Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Building Business Relationships: A Fable
Being vulnerable takes guts, especially in business. But the payoff, explains best-selling author Patrick Lencioni, is strong, honest client relationships that engender trust and allegiance. Lencioni puts forth his "naked service" model via a story about a fictitious consultant named Jack Bauer (not to be confused with the main character on the TV show "24"). Jack, an...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save yourself an hour of your life
You have got to be either crashingly arrogant or more than endearingly clueless about consultants and consultancy to gain any benefit from this book.

It really is on the intellectual level of 'Who moved my cheese?' and has sufficient shmaltz to deserve the subtitle of 'Chicken Soup for the Consultant'.

You should have learned the content of this book...
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by InfoSecMatt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Building Business Relationships: A Fable, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Being vulnerable takes guts, especially in business. But the payoff, explains best-selling author Patrick Lencioni, is strong, honest client relationships that engender trust and allegiance. Lencioni puts forth his "naked service" model via a story about a fictitious consultant named Jack Bauer (not to be confused with the main character on the TV show "24"). Jack, an up-and-comer at a big consulting firm, is put in charge of the newly acquired Lighthouse Partners. He's initially reluctant to embrace Lighthouse's nonconformist tactics, but when he opens his mind to their possibilities, he has a life-changing experience. Through Jack, you learn about the three fears that block naked service and how to master them. Instead of writing a novel, Lencioni could just have outlined the naked service model in a dozen pages and, in fact, he does so at the end of the story. However, using a business fable as a vehicle is a simple, fun, engaging and relatable way to teach his concepts. getAbstract suggests this charming fable to anyone in a service industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read for any management consultant, 6 Jan 2014
By 
For people starting out in the field of management consultancy, this book should be required read. I recognised the style of some of the best consultants I worked with in the book, and the shortcomings of some of the worst too.

While it may not seem like rocket science, the book makes explicit some of the behaviours and fears that many of us exhibit to the detriment of our clients. I can understand the frustration of some other reviewers with the seeming simplicity of the advice, but if you've ever worked in true top-tier consulting (McKinsey, BCG, Bain etc.) advising a CEO/CMO/COO/CIO or if you plan to do so, you'll find this a worthwhile read.

As an added bonus, Lencioni is a pretty compelling writer, so the story is pretty fun to follow too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think you know how to be a great management consultant?, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would you tell a prospective client the truth even if it cost you the engagement? Would you admit you didn't know? Would you go in with an open mind, not a box of pre-prepared tricks?

As a management consultant with over 25 years' experience every new engagement brings a tension between being the highly paid consultant who knows the answers and actually really sitting on the same side of the table as your clients and working with them and for their business even if it costs you more in time, effort or knocks to your master of the universe ego.

Lencioni shows us in his trade-marke fable style why this seemingly vulnerable approach is better for your clients and can win more and better contracts for you.

Lencioni takes us through as an experienced consultant learns the benefits of working in more `vulnerable' ways and how that changes the client - consultant interaction. If you like this book you are probably already working in some of the ways Lencioni suggests, but I bet you learn a whole lot more from this fast, entertaining and invigorating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save yourself an hour of your life, 1 Jan 2011
By 
InfoSecMatt (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You have got to be either crashingly arrogant or more than endearingly clueless about consultants and consultancy to gain any benefit from this book.

It really is on the intellectual level of 'Who moved my cheese?' and has sufficient shmaltz to deserve the subtitle of 'Chicken Soup for the Consultant'.

You should have learned the content of this book in the playground: be humble, ask questions, admit it when you are wrong, be honest with yourselves and others, value your integrity, etc - and it comes as quite a shock that adults should need reminding...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Importance of Humility, Integrity and Service, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Tim Downes (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
There are two great things about this book.

The first is that it's an enjoyable story. I was wrapped up in wanting to find out the outcome.

The second is that it really hammers home the true value of giving, serving and being humble.

As a former Business Consultant I know about some of the negative believes that many clients have about Consultants. Following the system in Getting Naked, will, over time, change that perception.

I liked how Patrick encourages you to be open and share the kind truth with clients. When I have found the true courage to do this the outcomes have been very powerful.

Like other great books, you know what is shared is real truth because your heart, and your past experience, gives you total confirmation.

Thank you to David Taylor for serving me by encouraging me to read, practice and action the wisdom within Getting Naked (and The Prosperous Coach by Letvin and Chandler).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this to any one in a client service field it will open your eyes and minds make a difference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, absorbing, a must read if you are a coach or a consultant!, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very enlightening book about how to create truly engaged clients. The ideas need to be absorbed, read, practiced and re-read to begin to work. A huge opportunity for growth for most people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever read one book about consultency, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you only ever read one book about counsolting, This should be it!

Great read and fantastic wrapping of a complexed concept into a fiction-like story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another book recommened to me - hoping for all these reads to get me to the top of the tree in my profession
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spot on good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews