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)